The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just Looking
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 144001Chapter: 1
What a lovely use of language! Just an amazing fic. I like how Remus romances the book off the shelf and into his hands while she's watching... "His eyes sparkle with that look I recognize as longing." I must admit that when he went straight to the Defensive Magic section I thought he was buying the DADA set for Harry for Christmas from him and Sirius, but later he leaves with the talisman book. Who can't relate to the voyeurism from between the bookshelves? I liked the whole exchange of misunderstandings that starts with "Did you find something you fancy?" and ends with the Valentine's Special. And you knit it all together for the perfect ending. Well done!

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143723Chapter: 1
I too read the latest update and wanted to catch up, and it was well worth it. This is very entertaining and nicely written, and Miss Smyth is a great character.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143584Chapter: 1
I just found your stories with your most recent update and wanted to catch up first. This was very well written. I loved your bookseller (probably b/c I could see more than a little of myself in her)! The ending of the book was just to great. I honestly did not see that coming. I'm off to read the next!

Thanks for sharing!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133076Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. It rings so true. I really liked your use of the first present-tense narrator. It was almost like we were looking through her eyes, and seeing her thoughts. And I loved your last line: "Who knew a werewolf could be so sexy?" Just delicious. I got a real sense of who your narrator is, and what she is like. Good job.

Reviewer: Lamina CourtDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131560Chapter: 1
That's hiLARIOUS. A very cute one-shot with a quirky, funny ending. I liked reading this from the perspective of a regular witch with no previous thoughts on Remus. Well written!

Reviewer: meDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129837Chapter: 1
weird, really weird, but interesting at the same time

Reviewer: Arwen999Date: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128505Chapter: 1
A very well written story, with well written descriptions and good plot. I was wondering what the story was about. It took me time to understand who the narrator was (which was good). Interesting to discover someone I didn't know anything about before. The novel Miss Smyth reads made me think of Wuthering Heights at first (Catherine, Heath), but it obviously wasn't [or maybe the book inspired you?]. Funny to see that Miss Smyth wants to get rid of her clients (whoever they are) because she wants to read her book. And amusing to see her hiding her book not to be caught reading it... ^^
I also like her inquisitive glances and her theories about Lupin. I like this awkward, slow, and silent atmosphere around those two characters. (ill at ease for different reasons)
[Quote]"I look up to see the gentleman staring at me over the counter. A grin of amusement overcomes his countenance. Merlin’s Beard. Caught red-handed"[/Quote]
LOL The peak of embarrassment! And yet...
[Quote]"“The ending is riveting,” he whispers and gives me a conspiratorial wink.[/Quote]
Unexpected. Who could have thought that Lupin would have read such literature?
[Quote]"I close up shop, return to my cozy chair, and pick up my romance novel. My eyes devour the last few pages to reveal Heath’s secret. He’s a werewolf. You could have knocked me flat with a feather. Who knew a werewolf could be so sexy?"[/Quote]
Us! ^____^ And yes... Lupin is definitely sexy!

Ok, maybe my review was a little short, but I enjoyed every part of that story! I could almost hear the sound of the fingers caressing the book pages... and didn't want to cough in case it would disturb the awkward silence...
Very good job! Sorry for Miss Smyth that Lupin left!

Reviewer: Looking-For-Angst-FicsDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123337Chapter: 1
Very good. A little odd, but good all the same. I kind of want to know more about the character, but you didn't give enough detail in -this- fic for me to be interested enough to find out. Very good all the same. *Gives heart-shaped cookies.*

Reviewer: ChudleygirlDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122735Chapter: 1
Another fine piece of work. I like the view point and the style, refreshingly unique. I adore the ending. Priceless. Well done.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121963Chapter: 1
Who indeed? Well, actually I did.... I have had a crush on Remus since the book we first met. Thanks for sharing this enchanting story!

Reviewer: SabrynaDate: 2005-04-26
Reviewid: 120707Chapter: 1
This was really cute.. I had to read the ending again, to make sure my eyes weren't decieving me. (My eyes skipped ahead and I missed the part about Heath reveling his secret :P)

Your Lupin is so charming! And Ms. Smyth is so wonderfully Ordinary. (Which is a good thing) She kind of reminds me of Katinka's Abby. :) Hope you write more about them!

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120390Chapter: 1
*giggles* That was adorable. What a fun read!

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120347Chapter: 1
This reminds me a bit of the very first scenes of the movie "Romancing the Stone": the feeling it conveys, at any rate. If you haven't ever seen it, rent it one day, and you will see what I mean!
Anyway, as far as exercises in observation go, you are smack on! In a one-shot piece, you have included, in a subtle and natural way, enough detail to give the reader the feeling that he/she has known these two people for quite a while. I saw on the review page that you are planning more, and I will be very glad to read it!

Reviewer: JackDoorDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 120038Chapter: 1
Very good, very funny, I look forward to his return.

And the last line is a killer.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2005-04-16
Reviewid: 119714Chapter: 1
Three cheers for a perfect ending! I know that feeling alllll too well. Great job!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-04-13
Reviewid: 119573Chapter: 1
Thanks All!

And yes, Blythe, I am working on a sequel. Miss Smyth is such a fun character to inhabit that I can't resist.

Reviewer: BlytheDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119074Chapter: 1
What a delicious story! You had me giggling madly - as if my roommates don't already think I'm crazy! I assume the romance novel characters were a nod to Wuthering Heights. I love this - will you be writing more? I'd love to learn more about Miss Smyth.

Reviewer: MayDate: 2005-04-06
Reviewid: 118796Chapter: 1
this is adorable! Strikes at the heart of anyone who's plateaued in love-lacking loneliness! Bravo!

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-03-26
Reviewid: 117741Chapter: 1
HA HA HA! I loved the ending! Great one shot!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117709Chapter: 1
Adorable. So descriptive, and the pacing was just right. I really enjoyed it, and original characters don't often intrigue me.

I have a habit of scanning down reviews, and absolutely cracked up with your brief explanation of how Remus came to read the romance novel.

After finding myself reviewing 2 of your stories today, I can see I will have to take the time to read the rest .

Reviewer: jolene_xxDate: 2005-03-25
Reviewid: 117690Chapter: 1
That's a great ending!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117238Chapter: 1
what a great original story! Really fun.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116393Chapter: 1
Brilliant! The last sentence sums up my feelings entirely. Two of my favourite things in one fic: bookshops and Remus.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115941Chapter: 1
Thanks all!

And to answer a few questions...

mdelaur, the shopkeeper does have a name. You know her as Miss Smyth. Only I know her full name, which I am keeping secret should I decide to pen more.

Enti writes "does she only realise it about the book character or also Remus?" I left that intentionally ambiguous.

And for Hannah, that was a nod to Wuthering Heights.

Thanks for your kind reviews.
Eudora

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115877Chapter: 1
Oh, I liked that. The bookstore owner seemed just like a real person, occasionally saying things she wishes later that she hadn't said. I liked it that we never found out her name or what she looked like. You got Remus exactly in character, by the way. Oh, and did you intentionally slip in that Wuthering Heights reference, or is that just me reading too much into things?

Reviewer: CorvidaeDate: 2005-03-08
Reviewid: 115819Chapter: 1
This is really lovely and well written, way to go! i've really come to admire lupin thanks to the beautiful portrayals on this site such as your own. *-*

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115778Chapter: 1
Wow that was lovely.. could have been her myself ;) I had to read the last line a few times.. does she only realise it about the book character or also Remus? Anyway, I loved it..

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115773Chapter: 1
Such a sweet story. I wish the shopkeeper had a name... I really like her inner thoughts, and it seems so real. And the suprise ending of *your* story, with Remus telling her about the suprise ending of *her* story was absolutely brilliant!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115744Chapter: 1
cute ending for a cute fic.

Reviewer: Conch Queen ParadiseDate: 2005-03-07
Reviewid: 115735Chapter: 1
Cute! Cute! Cute! I don't review very much, but this story hit a nerve and I had to tell you how much I liked it. Keep writing! I like the short stories, something I can read in between doing other things.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115725Chapter: 1
Thank you all for your kind reviews!

Yes, MercuryBlue, that is Remus Lupin.

And Megan brings up an interesting question. What did prompt Lupin to read “Moon over the Moors”? It’s not his usual fare. Perhaps I should let him explain…

“Right then.” Remus ran his hand through his hair.

Where to start? That rainy afternoon at Grimmauld Place? His frustrating failed attempts to decipher that cursed parchment? Of course, who could concentrate with the racket Tonks was making. The snorts, giggles, and sighs. Remus remembered Tonks stretched out on the floor staring bug-eyed at her book, steam rising from the pages, drool pooling on the carpet. Anyone would wonder what would cause a normally sane Auror to act like that. Oh, Merlin. He couldn’t very well say that, could he?

“Right…erm…” Remus stuffed his hands in his pockets and shuffled his feet.

Where, indeed? This was turning out worse than the explanation he had given to Mad-Eye on how Tonks’ novel ended up in the dust jacket of his curse breaking text. He didn’t do well on that count either.

“Ah.” Remus’ head shot up. He flashed an easy grin. “Let’s just say it was academic curiosity, and leave it at that, shall we?”

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115707Chapter: 1
Great! I love handsome Lupin! I like your writing style.
SS

Reviewer: Cheesy MonkeyDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115694Chapter: 1
*laughs*
Aw, that was really cute! And wonderfully ironice. Hee hee.
Also, loved the imagery. ^^

Reviewer: Ivy WryterDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115662Chapter: 1
<<Who knew a werewolf could be so sexy?>> Oh, the irony.

Brilliant. The ending is perfect, and the details are picturesque.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115650Chapter: 1
*giggle* Cute last line.
That IS Lupin who was browsing, right?

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115622Chapter: 1
very very cute-----i'm sure emily bronte would have been amused

Reviewer: GDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115606Chapter: 1
Awww how sweet. short, yet very well written. Love the ending!

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115586Chapter: 1
Lovely, lovely! Now I must go find an alcove with a comfy chair and read it again with hot chocolate. Your writing puts me right in the moment. Nicely done.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115573Chapter: 1
I liked it, though I must say, Lupin seems to have an unhealthy obsession for books on werewolves... to the point where he'd read romance novels on them? :-) But I enjoyed your vignette-style writing, and all the layers that we glimpse about your original character. One gets the impression that a lot remains unsaid, and that perhaps it will always stay that way... Quite nice.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115568Chapter: 1
A good, but short, pleasant read.

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115567Chapter: 1
Hahahhaaha. This. Was. Adorable. I absolutely loved the ending--it made me laugh out loud! Perfect, I'd never have thought of this cute little ficlet!

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115565Chapter: 1
This story grabbed my attention and kept it. Your character is delighting! I liked the fact, that you described her as plump, much better than the idea of Remus dating a mid-30's woman that just happenes to look like a model! Remus is wonderfully written, I love seeing Remus's playful side! Your fics always leave me wanting more. When I finished this story I was hoping that you were going to announce a sequel!

Fantastic!
Keep updating!

Kit Black

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115562Chapter: 1
Eudora! You answered my PM by posting this story! The problem with you, Ms.Hawkins, is that your one shots are so enticing that I want you to turn them into plump, juicy and long multi-chaps! This one is a perfect example. You can just keep adding to this, right? :)
I just love how you write. Your characters' personalities are so real and vivid and the dialogue is always wonderful. You really know how to get the most out of each line. Your Remus is always well done. I love that no matter what he's been through, and no matter how grave the situation at hand, his subtle wit, humor and kindness always shine through. And I would love to read more about Ms. Smyth and how she overcomes her middle age "lull". Remus would be a great antidote! Isn't it funny how he is in many ways the antithesis of most of the cliched heroes of romance novels, and yet there is a legion of women out there (OK, myself included) who undoubtedly would say he is the real catch. That's why I loved how you contrasted him with the hero of her novel, yet at the end... Keep up the good work - we Lupin fangirls are counting on you!

moonette

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115550Chapter: 1
Very funny!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115549Chapter: 1
What a treat! This is a delight to read. And yeah, who knew? :o)

Reviewer: KatherineDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115545Chapter: 1
I really loved this story. It was sweet and the ending made me smile! This is the first time I have ever been driven to review a story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --