The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2007-05-13
Reviewid: 148001Chapter: 1
Thank you so much for this wonderful story! The dialog was so realistic. I really liked all the scenes: ones between Ron and Ginny, ones between Harry and Ron, and ones between Ron and Hermione. I was so excited over all the little details, from Ginny insisting Ron needed the hospital when he was too tired to eat, or Ron pouring gravy over everything. That seems like something he would do. Or Harry borrowing Ronís shirt for his date--it was so natural and so roommate-ish and also brotherly, especially Ron's reaction: quizzical and blase. Also I thought the story was so perfectly within Ronís perspectiveó-for instance, he didnít even once think to himself about Harryís date. I loved that soft moment you wrote about when Hermione smiles at Ron while she is waiting with Luna to go to Hogsmeade, and he stops in his tracks. I love them linking pinkies: so small, and such a big step... so subtle, and so powerful. I loved reading this. I'm bookmarking it so I can read it again later.

Reviewer: GeorgieDate: 2006-05-13
Reviewid: 142763Chapter: 1
Aww! Yep, that's definately worth a goofy smile! I loved the little exchanges between Ron and Harry as well - just stuff normal teenage boys would say to each other. I always felt that we didn't really see any...well, for lack of a better word, throw-away conversations between Harry and Ron in the books, if that makes sense...
Love it.

Georgie

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135548Chapter: 1
This was cute... exactly the sort of little Ron/Hermione moment I was needing today. :)

Reviewer: EmerikaDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134345Chapter: 1
aWwWwWwWwWwWwWwWwWwwWwWwWw....

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133937Chapter: 1
This was just lovely! I'm looking desperately for good R/Hr fluff and I'm glad I've found some at last! I actually read the last part over in the fluff thread and then realized I had to go and read the whole fic. Great stuff!
One nitpick though: I know this is silly, but it just struck me as a little odd that Harry would borrow a shirt from Ron, seeing as most of Ron's stuff are frayed (if I'm not mistaken) and Harry's aren't. Oh well, maybe he took a Weasley sweater for good luck or something. lol.

Reviewer: MIchaela ElliottDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122859Chapter: 1
THis is so weird! i never thought that Ron and Hermione would like each other!
But think of how Harry will react!Will he find out?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121188Chapter: 1
Very sweet story, I really liked Harry and Ron in the dorm room, with Harry trying to flatten his hair and Ron looking for socks. There is just something so ordinary and natural about it that you feel as if you're there with them. The ending was really great, especially this paragraph:

[She put her hand there again, Ron thought with a rush of warmth. He looked down the hand. What if he just laid his hand next to hers, like this? There, thatís easy enough. Slowly he inched his hand till it was touching the side of hers. Well, she hasnít moved away, thatís something, I suppose. Hermione turned and gave him that little smile she had that seemed to come from her eyes. Emboldened, Ron lifted his little finger and laid it over hers. She lifted her finger just slightly in response and their fingers linked. He let out a breath he hadnít even realised he was holding.]

It's enough so that you can feel the tension bubbling between them, but I like that it doesn't end with a kiss. Somehow a kiss would have been too much at this point and I like how you held that back in favor of realism. Good job!

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120139Chapter: 1
That was lovely -- I think you have a very good handle on Ron. I find him difficult not to stereotype and you have him wonderfully in character. I already read the "Big Payoff" in the Fluff Thread (which is what brought me here) -- I think it is perfect for this point in their relationship. Keep writing (but please don't give up art)

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114863Chapter: 1
That was lovely! I especially liked the Limburger and not washing the clothes for good luck.
Wonderful little epiphany at the end too!

Eudora

Reviewer: Lila the Ice Cream QueenDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114788Chapter: 1
Wonderful story but it ended too soon. I was really getting into it, and then it ended! SEQUEL PLEASE!!!!!!

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114610Chapter: 1
Very nice story!! I love it!! :)

Reviewer: stefanieDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114394Chapter: 1
how sweet was that??? haha. loved it.

Reviewer: wat can I say nowDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114354Chapter: 1
that was too good. really fluffy and the best thing was the last bit..."Slowly he inched his hand till it was touching the side of hers..." awesome man! I got butterflies in my tummy again

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-02-18
Reviewid: 114281Chapter: 1
Thanks for such a sweet story! Just what I needed. :o)

I like how you showed the way Ron's mood was altered based on what Hermione was doing, and the hands touching on the couch was so cute!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114156Chapter: 1
In the show with this. Nice.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114143Chapter: 1
Well, Nundu, I've finally returned the favor and reviewed one of your fics. Sorry for the delay - for myself too, since I really enjoyed this and I must be missing out on your others. I felt Hermione was so nicely in character - not mean or too cool towards Ron but giving him glimmers of hope throughout, however subtle. They did so seem like schoolkids - you can really crawl into the heads of teenagers. And I loved your Ron-Ginny interaction - easy and natural like brothers and sisters - nothing forced, some teasing, but clearly caring for each other. Really good and perfect for Valentine's Day. Thanks!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114083Chapter: 1
That was such a sweet story. Believable and wonderful. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy. *sigh*

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114068Chapter: 1
This is truly adorable!!!!
Hermione turned and gave him that little smile she had that seemed to come from her eyes. Emboldened, Ron lifted his little finger and laid it over hers. She lifted her finger just slightly in response and their fingers linked. He let out a breath he hadnít even realised he was holding.
Maybe it wasnít the worst Valentineís Day after all.

Truly well done!!!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 114008Chapter: 1
Nice little ficlet there! Kinda sweet, and you got the Missing Moment nicely encapsulated. Worth noting that the anchor links are broken, and redirect to the homepage of SQ

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113999Chapter: 1
I love this! So sweet and adorable! Nice job!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113988Chapter: 1
*melts* This has to be the sweetest Ron/Hermione fic I have ever read. It felt like I took an extra large gulp of butterbeer while reading this; I'm all warm and fuzzy inside :D. Excellent job *pulls Ron, Hermione, and Nundu in a big group hug*

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113980Chapter: 1
Pinky snuggling. Sweet. Thanks for the feel good.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113957Chapter: 1
Aww, that was really cute! :)

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113952Chapter: 1
This is great! Ron and Hermione seem very real to me - especially Ron (the teenage appetite - the dirty laundry - the limburger smell - :> ). Your conversations flow so nicely too. Thanks for the bit of Valentine's sweets!

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113939Chapter: 1
That's so cute! Poor Ron, having a full day's training on a Hogsmeade weekend. At least there was something worthwhile about Valentine's Day.

Vala

Reviewer: VioletDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113936Chapter: 1
That's just sweet. I especially like the ending phrase. This is very much how I imagine Ron and Hermione getting together. Like a whisper....

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113932Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this fic. I liked how you were able to incorporate lines from OotP yet still tell the story from Ron's perspective.

In the ending you have Ron's hand inch out slightly towards Hermione's. That was a good way to contrast with Harry's hand inching towards Cho's in canon. Cho ends up moving her hand away, symbolizing a doomed relationship, while R/H's little fingers link -- not much, but still more than Harry/Cho. Thus you symbolize a small step on the way towards R/H becoming a legitimate couple.

Excellent fic. It's too bad that you didn't win any awards at PS.net.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113931Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I really liked your subtle approach to Valentine's Day--no need for hugs, or smoochies, or <censered>. A Missing Moment and R/Hr all rolled up into one neat little package.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113927Chapter: 1
Very cute! I enjoyed reading this. I think you got Ron just right and I liked the way Hermione comes across. At first, I thought it might be a story about Ginny and Michael missing out on Valentine's Day, but this did not disappoint!

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113925Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. That was ... so sweet and perfect and totally not over-the-top tooth-decay-causing sweetness.

I love how you kept everyone in character - Ron all clueless and grumpy, Hermione not too forward and not suddenly-wise-about-her-feelings-for-Ron. This is nice and slow... and it's just an 'awwww' moment when a simple linking of two little fingers makes Ron's day so much better.

But the prize for the Most Prizeless Moment goes to... Ron tackling Hermione. Stroke of genius, that one!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --