The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 138

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-18
Reviewid: 145379Chapter: 9
Excellent – Thanks.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143166Chapter: 2
I really liked this. The interaction between Dumbledore and the twins brought out their more serious, adult side, as Dumbledore himself thought. I liked the characterisation of Dumbledore: utterly confusing but still with a very valid point to be found.

JK

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-12
Reviewid: 142747Chapter: 9
I love this. I'm not sure if I've read it before or not....but it's great! Are you writing more?

~GW

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136909Chapter: 9
I have to admit that I felt like I had run into a wall when I clicked on "Intentiontally Left Blank," but fortunately this was waiting for me afterward. *sighs in satisfaction* Excellent. Just as I had imagined the missing moments to be, except Ginny's presence at the end, but that didn't ruin it for me. Not at all.

Wonderful work! :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136908Chapter: 7
LOL! I loved this chapter! Wise!Fred and George giving Reluctant!Ron advice is always a treat, and thank you so much for showing us *most* of what happened when Ron actually went and put it into practice. Looking forward to reading the rest now!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136907Chapter: 6
I am trying to get back into reading/reviewing, and I think this was where I left off.

Excellent chapter. I liked that Percy isn't being welcomed back unanimously. Of course, OBHWF is always ideal but your approach is more realistic.

And my favorite line has to be ‘I want to grow up to be Mum.’ - I think that one reason why I like this fic so much is that you write a lot of private conversations between the twins and show that they are just as humorous with each other as they are around other people, which is very nice and consistent of them. :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134200Chapter: 9
I think my favorite line from this entire story was Ginny saying - "then what are you doing up here?" I think that's the real message of your story - advice is great up to a point. There has to come a time when you implement it. I'm proud of Ron ( and you) for the kissing scene.

I suppose the twins had that coming! Great job on this story. You really came up with and original and workable way to tell a summer-after-fifth year story.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134199Chapter: 9
I think my favorite line from this entire story was Ginny saying - "then what are you doing up here?" I think that's the real message of your story - advice is great up to a point. There has to come a time when you implement it. I'm proud of Ron! And I suppose the twins had that coming! Great job on this story. You really came up with and original and workable way to tell a summer-after-fifth year story.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134197Chapter: 6
Oh, we all had high hopes for Percy before HBP, didn't we? I liked what you said about tears cleansing and laughter healing - very true! On to the next chapter!

Reviewer: june luttrellDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134123Chapter: 9
I love fred and george and cant wait for you to write on. PLease hurry.

Reviewer: ShaynaDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133573Chapter: 1
I love it. That is so ingenious. It made me cry with laughter. Got a lot of with it does. All I can say is wonderful job.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133547Chapter: 8
All the other chapter's are great but this one is a little weak.I do get the hint throught R and R. Thank's a nice way to start a satu.rday

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132339Chapter: 9
Well this is quite a bit more fluff than I usually read, but it was good.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131910Chapter: 9
The way you've put all the characters, and their emotions and actions are all great, G. It's always made me smile, and sometimes that's the most important thing I can get out of a fic, unless, of course, the fic's an angst fest. But this wasn't. So it was great. *nods*

Reviewer: Clover FieldsDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131396Chapter: 8
Ok, just one question: What was the point of this chapter?

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130829Chapter: 9
Great, just great! but why was the previous chapter intentionally blank?

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130828Chapter: 9
Very nice, genesse ~ I liked it, verily, I did.

Your Weasleys are wonderful ~ no wonder Harry and Hermione are so happy at Burrow, even if F & G (or is it G & F?) rather irritate Hermione. Of course, they did get her a kiss, so I suppose she'll forgive them eventually.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130662Chapter: 9
Thanks for updating this fic! It isn't finished yet, is it? Please let me know when you update again...

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130633Chapter: 9
So Mr. Weasley came home from work an hour later every night??

Anyway, sweet scene, until the twins got in the way of it. But this is the final chapter? At least they kissed, but you left things between Ron and Hermione kind of...unresolved.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130621Chapter: 9
Thank you for thanking me twice. It's nice to be appreciated. I'll take five percent of your royalties when you're rich and famous. :P

You should continues this, you know. I'm just sayin'....

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130329Chapter: 7
‘She’ll hurt him if he doesn’t say it just right.’
Love that line.

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130321Chapter: 2
Still laughing. You do a wonderful job of capturing the twins and the way Dumbledore generally speaks in riddles.

Reviewer: LiDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130295Chapter: 8
Hey Genesse,
U absolutely rock. I love the chapter names especially (Left Intentionallly Blank) What a gr8 idee! U sneakyy! Noice. You write well too and it's depressing because I have to add you to my list of good ff authors. They're all so good and none of them can make money off it!<kiss kiss> U go girl! Li

Reviewer: SuePDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130104Chapter: 1
Nicely done. Fred and George are clever and so willing to be helpful. They are such givers *smirk*

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130042Chapter: 7
*snicker*

‘So is Ron your sweet monkey?’

*snicker*

Reviewer: ShandaDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129931Chapter: 8
I love this story! YOu did however, repost Ginny, Early August, as the last chapter.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129895Chapter: 8
Whoops.

I've been reading my own story, trying to remember what actually happened because I've finally been inspired to write that last bit where Ron kisses Hermione, and I found a mistake in chapter 5 - To Ginny, Early August. I submitted a replacement chapter and it accidentally got put up as chapter 8.

I've sent an email to Madam Pince and hopefully this will be fixed soon. I am working on the next (and final) part of the story, so don't fret.

Thanks you all for reading!
Genesse

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129888Chapter: 8
Er...sorry but this is the exact same thing as 5th chapter...

Reviewer: LadyDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129887Chapter: 8
Erm, this chapter is the same as chapter five. Anyway, awesome story so far! Update soon!

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2005-07-21
Reviewid: 127527Chapter: 7
This was so great! All the characters were depicted well...esopecially Fred and George. They were great! And the stuff with Ron and Hermone, Harry and Ginny. Loved the ooohlala stuff ahha! I couldn't stop laughing. Anyways good job, I enjoyed it very much!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127105Chapter: 7
Hee - I recognized my Lee! Thanks Adrianna! What a thrill! I really like the line about Ginny and Harry doing whatever you do. That made me laugh. I also liked your book title - and "sweet monkey" and F&G with a moustache. All those things made me laugh. And I'm in complete agreement with Honeybee - more kissing! And what about F&G? Hmmm? Some lucky girl wants to feel a Weasley moustache!

This was a great concept for a story. I hope you will continue this after HBP. And Lee could always use some friendly twin advice!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127104Chapter: 6
Oh I liked this. So many fan fic. writers don't seem to want Percy back in the fold - but I certainly do! I liked how Fred and George still act like themselves and put their foot in - but go along with the party preparations. I also like how Molly doesn't wave them off to their own flat but reminds them that they are all in the war together. It was a nice line pointing at the underlying theme of unity.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127102Chapter: 5
I'm finally reading the rest of your story, Adrianna. Sorry it has taken me so long! I finally finished my Lee Jordan - and hopefully we'll get back into the groove of our writing group soon.

Anyway - loved this. I really like emotional Ginny. I think that's the way she operates, no matter how cool she acted around Harry in OotP. I like how she still can't decide how agressive/passive she wants to be around Harry. And how Harry can't quite let go of the R/Hr dynamic. I do think that is very plausible for a relationship such as theirs to go in fits and starts.

I also liked F and G's growth from the first chapter. "Delicately" is certainly a new concept for them!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126623Chapter: 7
I really enjoyed this! Not too light and not too heavy. Funny and full of love (the real kind, familial love included), and flawlessly in-character.
It *would* be amusing to see Fred and George in matching moustaches.
Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: MrFlyingFingersDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126576Chapter: 7
‘Bill and Fleur, so that we could catch up on some paperwork,’ George said. He gestured to the receipts still strewn on the floor.

:lol: Yet another funny little bit!

‘So is Ron your sweet monkey?’

:o :lol

Reviewer: MrFlyingFingersDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126573Chapter: 6
‘Yes, I do. I need you to let him back just like that. What is a family but kind to one another. I was reading one of the pamphlets your father’s collecting in the shed. “Kindness pardons weaknesses and faults,” one of them said. “It extends to the lowest stations as well as the highest stations.” Your father and I have forgiven Percy, and I would hope that you two would forgive him as well.’

...Hmmmmmm...what kind of pamphlets would these be?

Nicely done portrayal of Molly--the conflict of a mother sorting out issues among children.

Fred turned back to George, who was covered with golden baubles. ‘This Sticking Charm is not working properly,’ he said as he tried to shake a few off his arms.

I'm smirking. This is good physical comedy!

Reviewer: MrFlyingFingersDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126567Chapter: 5
“Delicately” meant, to the twins, “change the subject.”

*snort*

I like your Fred-George banter!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126387Chapter: 7
----"‘Oh, that was Hermione, and not a storm that blew through here?’ George asked cheekily."----
<grin>

----"Women Are From Wherever They’re From and Men Are From Earth?"----
<grin> Ahh, Sage Advice.

Anyways great Chapter. I'm glad you got this finished before HBP, now you can be busy directing troops. ;)

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126371Chapter: 7
WOW!

I laughed, and laughed, and enjoyed the "kissing scene" very much.

Favorites...amongst others...

>>‘Have you heard of the book 'Women Are From Wherever They’re From and Men Are From Earth?’ Fred asked.<<

>>‘Ron happened! He took me out to the garden and … and looked at me and then started talking about you two and the advice you’d given him!’<<

Yes, yes. Ron did happen.

This is wonderful, I can't wait for the scene itself! yay for LJ.

Great story, I've enjoyed every last letter of it.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126293Chapter: 7
Great story! The twins are perfect. Just one question: I know I recognize the line, "If they had not known the bitter, they could not know the sweet," but where does it come from? It's driving me crazy!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126224Chapter: 6
Ahh, Laughing is one of the best medacine's out there...

-----"Oh?’ asked Molly. She hadn’t been expecting this. Fallible, she thought. ‘Is – is that it?’
‘Yes,’ the twins said together solemnly.
Molly stood up. ‘Well. If that’s it…’
They looked up at their mother expectantly.
‘Absolutely not.’ Molly turned on her heel and walked toward the kitchen door."-----
LOL I found this dialouge absolutely brilliant!

Great Chapter!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126207Chapter: 7
‘“If they had not known the bitter, they could not know the sweet" Some muggle book, eh? :) Very nice chapter--of course I want to know what Dumbledore is up to now. And I want the kiss and the French declaration scene.

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126203Chapter: 7
How well you know me, dearest! :D

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125965Chapter: 6
So much love! I absolutely adore this story! You're an excellent characterizer m'dear! Very good job! <3 and :wub: (although they're basically the same thing =))

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125924Chapter: 6
I do love Gred and Forge.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125860Chapter: 6
Absolutely LOVE the tandem pickups the twins speak in! You write them VERY well. You also have Molly down precisely. Thanks so much for this story... It really is fun!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125842Chapter: 6
Brilliant job, as always, dear! :-)

It will be somewhat sad to see it end! (Luckily we'll have new canon to keep us occupied!)

You'll just have to start working on something else for us pretty soon, though. :-)

:wub:,

Jules

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125798Chapter: 6
Once again, I loved the whole interaction between Molly and the twins. Well done.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125744Chapter: 6
As a mum and Molly-supporter, I enjoyed your Mollyness. Great opening line, sets the scene beautifully.
Fav line this time? Easy.
>>Right. When he was five.<<
Followed by
>>At the door, she paused and said, ‘The hats, Fred, please? I want Percy to feel a part of this family, and we have always had the hats for his birthday.’

‘Yes, Mum, I’ll look for them.’<<

Heh heh. The power of Mums.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125742Chapter: 5
Ah, banter between the twins and Ginny is perfect, because they are, to use a popular phrase, kindred spirits. I love the boys in this one, because they know when to back off, and when to press forward, and just how to handle Ginny. And I think they really would.

Fav lines:

>>‘You’re nothing if not loved, Ginny. Don’t you forget that.’ Fred wagged a finger at her.

‘Ron, on the other hand –’<<
Perfect because the silliness comes right after the (gasp) heartfelt.

>>'How do you feel about Harry now, Ginny?’

‘Just the same as I always have,’ she whispered, hardly aware of what she was saying. <<
Aww.

>>‘Then consider yourself lucky. I’ve known them my whole life. I doubt I will recover.’<<
snerk.

What a lovely chapter. As always, your mix of concern and joking is perfect.

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125455Chapter: 5
I really liked the interaction with Ginny and the twins. I like that you show they have a soft side for their sister and it's not all jokes.

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125448Chapter: 5
Darling, you crax me up. Fred and George are perfect. And congratulations for 87 reviews ;)

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2005-06-28
Reviewid: 125439Chapter: 4
>>Arthur turned to look at the twins skeptically. They had innocent expressions on their faces, which was always disturbing for any number of reasons.<<
Ha!!

I'm so glad to finally get a chance to read this - I love it! The parallel between Harry and Arthur and the pebble was nicely done.

I also adore the fact that you used the expression 'the bee's knees'. It's perfect!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125031Chapter: 5
Yay for this lovely chapter! I love how the twins lent Ginny some support. It was sweet and funny at the same time.

I think you captured Ginny's conflicting feelings very well, too. Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125025Chapter: 5
"I’ve known them my whole life. I doubt I will recover."
Hee, How True?

An really excellent chapter.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124974Chapter: 5
Nicely written and very intriguing. You've stayed true to the characters, as well as to Rowling's style. Well done, I look forward to the rest of the chapters.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124814Chapter: 5
Thanks for updating this charming story! Have been watching for it. The twins are among my very favorite HP characters & this fic is such fun!

Reviewer: MargeryDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124730Chapter: 5
I really like this story. The chapters almost seem as if they could stand alone as little one-shots, but together they meld perfectly and it really flows along. The idea of Fred-and-George giving advice was first laughable, but because they give their meaningful advice in such a Weasley Twins way, it works.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124721Chapter: 5
I really like what you did with this, Gen! I like how you handled Harry and Ginny and their growing relationship.

For some reason, I really love this line: >>Ginny began re-reading the letter, hoping to pick up on any nuances that might indicate that Dean had written the letter while under the Imperius Curse<< It's a cute wizardism, and I can easily see Ginny, having grown up with Fred and George, being a bit suspicious in a funny way like that. Hee!

I also love the twins' teasing of Ginny. Perfectly in character, all of them. The banter between Harry and Ginny is very good. It makes sense...they appreciate a shared sense of humor.

Looking forward to the next chapter! :-)

Jules

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124669Chapter: 5
Can someone kiss by the end of the story? Please? :)

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124649Chapter: 5
I really love your Ginny! She's so wistful about Harry and so practical at the same time. And I love all the little details of Weasley family life - Ginny's knitting, Molly's reaction to her not being made prefect, the twins' ongoing struggle to perfect Sincerity Sweets. I particularly liked the interaction between Fred and George and Ginny. I thought it balanced perfectly between their teasing her and their not wanting her to be hurt.

"...we didn't make prefect because we're already happy."
a;lsdkfglkhglkas! This is my new favorite fanfic line.

:)

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124648Chapter: 5
Awww! I like this chapter. very cute.

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-06-09
Reviewid: 123524Chapter: 4
I loved the whole 'Ron poking Hermione' thing. Bloody priceless. Update soon!

Reviewer: VeronicaDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123336Chapter: 4
I was having the worst day ever before I read this. I started reading your story with puffy eyes and came out with a sore stomach from having laughed so much. Thank you, Genesse, you've just made my day.

My favorite part: ‘I’ll cry, Dad. Hit me, Bill,’ George interrupted.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123308Chapter: 4
Wow, this has been a lot of fun to read. It's only a very few people who can write Fred and George properly, and you are certainly one of them.

My favorite was the second chapter involving your excellent Dumbledore, but the 4th chapter came close with an equally excellent Arthur Weasley.

I like the way you've captured Fred and George getting older. They still love their jokes and pranks, but they aren't in school anymore, they are running their lives, thinking about their lives, and generally being young adults.

Brilliant, can't wait for another update.

Reviewer: mollyDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123306Chapter: 4
LOL! VERY FUNNY! PLEASE UPDATE SOON!

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123207Chapter: 1
I REALLY LIKE YOUR STORY. ITS VERY GOOD AND STAYS TRUE TO THE CHARACTERS. ITS GREAT WHEN AUTHORS UPDATE OFTEN, MY COMPLIMENTS ON THAT. OVERALL, ITS LOVELY, PLEASE DO CONTINUE. V. NICE. -RINA

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123165Chapter: 3
That was so awesome! How much more do you have planned?

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123161Chapter: 4
I've enjoyed reading this so far. Who knew Fred and George could be smart?! :-)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123042Chapter: 4
Oh, I loved this chapter. Arthur is one of my favorite characters, and not just because he's funny. You did a marvelous job bringing out his mature, introspective side. I thought it was great how you mentioned him teaching his children to swim, and then later on he was observing Bill puzzle over how to propose to Fleur. I like to think that he lent Bill some support there, too.

I also enjoyed the party scene. Ron poking Hermione in the ribs was a laugh trip :-p And the twins were delightful as always :) ('With so many good-looking Weasleys at the Burrow this evening, they all want to talk to the bald one.' LOL!)

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122974Chapter: 4
What a fun story! I am really enjoying this. Fred & George are among my favorite HP characters. It's nice to see them featured... & written so well too! Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122888Chapter: 4
---‘I’ll cry, Dad. Hit me, Bill,’ George interrupted.--- Twin moments, they always crax me up when their well written. And while it was mostly Bill advice, that last piece of advice to Arthur was priceless.
----"‘Think before you blurt, Dad,’ Fred whispered."----

Great Chapter,
I mean advice,

Gryfny

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122881Chapter: 4
Fun read. I always like watching the twins operate!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122842Chapter: 4
Oh, Gen! You have the best Arthur! I see him bumbling around so many times in fanfic, but you've shown him to be intelligent, even in his slight absent-mindedness. :-) His interaction with his children is beautiful.

I love it, and as always, I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: rlsDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122821Chapter: 4
" 'I'll cry, Dad. Hit me, Bill,' George interrupted. "

Hee!

Very nice job with Arthur. The opening 10 paragraphs or so from Arthur needing to get away from the noise, to reminiscing about teaching his kids to swim, to enjoying the peacefulness of the moment are really well done.

And as with all the other chapters, Fred and George have been characterized brilliantly.

Wonderful job, G. I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: kelleypenDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122791Chapter: 4
Thank you. This was great. I loved reading this one from Arthur's perspective. I love the correlation with the pebbles on the pond between Arthur and Harry. Nice parallelism.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122769Chapter: 4
The paragraph where Arthur is reminiscing about teaching his kids to swim was great. I noticed how you paired them all off except for Percy. Bill with Charlie, Fred and George, Ron and Ginny. I also liked how you did the repition of shrieks. *He missed those summer afternoons but he didn’t miss the shrieking, not really.* Great line.

I love Arthur. He sort of gets a sort of...I don't know how to phrase it, but he gets played as not being so intelligent sometimes. But here, it shows how much he is like the twins, who we know are intelligent. He gets their humor, and knows exactly what they're saying.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122767Chapter: 4
Yay for Arthur. You show so many sides of him, so well and so warmly. I love the details you have in this chapter, particularly in Arthur's recollections and his mixed feelings. I still love "hit me, Bill" best. I'm so enjoying Fred & George and the levity they bring to all situations. Who's the next victim?

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122760Chapter: 4
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I'm starting to think you're secretly a Weasley. You get them all down so very well.

Arthur's emotions from nostalgia, to a bit of feeling burdened to love for his family are all subtly explored and natural.

F&G are as usual funny, smart and right IC.

Excellent line, BTW

&#8216;Sometimes, Bill,&#8217; Arthur said, carefully interrupting, &#8216;marriage is an argument that lasts a lifetime.&#8217;

asjh;hfd;sjkadflk

Fantastically funny and sneakily insightful.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122704Chapter: 3
I loved the past couple of chapters :) You did a great job with the Weasley twins as always. I loved (hee) how they teach Harry about love using their family as an example. The way they explained things was very humorous - not only was that in-character for Fred and George, but also a nice way of getting Harry out of his funk. But at the same time I got the feeling that they were subtly trying to nudge their point across to Harry - I guess it was because the example of the family was too simple and close-to-home that Harry couldn't accuse them of BS.

Am I making sense? I'm not sure. I've given myself a headache @_@ Let's just say the twins taught Harry very well. I liked the things Ginny said, too.

I enjoyed Ron at the breakfast table, even if he contributed nothing to the lessons :-p and I thought the way you ended this chapter was very nice.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122659Chapter: 3
Whoops, got interrupted there. Will continue.

magicaljules: I'm glad that I didn't mess up Harry for you! He's a *great* character. And I'm glad that the Ginny thing was convincing enough. I'm just planting seeds here. While I do ship H/G, it wasn't my intention to make this story a shippy H/G story. This flowed naturally. As will what happens in Ginny's chapter. *walks away whistling*

ivy & Gracie: I'm not going to stop you from quoting the whole chapter on the Favorite Lines from Fan Fic thread! I'd be honored if you did! (I could use the publicity. ;))

Gryfny: Thank you so much for continuing to read my stories! I really appreciate it, Cap'n!

KP: You're so wonderful, thanks for being such a good friend!

lumorfox: Thanks for reading. I try my best. :)

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122654Chapter: 3
Thanks everyone for reviewing! I *really* appreciate it. I owe many of you answers to your questions from forever ago, so here they are:

St. Margarets: I don't write nearly as fast as you! When I first started writing this story, I had no intention of getting Harry and Ginny together. I think I'll just plant the seeds for now. ;)

MysticBlueside: Inspiration? When I was in college, I took a creative writing class and one of the assignments was to write down interesting things that people say for a few weeks. I started off just writing down the things I thought were funny, but then I started writing down different ways things were phrased, especially if slang was used, and trying to capture mood. My professor stole my assignment and now I have to read every book she write to see if she included anything from my list. But an interesting thing happened: all my friends and neighbors knew that I was collecting quotes, so they tried to be funny all the time so they can be immortalized in my quote book. This story was written as an exercise for my writing group in which we had to write a story that had no description--it all had to be dialogue. I looked through my quote books, picked a few lines and strung them together into something I hoped was entertaining. I was encouraged to flesh it out and submit it here. The rest is history. ;)

prplhez8: No, I'm not trying to kill you. Not intentionally, at least!

Pineapple Queen: Yes, it was August who said that. It's such a great book, isn't it?

grover53: I don't know how I came up with the spiderweb thing. I was looking for a way to bridge something Fred said and something Dumbledore said and the web just fell out of somewhere. Is it perfect? I have no idea. I suck at description. But, what's this? Chapter 3 might *not* be your favorite? Yes, I agree that it's not high on Twin-ness hijinx, but it's got the H/G OTP-ness!!!

Violet Azure: I wrote Chapter 4 with you in mind. At this point in time, the twins aren't talking to Percy, so I don't think they'll be giving him any romantic advice, but will be working on healing past wounds. Thanks for the suggestion!

Honeybee: Although in some fanfics Charlie Weasley is in the UK and spending a lot of time with one Jennifer Sauls, unfortunately in this story Charlie is still abroad and will not be making any appearances. Chapter 4 has the Bill-ness for ya, though!

Miss Daisy: Here I go, trying to get all angsty (as it's my forte) and you come and burst my bubble! ;) I'm sorry that you're verkempt, it wasn't my intention... Okay, maybe it was.

Coquillage: It's been my experience from growing up with only brothers that all boys like to skim rocks. And they all just know how to do it. I, on the other hand, was never able to master the skill. But don't tell anyone about that!

NB: I'm glad that Chapter 3 was your favorite chapter. I really liked it too. By all means, bookmark away! I won't stop you!

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-16
Reviewid: 122171Chapter: 3
This is in that lovely delicious space called romantic comedy: Enough romance and truth and life to be touching; enough comedy to keep it from being maudlin and keep things real. Well done, friend.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120961Chapter: 3
Another Chapter full of great advice.

--‘I guess it’s something that I need to keep learning,’ he said with a shrug. ‘You can quote me on that: Harry is slow.’-- I found this line funny...

Great Chapter.

Reviewer: i & GDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120930Chapter: 3
**sigh** another gorgeous chapter. We wanted to quote you in the "favorite lines in fanfic" thread, but there are just too many. Great job.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120929Chapter: 2
When we finally got around to catching up on our fanfic reading, yours was the first story we snatched up. Just...sadlfja;sldkjav djflshdg!!! Dumbledore "bagging" Miss Victoria Whats-her-name; Remus/Tonx (YES! **punch air**); "rosemary for remembrance" as part of the Sincerity Sweets; Harry & Ginny walking around the garden together, and so much more! You have such a gift for weaving humor, romance, a bit of the classics, and wisdom all together into a lovely story.

Reviewer: Just MeDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120838Chapter: 1
I really like Fred and George's personalities. You captured them perfectly.

Reviewer: Rube SherbertDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120729Chapter: 1
Very nice. My one suggestion would be to find alternate words for the tiptoe-ing... I noticed it used several times over throughout the piece. I liked it alot though. The twins were perfect in character... I could envision them saying those exact things!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120728Chapter: 3
Hey, Gen.

I didn't get a chance to let you know how much I loved this when I read it before, so I will now that it's up!

You really did a brilliant job with this one. I tend to be very, very critical of Harry-characterization because he's my favorite character, and well, so many people really don't quite capture the way I see him, but you did a pretty good job, and I like the hint of something to come with Ginny. -That- is something that very few people do convincingly enough for me. :-)

Your best is the Twins though...I really love what you've done with this series. :-) I love how they are growing.

Oh, and the descriptive part at the beginning is lovely. I think it's great when I can picture a scene because it's captured so well in print, and you definitely wrote one that I can see in my head.

This may sound like a weird thing to praise you for, but I find it awkward so many times when people call the characters by their full names, in either narrative or dialogue, but the 'Harry Potter' at the beginning flowed naturally as JKR would've done, and so did the speech the Twins gave using the full names of their 'family' (Hermione included, which is another thing I love.)

Thanks for another great chapter,

Jules

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120725Chapter: 3
Another funny, sometimes sad, always thoughtful chapter in your "advice universe." I really liked your opening - I can see echoes of our description exercise. I thought that passage did a great job of hightlighting Harry's mood and state of mind.

I also liked how Fred and George were so appreciative of their family and especially of their mother. Molly doesn't get a lot of slack in fandom sometimes.

I liked how Ron remained Ron through all of this - and that Harry wasn't instantly "cured." Although by the end of all this series I hope he is! :)

Another wonderful job! PS. will you have an action sequence after we finish that writing exercise in our group? LOL.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120680Chapter: 3
This is by far my favorite chapter yet. Fred, George, and Harry's characterizations were just perfect and the way you described it, I felt like I was there. I wouldn't have thought that Fred and George could have said those things without sounding overly sappy and ooc. But you pulled it off superbly. I want to bookmark this specific chapter, because I think I'll want to read it over and over again. I also loved this:‘I can hear your heart beating from here, too,’ he said quietly. I love reading fics with sweet H/G moments and this is one of the great ones.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120659Chapter: 3
What is it we like about boys skimming rocks, hmmm? I enjoy your evocation of Burrow life and Weasley life, and Harry finding his place in it. I never expected it would be Fred and George who would tutor him. The good thing is they won't let Harry get away with being angsty.
My favorite part is the end lines.
>>‘I can hear your heart beating from here, too,’ he said quietly. He watched her carefully stack each plate in its place.<<
Excellent.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120628Chapter: 3
This story is getting better and better. You do a great job with the conversational pieces. I can't wait until the next installment. Keep up the great work!!!!

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120622Chapter: 3
Oh, genesse, I'm all verklempt. This is so touching. I've been thinking about Harry and love and how it will play a part in Book 6 (in a non-shippy) way) and you just captured all that wondering so well!

Good job, not too angsty, IMO, and am definitely looking forward to more.

Jennifer

Reviewer: stefanieDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120579Chapter: 3
another great update!

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120516Chapter: 3
Excellent as always, hon. You're doing great work with this. This chapter has a St. Maragaret-ish essence about it, and you should know that that's very high praise. =) Good job! - Mia

Reviewer: HoneybeeDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120513Chapter: 3
I love, love, *LOVE* this chapter! The dialogue flowed so naturally, and you just nailed every conversation perfectly. And the characterizations! You did an amazing job with everyone. Your Fred and George are almost as good as your Regulus and Sirius. Maybe you should right about brothers more often- you definitely have a knack for it! (Maybe a conversation between Bill and Charlie about which one loves me more?? ;))

Reviewer: AlishaDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120508Chapter: 3
Are you ready for this?

Parts I :wub:ed...
>>to the pond near the edge of the Weasleys’ property where all the Weasley children had learnt to swim.<<
You used the word "learnt." It made me grin.

>>Fred was a bit afraid that Harry would start yelling, so he hurriedly joked, ‘I reckon it’s also what Hagrid feels for his monsters.’<<
I like the added detail to this sentence...and I snigger with the three of them at the thought.

>>What about those who don’t have a lot of people to practice with? What about – what about me? <<
This is the Harry that I just want to hug and feed a lot of good food. It is completely endearing that he worries about love. I mean, he has reason of course, but a 15 year old kid? It breaks my heart. (Good characterization is what I'm trying to say).

>>There were three empty plates, waiting for Harry and the twins.<<
This is my *favorite* part. They of course started to eat without them, but they weren't forgotten. *That* is love.

>> A minute later, he hurried back into the kitchen, carrying a briefcase and his hat, to kiss Mrs Weasley good bye.<<
Hee! I love old couples that are still in love.

>>Harry joking and laughing was much preferable to Harry morose and brooding<<
A) You used the word morose. I like that word. B) That is what happens when we feel loved. We can't help but feel and act better.

>> I fancy steamed carrots with dill – not rosemary – tonight<<
My favorite way to have carrots. Just thought I'd throw that in!

>>‘Don’t be thick, Harry. It matters to everyone. Just like it matters that I’m George Weasley and Fred’s Fred Weasley and Ginny is Ginevra Weasley and Ron is Ronald Weasley and Hermione is Hermione Granger. It matters to everyone. Don’t you know that by now?’ George asked lightly.

‘I guess it’s something that I need to keep learning,’ he said with a shrug. ‘You can quote me on that: Harry is slow.’ <<

It's true. I like it, and it's true. What more to say?

And *of course* I love the part about Ron and Hermione. It's so subtle, the H/H shippers would never notice. This love thing, I have a feeling it's going to creep up on them! Hee.

Even more so, the >>‘I don’t believe that of you, Harry. I know that you continue to love and are continuing in love. Why, I can hear you heart beating from here.’ << line. I can't think of words...that's why you're the writer, and I'm a the reader of this fic! I love this though. It might not be my *favorite,* but it's close second.

all my :wub: This is fantastic.

Reviewer: PepperlandDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119860Chapter: 2
I finally got around to reading this, it's excellent! I love the conversation between Dumbledore and the twins, I could easily imagine it actually happening in the books.

I love the fight between Ron and Hermione too (the fights are always fun :), and the bit about Molly not wanting to interfere but, at the same time, wanting badly to interfere. That sounds just like her.

Write more soon! :wub:

-Pepperland

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119847Chapter: 1
The twins' dialogue is really funny when they're talking about types of boys.

Smelly Kenneth who fell in the swamp *snert*

Since this looks like it's multi-chaptered, I'd love to see you write the twins offering advice to Bill or Percy on their love lives. You do a great job with them and it would be a fresh twist.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --