The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Brand-New
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2005-03-01
Reviewid: 115207Chapter: 1
This is great! I really got an idea of what it was like to be in Ron's shoes...I grew up in a family of modest means, but I was the oldest, and didn't have to deal with hand-me-downs. I loved how you kept all the Weasleys in character -- the sniping going on between F+G and Percy was hilarious! I just wished we'd seen a bit more of Ginny...I know she wasn't a major character in PoA, but I'd have loved to have read your take on her. I really loved how Ron interacted with Hermione, too...I suspected toward the end that the real reason she initially refuses the sundae is that she doesn't want Ron to waste any money on her, as well as, perhaps, some embarassment at having a boy buy her food...a little R/Hness in the making? ;)

Reviewer: Lisa LovegoodDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113841Chapter: 1
I really love this story. It absolutely captures Ron's feelings and emotions as he buys his very own wand. You have written a great sentimental story without being cheesy but adding an element of humor.

Thank you for staying so true to character as well. I can just picture the characters having the conversations that you wrote about.

Also, I really liked the dynamic between Ron and Hermione.

Thanks for a great read! I'll be looking forward to the next one.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113672Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this; your characterisations were very good. Keep writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113661Chapter: 1
I like this a lot. It's kind of sad that something so simple as being the first to own something is such a treat to Ron.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113611Chapter: 1
Cute! Good job with the twins.

Reviewer: KristinDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113404Chapter: 1
I love the story! The characters are great -- you really capture their unique personalities. I can imagine each of them behaving just as you have written them!

You write the humor really well -- not at all easy to do! -- Fred & George are fantastic. I laughed several times, but I think the following is a classic!:
“Penelope,” said Fred in a very deep tone, “I care for you, but the truth is that I’m in love with my Head Boy badge.”

I also liked your line about Ron "thinking about how this wand had waited for him, passing over all of his brothers" -- it perfectly sums up what this moment means to Ron! For the first time, he not only has something new, but something that sets him apart from his brothers.

Thanks for a great story!!!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113368Chapter: 1
nice. thanks

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113366Chapter: 1
:D *beams* fantastic charachterisation here.

loved your fred and george (lol):

'“Correspondence!” Fred exclaimed. “Is that what they’re calling love letters now?”

“Oh, Percy,” said George in a high, girlish voice. He took Fred’s hand and batted his eyelashes at him. “You write the most wonderful correspondence. It makes me positively quiver!”

“Penelope,” said Fred in a very deep tone, “I care for you, but the truth is that I’m in love with my Head Boy badge.”'

ron was great though. i grew up in a low-income family, and the way you wrote resonated really stongly with the way i felt.

a superb fic, amongst my favourites. thank you heaps :P

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --