The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Summoning
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-07-04
Reviewid: 143955Chapter: 1
oh oh oh, how terribly fascinating. after reading the sixth book again i am very interested in tom and i love finding good short stories such as this one. i love when the author makes sure that it is well researched as well, bravo.

Reviewer: ShadowRainDate: 2005-12-05
Reviewid: 136786Chapter: 1
Wow... this story gave me shivers. Poor Alexander.. then again, he should know better than to insult a dark goddess. Idiot =)

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-12-05
Reviewid: 136784Chapter: 1
Wow...that's amazing...so wonderfully dark...you're an amazing writer...

Reviewer: Mark CaldwellDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131490Chapter: 1
Let me just start with saying, this is an excellent piece of work and I really enjoyed reading it!

I honestly can't criticize the writing of it in anyway. You had me reading on, totally absorbed in the story and given there was nothing I read that reminded me this was fan fiction, I must confess that this is very professionally written. I'll comment on certain aspects of the story line but they are purely in the interest of observation and it is only my opinion!

This story feels like it has a slight hint of influence from 'The Sandman,' whether that's true or not I don't know but it worked in very well to the realm of Harry Potter and I think it was rightly put on the side of Slytherin. Although Angels and Demons in their own right aren't a satanic concept I do believe that only the dark side of magic would interfere with such beings. The good side would know better than to upset nature in such a way. I would be interested in seeing how someone like Dumbledore would fight such a being though.

Now correct me if I'm wrong but I'd personally believe that you need to be a very powerful wizard to call a Demon to you. That's why up until Tom stepping in the Demon wasn't going to come forth. So having said that I believe that the more powerful the wizard, the more powerful the Demon you can call, so Lucifer wouldn't turn up since he's the most powerful of all Demons and no one there, not even Tom at that point in his life, was powerful enough to summon him. (As a side note, it would be interesting to speculate if he could call him now as an adult.) However, I think Belial turned up since Tom was powerful enough to summon him and since Belial is very close to Lucifer on the pecking order, Belial was impressed by him. I know you state it was the offer of a sacrifice that tempted the Demon forth, but I'd say he was lying for various reasons and not all of them would be to do with covering up what the Demon was about to do to Alexander or the fact that he is the Demon of Deceit. This is how I feel the story played out for the Demon but of course if you were thinking of something different then I'd be very interested to hear your reasoning behind it as always.

Staying with Tom Riddle for a moment, I'd say you really had his personality very well nailed. Although, I was unsure as to whether he was already supposed to know how to turn the Demon against Alexander or if the Demon simply offered to dispose of him during their brief communication and Tom took the opportunity. Either way I really liked seeing your insights into how you saw Tom at school, especially with his own pursuit of the dark arts. We know so little about how he went about his own gathering of knowledge that I'm really interested to see any ideas put forward on the subject.

There are just so many thoughts running through my head now!! I have to face reality, now there's a truly scary place, but I must admit that there are just too many other things I found interesting in this story and I can hardly begin to comment on all of them here!

So I will resign myself to simply saying I loved it and WELL DONE!!

Reviewer: davidDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125381Chapter: 1
nice line, enjoyed it

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124296Chapter: 1
Oh, this was wonderful. Deliciously creepy, and young Tom is spot-on. Had to read it twice to get the last line, but when I did ... yow.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 123015Chapter: 1
A really interesting story, all the more so for the real life details you include: Belial and John Dee. I really did not see the end coming, although I should have, considering Tom Riddle was involved. The descriptive passage concerning Belial was very effective, and having Tom clean his shoes at the end made for a wonderful ending. Nagini's origins are even more sinister than I'd thought, well done on interweaving Belial's penchant for 'familiars' into the story.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119117Chapter: 1
Very interesting, and definitely a good read. I'm a sucker for young manipulative!Tom. The last note, the manual cleaning of his shoes, was a great way to end - not afraid to get his hands dirty, is he?

Wel done - very enjoyable.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118900Chapter: 1
Wow. What a dark and interesting take on the young Tom Riddle. And so well researched! The atmosphere of this piece was incredible.
The only thing I can think to say is I don't think demon summoning is something Rowling would put in her canon, but it sure makes this story tick. I almost don't want to sleep now.

Reviewer: Eice BleuDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118546Chapter: 1
Wow! You really did your homework! Bravo!

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118381Chapter: 1
For some reason, I was expecting the elder Nott, but the elder Snape took me by surprise. This seems very much in character for young Tom Riddle. Very nicely done.

As for story telling, take out the copywrited characters, and this story could stand on its own as a spooky Halloween story.

Thanks to Sigune who recommended it.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118350Chapter: 1
This is a great and very frightening story. I like Alexander, your OC -- he's very realistic and you've written him well. My favorite part, though, is that you took the time to research Belial, John Dee, etc., instead of just inventing some demon. I find stuff like that really interesting, so your notes at the end of the story are really cool.

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118289Chapter: 1
Great story - both cerebral and very, very chilling. I like the interesting use of your sources. Well done!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118205Chapter: 1
I just realized something. This story reminds me of Lovecraft. I mean, not in the sense of having intensely unbelievable monsters, but in the sense of creating mood and the characters reactions. This is a compliment.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118204Chapter: 1
Oh wow. I can't imagine that this was at all comfortable to write. It was incredible, though. Just incredible. I felt like I was watching it. Just wow.

Reviewer: BeverlyDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118201Chapter: 1
I almost don't know what to say. This short story was wonderfully creepy and at the same time very insightful of a Young Tom Riddle. It was very easy to picture this actually happening in the Slytherin dorm room during Tom's years, as Tom give off to me the impression of not being afraid of anything, wizard, man or demon.

Reviewer: kelleypenDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118175Chapter: 1
Okay, this was really scary. The amount of research you did for this was phenominal. Were you frightened when you did it? When I read that kind of stuff, something cold and dark grips me and I have to put it down. I like how you revealed Snape's father and other death eaters. I think this is a very probably scenario showing Tom's journey into darkness.

Reviewer: SiguneDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118165Chapter: 1
Gee Ada, this must be my favourite among your stories so far - it's dark and powerful and haunting and, well, great. You conjure up the perfect atmosphere of what must have been Slytherin House's darkest days, and within the confines of a short story your cast of characters is masterfully brought to life. I was charmed by the appearance of Dr Dee, of course, and that of Snape's father and the elder Nott; and your portrait of Tom Riddle is poignant. Far from being bored, I'd like to say thank you for delicious reading experience. This is going straight to my list of favourites.

Reviewer: *Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118160Chapter: 1
* *
*
(___)

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118159Chapter: 1
Just another story from an artist who puts out decidedly superior products. Damn! You are good.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118055Chapter: 1
For Amy: The clues for what happened to Alexander are dotted about within the story (though it also relies on you making an educated guess.) The Slytherins were trying to summon Lucifer and for some reason, Lucifer didn't show up (whether you decide Belial was telling the truth about that is up to you, the reader -_^). According to the overwhelming majority, Lucifer resides in hell. So, by putting one's keen and penetrating mind to the test, we can assume that Belial also lives there. Perhaps he was tired of Hogwarts and decided to return home (and bring a little travelling companion with him).

As to how Belial took Alexander - the clue is in the very last sentence of the story. I don't want to give it away for everyone. ^_^

Hope that clears things up for you.

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 118001Chapter: 1
That was an awesome story - so creepy and yet so believable. Your effort in researching this was evident, and the end was really effective. Made me shudder... Great job!

Reviewer: Amy MacArthurDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117974Chapter: 1
I'm still a little confused as to what happened to Alexander? How was Belial able to take him?

Reviewer: mattDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117965Chapter: 1
Wooah...very well planned and written. I love the extra research and effort that you put into this story. Wonderful job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --