The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dawn Of A New World
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: ShadowRainDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146389Chapter: 1
Ahhh... tears. Nice story.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142971Chapter: 1
That was very touching. Of course I'm tearing up here. I hate how Ron always has to die. If Any of those three (or Ginny.....or the rest of the Weasleys for that matter....except maybe Percy....hmmmmm....I don't know) die I don't know if I'll be able to handle it. I'm a very emotional person and I think I've become way too attached to these characters. This was beautiful in it's own way, you have such an amazing way with words, it's so very poignant. Wonderfully written and realistic, more so than the Half-Blood Prince was. I mean I liked the book, but it's always felt a bit rushed to me.....and too much like fanfiction. *shrug*.

~GW

Reviewer: juliaDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131948Chapter: 1
wow this is awesome. not the happy happy ending, but so realistic and tragic. this deserves more replies.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124244Chapter: 1
That was very, very well written. But the books better not end like that! Losing Ron would be... ugh. *shudders* I don't even want to think about it.

Excellent story, though. Beautiful.

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121114Chapter: 1
This is....simply put, the one story I had always hoped to write. You have created my vision in more detail than I ever could - and I congratulate you on your immense talent. Truly, truly outstanding....oh, poor Ron. He died the hero - but poor Harry and everyone else who has to face the new hopeful life without him.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 117177Chapter: 1
Someone needed to write this story. It was truly brilliant.

It was good that someone remembered how much Harry would hurt if Ron died--not just Hermione, but Harry as well.

Wars are never pretty, even when you win.

Reviewer: Lady WhizbeeDate: 2005-02-14
Reviewid: 113864Chapter: 1
Very well done.

This is how I have always pictured it, but never had the ability to put into words. It is a grim reminder of what war does to people, but yet the message of hope at the end is perfect. I love that you mirrored OotP in the use of Luna as the voice of wisdom when Harry is trying to cope. Very authentic.

Great job!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113834Chapter: 1
It definately an interesting take on the end of the story. It's dark, but with a lone ray of light at the end.

Well done, you started with an image you wanted to show, and worked your way to it.

Reviewer: SimpkinDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113769Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful story. I like your approach to the end of the series--that even if the "good guys" win, it will be bittersweet. You also did a great job at keeping everyone in character even despite the intensity of the scene. Great job.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113708Chapter: 1
Ron dead & Luna standing - apt. a good piece.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113663Chapter: 1
That belies words. I didn't know anything so dark could be so sweet. Always in the back of my mind is the likelihood that one of the Trio will be killed off, but i'd never given thought to an "afterwards." You've elequantly painted that picture.

Your descriptive writings are worthy of a film script; the level of detail conveyd by a few simple, perfectly chosen words has created a beautiful scene. Truly worthy of the title of "Professors Bookshelf" and must be well on the way for a NEWT at this rate

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113650Chapter: 1
Very nice, touching story...good role for Luna too. I never thought of her as the wise comforter, even though she's in Ravenclaw.

Reviewer: saraDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113638Chapter: 1
Wow. This story is beautiful, tragic, and completely real. You had me in tears from the beginning. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113585Chapter: 1
Ooh, this was really good! I loved your "heroes" line - very clever.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113519Chapter: 1
Would you mind giving a shot at the second to last chapter? That last one was excellent! Wonderful use of Luna.

“They have that now.”
-I could hear the stirring music in the background and see a vision like one of those old Soviet propaganda posters.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113427Chapter: 1
Well you wnt and done it, killed off Ron, made Harry even more angsty than usual lately, made Luna even more wierd than in canon. All of that in a superbly written short piece. I hate to admit it but you really pulled it off.
My hat off to you!

Reviewer: Mrs_Norris's_mouseDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113422Chapter: 1
Thank you , when ever I see one of your stories here I always read it quickly.

Reviewer: Ford PrefectDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113379Chapter: 1
Very moving. It seems a very realistic reaction to what would have been a horrific moment. At the end of war, some may feel jubilation but I would expect the people on the front lines to feel such mental, physical and emotional weariness.

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113360Chapter: 1
This was incredibly well-written! Thanks so much. I really enjoyed your story and your quality of writing. The only thing that made me pause was when Harry says, "Ron, oh god, Ron..." which, to me, didn't sound like something Harry would say exactly. But that is such a small stylistic criticism in a really great piece.

Reviewer: DazedMarauderDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113329Chapter: 1
Absolutely brilliant story. I rarely see Ron die in battle like that, and though it's sad, it's kind of... morbidly refreshing.

Great story.
Insquequo terminus,
amanda

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --