The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dennis's Detention
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-07-13
Reviewid: 148531Chapter: 1
That. Was. Hilarious.

Reviewer: Katie BiliusDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140275Chapter: 1
Woah, Colin must be pretty dumb to spell "station" and such wrong because i'm twelve and I can spell things like "Sarcophagus". (okay..random word hehe) I know Dennis is a sort of airhead, but still. Besides that minor nit pick, I think It's a REALLY nice story and I very much enjoyed reading it!

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128062Chapter: 1
That was absolutely adorable. I love it. The Creevey brothers are my favorite minor characters and this was just wonderful. It was so spot on a 12-year-old boy.
[(You must be glad that your son Colin is just like best friend to your other son me.)]

I love it, I love it, I love it. What a great story.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-07-23
Reviewid: 127680Chapter: 1
I love it! It sounds so much like a twelve-year-old boy that it's almost scary. :D I love his imagination, and the way he crosses out everything he thinks he'll get in trouble for. My brother had to write a letter to my parents once, and it sounded almost exactly like this (well, minus all the stuff about magic and Hogsmeade, of course). You did a great job!

Love,
Britt

P.S. I like your creativity in misspelling words. :P

Reviewer: frankDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126788Chapter: 1
Awww... Who could punish a kid like that? I was having quite a good chuckle as I read this, remembering my kids at that age. I could almost imagine Dennis making that "innocent" face with the big puppy eyes. I wonder if his parents fell for it? <hint><hint>

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125345Chapter: 1
V. cool!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124733Chapter: 1
After reading other reviews, I wanted to add something. Many of the reviewers felt that the spelling and punctuation was below a 12-year-old's ability, but I'd have to disagree. I'm a writing tutor at my university, and even with spell-check, many people have atrocious spelling and grammar skills. I can very well imagine an excited second year being too busy explaining the situation to worry about his spelling, especially since I doubt that the students have to study spelling lists along with potions and charms! In any case, though the spelling mistakes made me cringe to no end, I thought it was an hilarious detail to the story.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124731Chapter: 1
V. cute, hehehe. That was a nice way to explain Dennis' presence at the Hog's Head. His version of the meeting was cute, too.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124398Chapter: 1
I love this! Dennis' spelling may be a bit better than mine was at his age but it has a certain familiarity to it. I love all the descriptions and how he seems to keep forgetting that he's supposed to be hanging his head in shame and telling all the fun stuff.

I certainly hope Dolores never got her hands on that letter because the hints and cross-outs about the DA were pretty suspicious.

I'm just picturing Minerva looking this over and struggling to be stern until Dennis leaves the room and cracking up. (I also wonder what thoughts went through her head when she read the thinly veiled references to the DA?

Well done!

Reviewer: Ian TupperDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123973Chapter: 1
This was v. funny - memories of Nigel Molesworth "How to be topp." SO in character.

Reviewer: DSmurfDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123467Chapter: 1
I liked the idea- the poor spelling I think was ok but I think it was a little overdone- he's 12 or 13 as a second year, not 8. Good plot line though, and I like the cross outs, they give a bit of humor.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123221Chapter: 1
This was really fun and very clever. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122082Chapter: 1
The cutest Creevey fic ever. You are awesome.

Reviewer: love/hate relationshipDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122043Chapter: 1
That's adorable! It must have made your eyes hurt to type all those mistakes. : )

Reviewer: EntiDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121973Chapter: 1
That's great! It's so cute, and of course there has to be some story as to why he was in the DA.. Cherry yoghurt! :)

Reviewer: AmberDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121852Chapter: 1
Aww...poor Dennis! He's sooo cute..and a great MM job! But only one comment: If Dennis is a 2nd year, he must be 11-12. I thought that at that age, most people could spell detention or know the difference between "whether" and "weather". I don't know, but it makes him sound a bit too young, if you catch my meaning. But honestly, great job!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121727Chapter: 1
It's always interesting when a fic writer comes up with an elaborate explanation to justify what is probably just a careless Flint by JKR.

About the spelling, I'm of two minds. Of course we won't expect 12-year-olds to spell as well as adults, but then maybe a 12-year-old could be able to spell better than Dennis. Of course, maybe Dennis was a below-average speller at his age.

Sat. 5 Oct. 1995 -- a date taken directly from the Lexicon, I see.

Keep up the good work! Oh, and I definitely enjoyed your HP class list -- I'm writing my own fic with seldom-mentioned Hufflepuffs and your list provides me with something to work with. Good job!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121689Chapter: 1
Tee hee hee...

An amusing and realistic letter, complete with spelling and grammar mistakes, which makes it all the more endearing.

Looking forward to your next story,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: izoomzoomDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121680Chapter: 1
Nice. Your beta must have had fits :).

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121672Chapter: 1
Hi Grace! Gosh, that was fun - very Jennings and Darbishire, if you understand me! I know some reviewers feel that the poor spelling was overdone, but I know a thing or two about twelve-year-old boys and writing! Dennis could probably spell many of those words correctly in a test, but what with all the excitement, and the sheer effort involved in controlling a quill with his probably shaking hand while trying to explain himself convincingly, he's not worrying too much about minEr details ... I can just imagine all the ink blots! Easy to forget that he doesn't have a spell-checker to hand, and probably not even a dictionary. The structure and vocabulary seem very appropriate to me, and I like it all so much that I don't think I can pick out a favourite line. Well done you - a lovely, original idea, and very heartwarming too.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-05-08
Reviewid: 121597Chapter: 1
I agree with one reviewer who said that Colin sounds closer to 7 than 12, but I had fun nonetheless. :-)

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121569Chapter: 1
Aw, that's really quite sweet. Poor Denis.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121551Chapter: 1
Fun piece. My fave:'I showed her the noogars and peppermint toads from Honeydukes and Prof McG--consfus--confiskit--cofniscat--took them off me." How like a young boy--mis-spellings and all. I especially like his reassuring words of wisdom to his Muggle parents. And the hidden feeling in the crossed-out parts.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121534Chapter: 1
that was really cute but i dont think you gave dennise enough credit with spelling and stuff you made him sound like he was 7 not 12 but other then that is was really good

Reviewer: njhxfgnxfgnjDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121532Chapter: 1
I like it! Dennis needs a little help with spelling, doesn't he? That's kinda cute.

'And I dont know why he thought I was a miner' - LOL!

Reviewer: njhxfgnxfgnjDate: 2005-05-07
Reviewid: 121531Chapter: 1
I like it! Dennis needs a little help with spelling, doesn't he? That's kinda cute.

'And I dont know why he thought I was a miner' - LOL!

Reviewer: JenMusicDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121499Chapter: 1
Oh, just brilliant! Thanks for sharing this with us - I was in stitches. Dennis isn't a character I have thought about much, but I think that might change now. Wonderful!

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121497Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was cute enough as it was, but then when I got toward the bottom and saw the entire point of it -- the explanation of why a second year was at the Hogs Head that fateful DA afternoon, I really thought it was brilliant. I know, despite how many times you see it around, that it is not easy to spell all the words wrong like this and make it still seem real. I thought this was excellent. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121475Chapter: 1
Luv it! Gud stuf. ;-)

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121473Chapter: 1
CUTE!!! I love it.. it exapnce nice what hes doing out there- I loved the "Cractions" and the bits with Magcal.. and well it was grerat

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121472Chapter: 1
::shakes head:: Oh, Dennis. Grace, this was truly enjoyable. But how can he get away with such atrocious spelling in school? I loved the cross-outs, they really added to this. And if this letter is as long as four essays, poor Dennis must not be doing very well in school at all.

You wonderfully explained such a niggling little issue in canon, so fifty points to Gryff for you (to make up for Dennis' loss)!

OH, and btw, I thought your essay on the diversity of Harry's class was *brilliant.*

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121453Chapter: 1
Hilarious! And *very* believeable. Thanks for lightening my day.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121450Chapter: 1
Aww. This was very amusing- very twelve year oldish. I loved all the spelling mistakes and accidental revelations everywhere and the interrruptions from McGonagall. I could just imagine her standing over Dennis looking severe and then turning around to smile. Kids are great. My favourite quote:
<Mudblud is a rude word that people like Zabini use for Muggleborns boys whose dads have jobs like milkman >
So funny, and it makes me admire him in a way for not giving in and feeling sorry for himself- you can see the Gryffindor shining through the little boyishness. Lovely fic, keep writing!

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121443Chapter: 1
asdj; d;fkj;das ljdg;lasj l;dg
askdlj gl;jas d
asl jdgl;sja lk;jgdlas;j gldkjas

This is the best Molesworth!Hogwarts thing I've ever read. Not that I've ever actually *read* Molesworth, but I've heard enough about it to recognize it when I see it.

"Anyway we talked for a long time and there were some v. responsibble students at the Hogs Head, six of them are prefects, and lots of them are on school Quidditch teams, and five of them are seventh-years, already of age and adults. Harry Potter has promised to give me some extra help with my homework so you can expect to see an improovement in my exam marks."

I loved this part, where he lists all the things that make the older students "responsible"--and I also really like how he keeps the contract by talking merely about "extra help with my homework."

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121440Chapter: 1
Oh, Grace! I adored this. All of the carefully chosen words are hysterical, particularly "thats when disaster struck" changed to "I got the just desserts for my crime." A wonderful letter.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121439Chapter: 1
Dear G. h V.,

How are you? I am fine.

I wanted to let you know that I enjoyed the letter v. much. It's a quite clever and refreshing Missing Moment. I don't know what I enjoyed more, the image of Dennis writing the letter while P. McGonagall watches or house elves culturing yogurt. The extra touches were well done: the name of his pets and his recitation of the _entire_ return address. These are things we all have done as 11-year-old-geeks-in-training. One would think you have a 11-year-old stashed away for research...

V. well done!

As an added bonus, I feel that I will now be able to write letters in Authentic British Fashion. ;)

Yours,

MFF

Reviewer: ItsmeDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121433Chapter: 1
Nice story. But Dennis is supposed to be twelve years old. Why does he write like a six years old child?

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121426Chapter: 1
Very cute, I enjoyed reading Dennis's letter. And the way you tied it in with the DA's meeting added a very nice touch. Although the only thing is, that it means he's already twelve(Second Year), and the bad spelling may have been a tad over done in a few places but obviously it was done more for the effect than anything else, and I really enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: Lady WhizbeeDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121414Chapter: 1
This had me laughing from the start. Very creative and well done! I can just imagine "McG" hovering over Dennis' shoulder as he writes his letter. You depicted the natural humor of the Creevey brothers extremely well. Where do you come up with these ideas? Too perfect...too perfect.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121406Chapter: 1
What a hoot! Tell me, has your spellchecker recovered from being ignored? I'll bet the poor thing fainted from the shock of it all. :o)

Great story!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121402Chapter: 1
Cute! But I think you went a bit overboard with the bad spelling. My favorite part was that he just walked out the grounds. Security? What security?

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121399Chapter: 1
Oh man. This is the best letter I've ever read. Dennis rocks my socks off. I wonder if McGonagall got to read it before he sent it off? She probably died laughing. I nearly did, anyway. It's so awesome.

I dunno what the truth in what one of your previous reviewers said about how a 12-year-old writes is, but it is Dennis - and anyway, it's so awesome that I don't even care. I wonder what his parents thought. Probably that it was hilarious. Heh. This is great.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121391Chapter: 1
"And she saw me in the middle of that crowd and said in the Voice of Doom,' Creevey, would you like to explane yourself?'"
Hah! I also call Prof. McGonagall "McG"
Good times, Dennis, good times...
Huh, he was a second year in OotP, wasn't he?
Love from,
Angelina Weezley. ( heh)

Reviewer: FrancescaDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121389Chapter: 1
I like the way it links with the DA, and that you picked up on the no below 3rd years in Hogsmeade problem. I think you make Dennis sound to young though. 2nd year at Hogwarts would be the equivalent of year 8. Most 12 year olds would have grown out of that way of doing the address, and would have much better spelling. I wasn't sure if it was a joke or not because of the author's note.

Reviewer: JackDoorDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121379Chapter: 1
I liked it, I can't remember if Dennis was actually there or not, but that is by-the-by, I enjoyed the story. I like 'a deep coldrun of trubble!' :)

It's good the way it thinly veils what was happening with the DA, and while I assume McG would have read it I think she'd have politely ignored it. Anyway, very nice, thanks.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --