The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dux Dolosus
Review(s): 66

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145242Chapter: 8
My thanks to The Cynic for urging you along.
Having read this delightful offering though, it seems that you have still shorted us considerably.
Is there any chance of picking up this thread again?

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143159Chapter: 8
Please tell there's more coming for this story! I couldn't bear it if this was the last chapter. I love Antony, he's absolutely fascinating! I't neat to have a direct glimpse into the mind of a conflicted pureblood, and the Shakespeare is a nice touch. Keep writing!

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98535Chapter: 8
Antony is a very well-realized character. I pity him, I admire him, I am frustrated with his actions and I am frustrated that his choices were constricted by his mother's choices.

I am also enjoying how well-rounded Xandra is; the little you've shown us from her POV strengthens the angle of light you've shown from Antony's.

Even more impressive is how you've made Nouvelle into a sympathetic character, for all her hate and rage and resentment. Making our heroes into fully realized characters is easy. Making our antagonists so is the mark of an excellent writer.

Thank you. I'm going to keep following this.

Reviewer: emmaDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87406Chapter: 7
oh my god you have to write more! your have to!!!!!!

Reviewer: IceDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86823Chapter: 7
antony is awweeessoommeeeness. please continue this really soon.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81379Chapter: 6
wow very intense story i havent read the prequal yet but i do hope you right a sequal

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-05-04
Reviewid: 81256Chapter: 7
Arghh!! What happens next? You've got me so completely hooked on this story. (Please update soon)

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2004-05-01
Reviewid: 80856Chapter: 7
MORE!!!!!

*ahem*

Reviewer: FairlyDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49066Chapter: 7
Ooooh, you're good. I want more.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42879Chapter: 7
Wow-I really like your story, but you havn't updated in a really really long time. Will you ever??????????????????? PLEASE UPDATE
It can't be the end can it?

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33987Chapter: 2
So, it seems there may be more to Antony than meets the eye? Well, there almost has to be, doesn't there? A Head Boy as nasty as he is must have a reason.

One Question... how come Alastor Moody wasn't on the list of famous Aurors?

Let's see... I like Antony's attitude. I'm not supposed to, of course, but I do. But then, I like Draco... so that's not surprising at all, is it? Of course Antony's a bit more sophisticated than Draco. (I'll chalk that up to age for right now... because I don't like to speak ill of Draco.)

Great fic. I like Raylene as well. Nouvelle and Merlin seem interesting too. Wolfbane potion? Pretty impressive. (I just read in SoS where Errol invented it today. So, when I got to that part, my first reaction was, "No, Errol Klarion invented it!" Then I remembered... different universe.)

Antony's will leave Hogwarts before Zora gets there. Probably best. ;) Zora's attracted to the bad ones. ;)

And I'm quite curious about Antony's family. Great fic... I shall follow it.

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30807Chapter: 1
Oooh. I can't believe I'm only just getting around to reading this. And I can't believe I'm actually making myself stop at one chapter!!! (I must go to bed soon.)

JK, Antony is quite the character (and I've only read one chapter of him!!) I like Raylene as well. She strikes me as the diplomatic type. I was always that way. I can't wait to read more tomorrow night.

The opening chapter was great. It set up some action (Snape missing, not sure why, etc.), as well as the characters, and it was enough to interest me (a great deal) to read more. Not much I can add constructively... it all seems to be there. :)

Will R&R again tomorrow.

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2003-03-27
Reviewid: 25456Chapter: 4
damn you. Am reading DD instead of worxing. Your Slytherinness is corrupting me.

one note: Senf in German means "mustard". Are you setting poor Alex up for some
quality jokes there?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19276Chapter: 5
Interesting shift in Antony. I liked how the beginning was from his 1st person POV. I especially liked the "winter of my discontent line."

This line is beautifully written; gave me chills.

[Lucius gave a pleased smile that did not reach his cold grey eyes. But then, no smile ever did; his smiles were a liar's smiles.]

The last line gave me chills. I admire the fact that Antony really hasn't made up his mind as to what path he will follow, even though he becoems a DEath Eater. And the fact that his mother is in on the whole thing just makes the whole morning birthday celebration totally macabre. You've captured the uncertainty and agnst at being a 17-year old Death Eater perfectly.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19274Chapter: 4
Ooh, I really like that expression! I haven't seen it used before. Very cool...and so fitting for Maxwell. "By the stars in Orion's Belt"

Brilliant imagery. Love the illiteration of "badly blended"- very poetic sounding. "Maxwell's early memories of Hogwarts were like a small child's, or badly blended paint: a marbled blur, with brilliant specks standing out from the mass"

Great Quidditch game; liked the very calm and calculating end to it when Claude reaches out and gets the broom. Great dry humor and it was a nice change seeing a game that didn't involve Gryffindor.

Your paragraph about the veternans of the first war getting older and not having the youthful spunk and old comrades drifting away was particularly heartbreaking and touching. The depths of everyone's pain came across and the fact that there was still not 100% healing added a beautiful melanchology to the scene. Glad to see that Sirius is still very much Sirius; joking but also full of righteous fury.

I love how your story focuses on other characters in the Potterverse rather on R/H/; H/G. You've created an intriguing, well-rounded, 3D set of characters that I am really getting attached to.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19271Chapter: 3
Oooh, like the hints of the past between Merlin and Nouvelle. I also liked how you set up the Astronomy lessons. I truly enjoy it when authors take the time to plan and think out things that are glossed over in canon. I thouroughly enjoy a practical approach and it's those touches that help make a story seem so real.

I like Antony's Shakespeare quirk; I especially like how he sticks with the dark tradgedies and I loooove any quotes from Macbeth. I'm really starting to like Merlin as well; she's very intriguing. Your Slytherins are quite a complex puzzle; they truly are fascinating.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19267Chapter: 2
Love how you describe the entrance of the Slytherins (slinking, striding) into the prefect meeting. Antony is becoming more and more intriguing, especially since he even mouths off to Dumbledore of all people.

The Potions classroom exchnage was great (do you really need to ask? what makes you qualified to teach potions?...ooohhh). Love the interactions between the Slytherins and the Gryffindors.

I like how you've really ampted up the tension between Slytherin and the other houses. Normally I cry out for good Slytherins, but realizing when the story is set, it makes perfect sense that tensions would be running high. Looking forward to hearing more about the new teachers as well.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19265Chapter: 1
Excellent line! Love the image of the seeds of gossip. [These strange events sowed seeds of uncertainty and doubt in the minds of the students, and with the gossip flying around the hall, the seeds flourished.]

The social interactions of the prefects was well done. I like the way Ocs were introduced and they just flowed with the story. The hints of background information on Bond are intriguing and I'm looking forward to reading more about him. Love the image of Draco fawning over someone...Antony's little pet ferret!

I've heard so much about Antony Bond on the discussion boards. Looking forward to reading more about him.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17458Chapter: 7
Wow! Antony snaps! I really liked the way he did it, too. And the revelation about Professor Nouvelle in this chapter was startling. (At least I now understand why she was familiar with Antony.)

This can't the end of it, right?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17457Chapter: 6
OK, now I know why Antony was so obsessed with his age :( and now I wish I could just SMAX his mother. (Just once I'd love to read about a MAN mismanaging the family fortune, wouldn't you?)

Sorry, I'm rambling.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17451Chapter: 7
Oh, I just love the character of Anthony!! Just a wonderful creation, really. And also a superb job on the writing, plot, and other characters. I just love this story!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17433Chapter: 4
Well, what do you know? Antony's not such a cold fish after all...the bit about the ring was surprisingly thoughtful. I'm very curious about why he's so fixated on letting everyone know he's 16.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17429Chapter: 3
Hi, JK :) I only started reading this now, but I'm really enjoying it! Antony is...well, he's very hard to describe, but at this point let me just say that I love to hate him. He's obviously very intelligent, very cultured, and very cold. He's absolutely riveting! I'm very curious about what happens next.

Oh, and I really liked your coverage of the Astronomy class. Other writers (myself included *blush*) tend to ignore it, so it was great to have a bit of an idea of what goes on.

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17316Chapter: 7
Oh, poor Antony! Can't he have a single moment of peace? That must have been truly horrible for him.
On the other hand, it's always interesting to know what happened during the war. And what a way to put it! It was a great scene, indeed.
I also loved the bits about Arithmancy. It sounds like it's a really interesting subject- and it goes well with Antony's personality, doesn't it?

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15396Chapter: 1
This is a great fic. I printed off chapters 1 - 7 and I haven't been able to put it down. I especially like the quotes and the references to Hamlet. I got a bit confused with the new characters (my problem not yours. I felt at first that Anthony was a bit too much of a stereotype, but as you read on you understand why. Nice to see Snape turn up, kept in character good/evil still don't know.

Can't wait to find out what Voldemort wants of Anthony, and how he deals with it. Write again soon.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15373Chapter: 7
Wow!

I like this character of Antony... very very well-imagined. I'm not sure how many parts this'll be, but I'm looking forward to the rest.

Reviewer: DarkAngelDate: 2003-01-06
Reviewid: 15354Chapter: 7
*Whistles* Bra-<i>vo</i>. I didn't see that one coming at all. This explains why Nouvelle's so wretched to Antony.

That poor boy. I hope he can survive the rest of his school term without cracking.

DA

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15346Chapter: 7
JK:

Aww... Poor Antony... it seems like I'm always thinking that in this fic! You're WAY too horrible to him, if I do say so myself. This is just a quick review, but I loved the chapter yet again. I want to give Antony a hug. He has it way too bad, even when some good things happen to him, (i.e. going back to Hogwarts, the girl that he likes accepting him, etc...), things always screw themselves up. I feel bad for him because of his dad and what happened during Nouvelle's class. I guess that he was sort of acting insolent, but I think that I've developed a blind spot where he's concerned... :-)

~*Tinkerbell/Meg

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15345Chapter: 6
JK-

Wow, do I feel dumb, cause I said to myself that I would keep up with you and DD and I somehow missed this chapter being published! So yeah, basically, I am seriously lacking in brains/observation of those little columns on the welcome page, but I would like to say that this was a FANTASTIC chapter. I absolutely loved it and wish that I would have read it sooner! :-( I feel sooo sorry for Antony... Poor baby... and the letters from Jorman to Andromeda and Antony were really touching. I feel sad. The angst it a bit too much...

~*Tinkerbell/Meg

Reviewer: KellibusDate: 2003-01-05
Reviewid: 15261Chapter: 7
J.K.,
I'm speechless. The writing is excellent (of course, I've seen most of the tidbits you gave us:)). And, lovely twist. I hadn't been expecting anything like that at all. I side with Antony on this one. I understand why she's sooooooo upset, but... still.
Keep it up!
Ciao,
Kellibus

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15099Chapter: 7
Wow. You ROX. You really do. And I love Antony more than I can say. I just want to give him a big hug. And this isn't terribly coherent, but I thought you'd like to know it had been read.
:o)
Hallie

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 15039Chapter: 7
Pleased to get more!

Wow! Antony is really undergoing some intensive psychological manuevering at the moment. He seems to be juxtaposting his life as a normal teen with that of death eater and the edges aren't rubbing together very well.

The support cast in the story is very good as well.

Catherine

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14983Chapter: 7
A triumphant chapter--a climax where we see Antony come totally undone. Every other chapter leads to this perfectly. Well done--I'm really impressed with the structure of this story.

Reviewer: rinoaDate: 2002-11-02
Reviewid: 7924Chapter: 6
brilliant chapter... oh, he got an owl! an owl who eats ferrets!

*grinning*

continue! i want to know what happens! Antony has a way out of this, doesn't he? damn Voldie, damn him... >=( please let him have it easier... gosh, i shouldn't say this, but his mom is a frickin moron. -_-

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7755Chapter: 6
Oh, poor Antony! If he had got into that room just one day earlier... *sniffles* I'm glad that at least Snape realised he's not truly bad, though. Poor kid's going to need help.
I love how you handle Antony's thoughts and feelings throughout the story- you have a wonderful style!

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7740Chapter: 6
Awww! *hugs Antony* Poor guy. He should be young and carefree, and Voldemort shouldn't have his filthy fingers all over him. Antony made the wrong choice, but I think he'll do the right thing with it - he'll be a Death Eater of the Severus Snape mould. A worm from the inside. Antony's not your run of the mill evil guy - Antony is essentially good. Intelligent, quirky, ambitious, all of those, but evil? No way.
Excellent chapter, and I look forward to the next installment.
:o)
Hallie

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7726Chapter: 6
*sobs*

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7702Chapter: 6
Well, you sure aren't easy on Anthony! Nor should you be!

I really like the letters and the bit with Snape. Wow! Anthony has some serious reconciliation to do now with reality.

You've done some masterful writing here, JK! Keep up the good, angsty work.

And yes, you should feel guilty.

Catherine

Reviewer: Rinoa JasmineDate: 2002-10-28
Reviewid: 7372Chapter: 5
*softly* that's really sad. i simply LOVED him the first 2 chapters, what a (to quote Merlin) Slytherin bastard =) he sounds so... i don't know... evil, the way he's potrayed, but you just can't help feeling weak in his presence (like the Astronomy ordeal ^^)... i mean, SHAKESPEARE. i many *freaxing* Slytherins - or students, coming down to it - quote Shakespeare line by line? gosh, when he did that i melted ^^ i wanted to kiss him! to quote the bard is sexy!

you can consider me a fangirl now =D but i'm sad he feels obligated to obey that pimbo Malfoy... gosh, that sucks >=( but this is a ROXing story, please let Antony to prevail!

*cough* i'm having fantasies now... ^^

"It's Bond. Antony Bond."

*squeals* update!

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3340Chapter: 5
Oh, goodness--my poor baby! How much do I love Antony and want to feed him lots of stuff like a veritable Mrs. Weasley! *sobs*

This has indeed become much darker, and SO intriguing that I absolutely MUST have the next chapter!! Well, you know... whenever you can get it out.

You conveyed Antony's indecision well. So many fics can err on the side of making their "grey" character TOO good, TOO evil, TOO brave, TOO cowardly... but this Antony is real. I really admire you, Ashavah.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3339Chapter: 4
You know, Remus is one of the one men that I can see ANYONE learning to respect. Even (Mr on January 5th) Bond, who made me MELT when he took off his silver ring.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3336Chapter: 3
It's Sirius... oh god! Now she'll find out!! (whoohoo!)

Sorry I'm writing such awful reviews, but I'm too wrapped up in the story to be charming, witty, and anylitical.

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3331Chapter: 2
I wrote "Anthony" but I meant "Antony". You know...

Reviewer: Michelle RavelDate: 2002-08-27
Reviewid: 3330Chapter: 2
By the ambiguous way you talked about everything in the first chapter, we might have thought that the Head Boy was Draco. But he wasn't! Good surprise...

I'm really starting to like all of your OCs. And Anthony is Head Boy AND Quiddich Captain... ambitious indeed...

Reviewer: SammieDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2564Chapter: 5
This story is really an awesome piece. I encourage you to continue...I cannot wait to see what happens next. I think you've created a wonderful character in Antony....perhaps something akin to what Draco could go through in canon, but then again Draco could just be plain evil! GREAT work!!

~* Anxiously Awaiting the next Chapter *~
Princess Tiger Lily 01

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2082Chapter: 5
JK:

A most impressive chapter. How horrible that Antony has to be forced into a life he doesn't want...

Well, I am very busy thinking, or else I would say more. I can't wait for the next chapter, and will be checking around.

Best wishes!

~*Meg

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2079Chapter: 4
JK:

I had a feeling that it was Sirius who was ill in the hospital wing. I'm wondering what more we'll be seeing of him and Remus.

Your Quidditch scene was well written. I always have trouble writing them and commend you for a job well done.

Poor Antony, hit by a Bludger... It is my strong belief that no one deserves to be hurt, no matter how horrible they may act, (and Antony does act pretty horrible). Thank you for justifying my liking of him in the last scene and showing that he at least has some human emotions. Did I miss something? Why did he ask Raylene how old she is??? Maybe because he's young for his year?

Well, I'm off again. TTFN, ta-ta for now!

~*Meg

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2078Chapter: 3
JK:

Great chapter. Your OCs are fantasic, just so you know. They really create an interest in your story.

Loved how Antony can quote Shakespeare. I love the dude too and have read many of his plays but being able to identify a passage like he can is slightly scary for a sixteen year old wizard. (Just like Merlin said, whoa, big surprise that I would too!)

Anyway, I'm going to off to read the next chapter. TTFN!

~*Meg

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1926Chapter: 2
JK:

Loved your descriptions of the Slytherins entering the Prefect's meeting and Merlin Talisen's perceptions of the Slytherins and Gryffindors. She seems like she's going to be a very interesting teacher. I'm also interested in what Raylene's going to find out in her reports. I have a feeling that she picked Antony's dad on purpose.

Anyway, off again. I love the story, by the way. C*ya soon!

~*Meg

Reviewer: MegDate: 2002-08-14
Reviewid: 1922Chapter: 1
Hey, JK!

I've been keeping up with the Secret of the Founders Four for quite some time, (and love it, by the way!!!), and was wondering about some of your other work. It's a very interesting first chapter. I take it that we're supposed to be fascinated with Antony Bond, and it you did a very good job with this. (I have a thing for brooding Slyths, okay?) Anyway, I'm off to read Chapter 2... C*ya in a little bit, then!

~*Meg

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 30Chapter: 5
(Originally posted 7/6/02 4:47:13 am)

Oh! You've got that contrasting exterior/interior thing going on with Antony! KEWL!

This story is notably complex. I'm very interested to see what will happen to Antony now. Will he manage to overcome in spite his environment? I'm hopeful, but he's got a lot to go through.

Your characterizations of Remus and Sirius are great.

The scene where Maxwell talks to Antony and Antony has the upper hand, alas, reminds me of a few willful students from my days of high school teaching.

NICE work! You are subtle where you need to be subtle.

Eagerly looking forward to the next installment.

Catherine

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 29Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 5/6/02 3:58:32 pm)

JK:

I have read a little of your earlier works, and while talent was apparent, the skill level with which you are writing in DD is impressive indeed.

Raylene and Antony are riveting characters. I am intrigued to know about Snape's illness. I am also interested as to why Dumbledore seems to trust Antony.

What is truly striking, so far, are how fleshed out and wonderful the prefects and minor characters are. This story has depth and layers, and I am very much a fan of that sort of thing. :-D I feel like I am in an actual place, rather than just reading a fiction, the setting and incidentals are so well formed.

I will try to finish this sooner rather than later, and get a good look at your other work.

Very professional.

Catherine

Reviewer: JulianeSDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 28Chapter: 5
(Originally posted 10/5/02 2:45:20 pm)

I've been wretchedly late about reviewing ch.4-5 of Dux Dolosus, but here it is.

I love the way Maxwell slams into the room, it is obvious he has quite the temper, which is such stark contrast to his intimidation by Antony. Minerva's icy competance and utter lack of tolerance for Bond's arrogance is wonderful. Go Minerva!

The complicated family ties between the Bonds and Blacks are fascinating and when you throw Potter into the mix...hoo boy!

The Quidditch scene was exciting and very shocking at the end. Bravo. Quidditch scenes are so difficult to pull off well. Loved this ending sentence:

“After all, escaped brooms had a habit of finding the Whomping Willow, and it was a very good broom.”

Very Slyth way of thinking!

Remus' reflections about the past and the uncertain future, while he was watching Sirius in the hospital wing, were lovely.

“”But If I get anywhere near him, he's dead."

Remus didn't bother asking if Sirius meant Malfoy or Pettigrew. It was obviously an either/or situation.”

Perfect! Absolutely perfect.

Raylene's sighting of Antony at the end of this chapter was gorgeously written.

The entirety of chapter five was so heartbreaking, the bone-deep fear that has been driving Antony to do what he does. It truly does give the reader a glimpse into the poor child's soul. And the sad part is, he truly is a child in so many ways.

“For now, feelings could well be death”

But the worst part of it all, I think, is that he's intelligent enough to know and understand what the consequences of his choices are, and that he's too afraid to make the right ones. A terrible place to be.

“his smiles were a liar's smiles.” lovely!

Chilling description of the burning of the Dark Mark. The worst was having his mother hold his arm - I was seriously wigged out by that.

Reviewer: yasaman009Date: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 27Chapter: 5
(Originally posted 6/5/02 1:52:23 pm)

OK, I now feel incredibly maternal/sisterly towards Antony...I so wish someone could've been there with him! My thoughts are all along the lines of "Nooooo! Poor Antony..."

You've managed to make him a real person, hard to do with OCs. His numb shock comes through, as does his disgust with himself. You made me want to give him a hug! I do hope he becomes a double-agent, if only so he won't hate himself as much. This whole chapter was chilling; my heart really breaks for Antony.

:-( I'm starting to dangerously personally attached to him! Don't make him go through anything *too* horrible!

BTW: Curly black hair? MmmmmmAntony.... :-D

Reviewer: Faery HedgehogDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 26Chapter: 5
Wow - what a chapter! I can certainly see why this is the one you've been working towards. Don't worry about the darkness though, I think it's wonderful that you're tackling the issues of being a death eater like this, with such a fascinating character as well. I will be very interested to see where you take the story from here, especially with Antony thinking of playing double agent.
There were so many fantastic lines in this, especially at the end:

Quote:

Whether by some miracle I find a way to stop this destroying me by shattering my morals like a crystal glass, or whether I turn into a common killer like Lucius and my father, it still remains the same.

I've sold my soul to Voldemort. And he is a demanding master.


*shivers* That was just incredibly chilling, as was your portrayal of Lucius. Yes, he is so much more dangerous than Draco will ever be and you've characterised him just as I imagine so far. Very scary.

Please tell Antony not to worry too much - here at SQ we all still love him

Faery H :-)

On a side note: Black curly hair and pale blue eyes, eh? Mmmm

Reviewer: CircexDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 25Chapter: 5
(Originally posted 5/5/02 11:42:16 am)

Lucius, you black-hearted, evil, manipulative, putrid, horrible SOB! Oh, Antony...things will be okay. Man, I wish Snape were there.

Reviewer: CircexDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 24Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 1/5/02 9:34:42 am)

Oh, Antony! It's not really about reforming him...he's already a good, sweet boy! He's just all messed up. He's got a bit of Sirius in him...that's neat. That's really neat. The bit with his ring was very sweet and might I add that I gasped when he took that Bludger to the head? Then I snickered because I thought of Oliver.

I love the description of how everybody drifted away and the scene with Maxwell? Antony steamrolled right over him with barely a word.

OCs are hard and you are managing just beautifully. Now write more! More! Right now! And please let somebody kick the crap out of Lucius.

Reviewer: yasaman009Date: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 23Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 28/4/02 4:18:45 pm)

Finally getting around to reviewing! I'd just to like say that I *love* Antony. What can I say, I dig bad boys. I love how we get glimpses of him through Raylene's eyes, especially the one in the last chapter. I'm already shipping Antony/Raylene. The time frames get a little confusing, as do the different POVs and settings. I
can't help but feel like I've missed something sometimes.

But getting back to Antony, I'm so in love with his character! The Shakespeare quoting scene showed how there's more to him than meets the eye. I siriusly fell in love with Antony right from the start. I'm looking forward to more angst! Oh, and Vellian's attitude towards Slytherins is much like mine. I too am a Slytherin who
would hate having to live with fellow Slyths. I have to compliment you on your handling of all the OCs. Every single one has faults and you're not afraid to show them. Not a single Mary Sue in the bunch! And I'm worried about Snape...what happenned to him?

*looks over review* Gee...I really SUX at writing reviews...They're all rambly and weird... :-\

Reviewer: Alanna GrangerDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 22Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 28/4/02 3:42:34 pm)

Really liked Chapter 4, as always. Maxwell is an interesting character -- I like him; such a different Head of Slytherin than Snape. Interesting how he was so quickly cowed by Antony.

Good info on Jorman Bond's past.

Very ironic re: Sirius and the wolfsbane. He'd better recover; I'm quite curious.

Antony continues to be quite an engima. Looking forward to more information about why he treats Professor Lupin with such respect.

Time frame was slightly confusing in places -- as Chapter 3 ended with them rushing to the hospital wing; then they reappeared in the staff room... but I think I figured it out.

Send Chapter 5 in NOW. No need to wait.

:-) Your twin, who kept her promise

Reviewer: Faery HedgehogDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 21Chapter: 4
(Originally posted 28/4/02 1:51:17 pm)

First of all, let me apologise to you for being such a bad reviewer. I am very lazy about these things, but I will try to be better in the future, especially after that last paragraph of DD4... *Shivers* That was my favourite part so far I think. I didn't think I liked Antony up until that point, although I have always found him intriguing, but now you've made me all worried about him. And may I just tell you how kewl I think Raylene is. She ROX. I'm glad to know that she's keeping an eye out for Antony, cause it sounds like you're going to be throwing some JK-style angst at him soon

Reviewer: ImogenDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 20Chapter: 3
(Originally posted 24/2/02 7:00:55 am)

Hi there :-D As promised, I've read this and thoroughly enjoyed it so far. I see
JUST what you mean about Antony ~ he's a great character and I found
myself loathing and adoring him all at the same time. He's one cool person,
and I can't wait to find out more about him.

It's nice seeing so many new characters around the place, and you handle
them very well into 3 dimensional people. I can see lots of past parallels
coming up, and the Quidditch one particularly caught my attention in ch 2.

This is one good story. PLease give me a nudge when you get ch 4 done...
I'd hate to miss out.

Imogen :-D

Reviewer: CircexDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 19Chapter: 2
(Originally posted 20/1/02 10:52:32 am)

Dux Dolosus--AGHHHHH! How could you leave it where you did?! LOL After replying to various post I came to read this (I'm slow, okay?) and all I can say is --I love it! I sort of miss the Trio, but you've made the characters so rich that I don't miss ou three much. ^.^ Fred and George and Lee were so funny --gift, there, no professor ! LOL

Sure, there are a few characters I'd like to slap, but since you feel the same way I'll trust you to give them what they deserve. Now write more!

Reviewer: Alanna GrangerDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 18Chapter: 2
(Originally posted 20/12/01 6:32:43 pm)

NO. NO. You *cannot* stop there. You must update. *Now.* Thank you and have a nice day. :-)

I just got around to reading this story and I now love it to death. I want more! More! More! I like all of your characters, but the two teachers are my favorite. You are alluding to so much from the past, I want to find out what really happened!
I recognize a few names from SotFF, I think. Take it as a compliment that Istopped to think... "Now where have I heard Jorman Bond? It wasn't PoA... could it have been GoF?"

There is so much going on! You must be very organized. I'd lose the plot thread.It's nice to see a fifth-year story without the Trio, but I wouldn't complain if they appeared either!

I. Want. The. Next. Part. Now. Please. :-) Anyway, I can't tell you how much I'm enjoying this. Can't wait to see the next part, like you couldn't gather that already!

Reviewer: jen loves ronDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 17Chapter: 2
[i]Originally posted 20/10/01 4:24:27 am[/i]

hmm... i'm not sure what i think of this fic. i read the first bit awhile ago, and read the update just then, and i'm still not sure what i think. i mean, i like it, but in a way i've never liked a fic before...this ones making me think more than other fics. i'm really curious about antony's history, and i'm wondering whether the potions master (merlin?) has anything to do with his parents or the bond family. i'm also rather curious about the DADA teacher (nouvelle?) because she just seems *interesting*, and seeing "J. and L. Potter" on the list made me happy. i'm not sure why. all the new names for prefects confuses me quite a bit, but everything confuses me. i do like this fic, though, and i hope to read more of it soon.

Reviewer: JulianeSDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 16Chapter: 2
<I>Originally posted 19/10/01 2:27:30 pm</I>

I left you a review on the Werewolf Registry some time ago, but I'll repeat it here: great fic, very interesting characters that draw the reader in quickly and keep him/her interested. I've been looking forward to the next
installments.

We stubborn few, we who insist on writing OCs! *grin*

Reviewer: Dobby's SocksDate: 2002-07-24
Reviewid: 15Chapter: 2
I read this because Paula recommended it on the QHG list. Otherwise I would not have been likely to, simply because I don't normally read stories centred on OCs. That's because many OCs are Mary Sues and I'd rather read about HP and crew... However, in this case I would have been missing a great fic. As Paula mentioned this is so well planned out, down to the last detail. I shouldn't be surprised after your post over on GT. But the attention to details really shows here. I'm quite impressed by it.

I'm very curious to learn more about Antony. The ending sentences of chapter 2 imply to me that he's putting on a facade for the benefit of the other Slytherins. I'm also curious about his (or his family's) history with Merlin Talesin. And of course, the reason Snape is no longer at Hogwarts...

Hoping you don't procrastinate too much with this...

Edited to add: What does the title mean? I've had very little Latin, but it looks to me to be "duke of pain"... Am I laughably off with that?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --