The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sacked
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121998Chapter: 1
LOL! Nice job! I loved it! Too funny!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121876Chapter: 1
I've read some of your stories at the Inferno, and now I decided to read your first real fic.

Interesting idea. I've read stories where Harry becomes the DADA prof, but never one after he fails as an Auror. You're right -- who says that Harry will necessarily succeed as an Auror?

Just the right amount of fluff. I enjoyed reading this fic. Congrats on becoming an official SQ author, and I hope you'll return to the Inferno soon!

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121212Chapter: 1
Loved it, very clever!

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120822Chapter: 1
Love it! Original. I never REALLY thought about Harry not being able to be an Auror...


-PQ

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120660Chapter: 1
Lisa - what a nice job you do, conveying volumes about relationships with few words.

>>Ginny stooped a little lower to the fire and really studied him. He avoided her gaze, and his jaw was clenched. Not something physical then, she thought. <<
This tells us immediately where Harry & Ginny have progressed to in their relationship, bringing us up to date with you. (And the pepper is brilliant, funny, and very Ginny.)

>>"So what are we going to do now, if were not Aurors?" asked Ron with typical solidarity.<< I love that. So Ron.

Your details about what is in Harry's flat, and where it came from, are lovely. Your description of his life, at the moment, is wonderfully plausible, as are your motives for Shacklebolt's actions. I like the idea that Harry mightn't make the best Auror.
I had to giggle at your bookshelf thoughts. I think Dumbledore was you at that moment. I'll look for your next LJ poll: what is on your bookshelf?
Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-23
Reviewid: 120401Chapter: 1
Quite enjoyable.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120202Chapter: 1
Ending seems a bit flat, but nice plot. Good read, thanks!

Reviewer: MarcellaDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120190Chapter: 1
I love it!Its like a little glimse into the future.I hope you right a sequel!

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120186Chapter: 1
Hey, this is sweet. I like that Harry is still his own morose self, and Hermione's offer of sending books on teaching is a good one. I also very much like that you made Ron an Auror, and a successful one. He deserves that.

There are quite a few things in here that feel very "American" to me (like Dumbledore using the phrase "bachelor pad"), and that was a bit of a distraction. But overall, it's a nice fluffy piece and I don't usually read and review the nice fluffy pieces.

Oh, one more thing: Ginny as master manipulator? I can see that so easily. Nice touch.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120168Chapter: 1
Ooh, I really like the idea for this story! Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120127Chapter: 1
Very nice! Yeah, I've thought for a while that Auror probably isn't the ideal position for Harry when he leaves school. I've always liked the idea of him being the Defense teacher (the first one to be there more than a year). Not sure if JKR will agree, but to me this scenario seems reasonable. The H/G stuff was great, just the right amount of fluff and seriousness mixed together. Excellent job!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 120057Chapter: 1
Lis - I loved this story the first time I read it, and I love it still! Harry as the new DADA professor just appeals to me greatly, and I love the premise you've given to get Harry there!

And picturing our ickle Harry relieving himself of his clothing at the doorway...well, now...that didn't hurt one bit! Hehehehehe

Great job, sweetie!

Reviewer: cessaDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 119982Chapter: 1
What a great idea for a fic! So original, and such an entertaining first chapter. I love that Harry got sacked...breaks through the whole Harry-sue aura that tends to surround post Hogwarts fics. And Ginny is perfectly in character as well. The only thing that may have made this fic more enjoyable for me would be if the two of them got together over the course of your fic rather than starting it off with them happily engaged.
Oh well...even without, this is an amazing ficlet-find and I can't wait to see more chapters! Congrats!

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 119978Chapter: 1
Cute story! Everyone treats Harry special because he's the Boy Who Lived. Shacklebolt treats him as a person, and Harry realizes it. Cheers to the new DADA professor!

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 119944Chapter: 1
Lovely dialogue work, and interesting insites. You bring up a good question: would Harry make a good Auror? And I think you answer it pretty well to the negative. I agree -- he's used to being in change and calling the shots.
I don't know if the thing about snoggins Snape was an in-joke to the Snape-shippers out there (I'm one of their number) but it made me grin.
"You might want to get a book about teaching..."

Hee hee! Sounds just like Hermione.
Nice job, all in all!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 119924Chapter: 1
Hello! I read this earlier today at that other place you post at. Very, very cute--I love Harry/Ginny and I love how he's concerned about not having enough money to support her. Dear Harry!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --