The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 78

Reviewer: bookishDate: 2008-01-16
Reviewid: 150408Chapter: 7
(This review is for the entire story, not just this chapter.)

Excellent job! I don't care one tiny bit if this is AU. THIS is how I want Harry and Ginny's lives to turn out! (As well as the rest of the Weasleys and Lupins, too, of course.) Wonderfully written! (I know, I'm overdoing it on the "!"'s, but I do mean them.) I liked the symmetry of Harry and Bridget being similarly orphaned with no loving, blood-related family to take them in. (I'm not counting the Dursleys, since they never loved Harry.) By making Bridget a true part of their family, Harry and Ginny un-did the wrong that was done to Harry as a small child, and she is a true Potter, no matter what color her hair is. I loved the semi-organized chaos that happens when all of the Potter children are at home. I loved Dobby and Winky being there to help them take care of their family, and are paid for doing so. I also loved that the older children help see to the younger children at mealtimes, and I'm sure that carries over during the rest of the day. Harry and Ginny were believably written at all times, as well as all of the others.

Please write more stories, especially if they are from this universe of characters.

Reviewer: GypsyRosmertaDate: 2006-03-28
Reviewid: 141396Chapter: 7
I really loved this story...It was sweet, and I loved Harry's natural fatherly demeanor.

Just curious, though: How come all of the Gryffindors from Harry's year ended up at the Ministry?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135149Chapter: 7
Simply heartwarming

Reviewer: Anne-ElizabethDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133164Chapter: 7
I loved this story so much, I've read it over and over and even started writing one of my own with a little bit of the idea you used. I just wanted to say good work and that I love this story!

Reviewer: SunshynechrysDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129145Chapter: 6
I've read tons of fanfiction in the last three years and I never review but I want to for this story. What you've written here isn't a classical masterpiece like that of Jane Austen or a new must read like Jo Rowlings. It was written well of course but the real reason I'm writing is that me, like all HP fans know the end of the story line is coming fast and soon it will be over. Whenever I read a great book and feel like I know the characters, I always feel disappointed at the end. I wonder what happened after the last page. Of any post Hogwarts story I've read, I liked what you dreamed up for what happens after the last page best. No new dark faction or massive drama - but the one thing Harry hasn't ever really had - a family. I won't say the cliched "well written, well done". In my mind the truest critique I have of the story, indeed the best compliment I can find, is that it was perfect in it's simplicity and real. The characters were true to cannon and you did what I hope JKR will do when it's time - give Harry some peace and happiness and of course tie the story up with a nice bow. Thanks for writing this story. The world can't always have happy endings in reality but thankfully it can in our imaginations. Chrys

Reviewer: BetsyDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128226Chapter: 7
That was really cool, it's nice to think of that actually happening. Good writing I loved it. Bravo.

Reviewer: katieDate: 2005-07-22
Reviewid: 127645Chapter: 7
that story was awesome! i do think you should of finished the book though. i got a little sad when you mentioned dumbldore. overall it was wonderfully done though.

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127017Chapter: 7
Sweet, so sweet. I have really enjoyed this fluffy bit o goodness. Thank you!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126941Chapter: 7
that was very nice i loved it =)

Reviewer: Solomon PerlmanDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126840Chapter: 1
I love the story. A few VERY MINOR comments.

1) An apparent typo. First you list Bill and Fleur's children as Marie, Marguerite and Veronique. But when you list the Quiddich captains, you have a Monique Weasley and she seems to be Fleur's daughter.

2) Anne Hathaway? This is James Potter; not William Shakespeare!!!

3) Perhaps a little more about Anne. Which house was she in? Was she in James' year? etc

Keep writing. How about a similar story on Ron/Hermione and family.

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126780Chapter: 7
It's over?
Say it ain't so! Say it ain't so!
This is a wonderful story and so touching
It just gives me the warm and fuzzies inside

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-09
Reviewid: 126618Chapter: 7
That's really beautiful. Thank you for writing. My condolences in your loss.

Reviewer: Headmistress SkiesDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126570Chapter: 1
'"Smythe, can you take her?" asked Harry, grateful for a woman on his team.'
Given that Harry has ten children in your story, and would no doubt feel a lot of empathy for Bridget's situation, I don't see why you need to reinforce gender stereotypes in such a chilchéd manner. You also refer to Smythe as 'he' later in the story, so some more careful proofreading may have been to you advantage.

My extreme feminism and that mild continuity error aside, however, it was a very good story. I genuinly felt for the characters, and you've expanded the HPverse in realistic ways, which adds depth (eg the DOMC)

I'd like to invite you to join my RPG at www.geocities.com/headmaster_cromwell

Reviewer: shminkDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126557Chapter: 7
What a beautiful story, reminiscent of Louisa May Alcott's "Little Men" and "Eight Cousins". I can imagine Harry being a wonderful father like this. Thanks for finishing it and sharing it with us.

Reviewer: KateHCDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126555Chapter: 7
Delightful! I loved all twelve of the children.

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126550Chapter: 7
I have fully enjoyed your story and was delighted with the ending. It made me remember christmas times when i was a child. Thank you fro the happy memories that i haven't thought of for a long while. I am also sorry to hear about your father's passing. I look forward to reading more stories from you. Take care

Reviewer: MiguelDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126545Chapter: 7
You do realize that Big Bad Voodoo Daddy is a real band, right? They're a swing band that I listened to in college and were featured in the feature film Swingers.

Unless they're a Wizarding tribute band. In which case, it wouldn't surprise me at all.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126543Chapter: 7
What a wonderful tribute to fathers. I still remember those drousy moments when Daddy would come 'tuck us in' (an excuse to give us one more kiss).

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126517Chapter: 7
Perfect story..... In the end, you made me cry because it touched my heart. Please let me know whenever you write anything else. I love the way you write!

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126482Chapter: 7
Oh, that was a beautiful end to a wonderful story. I truly enjoyed this and will be sure to recommend it to many.
Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: AsherDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126471Chapter: 7
A great fic. & this is a big understatement.

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126031Chapter: 6
I really enjoy your story. I have been reading from the beginning, but this is the first reveiw I've done on it. I really like how the characters interact. I've always held fast to the belief that if you develop and create true-to-life characters, then you don't need to worry about a plot. The characters then act like people do and act in certain situations, etc. Even though some, but not all, are Jo's characters, this story keeps them in character. I've read some fics where things are just not right, while people act with no rationale to what they have done in the past. Your story, however, keeps everyone in balance. I'm amazed that you can sit and write this while so close to the release of HBP. I would be too afraid that it would become an AU after this next book...

Reviewer: salt in the wounds, makes the pain go awayDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125969Chapter: 2
freakin' rabbits!

Reviewer: TrueDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125937Chapter: 6
In the words of Ronald Weasley, "Bloody brillant!"

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125868Chapter: 5
I LOVE this fic!!! You wrote the best party I have EVER read ANYWHERE!!! Please keep writing... I check for updates all the time....

Reviewer: david abbeyDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125778Chapter: 6
wow!really great story so far! I'm lovin' bumbles outfit.wonder if dobbies happy? do you think you will get in anouther chapter before HBP comes out on the 17th?
bigD

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125772Chapter: 6
I will admit: I was skepitcal. This seemed like another Big Happy Weasley Family story, where everything's perfect, and nothing goes wrong. Actually, it still totally is. Nonetheless, this is an excellent warm-and-fuzzy story, and makes me feel good just reading about Harry and his extensive family. Cheesy as it may be, (and I mean that in a good way), who doesn't love a happy ending?

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125771Chapter: 6
I will admit: I was skepitcal. This seemed like another Big Happy Weasley Family story, where everything's perfect, and nothing goes wrong. Actually, it still totally is. Nonetheless, this is an excellent warm-and-fuzzy story, and makes me feel good just reading about Harry and his extensive family. Cheesy as it may be, (and I mean that in a good way), who doesn't love a happy ending?

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125764Chapter: 6
Good chapter. Can't wait to read what is next.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-06-20
Reviewid: 124548Chapter: 5
Excellent chapter, can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: `Date: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124081Chapter: 5
wow, good idea for a fic, I would have never thought of that. I like how it came from the books, it gives it a nice spin.

I love the letter from Jamie, it was really cute.

I'm looking forward to the update.

Reviewer: tapu_rulzDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123887Chapter: 5
Oh my gosh its so goood!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Update soon!

Reviewer: SandraDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123832Chapter: 5
I love this story! It's become official now. I adore the way you've created the Potter family life, it's just how I've always imagiend it would be. Great chapter!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123630Chapter: 5
Such a cute story i love it and what a great chapter. Cant wait for the next one =)

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123582Chapter: 5
Been watching religiously for a new chapter & was elated at its arrival! What a wonderful future world you have created for Harry & his family! I love it! Even the ominous troll seems less ominous now. Very much looking forward to the party! I love your descriptions & the obvious tenderness with which Harry regards his family & his friends too.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121544Chapter: 4
Thanks for sharing this tender, beautiful story! Your aging of the characters we love is perfect & I am looking forward to additional chapters. If you have any way to notify me when they post, please do!

Reviewer: NashirahDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121226Chapter: 4
This is one of the greatest stories i have read in English. Why? 'Cos i like Harry'Ginny ship, Harry as a dad, Harry's children and warm ficts, without blood, sadness... just real life put into the chapters.
Bumbles's great, and Harry's response for his son letter was awesome, just i like. About love in simply words, isn't it?

And just one question - may I translate it into Polish? I think it will be lovely to read it in my own language and let other people read it.

Waiting for e-mail from You!
Nash

Reviewer: Jose ArbeladaDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121201Chapter: 1
I don't think that this will be wxactly helpful, but I truley like this story so far. Please keep on writing.

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121155Chapter: 4
This si coming along rather nicely, if a little slowly. I like your work at a logical, realistic fulfillment of Trelawney's predictions (I, too, believe that these are not just filler for OotP!). Loved the Sword in the Stone reference - that's my favorite scene in the book, too!

Reviewer: MissyDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121134Chapter: 4
I've been waiting for what seems like forever for you to update. I loved it. My favorite part was the socks. I look forward to your next update.

Reviewer: Totally TonksDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121062Chapter: 4
Love it! Bloody brilliant story! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: anonDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120990Chapter: 4
this was a really good chapter? i loved the mental pic of "bumbles" in a bermuda getup!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120953Chapter: 4
this is really such a cute story =) I love it and i like how you are having it go cant wait for next chapter =)

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120927Chapter: 1
What a lovely story! Very sweet but certainly not overbearing. Nice details and description (I like Enid!). And I love Harry as a dad. Look forward to more.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120920Chapter: 4
I saw Bumbles yesterday
-Very cute

Dad, how did you know you loved Mum?
-Good job with the letter. I liked how you had the real reason for letter tacked on at the very end.

Nice chapter, looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120917Chapter: 4
I confess I wasn't sure at the first chapter, but this one has gotten me so intreauged that i'll never be able to stop reading this! You've opened up oh-so-many possibilities, and your writing has improved so much over the course of both these stories. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2005-04-29
Reviewid: 120902Chapter: 4
That was so sweet!

Reviewer: nooneyaknowDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118583Chapter: 3
it is so cute that Harry grew up and married Gin and had a million kids! But where's Ron and Mrs.Ron-Hermi-Weasley?

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-03-19
Reviewid: 116998Chapter: 3
I like the way this story is developping, especially the children's names and how they're *not* copies of all their friends. Lavender and Parvati's jobs were very original, and they seem to have grown up, and become practical, which was nice. Bridget and Hannah were very cute and also realistic.

Speaking as someone who lives in the UK, the thought of Bryan McFadden dying because of a troll is pretty amusing. ^_^

I look forward to the next chapter!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116925Chapter: 3
this is such a cute story i loved how you had hannah and bridget react to each other and how harry told his kids about bridget =) great story keep up the awesome work and i cant wait to hear about the weasleys =)

Reviewer: LiviaDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116907Chapter: 3
Good Idea. I would like to see more depth in the story though. Too easy on the resolution. Keep up the good work. It is clever and fun!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116845Chapter: 3
Awesome. Please continue with the story! It's really good so far, and I can the situation seems realistic. Alot of people think of Ron as more of a family man, but I think that Harry is really well suited for 12 kids and a huge house named Potter's Folly. Love your choice of nursery rhymes as well! Can't wait to see what's up with Ron and Hermione in the next chapter!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116844Chapter: 3
Awesome. Please continue with the story! It's really good so far, and I can the situation seems realistic. Alot of people think of Ron as more of a family man, but I think that Harry is really well suited for 12 kids and a huge house named Potter's Folly. Love your choice of nursery rhymes as well! Can't wait to see what's up with Ron and Hermione in the next chapter!

Reviewer: Lil' AmericanDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116833Chapter: 3
Woa! amazing fic! write more! where did you get the name for "Potter's Folly"? i'm writing a fic myself and cant seem to think of a name for the Potter's house!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116818Chapter: 3
Cute and sweet chapter. Great name for the house.

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116782Chapter: 3
good chapter. Can't wiat to the next one.

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116773Chapter: 3
I read this story on SIYE too, but I came here first, so here you go! I really love this story! You are a great writer, I so enjoy reading it, can't wait to read the rest.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116716Chapter: 2
Hmmm. Interesting... did you research this syndrome. Does it really exist? That is an very interesting premis. It will be interesting to see how you continue

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116337Chapter: 2
Ahhh, daddy Harry! Is there going to be more of this story? How on earth is Ginny going to cope with so many kids? And did she have to wait ages for a girl like Molly? I want all the domestic details!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116199Chapter: 2
Hmm... interesting. Nice to see that Harry and Ginny are alive and well! The story definitely holds promise - and I hope we'll get to see what's become of Ron and Hermion!

Reviewer: FranDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116187Chapter: 2
Cool plot idea, what about Trelawney's other prediction, that he'll also become minister for magic. And in answer to a previous reviewers question, I think Brain McFadden was part of Westlife and married Kerry from Atomic Kitten/Sugababes, they all sound the same anyway. I find it so apt that Molly Weasley would be a one of the 1st foster mums, she'd go mad without people to fuss over.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116165Chapter: 2
I thought this was going to be a humorous, tongue-in-cheek story. Never did I realize it would be as intriguing and sad as this!

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116158Chapter: 2
Hey I like the name.. Potter's Folly..

It's quite good, a completely crazy idea as to all the kids I think but it's fun.. Quite short chapter so not too much to say about it actually.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116155Chapter: 2
He already had ten children, six at Hogwarts and four at home who attended a local magical nursery school. Ginny was four months pregnant with their eleventh child.
-Good fic, but I found this line somewhat of a disappointment. For some reason I was expecting Harry to get the majority of his kids through adoption.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116148Chapter: 2
Well, I'm a sucker for Harry-and-child stories, and this looks like it's going to be a good one. Keep on writin'!

Reviewer: Phoenix's MelodyDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116101Chapter: 2
I love how you've painted the futures of Harry's classmates, (though I have to ask where is Ron and Hermione?), especially how Parvati and Lavender have grown up. I was also highly amused by Harry's home: "Potter's Folly." LOL I wonder who named his house?

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116088Chapter: 1
This is such a cute story idea! I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115820Chapter: 1
This has the potential to be a great story when it's done. Your writing has improved since Merlins Beard (I forget if I remembered to review that!)

The only thing that grates a little bit is the ranks; I don't envisage Aurors having a rank as such. But that's besides the point, the story looks like it should be good regardless! Looking forward to more of it!

Reviewer: WhitneyDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115798Chapter: 1
This is a really neat idea. I'll be waiting for more.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115788Chapter: 1
Your summary drew me in, and your first chapter is very promising. :o)

I love the lullaby you wrote, it's very sweet, and it's just that sort of nonsense songs my parents sang.

Lovely job!

Jules

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115747Chapter: 1
Col. Potter = intentional MASH reference?

Reviewer: VioletDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115680Chapter: 1
Good idea. Write more.

Reviewer: JeddoDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115673Chapter: 1
I like this story. Please don't wait to add more..

Reviewer: Gina PotterDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115592Chapter: 1
This story seems to be interesting! I'm waiting for chapter two. Congratulations for the wonderful job.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115496Chapter: 1
I really like this. I've often wondered about that particular "prophecy" of Trelawney's, but never been plot bunnied about it. What you've written is really nice, and I was fair wanting to huggle Bridget myself! I can't wait for the next update.

Isn't Brian McFadden in RL some boyband pop star, here in Britain?

Reviewer: Emma W.Date: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115494Chapter: 1
Awww....excellent! Keep writing...can't wait 'til the next installment!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115402Chapter: 1
this is a cute start! the idea of harry having twelve children is a bit overwhelming, but i'm looking forward to seeing how you fill in the details.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115376Chapter: 1
Great beginning. I love the idea of a positive, upbeat take on Harry's eventual fate after all this angst that's floating around (blame OotP). Love the lullaby, love the way Bridget is called 'poor little ducky', and Firefighter!Harry is definitely something new!

More, please.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --