The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: King and Bishop
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121573Chapter: 1
This chapter/part was like the last chapter (is it the last chapter?) of OotP when Dumbledore is trying to explain things to Harry and Harry throws the fit. But Harry doesn't throw a fit in this one (thankfully).

The one thing that really, TRUELY bugged me about this one was that Harry constantly calle Dumbledore 'Headmaster'. 'Yes, Headmaster', 'No, Headmaster', 'I'll try to master Occlumency, Headmaster'. Yeah. That really bugged me because in the books, he doesn't refer to him as 'Headmaster' he refers to him as 'Professor Dumbledore'. Please take this comment into consideration for the next part(s)!

*Katie*
*Nymphadora_Florida*

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120775Chapter: 1
Interesting discussion between Harry and Dumbledore. It is clear that you enjoy theorizing about the next moves. DD's chess game analysis, and discussion of who is perceived as being the king, is very clever. When DD said "I don't know," I could feel the air just leave Harry. I'm glad you threw him a bone with the DADA results. Really enjoying your writing style and thought process.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115351Chapter: 1
Lovely comparison of Harry's situation last summer and this summer. You touched on some very well thought out points. My favorite part was the discussion of the chess game. Quite a brilliant analysis of the possible strategies used by Voldemort and the one used by Ron. The only negative I would point out is that Harry seemed a bit too mature at times in his discussion with Dumbledore. His referring to Dumbledore as "Headmaster" vs. "Professor" seemed a bit too, adult for Harry. Otherwise, I thought this was wonderful and very well written.

Reviewer: JimnjoyeDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115177Chapter: 1
Very good story. Interesting use of the chess match from the first book.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114508Chapter: 1
i really really liked this story. it was realistic (for hp), funny, and had the right amount of emotion thrown in. a very interesting read.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114155Chapter: 1
reader2, not readre3

Reviewer: reader3Date: 2005-02-17
Reviewid: 114154Chapter: 1
weiil done. Please say this is but a page of an outstanding tale you are writing.

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114072Chapter: 1
I think this conversation between Harry and Dumbledore is superbly done, with Dumbledore's sagely explanations so brilliantly in character. I loved his suggestion for how Harry could clear his mind to prepare himself for Occlumency - it always bothered me tremendously that Snape offered him no help or advice on how to do this; it was hardly surprising that he managed it with so little success, really.

I also love Dumbldore's assessment of Ron's chess game especially the idea that no one realises that Harry is more important than a 'mere bishop' in the game of war that has begun.

And I love your ending - contrasting the position Harry was in at the beginning of OotP with the way he is feeling after all those climactic events in the Ministry and the revelations which Dumbldore has imparted to him. I can imagine that JKR will indeed begin HBP with reflections of a similar sort; Harry came a long way during the course of the fifth book, and he is going to be forced to do some very rapid growing up if he is going to be able to handle all the terrible things shortly to come. Your Harry seems to be steering himself in the right direction, anyway.

Helen H

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114026Chapter: 1
interesting story. Just why were the exam scores messed with?
I like the bit about Dumbledore and Co watching an re-enactment of the chest game

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113973Chapter: 1
several of the staff and I watched re-enactments of the two games played
-Great idea! I liked how you described Voldemort's style of play.

Lovegoods have a shorter but no less impressive record of open-mindedness and tolerance in the face of persecution
-Very funny and well put.

"Default"? How about another chapter?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --