The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-12-09
Reviewid: 136945Chapter: 1
Powerful story! I can just feel myself in that dungeon, squirming under Snape's harsh eye.

Reviewer: WennyDate: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123182Chapter: 1
The manner is which this story was told seems to reflect the attitude and personality of the House, giving small half glimpse into everything. I must say that it is quite enjoyable to see the "other side" of Slytherin; I particularly enjoyed your characterization of Blaise Zambini and Theodore Nott.

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119017Chapter: 1
Nice Chapter. I've always had some kind of idea that Snape at some point of time will do give some kind of speech similar to this to the Slytherin house and I like the way you've portrayed it.

Though Slytherins are ambitious and care much about themselves, that doesn't mean they don't know right and wrong and it's principles have no effect on them. Snape for example I don't think he's helping Dumbledore for his own ambition, for one thing I doubt Dumbledore would trust him so much if that was the case.

Anyways I enjoyed the fic alot.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119008Chapter: 1
These are my favorite Slytherins. I have long believed that Draco and Pansy are the exception, rather than the rule. I shall forever remember your name with fondness, especialy because Snape is so spot on.

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118287Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorite fics. I think it shows the tightrope Snape has to walk everyday. Here he is trying to guide one part of his House without seeming to guide them, and without allowing them to get any closer to him.

Well done.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118249Chapter: 1
I loved your story. Not only was it believable, but it really speaks to the heart and makes a statement to which anyone can relate. It is very well written. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: WendelinDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118243Chapter: 1
I love the many tiny observations in this tale that come as revelations despite their size. One example is the idea that Slytherin house *has* no 'natural ally'... If there was ever a House that was the 'loner' it is Slytherin, even more than Ravenclaw, whose members need other people on the basic level of their need to discuss their ideas.

Another example is the way you've used Slytherin's very qualities to show how people should be smart enough to laugh in Voldie's face when he offers them the post of Death Eater.

I even liked your Snape, even if he was a bit too relaxed and unguarded during his meeting with the dissenters... but that's you interpretation, and you can do what you want with it. :) I did feel that the *first* speech he made (to all Slytherins) rang very true, and made me bubble with glee at the hidden meanings in it.

Reviewer: arloDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118238Chapter: 1
Woah... this is one of the best takes on Snape I have read. You managed to keep his loyalties questionable to most, but clear to those who were on the cusp. While I personally believe that he will turn out bad to the bone, this was an excellent rendering of the possibility of his goodness. Very well written (I am jealous!)

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118179Chapter: 1
Great characterisation of Professor Snape ó I can really see him saying this sort of thing. And I really like your idea as to why Snape favours his own house so much (because everyone else seems to either feel indifference or dislike for them). Thanks for the great read!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118172Chapter: 1
Thank you. This is the truest Snape / representation of Snapes' character that I have read. And, as normal for you, a very fine tale.

Reviewer: saiyanwizardgurlDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118133Chapter: 1
Hi, I'm from FanFiction.Net! I must say, your portrayal of Severus was EXCELLENT! Keep up the good work, and I look forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: MarisaDate: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118123Chapter: 1
Good work.

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118120Chapter: 1
I have had thoughts much like these expressed in your story about Slytherin. What a well written tale! I have always admired certian aspects of Slytherin House, and I love the way you portray them: not good or evil, nor anything in-between. Snape's character in this fic is particulary goodówell, not good, but... you get the picture. Wonderful story.

Reviewer: sunsethillDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118109Chapter: 1
Very intriguing and quite possible. I enjoyed this look at how Snape might attempt to forge a group of counter-Death Eaters.

Reviewer: OrDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118053Chapter: 1
Fantastic, I don't usually read Snape one shots, but this was brilliant, I can see him making that speech.

And that dig about Sirius was SO painfully Canon.

Or.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118051Chapter: 1
While most of the story is written from an original, sometimes ingenious pov, I think you err a couple of times and revert to canon's pov (which is to say, a Harry-esque pov). For one thing, I don't believe Snape or the Slytherins see themselves as suffering from the prejudices the other Houses have against them. From all references in canon, they seem to think they're the best House, a cut above others. We, as readers from Harry's pov, may think they're somewhat unfairly victimized by public opinion. The Slytherins don't see themselves ostracized. On the contrary, they think everyone else is envious of their position in the world. The second miss, in my opinion, is when Pucey refers to the 'good' side (despite your having Snape request precision on that). I simply don't see Slytherins referring to Dumbledore's side as the good side. Or if they do, then they already have a lot more definite views on the two sides than you present them here.

So, that's the criticism. The upside is really pretty much anything else in this story. I found some of Snape remarks utterly believable and cuttingly smart (I did buy the remark about Sirius entirely - he'd sooo love to say that!). And that aside about Snape studying ways to foul in Quidditch without detection - brilliant! All in all, great job.

Reviewer: lynnDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118044Chapter: 1
I've read this before on another site but was happy to see it here. It's the kind of thing I like to re-read because there is so much there. I'm always fascinated by Snape's "behind the scenes" interactions with the Slytherins and this feels exactly right to me. For all that he is an unpleasant bastard, he has to feel some duty and obligation to his students to keep them from making the mistakes he has made and prepare them for what's ahead- otherwise he's just an empty shell of a plot device, and I don't believe for a minute that he is. You did a great job in fleshing him out in a way we don't usually see, and presenting the concerns that some Slytherin students have to have. Especially the ones who know that their parents have already signed on with Voldemort. I hate how canon ignores what these students must go through. Slytherin does not automatically equal cruel sadistic (and stupid) Death Eater in Training, and it's great to see this addressed.

Reviewer: DonnaDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118036Chapter: 1
Very good. Snape's voice and manner are very well done. It's nice to meet some Slytherins who aren't one dimensional. With events in the books seen only from Harry's viewpoint, and only of things he's able to see, it's unlikely we'll get to read anything similar there.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118016Chapter: 1
Excellent story. I enjoyed this unusual view of Slytherin House and its questioning inhabitants. Snape's characterization was spot-on - especially with the dig at Sirius. Good job.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117975Chapter: 1
I thought this was really good!!! I was starting to have new respect for Snape....until that comment about Sirius. But still, I like the way you wrote him.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117963Chapter: 1
I read this elsewhere but like it so well that I am glad to read it again. It's a believable and hope filled view.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117952Chapter: 1
I like this. I like it rather a lot. Even more than the story itself, though (and, rest assured, it is wonderful), I like the ideas you incorporate within it. You have made some very astute observations and have provided us with some insight on what it means to be a Slytherin (or on Slytherinity, if you will permit me to coin a new HP term.) Stories like this make me happy inside. ^_^

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --