The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-04-15
Reviewid: 119693Chapter: 1
Great Story!!!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119079Chapter: 1
Really great job. One of the best Petunial:Lily analysises (spelling is terrible) that I've ever seen.

<i>She had no idea how this Albus Dumbledore knew what her sister had been doing at the time she died, but she knew it was the truth, because that was exactly the sort of bull-headed thing Lily would do. </i?

Really, really good. My favorite line. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118628Chapter: 1
Oh, that was good. Really really good. I almost cried.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118618Chapter: 1
This is really good!

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118607Chapter: 1
Very beautiful. You made Petunia and her relationship with her sister chillingly believable.

Reviewer: HalanDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118543Chapter: 1
Fantastic. I love this story. You give enough insight into Petunia's past that you see why she was so turned off by magic and why she disliked her sister so much. You made her human rather than making her a horrible monster. You gave her a belivable reason; rather than treating Harry the way she did because of her hatred of her sister, she treated him that way to save him from Lily's fate. Fantastic work.

Reviewer: buffy summersDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118514Chapter: 1
B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L! Great story and also very emotional, i had tears in my eyes at some moments! Love it!

Reviewer: crookedhaloDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118256Chapter: 1
wow. this story was really great. very canon, but definitely a side of Petunia we don't quite get to see.

and you certainly have a talent for writing! the flashbacks were seamless, and elegantly placed to tug at the heartstrings.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118244Chapter: 1
Great story. I loved the flashbacks and how they tied in with Petunia's finding Harry.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-30
Reviewid: 118178Chapter: 1
This is the 1st of your work that I have read. Yet another of my failings to correct. You have made Petunia so understandable and, in her way, even good and noble. Wonderful writing & story. Thanks.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118082Chapter: 1
I like this. Your Petunia is very real, and very human. Furthermore, it gives a perfect explanation of why Petunia so vehemently opposes witchcraft and wizardry. Nothing says that Lily was not as obnoxious as James when they were growing up.

Well done!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: marietDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118022Chapter: 1
This is a convincing explanation of Petunia's dislike and disgust of Lily- though I have trouble believing Lily's magic would have manifested just that way. It's well written and descriptive, I can imagine someone facing the situation Petunia finds herself in that morning reacting just that way.

One thing though- at the end you say Petunia's 25, shouldn't she be 20 if she's 2 years younger than Luily when she died?

Reviewer: martDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118005Chapter: 1
absolutely brilliant. I've rarely seen a sympathetic Petunia before, and I find that hard because we see so many redeemed malfoy fics (Malfoy, whose sole saving grace is fandom cliches).

This, on the other hand, gives petunia's behavior some valid grounding. I've always found it strange that Petunia took Harry in despite resenting her sister, and I think this is a pretty convincing story of what-might-have-been.

I'll wait to read more of your work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --