The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: All That Jazz
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: RiadhriDate: 2008-03-31
Reviewid: 150705Chapter: 1
Wow. This is the first story I've read that focused around Neville in a positive way with a love life other than Luna. Amazing. I love it.
~Riadhri

Reviewer: Doctor AichaDate: 2006-06-16
Reviewid: 143455Chapter: 1
That was really sweet. I like that Neville has an artistic soul and another talent all his own. Yay Neville!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-01-22
Reviewid: 138800Chapter: 1
My second reading- cute!!

Reviewer: revolvingstaircaseDate: 2006-01-20
Reviewid: 138754Chapter: 1
I like this story. I like reading things about people in the books that nobody really looks at and Neville is that kind of people and you did something for him and I really like what you did. I like that you gave him a talent and a friend who thinks he is great because of his talent and who wouldn't look at him unless she knew about his talent and knows and likes him now. I hope you write more of this story.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136179Chapter: 1
Aww...I love a good Neville story, and a musical Neville all the better. Great idea!

Reviewer: dinojDate: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135078Chapter: 1
It's strange, now that I think about it, that no students play musical instruments at hogwarts. Good story - should hook the "we love neville" crowd. Which is about 80% of the population :)

I would remove the bit about dumbledore sending neville's compositions to orchestras. That's unrealistic. He can't be mozart. Just really good.

Reviewer: Darker_RageDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117408Chapter: 1
It's a rare thing indeed to come across (what at least appears to be) a completely original idea in this fandom. I'm not usually a one for non-Trio stories, but this just had to be read! I loved the "Neville, Phantom of the Opera" vibe! It reads like it should have more chapters though... Which isn't a bad thing!

Reviewer: etcDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116769Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

Reviewer: Mandy CroyanceDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116740Chapter: 1
Wow. That was really sweet. It would have made a lovely one shot, however the way you ended it makes me think there are more chapters to come.
I'm very curioius to see where it will go, you really haven't given any hints ;)
None the less this was beautiful and original and you deserve more reviews than sugarquill has of yet given you. Here's to hoping.

mandy

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116491Chapter: 1
*squeehuggles* Neville is SO cute. I love it--I've seen stories about various Hogwarts students playing music secretly--Sirius, Snape, Nott, etc., but Neville is a new and very original idea!

-PQ

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116470Chapter: 1
Really cute story, I liked it.

Reviewer: MiekeDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116462Chapter: 1
This is such a cute fic! I like all the musical elements!!! I play flute and know a little bout the music realm. lol. Neville seems the type to play the piano. You did a good job with how he played and such! Nice fic hope there is more to it!!!

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116386Chapter: 1
cute!!!

Reviewer: Lila the Ice Cream QueenDate: 2005-03-12
Reviewid: 116284Chapter: 1
Aww, Good Job, Neville! I know he has a hidden talent somewhere, and this is a great one!
Keep Writing.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116109Chapter: 1
Cute! A bit of fluff, but I also like the sensitivity.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116106Chapter: 1
Yummy. Yeah, coherency is good and all that, but yummy, wub, aww, melts and squee. Neville/Paravti is roxin to begin with, and especially here, where you let it all come naturally and fall into place. I love how the work with each other, cute pun and making beautiful music together, and her kiss on the cheek was a sweet small thing. The last line was so Neville, his courage about going for it, and that touch of humor about not getting any younger. I love how he's so insecure about his talent, and how he hides it, and has no confidence, and wants his Gran to like it. So Neville, and heartbreaking, and I end up totally agreeing with Parvati that it needs to be remedied. Mmm, Ron was a total sweetheart, and I love how you highlighted his strange ability to be observant occasionally. The sleeping girls and it taking a while for Neville to register was also so cute. Just so liking this fic, fandom needs more fluffy Neville fics, expecially ones this good.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116075Chapter: 1
Your characterization is excellent- I'm sure that's exactly how Neville would react to Parvati. However, I don't think that you need to explain that the music has dots, circles, and words that tell how to play it.

Very interesting. I, for one, would be interested in a follow-up.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116045Chapter: 1
Quite well done. Thanks.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116043Chapter: 1
Awww..... Love Neville. And I've always thought he and Parvati oughta get together, dunno why. This was a lovely fic, simple and sweet with wonderful characterisations. You made me feel all warm and happy. *glows with Neville- love*

Reviewer: countDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116035Chapter: 1
Ah... if there's one thing I'm missing in HP and it's fanfiction it's music. Pity you didn't give him a real big band in the end with all our favorite characters: Harry on bass, Ron on Bariton Sax, Hermione & Dumbledore as Alt Saxes, Ginny on the clarinet and Hagrid as trumpet soloist... :)

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116018Chapter: 1
I've always had a bunny floating around in my head about Neville being a musical genius. Thank you so much for writing such a delightful story. I love it when music and Harry Potter mix!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --