The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Last One
Review(s): 70

Reviewer: AeronDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134165Chapter: 1
This is an exceedingly beautiful story. I love the way that both Remus and Severus finally realise that they are more alike than they know, and come to support each other. You also managed to do this while keeping them in character, even down to Snape's gift at the end. I like the way you have Remus come to the realisation that he isn't the only one that suffers from others misperceptions and tries to correct that fault in Harry at the end. Of course I cried at the end, but that's fine too. :)

Reviewer: AbbaDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132828Chapter: 1
Though I'm not a fan of Tolkien, you used the passages here in a way that is accessible to all. What a lovely work. You did a wonderful job keeping both characters in character, and I wept when I read Snape's letter to Lupin. Beautiful.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2005-07-24
Reviewid: 127708Chapter: 1
That was just beautiful -

thank you.

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126485Chapter: 1
Its...perfect.

Reviewer: Feather QuillDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122482Chapter: 1
That was amazing. Followed the link from livejournal. You captured them both true to the images painted in canon, and captured male companionship without the need for slash. Although I enjoy slash, I really enjoy a well written friendship fic. It brought laughter to my lips and tears to my eyes. Thanks for writing it and sharing it with us.

Reviewer: Clara2000Date: 2005-03-24
Reviewid: 117623Chapter: 1
I thought this was beautiful. They finally forgave the past. I thought using Token was a great idea.

Reviewer: bingbangDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117499Chapter: 1
I'm speechless. Well not quite.....I loved it.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117237Chapter: 1
What a moving story. Snape is a favorite of mine, you've done him justice here. Good work.

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2005-03-17
Reviewid: 116854Chapter: 1
Interesting. I liked the scenes between Remus and Severus; they rang very true characterization-wise, even though I don't believe they could ever get this close in canon.

I must say I was a bit disappointed by the sudden and violent description of the final battle; your intention, I know, but it didn't really seem to fit in with the rest of the story for me. Perhaps that's because the story was mainly about Remus and Severus, and Harry at the periphery; so it didn't quite become clear why you felt the need to suddenly bring in everyone else in a slightly awkward-sounding summary. Neville, Draco and all the others certainly have their importance in canon, and I want to know what will become of them eventually, but within the context of your story, it felt... artificial.

I hope that makes sense to you. As I say, I liked the bulk of it - the gradually developing, unlikeliest friendship of all.

Oh, and I didn't care for the Tolkien, I'm afraid. But that's just me. :)

Reviewer: JennDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116619Chapter: 1
Very powerful, I loved the use of Tolkien, put me in mind of the Vietnam generation, one torn by war and finding that they are the only ones left. Very good, didn't know if I would like it but I did.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116438Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I loved it.

-PQ

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116367Chapter: 1
Oh, this is just too beautiful. You used your Tolkien quotes well and your characterisations are very believable; this fic brought tears to my eyes. Keep writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116092Chapter: 1
Wow. That was so... amazing. It was beautiful. I loved all of the references to Tolkien (mainly because only recently have I been able to understand them). And the action between Severus and Remus was so touching. You had me grabbing a Kleenex from time to time. Thank you so much for this fic.

~Brittney

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116056Chapter: 1
This is the first Remus/Severus friendship I've read that has been realistic. You've kept both men in character throughout. Very nice!

Reviewer: NCDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115991Chapter: 1
I just wanted to commetn to say what an interesting story. I was recomended it from people in the Lord of the Rings fandom. I really like the way you included the Tolkien elements into an interesting and believable look at two characters. I love the way you have managed to keep the charaters of Lupin adn Snape within the canon but also developed them into believable and sympathetic characters. I will be watching out for anything else you write.

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115956Chapter: 1
beautiful----very very touching----pls write more

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115915Chapter: 1
Oh man. That was awesome, amber. Congrats on a really, really good story.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115895Chapter: 1
Wow! And to think I almost didn't read this. Exquisite and heart-wrenching.

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115889Chapter: 1
Riveting and powerful writing. I loved the fact that Severus was a closet Tolkien fan (not surprised at Remus). Thank you for sharing this story with all of us.

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115849Chapter: 1
Wow. That was a fine piece of work and you managed to keep Snape believeably in character and sympathetic. Remus was beautifully Remus. Well done.

Reviewer: IggyDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115837Chapter: 1
I read many of the stories here,yet review few of them. However, this one deserves words of praise. Beautiful and toughing.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115832Chapter: 1
Good God! Are you for real?

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115814Chapter: 1
LOVED it made me smile and laugh and almost cry but if you had gone into more detail i would have definatly cried and i it was a truley awesome story excellently written =) and i loved the end of it hope to read b=more stories by you in the future

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115812Chapter: 1
Wow.

I have tried to type this review several times now and faltered spectacularly. I'm not sure that this is any better, but I will try again. The story summary intrigued me, but I grew a bit cautious with the first allusion to Tolkien- I have rarely seen any crossover that compelled me to continue reading. I need not have worried; your use of the quotations from The Silmarillion and later, Snape's parting words to Remus were just beautiful. When I realized what the key to the letter must be, I got chills. Your brief glimpse of the outcome of the final battle was heartrending as well.

Thanks for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115787Chapter: 1
This was so beautiful. I can't really say much more than what your earlier reviewers have said, except to agree that it left me speechless and with a lump in my throat. The way you skate lightly over huge depths of feeling, making us see the characters and their emotions clearly with just a phrase or a word... it's wonderful. Thanks for sharing this on the Quill!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115783Chapter: 1
... *speechless*

THAT was absolutely AMAZING in EVERY respect! Your writing style is nothing short of perfect, and you really capture the characters of Remus and Severus. You even came up with a good reason for them to start talking, Firewhisky. Splendid!

Severus went out like I somehow expect he will in canon. The musing Remus does on mortality and "being the last one" is excellent.

This is also the best insertion of Tolkien into HP fiction that I have read. Especially since you seem to know what you are talking about in that regard.

I don't know what else to say, but I don't feel I've said enough. This was an amazing short story, and I sincerely hope to read more of your work in the future.

Reviewer: sjDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115775Chapter: 1
I think this is the only one fic that I have read, that actually brings out the characteristics of Snape the way JKR intended. Kudos to you

Reviewer: dawnflightDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115768Chapter: 1
this is a very touching and warming story. i enjoyed it thoroughly. =)

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115758Chapter: 1
Every now and then, one comes upon a totally original story...

This is one of them.

-Steve

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115756Chapter: 1
That is just such a beautiful story. Thank you so much for writing it.

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115755Chapter: 1
Oh, that's beautiful!

Reviewer: ScarlettPendragonDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115740Chapter: 1
OMG!!

This is just a tremendous, marvelous story!! I'm literally sitting here at my computer weeping for poor Severus - I too have thought that he is dreadfully misunderstood in JKR's universe, and your story has picked up beautifully on that!!

And the use of Tolkien!! I am *asquee* at the quotes you have taken from JRRT's work and how you have seamlessly woven them into your story!! Bravo!!

I'm off now to see if you've written anything else, as I was just recommended to this sight from a posting on a Tolkien Yahoo Group!!

Again, Thank You for writing this story - it's absolutely brilliant!!

Scarlett

Reviewer: BarbaraDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115737Chapter: 1
What a delightful story! I learned of it from ihazel@yahoo.com, who recommended it on the Henneth-Annun Yahoo mailing list, and I am so glad she did.

I think your characterizations of Remus and Severus are spot-on, even in the new and difficult situation you have them in: learning to become friends after a long enmity.

Very well-written story. Thank you for sharing it with us!

- Barbara (aka Elena Tiriel)

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115731Chapter: 1
I am so glad I read this. This is fanfic at a new level, honestly. It goes beyond plot and just looks at characterization, and reasons, and regrets. Lupin and especially Snape are so well done, I generally say that about most of the fiction on this site (hurray for quality control), but you've put them in such a rarely seen situation, it brings out facets of their characters you don't get to see all the time. Frankly, and I'll be lynched for saying it, but you may have expressed these two characters than Rowling herself will in the next two books. It was that good. I also appreciated that you did not linger too obviously on the turning-40/being-40 theme, for that would have belabored the story and the point. Really well done, thank you.

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115709Chapter: 1
That was horrifyingly touching. Really. And I made the mistake of listening to the Beatles Let It Be as well. I absolutely adore this concept, and haven't seen a story like this before. Magnificent job, you're a very talented writer....must read more from you.

Keep writing!
Britt

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115691Chapter: 1
Oh man. This was beautiful. It almost made me cry, and you don't know me, but that is surely the highest praise. It was amazing. Truly amazing.

Reviewer: NightskyDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115689Chapter: 1
Wow! Wonderful story; excellent use of Tolkien. Thanks so much for writing and sharing it.

Reviewer: Isabeau of GreenleaDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115685Chapter: 1
Thank you for a wonderful start to my morning! I write Tolkien fanfic, not HP, though I like to read it from time to time, and I enjoyed the use of the Tolkien elements in this story. I also enjoyed the excellent characterization and the subject matter, having passed that particular milestone myself quite some time ago. A lovely, lovely piece.

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115679Chapter: 1
Anyone who knows me will tell you that I'm not a crier. This was so beautiful and I had to hold back tears at the end of this. I love how it comes full circle and it is very well woven. Characterization is spot on and I fell in love after Tolkien was introduced. I love the humor put into this fic so that it was not total darkness. I only have one minor peeve, but this is just my opinion: How on earth can you see Wormtail, and even more so, Draco, redeemed, but have Percy fighting as a Death Eater? Percy is an insufferable prat, but I can't quite seem him as Death Eater material. That said, that's only a very small mention and in no way takes away from this FANTASTIC story. What I can say just cannot do it proper justice. I hope to see more from you soon.

Keep writing,
Vala

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115676Chapter: 1
anyone have a tissue? wow. that was unbelievably beautiful. every line was perfect. your writting is fantastic. the nod to tolkien worked very well in this story. i can totally see both of them being fans. the use of the moon letters in the end was the perfect touch to an already perfect fic. many thanks to you for writting such an exceptional fic. writters like you make me love the books even more.

Reviewer: darrel doomvomitDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115674Chapter: 1
splendiferous.

Reviewer: marchpaneDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115670Chapter: 1
This story made me cry for the first time in years. It is so wonderful that there really is nothing else to say.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115666Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a helluva way to start off what I hope will be a series of several works here on the Quill. One hopes Severus will mature enough to have the sort of conversations with Lupin you describe here.

Reviewer: LieselDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115665Chapter: 1
This story made me cry. In a good way. I absolutally loved it. Thank you.

Reviewer: Professor MDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115661Chapter: 1
All the earlier reviews are more eloquent than anything I could compose… and I agree with them completely.
I am on the other side of 40 and have already lost classmates and peers. Your words effectively convey the sense of loss and melancholy felt by those who remain.
Thank you for your story. Please continue writing.

Reviewer: Friday's JesterDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115647Chapter: 1
Utterly…utterly beautiful. Not a comment I generally bestow upon fan fiction (as much as I love the guilty pleasure.) This work of yours was exceptional. I must admit, as others have commented, that I find the insertion of Tolkien into any Harry Potter fic to be a bit… out of place; however, I found that you blended it most expertly into your plot (In fact, at first I thought you were perhaps going to dwell a bit more upon the religious aspect of Tolkien’s work, which, although others would disagree, I would not find to be out of place in the slightest.) Your relationship between the two men was what I found most incredible, as there were several ways the scenario could have been very easily botched. They did not immediately take to each other, nor was their relationship wholly warm; I found this to be most realistic. You should be proud to know you brought a hardened cynic (though admittedly a Snape lover) to tears with your character death. Quiet, bloody, almost anticlimactic, just as such a death should be written. All in all well done.
-Jester

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115636Chapter: 1
Generally I hate it when people bring Tolkien into stories like this, it always seems so gratuitous and pointless. But in this case, they added the finishing touch to a beautiful, well-crafted story. This was so seamless, so unbelievably well done - it's heartaching but peaceful, and you've done a wonderful job with it. Thank you.

Reviewer: fairy haDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115635Chapter: 1
This is so beautiful. I was very touched, and it helped me find a bit of sense in a world which is sometimes chaos incarnate. Please keep writing.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115634Chapter: 1
Wonderful, wonderful! The Tolkien references were perfect, and the melancholy (yet not unhopeful) tone of the fic was just lovely. Thank you!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115631Chapter: 1
Maybe being on the other side of forty makes me appreciate this story all the more.

Snape remembering the date of his humilation (and thus James' birthday): incredibly in character for all of them. The last message (and the reference to the MM): other than the subtle Vulcan influence, it's most apt.

<I>And somewhere, beyond the circles of the world--wrongs forgiven, old enmities left behind--a small group of friends remembers, and loves, and patiently awaits the arrival of the last one...keeper of their living dreams, until his days are ended.</i> A comforting thought.

All in all, one of the most mature and numinous stories I've ever read.

Kizmet

Reviewer: YeopDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115627Chapter: 1
That was one of the more moving stories that I've read here, and elsewhere online as well. You do a great job of characterizing the tension and growing personality discoveries of both Severus and Remus, and I love the fact that you made them both Tolkein-lovers; that's a very fitting author for them! Wonderful writing, excellent use of the moon-letter, and I look forward to reading more of your writing.

Reviewer: gerenereDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115625Chapter: 1
Wow. I really like the relationship between Lupin and (Professor) Snape. The analogy between Tolkien and them is really good. I like how Snape says he is always full of surprises, and later Lupin quotes his words. All in all, this is a great story. Keep it up!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115624Chapter: 1
That story was utterly perfect. It really is one of the best if not the best fan fiction one shots I've ever read. It is beautifully written and quite moving. Usually when I read good one shots I wish there could be more - to turn it into a longer story, but this was just right and complete the way it is. You included enough of the past and resolved enough of the questions and themes to make the reader feel so satisfied. I usually am quite able to keep an emotional distance while reading fan fics with sadder themes, but I have to admit I had a lump in my throat at the end of this one. I love both Lupin and Snape, and tend to give Snape the benefit of the doubt, so to see his humanity in this was so nice. The maturity of their behavior and dialogue was so refreshing and real, and Snape's caustic wit was exceedingly well done. I have a multi chap where, as adults, Lupin talks to Snape about the prank, so it was nice to see your take on this - and I thought it was stellar. And I loved the references to literature and Tolkien. Oh wow, I could just go on and on. Perhaps it's because I also am turning forty this year, but this story really moved me. Thanks so much. I hope to see more from you soon!

moonette

Reviewer: BakonekoDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115623Chapter: 1
I want to compliment you on a wonderfully-written story. I read a lot of fanfiction, and of the Marauders generation I'm a Remus fan (which is why I started reading this), but even more than Remus I was really impressed by your characterization of Severus Snape. To me he's a very hard character to write correctly; he's got such a distinct personality, and I think you captured it perfectly. He's the same Snape we read about in the original books, and yet he's completely sympathetic and completely *human*; that's no easy task and I think you managed it marvellously. I loved the bond you crafted between them; I can easily imagine both of them being lovers of Tolkien's work, and the parallels between the situations they're in are well drawn and well developed. I'll be saving this story to read and enjoy over and over again. Thank you!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115620Chapter: 1
Okay...to be honest, from the summary, I was iffy about reading this at first...but your early reviews (nearly all of them beginning with 'wow!') made me want to read for myself, and I'm quite glad I did!

This really is fantastic work. :-)

I like the way you had Remus describe how being a werewolf was different from being an Animagus...without coming right out and giving us a textbook-type definition. You used your characters to give us information, much like JKR.

This line, in particular, is great: >>He had always half-suspected that the wolf's fury was no more than an amplified manifestation of the man's frustration, boiling up from within his subconscious to seize control and run wild.<<

In this line: >>Tonight, however, his feelings on the matter were decidedly mixed.<< (Good use of the word 'decidedly' which is one of my personal favorites. :o))

>>"Sod off, Snape," Remus said cheerfully, a bit too tipsy to be properly offended by the Potions Master's presence.<< (Hee! I love it. Remus is one of the few people (Dumbledore and McGonagall are a couple others) who doesn't let Snape get to him. He truly dislikes him (perhaps an understatement ;-)), but he doesn't allow Snape to get under his skin the way so many others do.

>>"Hold on, now...how'd you know I was talking about James? You aren't Legi--legilimili--you aren't mind-reading me, are you?"<< (*giggles* I like tipsy!Lupin...he's almost PorkyPig!Lupin. :-D)

>>He knew that expression--it was the patented Snape "You are trying to put one over on me, and in a moment I will figure out your game and give you one better" look.<< (Hee! (sorry, I seem to be rather inarticulate today, but I hope you'll forgive me!))

>>"You will have to excuse me if I fail to experience a sudden upwelling of good fellowship on the basis of a dwindling head count."<< (It's just *classic* Snape!)

You did a good job with Snape's knowledge of how he'd end up. He knew he was destined to fulfill his life debt...and he did many good things before it happened. The best thing you did for Snape in this story is keeping him in character and also making your readers sympathetic to him. I'm not sure even JKR does it that well. Most authors seem to feel they must change his personality in order to write him, but you kept him churlish and bitter, while still managing to make him...not likable, necessarily, as I'm still with Harry on this one, but definitely honorable.

>>He delivered the line with a perfectly straight face, but with a certain conspiratorial gleam in his eye that Remus had rarely, if ever, seen before. He laughed out loud. "Severus, was that a joke?"

"A product of the Firewhisky, no doubt. Don't get used to it." Snape finished what remained in his glass, and Remus refilled it again without waiting to be asked.<< (*snort*!)

Minor quibble: >>To his surprise, Snape's silky voice picked up the quotation<< (anyone describing Snape's voice as silky makes me want to run away. I just don't think Lupin would refer to Snape in such a way...I do like the way you handled this later though, making Lupin embarrassed for complimenting Snape for his oratory skills. Hee.)

Also, I don't personally think that Snape fancied Lily, but you did write it well, almost convincing me (especially with the werewolf senses...you don't just state something without backing it up, but you give reasons for such claims. Such is the ability of a great writer.)

>>When Molly came in quietly to check on Remus, she was astonished to find both of them slumped there in their chairs. About bloody time they settled their differences, she thought.<< (Yeah, I'm commending you for allowing Molly to curse. So many people assume she wouldn't simply because she admonishes her children for it. Sometimes swearwords are the only ones that fit.)

>>Their laughter echoed off the walls of Hogwarts Academy, following them through the rooms and down the hallways of the aging castle on their way to Gryffindor Tower. Several students out past curfew paused in their mischief to wonder at it; figures in paintings shook their heads or smiled indulgently before returning to their dreams of life in three dimensions.<< (Beautiful!)

Really, you did a lovely job with this one, amberdiceless, and I look forward to more from you. :o)

~Jules

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115619Chapter: 1
That was really beautiful. Some points almost had me crying (if I'd read it a bit later at night I probably would have ;) ) The growing of the understanding between Remus and Severus was really good, it came along naturally and credibly. And I loved the Tolkien thingies of course ;) Absolutely lovely fanfic.. hope there'll be more?

Reviewer: MerryDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115612Chapter: 1
This story is absolutely gorgeous. It's a joy to read. Thanks for posting it!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115609Chapter: 1
Whoa, that's all I can say!

Reviewer: KatjaDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115598Chapter: 1
gorgeously honest
yet portraying severus
beyond greasy git

Reviewer: LizzieAnnDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115588Chapter: 1
omg, that was amazing, honastly one of the best fics of all time. The characters were real, they spoke to me in voices as real as my best friends. You are a gifted writer. Thank you.

Reviewer: Paul StottDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115583Chapter: 1
Beautiful story. Superbly written. One of the best works of fan fiction I have ever read. Well done.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115580Chapter: 1
that was really a nice story

Reviewer: JimnjoyeDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115572Chapter: 1
Great story. Please write more- perhaps from Draco's point of view on why he switched sides?

Reviewer: TenshiDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115566Chapter: 1
Oh, this made me cry...it was quite beautiful, in a strange, dark way.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115564Chapter: 1
Wow! I don't know what else I could say about this story other than just Wow! I think you made me like Professor Snape, which no one else--not even Alan Rickman--has been able to make me do. Well done!

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115561Chapter: 1
Oh, that was lovely. Such a sad ending, but a beautiful friendship that developed between Lupin and Snape. I loved the connection between the message and the Marauders' map. Very well done!!!

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115558Chapter: 1
I've read this elsewhere but I surely don't mind reading it again. It made me cry.

Reviewer: Isabela113Date: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115554Chapter: 1
An absolutely beautiful piece. Snape and Remus are rendered with such subtlety and detail. I had a wonderful time reading this, and I even got a little misty.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115551Chapter: 1
Wonderful, Good, Great, Fantastic - I have no words to show how good this piece is. Thank yoy. Thank you. Please post more on he Quill

Reviewer: CaeliaDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115548Chapter: 1
Wow. That's about all I can say about this. I didn't realize until the end of the story that I was sitting right on the edge of my seat; it had me completely spellbound. The characterizations are excellent. I never thought about Snape and Lupin having much in common before, but they really do. I like the way you've put the quotes in, and I like the way you've described the final battle. The simplicity and straightforwardness make it seem very real, and it is (IMHO) much more effective than a very emotional description of the losses would have been. The last line, about pictures dreaming of lives in three dimensions, was brilliant. My congrats on an incredible and well-written story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --