The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Animal Attraction
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134756Chapter: 1
What a lovely story!

I've always pictured Remus as being rather--affectionate--once he finally gets up the courage to start a relationship. And Beatrice is just the sort of sweet intelligent girl that would have caught his fancy in his schooldays.

I loved when he was showing her off to the Marauders--pulling her into his lap. He may be the prefect, but he's still got a Marauder's heart! People forget that side of him sometimes.

The only thing I'm not so sure of is the "werewolves mate for life" thing. It just doesn't ring true for me. I suppose I don't like things that negate human free-will, and wouldn't lycanthropic humans still have just as much free will to come and go from relationships as anyone else? Or does their "condition" really rule them to that extent? I'd like to think not. But using it as a dilemma in your fic does add some interesting complications.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130566Chapter: 1
Very sweet. I love seeing RRemus getting the luck and happiness he deserves.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126501Chapter: 1
Aww! I loved it! Really, I did! It was excellent; fluffy and fluffy and even more fluff! I loved how the Maradeurs reacted, especially Sirius. Can't wait to read more from you!

Katie

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-04-16
Reviewid: 119738Chapter: 1
I don't think I would call this "just fluff." Like your title tells us, you are tackling the knotty problem of love and lust and how to trust your body as well as you reason during these adolescent years. I really like how you characterize Remus - organized and thoughtful - put not passive. Maybe he becomes more passive as the years roll by - but I liked the bit of arrogance he had.

I also liked that he went for a *younger* girl who didn't want to mother him! Oh - the mother thing gets old quickly. This teenager wants someone who is up to his challenge physically. Remus has to have an awareness of the animal within - which isn't always about the pain now is it? I really, really liked your take on that.

The greeenhouse was an awesome setting for the "earthiness" of their attraction. Loved the mandrake bite which echoes the werewolf bite - if only it had been a plant instead of an animal . . . I also liked all the foreshadowing of the evil Potions master, Sirius and his reckless pranks, James and his true love.

I can see why other reviewers would want more - you have a nice storyline going. I don't think that Beatrice is underdeveloped for a one-shot. She's certainly believable as someone worthy of Remus's notice. And I liked how you showed her ability to fit in with the friends - it's not just lust now is it?

Wonderful "just fluff!"

Reviewer: ainsleyjaneDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117425Chapter: 1
what about what happened with beatrice and remus? why didn't they end up together?

Reviewer: Tabitha H.Date: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116890Chapter: 1
Oh, write some more, please!

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116862Chapter: 1
Very nice! A great Maraduers fic, one of the best I've seen. You really do justice to the characters, and add a nice touch of spice while keeping true to the feel of the world. Well done! (and thanks for the props!)

-- C.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116508Chapter: 1
I just read both your stories tonight. I really like the way to portray them all. The last with James and Lily was excellent, but I must say your Bea is my favorite. She seems just right for Remus (and we all know he deserves it!) Would I be dreaming and hoping too much to ask for a fic with them meeting again in current HP time? I thought you were hinting at it in your conversation between Harry and Remus over the pensieve. Regardless. Wonderful story and beautiful story-telling. Thank you for sharing your talent!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116394Chapter: 1
Sooo cute! And very well written.

Reviewer: SpewingSlugsDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115905Chapter: 1
I really like this! Is it going to continue?

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115533Chapter: 1
I just read both of your fics and really enjoyed them. They were wonderful characterizations of canon characters, and Beatrice is a lovely addition. I do feel somewhat sad for Remus though, reading this after having read the Epilogue to Acceptance and knowing how things turned out.

I'd like to see more- perhaps you will be inspired again. ;o)

Cheers!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115473Chapter: 1
Very sweet! Nice to see Remus have a little romance.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115464Chapter: 1
A most excellent story. Quite ready for any more you are ready to share.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115463Chapter: 1
I never read Marauders-era fics, but this one was great! It was so sweet, and I'm glad Remus is so happy. Beatrice sounds like such a sweet girl! Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115375Chapter: 1
Awww, Remus! This was wonderful, just the right balance of snappy humor and romance. The begining had me giggling, especially this line: "How warm remained to be seen, he thought, but judging from the wave of heat that washed over him when she smiled and took his arm, it would get quite warm indeed." I loved the mauraders challenging Beatrice, and her reactions were spot on.

I'm off to go read Acceptance, thanks for writing such an excellent story!

Liz

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115374Chapter: 1
I enjoyed the Marauders' dialogue and horsing around, but somehow I was hoping for more of a point to this story. I thought there would be some deeper life lesson or insight for some character, but instead it turned out to be pure fluff. Not that fluff is bad, but, you know... when one character is not from canon, you tend to not care so much about it.

Reviewer: BeatriceDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115370Chapter: 1
Aww, that's a cute story! I like it (and not just because Remus's girl has my name. XD)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --