The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 125

Reviewer: SevarySnuffBlackDate: 2006-11-11
Reviewid: 146145Chapter: 1
I've so far read Runaway, Last man standing and Frighten me, and I think they're fantastic...
just a thought...how abt a fic on harry first birthday party? where Sir-Reus as harry calls him comes n rocks the party? an arguement abt whether harry would remember a fun-tastic bike ride in the air? a bet on it, probabaly? It was just an idea I've had for quite a time now, just never got around to riting a fic....if you could...?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-22
Reviewid: 144351Chapter: 23
Your writing is quite good.
The premises for so many situations made it ...
Well Example: hoping this dementor would be polite.

Reviewer: siriuslypotterDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141564Chapter: 4
I love it it's really interesting to see Remus's POV

Reviewer: Allie Dupont (Clara)Date: 2005-10-22
Reviewid: 134957Chapter: 1
Arianne!
i was just wondering if there was going to ba another story, cause im really looking for something good to read. Also, this summer im going to be a fonceurs (YAY) im so excited about camp and its forever away. i hope to see you there! Je t'aime, Clara
PS. after Katrina, im fine and going to bording school in Maine but theres no french class for me to take, thats why im trying to get credit over the summer. But please write us anoher story cause they're awesome!!!

Reviewer: Briana Rose (Adeline)Date: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130914Chapter: 1
Hi! I finally finished re-reading this, and I'm glad I did. It's a really well-characterized behind-the-scenes story. (And I fell asleep around the Gryffindor-Ravenclaw game, I think.) I hope you had a good time at Voyageurs!
Merci pour l'histoire tous les soirs!
Adeline

Reviewer: "Clara"Date: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129475Chapter: 1
i shared this story since camp with a few of my friends and we all love it. Merci pour les histours tous les soirs.

Reviewer: MarianneDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127611Chapter: 1
I'M SO EXCITED! I NOW HAVE YOU WHEREVER I GO AND WHENEVER I GO TO SLEEP!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-07-17
Reviewid: 127331Chapter: 23
Wow! The last time I reviewed this you had only written up to CH.17! Well, I'm glad I finally got back to it. This accurate portrayel of Remus completely knocked the socks off of me. It was a pleasant read, and I have no criticisms. Great job! Jo Rowling would be proud! (And I, another ficcy writer, as well, am too.)

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127291Chapter: 23
The sun is setting and it's the 15th of July, 2005. In four hours I will be reading HP6. Thank you for making the wait bearable.

And for giving us the chance to see Sirius and Remus together, one last time:

“I’m serious, Padfoot. No more toying with death, no crazy stunts . . .”

“No, I’m Sirius. You’re Remus, remember?”

“Shut up.”


I love it. I loved all of it. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127290Chapter: 22
*gasp* No! NO!!! *bursts into tears* How COULD he?! However can he live with himself? But then, he's Snape . . . but even Snape has a heart!

Sorry I took so long to reply, btw. I wanted to make sure I could read the ending in quiet and comfort without being interrupted, so I decided to wait until I got home.

And I'm going to kill Snape.

Reviewer: SophDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126951Chapter: 23
I've just finished it! Wow!! Amazing Fic! I have been an avid reader from the beginning. It was a brilliant idea. Remus is my favourite character and I thought you portrayed him wonderfully! I especially loved all the little details about what differences being a werewolf makes to everyday life. Like not eating red meat in the week preceding the full moon, and so on. I love stuff like this, simple and effective. Anyway, I’m rambling, sorry. Brill Fic!! Keep up the amazing writing!!
-- Soph --

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126756Chapter: 23
Sigh, what a satisfying finale! I loved especially two things in these last two chapters. One, the terrible moment that led to Snape "letting slip" Remus' secret - that was really well done, and somehow works perfectly. After all, Snape for all his faults respects Dumbledore's wishes - it would have taken quite a bit of provocation still for Snape to do what he did, and Remus' loss of control would be just the thing. Second, the absolutely delightful final conversation between Remus and Sirius - having Sirius waiting in the carriage for Remus is right in character for that most impetuous of Marauders, and it was a brilliant idea on your part to give them this opportunity to complete the renewal of their long-lost brotherhood.

Altogether, this is absolutely the best retelling of PoA I've ever read, and one of the best fanfics I've ever read period. You have a wonderful sense of what it means to be Remus Lupin - from understanding the bond he had with his best friends in school, to the shattering emotional loss of all three of them in a single fell swoop, to his anger and despair at Sirius' apparent betrayal and his friends' lack of trust in him, and the effect of all that on his complicated relationship with Harry who knows none of this. You use this to create a totally different perspective on the events of PoA - first that of a taut, psychological thriller as Remus battles Sirius in order to save the life of a boy who knows nothing about his terrible past, then the internal struggle for Remus to come to terms with that past, and finally the mindbending, earthshattering, liberating discovery that everything Remus knew about his past was utterly wrong. The way you handle Remus' response to these events is brilliant - both in character and faithful to canon, yet imaginative and intelligent and creative. It is the most sensitive and sophisticated rendering of Remus I've ever seen, and for that I salute you.

And of course, the writing. I've come to enjoy your understated, almost roundabout wit, and your ability to inject the necessary humor into what would otherwise be very dark and difficult material. You write fluidly and easily, and you bring to this story your obviously powerful imagination - and that has given your story the sense of wonder and joy to magic that is one of the very best things about the HP universe. Thanks for sharing your Remus Lupin with all of us, Seri! And I eagerly look forward to seeing what you'll share with us next!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126363Chapter: 23
SIMPLY EXCELLENT! I like the missing scene, and the ending...truly, very touching. Thanks for this great story.

Reviewer: AragogDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126279Chapter: 23
I confess that for the longest time I did not try to read your story because your rendering of Dumbledore in chapter one seemed unconvincing to me. But months later, after you'd posted most of the chapters, I came back and found you'd improved from that point. "Thumbs" compares very favorably with other stories I've read that retrace PoA from Remus Lupin's point of view (though you've also thrown in bits of Sirius' POV as well).

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126160Chapter: 23
Thanks for the lovely gift of THREE chapters at once! It does seem to be racing to a conclusion, doesn't it? It is so heart-warming to read the exchanges between Remus & Sirius... I LOVE this fic!!!

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125876Chapter: 17
I know I've been remiss in reviewing - but that's not for lack of reading. This chapter, when Remus finally understands the truth, is simply a masterpiece. The way you walk us through Remus's mental transformation as his world is first rocked to its very core, and then reassembled in a radically new way, is some of the best fan fiction writing I've ever read. You really seem to understand the colossal impact this discovery must have on Remus, and you depict it magnificently. I especially love that climactic moment, when with every line Remus utters you flash back to single lines, lines that illustrate the mystery of what happened the night the Potters died, and the puzzle of how a man like Sirius could turn so evil. To show us how Remus connects the dots and comes to *the* thrilling, staggering realization... it just flat-out works, and brilliantly so.

These following chapters are quite good too (although the formatting was a little wonky for 19). I especially like the monologue inside Remus's head as Peter frantically tries to save himself in the latest chapter - the disgust, the horror, and the cold anger come through so well, as well as some of the ghastlier possibilities of what might have been had Peter gone on undetected. But I loved especially two realizations Remus has - first, of just how easy it is to kill, and second, just how much more like James Harry is, with his act of mercy. That was a subtle but wonderful observation to make - one of so many wonderful observations about the nature of these characters whom we so love! Very nice work, Seri - I'm looking forward to what must be a heartbreaking conclusion. I hope it's not too angsty! :-)

Reviewer: FionaDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125841Chapter: 20
MORE! :D

I mean, unless you're just leaving it there, and it's finished.... but please, more. ^__^ Just... one more chance to see Remus smiling before he leaves Hogwarts.... his feelings once Snape lets slip... the talk between him and Harry....

MORE. :D

~Fif

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125717Chapter: 20
Seri dahling, I don't think you quite understand what you've done. You see, we all know what's about to happen and are agonizingly waiting to see it through Remus's eyes, but I don't see another chapter waiting. You can't just go and post wonderful things like this and not CONTINUE them! That won't do at all, no, not at all! ;)

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125695Chapter: 20
hi, just read the last three chapters. Awsome! Especially about Remus not recognising his symptoms as signs for the full moon- just a great esplanation how he could be caught by the change by surprise(ah, and there I see why you brought up the "evading the moonlight-thing" before- didn't quite make the connection...very foreseeing!) Well just tha for now and shortly- and please update soon, I love this story!!!

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125666Chapter: 20
Your writing is so emotionally satisfying on all levels! Have you written professionally or thought about it? I LOVE everything I have read of yours...

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125429Chapter: 20
Haha, the second year Slytherin line is great, as is the emotion conveyed in this chapter. Nice job!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125207Chapter: 19
LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION! Very exciting...I love Remus' unique perspective. I can't wait for another update!

Reviewer: david abbeyDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125199Chapter: 6
wow, this storys been great so far. its been interesting to see it from lupins perspective, and rather moving as well. lupin has always been my favorite character in the potterverse anyways. that last line "he had faced the children of his dead friends...and taught them somthing useful" almost moved me to tears. keep it up.
big D

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125104Chapter: 19
This story is so very well-written!!! I look forward to every part of it. Thank you!

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125040Chapter: 18
The format is seriously screwed up. I'm sure the chapter is great as usual, but it's impossible to read.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124624Chapter: 17
I just needed to claim your much-hoped-for 100th review, Seri. I just reread this last scene to take my mind off a particularly nasty collection of wasp stings, and I can't wait for you to get back so you can put up the rest of it. This is one of the best HP fics I've ever read.

- me

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124351Chapter: 17
hi,i liked this story very much! thanks for writing it, although you really let me forget about my uni work;-) the characterization is great, yiou tackled the problems his appointment as teacher brings for remus very well. (i also liked that teaching was not his chosen profession for all his life)
actually i think that you really managed to write an old- i.e. often told- story in an interesting and unique way. and you did a great job with including the dialogue from PoA in the story without making it boring or redundant! and, as always... UPDATE SOON!!!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123903Chapter: 17
(“I will never… never endanger any of these students”) Oh, poor Remus.

The only thing that I have to nitpick on is that you have Remus eating meat on the night of a full moon, when in Chapter Four: One of the Dementors of Azkaban, you state that Remus doesn’t eat meat when it’s close to the full moon because it makes the Wolf’s mind stronger.

You’ve handled Remus’ emotions very adeptly indeed, and I when I read this I feel as though I’m truly seeing the events of PoA through his eyes. This was a great chapter — update, please!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123596Chapter: 17
I am addicted to this story. I can't get enough of it, and frankly, I think it's the best Remus Prisoner of Azkaban POV story I've ever read.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123510Chapter: 17
GREAT STORY! excelent pov writing, thanks for writing it... NOW WRITE MORE IT IS TERRABLE TO STOP THERE!!!
thanks for writting i realy enjoyed it,
Jay

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123127Chapter: 17
I don't know how to begin to express my admiration for this story and your amazing skill, Seriana. This chapter is simply brilliant. Completely blew me away. The way you set out Remus's thoughts looking at the map in his office, seeing the trio's names alongside Pettigrew's - his initial confusion between Harry and James (because Peter's name was also amongst the group) - ah! That was genius, Seri, genius! And how you constructed his realisation of Sirius and Peter's role reversal as he entered the shack and pieced together the fragments of his understanding - well, as one other reviewer said, JKR would be proud of what you've accomplished here, with Remus's tale. I think she'd be very proud.

Reviewer: SteveCalabreseDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123082Chapter: 17
It's quite evil to leave the chapter right there, but I must admit that last line is very good.

-Steve

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123071Chapter: 17
Ooooh that was so beautiful. Thank you so much for writing this. PoA is maybe my favorite of the books because of everything about the Marauders and I love Remus and this was just the perfect story.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 123016Chapter: 17
What an intense chapter: you structured it very well. Even though we know what's coming, it's gripping to read Remus's POV and see his reaction to the impossibility of Peter's name being on the map, as well as his headlong dash towards the Willow (no wonder he forgot his potion). I look forward to the next chapter and how you describe his transformation.

Favourite Lines:

"Though Ron hadn’t had Harry’s weeks of extra practice, they were both people more suited to thinking on their feet than thinking on paper, and it showed." - You really show how well Remus knows his pupils.

"Satisfied that if she could argue with Ron, then she was fine, Remus left the three of them to go reset his test for the Ravenclaws." - once again, Remus's observation skills shine through *snigger*

"After dealing with the fair-minded Hogwarts staff for so long, Fudge’s blustering awkwardness grated on his nerves like a badly tuned violin." - great simile!

"The map never lied -- it functioned on truth." - interesting how a map that helps troublemakers functions on truth.

"He was staring at Remus, but the wild, anguished, furious gleam in his eyes was too intense to possibly be directed at his teacher. The look took Remus’s breath away." - never underestimate the intensity of Harry's emotions.

"But in that one moment, Sirius Black, murderer, disappeared as though he had never been, and the friend that Remus had missed and mourned for twelve years suddenly returned from the dead." - you really do capture the sheer emotion of Remus's realisation

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122995Chapter: 17
Oh, Seri, I'm sitting up here at the computer in the cabin and downstairs everyone from the law school is sharing a Memorial Day brunch, and I'm crying. My gosh, Seri. This is amazing.

'“Without telling me?”

Sirius was still . . . only for a fraction of a second, but too long for Remus, confused, frantic to know the truth.

Then he nodded. Once. One blank, expressionless gesture.

But in that one moment, Sirius Black, murderer, disappeared as though he had never been, and the friend that Remus had missed and mourned for twelve years suddenly returned from the dead.'

Unbelievable. This is like experiencing that moment from PoA for the very first time all over again, with every emotion just as fresh as it was and every image burning itself indelibly into my brain.

Un. Bel. Ieveable.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122909Chapter: 17
Bless you! You have a remarkable & wonderful way with these characters. It is so easy to see it all. JKR would be proud of you! :)

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122891Chapter: 17
Awesome, simply AWESOME climax. I love how he discovers Peter on the map, and how quickly Remus realizes the truth. Amazing final sentence. Update soon!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122775Chapter: 17
*gasps*

That was so awesome. I love the way you use flashbacks, and it's fascinating to see everything from Lupin's perspective.

Reviewer: EldriceDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122774Chapter: 17
*Shivers happily* - ooh, you did such a lovely job with this chapter. It's horrible to see Remus as happy as he is teaching, and then to think how the story ends. And I know this is something very small, but I love the detailed description you used of Remus reaching into the grindylow tank and being surprised by Fudge. The image of him holding his sleeve back was just RIGHT. And the way Remus didn't regster Peter's name at first, and thought "Potter, James" was priceless. Well done!

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122622Chapter: 16
Another very nice chapter, Seriana! I've really enjoyed the way you've infused this story with echoes of Shakespeare. The moment between Lupin and Hermione, with Hermione reciting "By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes," just works really well for some reason - it's a really nice capstone to the Lupin-Hermione moments, and it's an image that's memorable, lovely and disquieting all at once, the two of them reciting lines from Macbeth in a silent, empty library at night. Well done.

I'm intrigued by your Sirius-Lupin scene in this chapter - it's the first time I've seen a plausible explanation for why Sirius didn't try to enlist Lupin's help. In fact, to me it raises a rather interesting question about just how sane Black really is right now - especially since he doesn't make terribly rational choices like appeal to Dumbledore or... something. Anything other than try to burst into the castle and murder the one man whose discovery is the key to Sirius' freedom. Hmm. Or maybe Sirius is quite sane, and just realizes that he can't turn to anyone for help, because no one will ever believe him without proof that Peter is alive...

Anyway, it's a great moment, Sirius watching Remus, and the two of them thinking about each other as they continue their duel. It's such a simple realization - that Remus must have been brought in by Dumbledore to protect Harry and defend against Sirius - but you've explored it so thoroughly and wonderfully in this story! I really like your illustration of just how close we come to disaster - how close we come in PoA to losing the truth about Sirius and Peter forever, how close we come to Lupin and Black dueling to the death in what would be a tragedy of classical - even Shakespearean - proportions. I'm imagining it now - best friends killing each other following a sequence of misunderstandings and misconceptions that prevent them from joining forces against the actual malevolent force that ruined their lives. Hmm, isn't that supposed to be Othello? Sort of? :-) I haven't read it (LOL, Hermione would be horrified), so I'm not sure. It must be *one* of the tragedies... Anyway, it's a disturbing revelation - but a truly profound one as well. Great job!

Reviewer: steveDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122507Chapter: 1
I like the different angle. Good story so far.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122496Chapter: 16
This is a wonderful fic, Seriana Ritani! The scene in which Hermione attempts to let Professor Lupin know that she knows he’s a werewolf and doesn’t intend to tell anyone, was very well-written. Having Professor Lupin convince himself that she doesn’t really know his secret (that he’s a werewolf) was realistic, and then adds to the shock value in the Shrieking Shack when Hermione shrieks that she’s never told anyone his secret, that she has been covering up for him and that “he’s a werewolf”!

I really liked this line: “That was one of the most wonderful things about being a Hogwarts professor -- discovering that Professor McGonagall laughed.”

Keep on writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122464Chapter: 16
Sirius's murder contemplation was eerie! I'm not sure I understand why he thought of it... was it that he's still not 100% sane?

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122401Chapter: 16
David and Saul in the cave. Hamlet and Claudius in the chapel. One watching, one watched.

With that and the Macbeth connection, I'm wondering if you wrote this chapter just for me, Seri dahling. ;)

I also love the increasing tension between Sirius and Remus. They can both feel it, even without any contact with one another. The memories, especially. Every memory that Remus has of Sirius suspecting him, and everytime Sirius sees how his old friend, who used to trust him with his life, is now his worst enemy . . . every single one sends a dagger into both of their hearts.

This just gets better and better. I think it's your best fic yet. *hugs*

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122369Chapter: 16
Even though we know what's going to happen, you skillfully maintain the tension between Remus and Sirius, both of them struggling with the past. I like that you're developing this separate relationship between Hermione and Remus, it's very touching, and you really showed her Gryffindor honour when she told Lupin she wouldn't say anything, although I got the impression that it was a huge surprise to Lupin that she'd guessed from the book, I don't think Remus's self-deception would work that well. That's my only quibble. The scenes in the staff room work so well together.

Brit-pick: Flitwick would say 'marked', not 'graded'.

Favourite Lines:
"The world turned to cool silver. Remus turned his face to the rising moon and let the light envelop him, harmless. It was cruel to have to cower in fear before something so innocent." - beautiful writing

"I’ll let you walk away, this once. For old times’ sake." - very sad

“No, Professor, I couldn’t do it. There’s a part of me that’s still scared to death of you, and until I’m over that ‘Professor McGonagall’ you shall remain.” - ha ha!

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122313Chapter: 16
I am sooooooo loving this story! It is like watching a movie from an entirely different perspective from that everyone else sees. Clearly the same story, but from a different view. And with glimpses of the backstory too! Positively remarkable. Looking forward to more.....

Reviewer: EldriceDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122245Chapter: 16
I love finding fics that are this amazing! Your story is so well-written, funny and touching, and it gives me that great little "wow, that line was so powerful" feeling in my stomach. The flashbacks particularly are gut-wrenching, the perfect mixture of light fun and impending doom. And Shakespeare! I love Shakespeare : ). Keep updating, because I'm checking every day!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122084Chapter: 6
Good catch on Dean's dad. If you haven't looked at JKR's site, then Dean's actually a halfblood, not a muggleborn, but he doesn't know it.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122057Chapter: 15
I forgot...have you considered posting this at timeturner.net? I'm sure they'd love to have it. Just doing some pimping here. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122056Chapter: 15
This just gets better and better. Love it, especially the proposal.

-PQ

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121887Chapter: 15
Wow, Seriani! This is a wonderful chapter - it's very imaginative, and you do a great job "filling in the blanks" with some creative ideas! I really like the idea of Sirius pausing for a moment to look at Harry before moving on to look for Scabbers - it's just what you'd expect Sirius to do.

A little of your dry, offbeat humor seeps through nicely in this chapter too, and offsets the increasing darkness of the overall plot. I like Hermione taking three sugars instead of two. I liked your "someone with the initials 'Neville Longbottom'" line, which made me chuckle. And your flashback scene with Lily proposing to James in a fit of rage is wonderful - odds are, it's probably not the way JKR thinks it happened, but it's a delight to imagine. :-)

Above all, though, I really like the way you ratchet up the tension between Remus and Sirius - the backbone of this story is the battle of wits that must have taken place between the two behind the scenes, and I love the way you turn up the heat here. Sirius challenging Remus behind the locked door... That brilliant observation connecting the fact that Sirius' attack on Ron coincides with the full moon, something Sirius would have planned in order to thward Remus... And the chilling conclusion to the chapter, with Sirius' imagined jibe, and Remus cold-blooded reply. Goodness, you have me starting to think that maybe Remus is ready to kill! Altogether, nice work!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121841Chapter: 15
Seri, this chapter ripped my heart out and put it back in wrong. The description of Remus as a werewolf, helpless and taunted, able only to howl . . . and then facing the map once more . . . and the Marauders speaking to him from the dead through the map . . .

Amazing. Powerful. Thank you.

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121808Chapter: 15
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I love Remus and I love how you write him. The little flashes from Sirius are also good, and the flash backs.. ("Marry me!" - that was brilliant!)
And the idea that Sirius attacked at the full moon - I'd never thougth of that, is it mentioned in the books? Great idea, though. Poor Remus, knowing he's there but unable to do anything. Only what I thought was a bit weird was that there were no Silencing charms on his room, are they so certain of the Wolfsbane? And both Remus and Sirius wishing they had the map.. And the messages Remus gets from the map were really good.

Can you tell I liked this? Well, I did, so please write more. :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121733Chapter: 15
The best chapter yet, I think. Lots of tension, humour and human interaction. I loved how you had Remus supporting Hermione, the scene with James and Lily was priceless, I laughed and laughed; it was a GREAT idea to have Padfoot and the werewolf encounter each other, only a door between them, you could feel the tension; the scene with the Marauder's Map was lovely, so sweet and yet so sad; I winced at Sirius's words, I really did.

Brit Picks:
We would say that Remus was behind on his 'marking', not his 'grading'. And British pupils do not 'graduate' from school. We only graduate from university. So the Marauders just 'left' school or 'finished' school if you prefer.

Favourite Lines:

“Chewing on your broom does not count as ‘tremendous talent’,” said Lily. “Take that away from him. He’ll break a twig off and choke on it.” - okay, this is from the last chapter, but I loved it so much!

"Sirius stared at Harry for what seemed a very long time. He could see his best friend in every line of the boy’s face, every untidy bit of his hair. It seemed so strange that in twelve years of imprisonment, a one-year-old baby could grow into a thirteen-year-old boy. He’d seen this child baptized, played with him, sworn to protect him, nearly killed him, watched Hagrid pull him from the rubble and take him away. And now here he was, James all over again -- except for the lightning bolt that struck between his brows." - very, very poignant.

"Sirius, the dog, was just on the other side of that door.

The footsteps paused, and Remus heard sniffing around the door frame. His hackles raised involuntarily, and he snarled. Of course Sirius knew he would be locked up. He was too infernally smart." - lovely tension...

"Sirius was not a patient psychopathic murderer." - very amusing, in a 'black' way.

This is just getting better and better! I'm really looking forward to the next chapter.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121708Chapter: 14
I love how you're developing Remus's point of view, both of other pupils and of Harry himself, how he recognises Harry's bravery, his understanding of how Harry's Quidditch position is linked to his personality is just like his father's. The Sirius bit felt rather awkward, though - maybe because it was so short, maybe because of its positioning. It didn't spoil the chapter though.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121703Chapter: 15
I love how you're doing this. It's fantastic to see the exact same story from such a completely different point of view. Not to mention that you're one of the best fanfic writers I've seen in a long time. I really like the spare, inexcessive style that you use. Very effective.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121667Chapter: 14
*sniff sniff* I smell Shakespeare. :-) Though I don't know from what play. :-( Another very nice chapter, Seriana! I really liked how you set up Lupin's role in saving Harry from the clutches of Snape after the next Hogsmeade visit. And I really like Lupin's irritation and ambivalence at his instinctive willingness to let Harry get away with his lie - it's a very astute observation, and it connects us with the prefect-Lupin we saw in OoTP letting James and Sirius' transgressions slide. In fact, there are a number of very subtle but astute observations in this chapter - I also loved your explanation for why James was a perfect Chaser, as well.

And I really like your imagery - I think you handle Lupin's perspective on the Quidditch match really well, and there are moments that just flat-out *work* - the flashback of James falling from the sky, only to regain control at the last moment, is economical yet oddly poetic, in a way I really liked; and it's *such* a James thing to do. And I really liked Lupin's panic at Harry's apparent recklessness at continuing to pursue the Snitch - you conjure a brilliant image of Lupin leaping to his feet, screaming desperately at Harry. Overall, nicely done!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121482Chapter: 14
Your Remus is just so darned likeable. This is such a pleasure to read. I feel like I could sit down with him at the Three Broomsticks and talk for hours over a couple of butterbeers and just like him more afterwards. Delightful.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121387Chapter: 14
It would have been nice if Remus saw the distinct shape of Harrry's Patronus, and was overcome by emotion, as it were. Anyway, great update! You convey Remus' feelings well.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121168Chapter: 13
Wow, did I miss this chapter too? I'm definitely not on top of things! Seriani, this is a wonderful chapter - rich and imaginative and *powerful*, with excellent writing to boot! I really enjoyed how you have Lupin figure out how to use the boggart as a substitute dementor, and the imaginative subplot of the Weasley twins plus Lee figuring out some fun prankster magic along the way is great - I laughed out loud when Lupin calmly opened his umbrella at his desk as though this was a perfectly normal thing to do. And *of course* if anyone would be guaranteed to suffer from an infestation of Boggarts, it would be Filch! LOL! Anyway, the humor is fun - you do a great job of it, and it's important too, to leaven what is otherwise very dark, angsty material.

I loved the flashback scenes, as usual. I love Lupin's happy memory, of coming to Hogwarts - it's just handled magnificently, right down to Dumbledore asking little Remus if he has the courage to face Hogwarts as a "different kind of student" (to borrow another fanfic's turn of phrase). The final flashback, when Remus is betrayed by James and Sirius, is a tour de force. You really capture the tension of the moment, and your imagery - of Sirius looming over Remus - is wonderful, and does a lot to heighten the mystery and tension. It's just flat-out well-written - you said so much with so little! Some of the best writing you've done so far, I think. Oh, and that was so diabolical of you to have Peter play his Judas-role so cunningly! "'Don't talk to them. Let me...'" Yikes.

And the scene between Harry and Lupin is wonderfully done. You do a great job not just parroting back lines from the book, but really infusing the scene with Lupin's perspective - his own struggles with the dementor even as it goes after Harry, the kick to the stomach and the heart that he receives as he realizes what memories Harry is reliving. Especially the moment when Lupin realizes he's hearing James' voice. Oh my goodness, that stopped me in my tracks - it was a powerful moment. I really liked too how you handled the light and darkness imagery, with the lamps sputtering out and the room plunging into darkness as the dementor emerges - it nicely illustrates the emotional darkness the dementors evoke in both Harry and Remus. Yes, I know it's borrowed from the books, but it's handled expertly here.

In fact, I'd venture to say this is the most polished and well-written chapter to date. The bon mots are everywhere. My favorite? "But he couldn’t shake the feeling that there was something in that Shack that he’d rather not see. He’d made the Shack shriek once. Was some part of him haunting it still?" I love that idea, that someone still living could haunt a place he'd left behind, as though we can leave a ghostly imprint on places that have had a profound impact on us. Another? "Remus stood, too, trying not to wonder how there could be happy enough things in a world where people like James could die. He hadn’t wondered that for years." And: "Then, so abruptly that Remus almost gasped, silver mist blossomed from Harry’s wand, lighting up the room, keeping the dementor at bay, wavering but holding its undefined form between demon and boy." There is power in that writing, Seriani, and in this chapter you do a fantastic job wielding that power. Bravo! A magnificent job...

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121066Chapter: 13
Poor Remus! I love how you inserted backstory - and made the backstories realistic.

Favorite quote:

I’m going to Hogwarts. I’m going to Hogwarts.

I’m going to Hogwarts!!

Something about that made me warm and fuzzy inside. It must be horrible for a little boy to have an illness and be shunned for it - and wonderful when the most respected Wizard in the world gives you a chance.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120995Chapter: 13
Wonderful flashback scene of Peter telling Remus he was the suspected traitor. I also loved the fact that Remus thought to ask Filch for the Map.

This fic has been consistently good- I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120994Chapter: 13
Wonderful flashback scene of Peter telling Remus he was the suspected traitor. I also loved the fact that Remus thought to ask Filch for the Map.

This fic has been consistently good- I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120973Chapter: 13
I've never gotten a sense of how hard it is to conjure a Patronus. Thinking about it, it's actually pretty impressive. I like the line "After Voldemort, Sirius, and an army of dementors...". Hehe, nice chapter...can't wait for more updates!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120950Chapter: 13
Now you're making ME want to cry. I loved the flashbacks in this chapter, as well as Remus's reaction to the anti-dementor lessons. I've always wondered what he must have been thinking during this. I also wondered when he'd get the courage up to talk to Harry about James.

Very good chapter. Chilling. But also heart-warming. Thanks, Seri dahling.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120856Chapter: 12
LOL, somehow I missed this chapter entirely! You generate some great lines in this chapter, Seriani. "Somewhere, off on the horizon, was the possibility of a life without lies." James leaned over and stuck his finger between Sirius’s eyes. "Don’t touch the broom. Don’t ever touch the broom." The James-Sirius flashback is priceless, and I love the bonus of how it trips additional suspicion in Remus' mind about the hidden dangers lurking in Harry's Firebolt. I'm sooooo looking forward to how you handle *the moment* when Remus finally realizes everything! The effect it has on the reader is incredible enough - what effect will it have on Remus???? I have to admit, I'm not quite sure what Remus' encounter with Trelawney was supposed to achieve, although it does darken the tone of the chapter for a little bit. But otherwise, nice job on a pleasant little chapter where not too much grinding of the Wheels of Plot goes on.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120853Chapter: 11
Another nice chapter, Seri! I really like how you give us a glimpse into Remus' normal life here, away from Hogwarts. I love Remus' role as a guinea pig for these dedicated lycanthropy researchers - it seems like just the thing he would do to try and help himself and his fellow werewolves. Of course, maybe I'm biased in that if I were a wizard, I'd want to be a Healer working on just this kind of research. :-)

In fact, I think this chapter as a whole does a great job fleshing out the issues of prejudice that Remus has to deal with - something that JKR hints at but never really depicts in detail. The bigotry and ignorance of the textbook entry on werewolves is a nice touch, as is the cameo by our beloved Umbridge! Uh-oh, is poor Remus' disastrous transformation in a few months' time going to cause political problems for him?... Anyway, I like how you articulate a theme that JKR has clearly developed herself to some extent in her books - that ultimately the only way to combat ignorance and bigotry is through knowledge and example - by showing people what "dark creatures" like werewolves are really like, in person. Bravo!

On another note, I also really liked how you linked Hermione with Lily in this chapter - it was a lovely connection you made in Remus' mind between Hermione's ability to solve puzzles and Lily, and I love how it foreshadows how Hermione *does* eventually figure out Remus! Beautifully done. And of course, the flashback is a gem, as usual - I love their banter! You do it so well. "Don't call me Prongs, that's almost as annoying as 'Jim'." LOL! Nicely done!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120819Chapter: 12
Oh gosh, I can totally see Sirius having a fetish about James's broom when they were at Hogwarts. Classic.

And poor Hagrid . . . I'm still curious about the special nature of their relationship. I look forward to seeing more between the two of them.

Reviewer: badumDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120507Chapter: 12
I've really been enjoying this story. I think my favorite part is the little flashback with James telling Sirius not to touch the broom. It gives even more of a reason for Sirius to give Harry the firebolt.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120225Chapter: 11
A vaccine! What an amazing thought. How that could revolutionize the wizarding world and make everything that Remus has suffered worthwhile . . . Wow.

(Figures that the most exciting thing to me would be the idea of a vaccine, eh, Seri dahling?)

Reviewer: Erin ArbuthnotDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120101Chapter: 11
I just have to say, that the healer's name being Jerry Arbuthnot is wonderful. Out of curiousity, did you just think that one up, or do you know an Arbuthnot? There aren't that many of us out there. Moving along, however, I really like this story: I think that it's one of the best missing moment pieces I've read. Please keep up the good work!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119902Chapter: 11
Really interesting chapter! The way Hermione's enquiring mind reminded Remus of Lily and made him feel a little uneasy; how you had Remus involved so personally in the development of the Wolfsbane potion. And... That Woman. ¬.¬ It was all very interesting, and a nice break from the school routine. And highly poignant, given what happens at the end of this story.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-04-14
Reviewid: 119607Chapter: 10
Another solid chapter, Seri! You continue to impress me with your consistently imaginative ideas. I loved the weather magic discussion at the beginning of the chapter - the potion for brewing a tempest in a teapot is just brilliant! Spot-on JKR humor, that is. :-) I also really like the way you handle the Davey Gudgeon flashback - the way each of the Marauders responds to the emergency is perfect, with James and Sirius the heroes heedless of their own safety, Remus playing a supporting role and telling hapless Peter what to do. Finally, I'm glad you brought back that wonderful line from earlier in the fic - "It is quite a task keeping secrets from Harry Potter." I loved it the first time, and the way you bring it back as a warning to Remus about the difficulties he's about to face in developing a closer relationship with Harry while trying to keep some emotional distance (and the truth about his friendship with James and Sirius) from him. Nicely done!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119460Chapter: 10
Man, I wish he were my teacher. Another excellent chapter, Seri. (And let's have a quick update, while you're at it. Don't make me fly home and make you!)

Reviewer: loopy4lupinDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119355Chapter: 10
I stumbled across this story recently and have been reading it with extreme fervor. Your characterizations are right on target. Lupin is outwardly calm and collected, even when his thoughts betray this appearance. I love the Lupin/Snape and Lupin/Harry interaction. I am curious as to your take on the film-Lupin's monologue on the bridge about Lily. Do you believe there was something between them? Will this be a factor at all in the future (i.e. with the Patronus)? Amazing job!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119333Chapter: 10
I'm sorry I haven't been following this story as closely as I should have! It's wonderful, one of the best Lupin POVs that I've ever seen. I especially like your flashbacks-ever consider writing an MWPP era fic?

Lupin, of course, is perfect. His characterization of wanting to please DD, never losing his temper, and reluctance to become too close to Harry because of propriety is just perfect. Great job, I look forward to the next update!

-PQ

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119330Chapter: 8
I had to review here, just to tell you that the flashback to Sirius laughing broke my heart.

“Bring it on!” Sirius challenged, through his gasps of laughter. “Kill me, Remus. You don’t know how much I want you to.”

" “That’s right!” Sirius shouted, exultant. “The glorious day! Peace at last! Enjoy your freedom, Remus Lupin . . . Lily and James bought it for you.”

It was too much. Remus threw himself forward with more strength than he knew he possessed, and everyone lost hold of him. Sirius raised his chin, exposing his throat, as Remus charged to rip it out. Being a werewolf had taught him that much, at least -- go for the throat."


When you think of how Sirius was before, it's so sad. I get the same feeling whenever I read any fic about Sirius's fall from 'glory' and Remus being all alone again, it just hits me in the heart--that's the part of the whole Harry Potter story that I find the most sad--how the Marauders were, and what they became on that day. They were carefree young men one day, and then they were asking to be killed--exposing their throats to be killed--the next. It gets me every time, and your rendition was particularly poignant.

-PQ

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-12
Reviewid: 119322Chapter: 10
You fill in the gaps of Lupin's POV very nicely. I especially liked his discussion with the twins and Lee, and his confrontation with Snape was perfect. He came out on top without rubbing anything in or giving into Snape's jibes. Very impressive and mature.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-04-11
Reviewid: 119204Chapter: 9
Another nice chapter, Seriani! I really liked how this chapter goes completely behind the scenes, without any overlapping with scenes we see from the book (ie, Harry's perspective) - it makes the story seem fresher. You nicely pick up subtle things from the book and run with them, like Harry noticing everyone watching him like hawks. I also like very much plot point about Lupin (and Snape!) not being able to conjure Patronuses - it seems more consistent with the plot, where the difficulty of conjuring a Patronus would explain why no one sees exactly what Dumbledore or Lupin (or even Harry at the Quidditch match!) is able to produce.

As usual, though, the flashback is the showstopper. I love the imaginative details - the idea of magical narcotics, how it's an offhanded remark by Lily that clues James and Sirius into the truth about Remus, how Peter is roped into keeping the secret involuntarily, which seems to illustrate his relationship (as not-exactly-an-equal) with the rest of the Marauders. And it works so well at that moment in the story.

I'm actually really coming to like the way you're defining the Marauders' relationships with each other. The brotherhood comes through, of course - but I like the tensions you've developed between them. Like in the argument Remus and Sirius had about revealing their Animagi status, or here where Peter is essentially blackmailed into keeping Remus' lycanthropy a secret. These are nuances that foreshadow how the final tragedy plays out, with Peter's betrayal, and Remus coming to believe in Sirius' ultimate guilt. It's something I haven't seen explored very well, and I like what you're doing with the moments you've given us.

Oh, and I loved the closing line! :-) Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118835Chapter: 9
Interesting interpretation of how James and Sirius found out about Remus! And it's also interesting that they wanted to make sure Werewolves were safe... most fics have them being all, "oh, you're a Werewolf, so the very type of person we've been taught to hate all our lives? Cool beans!" I mean, I think it's likely there was some hesitation - or, at least, a lot of discussion.

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118832Chapter: 9
An amazing story, thank you for it!
I especially like the twists and flashbacks that you are giving to a story that, generally speaking, we have heard often. I liked your turn on how Peter found out about Remus, which explains in a new way a possible reason as to why in the world the other Marauders let Peter in on the secret, and perhaps a reason for their continued friendship, especially since he seems to have so very few redeeming qualities. And the last sentences of chapter 9, Remus asking about the match and McGonagall not being amused, was just perfect. Did I ever laugh! Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118592Chapter: 8
Another magnificent chapter, Seriani. I like how we briefly return to Sirius' point of view, especially how you keep up the conceit of Sirius as a deranged murderer in these snippets - but when you read between the lines, make sure that all his apparently-murderous thoughts are consistent with his plan to save Harry, not kill him. Clever touch. The other touches to this chapter are imaginative - I like how you fill in the gap in PoA of what the teachers are actually doing to secure the castle in the wake of Sirius' entry and escape. I really like Remus' encounter with the dementor!

The flashbacks, though, are the centerpiece of this chapter, and are done beautifully. They flesh out Sirius (and Remus) as characters, answer critical plot questions, and really illustrate the fundamental confounding paradox of Sirius from Remus' perspective - how could this man be capable of such evil? I found the argument between Sirius and Remus about revealing their Animagi forms to the Order very compelling - it's surprisingly tense, and Remus' failure to understand Sirius' almost irrational desire to maintain secrecy actually creates a certain degree of ambiguity in Remus' (and the reader's) mind about Sirius' intentions. In that moment, you understand how Remus could plausibly believe that Sirius could be capable of murder. The final flashback is brilliant - the picture of Sirius, deranged with grief and guilt, doing nothing to try and convince his only remaining friend, perhaps even looking for death at Remus' hands and perhaps release from the horror of that moment, is one of those things that makes me stop in the middle of a book and think. I'm not sure what I think of that picture yet - but it made me think, and that I really really like. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118579Chapter: 8
TELL HIM, YOU IDIOT!!! Dumbledore won't send you to Azkaban, and he wouldn't have in the first place! Tell him tell him tell him!!!

*calms down* Wow, Seri. What an interesting twist on these events. I love how you show us scenes that we're already familiar with from the book, by adding a whole new element to them - ward enchantments, flashbacks . . .

Keep it coming. This is pure gold.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118508Chapter: 8
Very interesting chapter. You really bring out how Sirius's break-in affected Remus. The flashbacks were so poignant. And given Remus's history, it's amazing he's able to even talk to a Dementor, let alone anything else.

Favourite lines:
"Psychopathic escaped convicts needed to make use of what they had." - very cynical, captured Sirius's frame of mind perfectly.
x
"Sirius could charm the fangs off a snake." - great metaphor.
x
“What’s ‘latharocosis’?” asked Peter as the portrait swung open.

“It’s a disease where you ask too many questions at four o’clock in the morning and then get whacked by someone,” said Sirius. - I really like how you capture the typical sound of boys speaking without making them sound overly abusive.
x
The house-elves had gone to bed, and the kitchens were deserted. He checked every drawer and cupboard, just to be sure. - So sad.

The way you ended that memory of Remus and Sirius toasting to more adventures was also sad. Remus's doubts and thoughts and fears were so believable. One of the best chapters.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118140Chapter: 8
I almost cried on ch 8. Poor Remus. This is a really great fic. Please keep writing.
~~Snuffles~~

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117891Chapter: 7
Another nice chapter, Seri! I do kind of wish (yes, I have nothing but wishes!) that you'd had a chance to maybe illustrate in more detail some of the incidents and ideas you mention at the beginning of the chapter. Like maybe a episode of him tutoring a student, or having a conversation with Hagrid. Yeah, I suppose it might have delayed you from getting to the point of this chapter, which was the Snape-Harry confrontation.

Still, an imaginative chapter! I really liked the various pranks played by students for points, and the commentary about how to handle Slytherins was a nice little touch. I also liked Lupin discovering his skill and enthusiasm for teaching - it really is a wonderful thing to see students develop that trust for you, and to see their eyes light up when they finally understand.

And thank you for giving us a compelling reason for why Lupin hid his past from Harry! It's an interesting point that you bring up - if Sirius' betrayal wounded Lupin so badly, what would it do to Harry? Probably nothing good, as illustrated in both book and movie. :-) I'm still of the opinion that they should have told Harry up front, but now I'm willing to concede that the opposite point of view has something going for it. I like this set up, too - that Remus has to come to terms this year with Sirius' betrayal, something he has presumably never confronted over the past twelve years. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117846Chapter: 7
Another great chapter, Seriana. I love the way you've observed Harry's behaviour from Remus's point of view during the potion-scene. Your Remus is so perfectly in-character throughout, and the details of your own creation complement those of PoA so beautifully. Your descriptive language is rich and colourful, the images you conjure up a delight to read. My favourite here is:

'He didn’t want apologies -- he wanted revenge, and he would wait with spider-like patience for some opportunity. Remus knew him well enough to be afraid.'

Snape compared to a hunting spider - a stroke of brilliance! Love it.

Helen

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117236Chapter: 6
This story has got stronger over the last few chapters. I particularly liked Remus' flashbacks to the maruaders years. I look forward to your next update.

Reviewer: wokka42Date: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116504Chapter: 6
Sigh, this really is evolving into a well-written story - certainly it's one I'm now going to start following breathlessly like I do Elsha's "Disavowals" and anything by St. Margaret's! You're doing a wonderful job delving into Lupin's character, and probing how the last of the Marauders has to cope with so many bittersweet memories at Hogwarts, with the belligerence of Snape, and of course the difficult task of confronting Harry.

The flashbacks are a brilliant touch - I love how you're using them to flesh out Lupin's past. I especially loved Hagrid playing the hero and corralling an escaped Lupin-werewolf! That was a perfect Hagrid moment - fearless, compassionate and of course, animal-related! I gasped out loud with delight when I came across it! You were thinking of Tom Riddle's snort in CoS about Hagrid's exploits, weren't you? :-)

I also love how you close this chapter: "He had faced the children of his dead friends, he had kept his head, and he had taught them something useful. The worst was over." I like the lyricism, and the honesty, the elegance. You're writing with a quiet gentle level-headed tone, and with spartan and clean diction - I like it, and it fits Lupin really well. You're writing as though he's telling the story himself, which I find really impressive!

You know, something I'd love to see more of is the justification for Lupin not telling Harry about his parents' history. It's something I never could buy about the plot of PoA - why Lupin needed to hide his past from Harry, and why it was necessary for Harry not to know his past relationship with Sirius at all. You touched on it briefly at the start of this chapter. Maybe somehow over the course of this fic you can find a way to explain a little better to us why Lupin must remain a man of mystery to Harry and not emerge as one of his father's closest friends?

Well, that's a humble request - I won't be offended if you don't take me up on it. I only ask because you write with intelligence, with honest emotion that doesn't get all gooey and maudlin, and with a good intuition for Lupin as a character. So I'm sure you'd have a creative answer for me! Anyway, keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Apri;Date: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116499Chapter: 1
You put a lot of thought into this! Interesting insight, with Remus thinking that Sirius would come after him. Very, very interesting point about why Dumbledore asked Remus to come to Hogwarts in the first place: because of his former friendship and history with Black. Wonderful deductions!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116464Chapter: 6
Oooh, Snape makes me so mad, I could plant a vulture hat on him myself! I love seeing this scene through Remus' eyes. I never really thought about the effect that seeing the children of people he would know would have on him. And since we didn't know about Neville yet when the third book came out, I certainly never thought about Remus knowing Frank and Alice!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116354Chapter: 6
I like the way Remus is starting to fit in, both with the other teachers (nice subtle test from Vectra) and the students. The way he saw all his former friends in their children or relatives really brings home how much devastation the first war with Voldemort caused. His thought process was very amusing as well.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116335Chapter: 6
I just love this story. Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116281Chapter: 6
It must be hard for Remus, having to face that. :( But as long as he doesn't do a Sirius and mistake Harry for James, he'll be fine. (No offense meant towards Sirius).

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116181Chapter: 5
Excellent chapter. I love the way you had Remus start out his DADA class. I firmly believe that the twins' magic tricks are going to be important somehow during the final two books. They're not just there for comic relief.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116011Chapter: 5
Oh gosh, that nearly made me cry. Only Hagrid could show such compassion to a werewolf in full transformation.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115919Chapter: 5
I just read through the latest three chapters and am really liking this take on PoA. I especially enjoyed the little Marauder memories sprinkled throughout, and Hagrid calling Remus "Pup." The fact that Hagrid had actually taken him on and remained unscathed was a great moment.

Hope to see the next installment soon.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115861Chapter: 1
I love the first chapter! That is all I have read so far, because it's much too late for me to be reading the whole thing... but that one line, when Dumbledore says how it was his "bad judgement that got James and Lily killed", my heart really ached and went out to him then. Also, when he talks about how "Lupin can be the ONE to protect Harry from Black"... when Remus was undoubtably feeling guilty about not telling Albus about his being an Animagus.... very well-crafted and put together, if I do say so myself. Bravo. ;) :) :D

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115845Chapter: 5
I hope we get to see some more of these promised pranks in this story!

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115591Chapter: 4
Ooh - another fantastic chapter, Seriana! And again, you've turned my own assumptions about PoA upside down. I was wondering, after the last chapter where you brought Remus to Hogwarts during the summer holidays, how you were going to explain him being on the Hogwarts Express on the first of September. I'd never considered that he may have been stationed there as a protective force by Dumbledore, but it makes perfect sense, and you have created a very convincing explanation for all the events that ensue from this point on.
And I love the little Marauders memories you have sprinkled across this chapter. Beautifully done. Thank you!
Helen

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --