The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Consequences
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116104Chapter: 1
I am horrendously late, but I'm so happy to finally read this, Genesse! Great follow-up. I love Ronnie Fawcett. =)

-Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114877Chapter: 1
I hung back about reading "Consequences"--I admit it--because I'm not really much for afterlife stories; so often they strike me as providing a facile happy ending. Heh, I should've known you better! I love that you imagined no easy resolution awaiting Regulus on the other side; everything does not suddenly become o.k. there, all rainbows and meadows full of flowers. Instead, it is *strange,* not comfortable, and Regulus's experience of it is determined by what he's ready to bear. He's still himself on the other side, bewildered, hesitant and afraid; doubt and shame and regret aren't wiped away but are still waiting for him there.

Once again, you've got the Blacks nailed--from Mrs. Black's deathbed scene, to Sirius's offhand way of speaking about serious matters, his careless embraces and careless kindness. You've given Regulus wonderful lines to speak--"I do not choose to sleep...but sometimes I allow myself the respite"--"I'm not a soldier anymore"--in fact, his whole conversation with the good soldiers who come to kill him. How right that his first conversation with his brother reminds him of a recovery from illness--and that you have him finally waking to cleansing dew and birdsong instead of poisonous green light, the morning that he decides it's time to leave the shadows.

Bravo again.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114726Chapter: 1
Ah, Genesse! This is such a beautifully-woven piece of the whole Black family tapestry you've created. It reminds us of C.S. Lewis's "The Great Divorce": a beautiful, sort of meta-physical world beyond this world. Not only is it beautifully written (and "woven"--did we mention "woven"?--because the different parts of it do **weave** in and out--they appear, then disappear, then show themselves again, with more clarity, until we finally say "aha! So that's what happened!"--So much more skillful than just blurting out all the backstory at once.)--But it gives us hope and a satisfying feeling of resolution, because we see what's beyond the veil. Sirius is there--now we know he's all right. James and Lily are there, and Sirius is reunited with them. Regulus's parents are there too, and it's so wonderful, this depth you've built, of relationships even beyond the veil. There are layers there too, just like the layers in this life: Relationships are complex, as are feelings. Regulus is hiding in the forest; he isn't completely OK with everything yet; Sirius has to seek him out...

You've really created a multi-dimensional life-beyond-life here. And we can't imagine it being done with more skill than you've done it.

Brava! A pleasure to read!

We just...we can't say enough good things about this very unique piece!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114628Chapter: 1
This is an interesting look at what happened in the final moments of Ronnie's life and Regalus's life.
I also like the scene between Regalus and Sirius. And the little more history we find out.

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114421Chapter: 1
Oh! I loved it. You know I have to comment about the Thomas Monson quote, as I love that one. He is so great. Thanks for reminding me.

I wish that I had your talent of entwining stories and making them all relate. I love that he saw everyone die with grey eyes. I don't know what the meaning there would be, but I like it just the same.

Thanks, Genesse...you've done it again.

Reviewer: SDBDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114372Chapter: 1
I love your representation of the afterlife. I love all of the characters, and the overall cathartic feeling this story gives.
Other than that there's notmuch to say, except to let you know I cried at the ending.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114367Chapter: 1
Nice wrap up. Really quite well done. Do you have another tale for us, please?

Reviewer: JuluDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114332Chapter: 1
This is incredible. I love how you have created your own shadow world. I felt like I was in a trance reading...it was great. I have always loved the concept of Regulus' backstory and I thought this was a very healing piece for the Black brothers.
Thanks so much.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114330Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed your story. You made Regulus into such an interesting character, and I especially like the relationship between the two brothers. Very cool!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114326Chapter: 1
Oooh. I didn't read the other stories (I just haven't been into Sirius/Maurader Gen fics), which I now regret, because this is very good! Makes me like Regulus. I like your idea of the afterlife as well. :D

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114325Chapter: 1
Very nice. Satisfying too. Thank you so much for acting on my suggestion.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114299Chapter: 1
Genesse, I liked it the first time I read it, and I like it even better now! I love how you worked in the "old muggle bloke". ;) This is a fine ending to Regulus' story. Bravo! Now write something fluffy! LOL

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --