The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Petunia's Story
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Joy-Marie DavisDate: 2008-04-05
Reviewid: 150728Chapter: 1
Hi!
Nice story. I really like it. It's very good. You should write more stories!
Well,
bye!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-02
Reviewid: 147069Chapter: 1
Love the conflicting thoughts in Petunia's head, loathing James, yet attracted to him. Also the fight scene was exciting and quite easy to envision. Hmmm...Snape...is he or ain't he? Only Dumbledore knows for sure, it seems.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-20
Reviewid: 146547Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144452Chapter: 1
I actually didn't know you wrote. But I plan on reading all your other fics. This was really good. I constantly wanted to punch Petunia, but I suppose that's the feeling you should get while reading from her point of view. You wrote her very well. I liked the story, and the explanation to the whole Petunia bit. I can see something like this happening, actually.

Thanks for the great fic! I'll read your others soon!

Reviewer: CherryDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124508Chapter: 1
That was amazing! It was how I imagined everyone reacting and how I think it happened in the books! Wonderful, wonderful!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122746Chapter: 1
this story was well-thought out and explained why petunia and lily drifted apart after meeting james potter and the death of mr.evans.any chance of a follow-up?

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122061Chapter: 1
Wonderful Petunia story. I seem to be leaving very short reviews lately, but you've really got her down perfectly.

-PQ

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-13
Reviewid: 122008Chapter: 1
Hey, J, welcome to the authors list!
Nice take on Petunia's POV. I particularly enjoy your details, such as "a pretty china bowl full of muesli" and the contrast in what the girls call their parents. I like Mr. Evans you've created; perhaps you could write more about him and Lily. While you have cleverly set up how Petunia learns what she later reveals to Harry, and why she will never forget it, I wonder whether the Dementors would have ever been returned to Azkaban, or been trusted, had they already switched sides once. I sense the seeds of many other stories here in this piece.

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121904Chapter: 1
Hey, J Forias, this is good stuff. And, actually, Petunia's is one of the most interesting back stories in the Potterverse: her bitter loathing and deep-seated envy for her sister, her belligerent denial of all things magical, and her previous encounters with the 'Potter boy' and the might and terror of Voldemort. All these create a fascinating character portrait for a fanfiction writer, yet Petunia's tale is not often explored.

You have skilfully woven all these aspects of her character and these intriguing events into your tragic, yet painfully convincing story. We know that Petunia must have lost both her parents, and it seems sensible to assume, given her feelings towards her sister and the magical world, that they died during VW1. She blames Lily.

And I like your writing style - Petunia's voice as she observes Lily and James is consistently resentful and jealous. I love the detail you added about her despising her father, his 'vulgarness' and perceived indulgence of her hated sister. The action is pacy and exciting (love the inclusion of Sirius!) and the use of Snape to lead the attack - his own bitter jealousy of James mirroring Petunia's twisted feelings towards Lily - inspired. Well done. A triumphant debut!

Helen

Reviewer: Pacific RoseDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121892Chapter: 1
Wow, that was a great story. Your story managed to make me feel sorry for Petunia, but at the same time hate her even more. Your explanation of Harry's lack of grandparents was good, and you really made it clear why Petunia hates Harry, son of James-the-freak and Lily-the-attention-stealer. Great job!

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121885Chapter: 1
Great story J. Forius. It must feel great to finally be a SQ writer. :)

I enjoyed how you portrayed Petunia disgusted at the way Lily seemed to get her way in the house. And the way the situation sealed the enstrangement. And a nice explanation for that little bit of information that we know.

The only thing is that I would assume depending on how long James was her friend, it only makes sense that they would have met him already, especially since James seemd to know how to get/apperate? to her house.

Anyways this story was great and I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121863Chapter: 1
Congratulations on becoming an official SQ author!

This is an interesting story. We see how Petunia's father favors the witch Lily, and so Pet idenifies with her mother, a neat-freak like herself. We also see why Harry never meets his grandparents. I'm sure that his grandpa, who had been at least tolerant of magic, would have loved to meet Harry.

Nice job. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121857Chapter: 1
J, this is awesome! I rarely ever read Marauder-era fics, but I knew I had to read this one, because prplhez had mentioned in passing to me that you were writing it. :o)

You told the story and described Lily and James in a way that we could still see how they truly are, despite Petunia's description. Great job!

I'll look for more from you in the future. :o)

Jules

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121817Chapter: 1
This is wonderful- very well written, I think you've nailed Petunia's POV nicely. I like how she was attracted to James but wouldn't admit it to herself, and the death of their father was very well described. Your characterisation of Snapewas good too- he couldn't bring himself to kill Lily. Interesting. Keep writing!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121814Chapter: 1
I'm not a big James/Lily fan but I enjoyed this fic. My only quibble is Snape silencing Petunia but not killing her. Didn't seem in character for a DE. Excellent characterization of Petunia.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121778Chapter: 1
J - you know I'm having a great big fat mum-like moment right now, don't you?

YEAH! You're a SQ Writer! Good on you!!! (I believe that's right ;) )

As you know, my feelings on this story ... but I will reiterate. It is a haunting tale...that literally makes my heart ache at times. Petunia is such a misguided, judgemental, lost soul...clinging to the normalacy of her before-magic life. Part of me disdains her for not accepting her sister and the other part just plain pities her. You've written her as canonically close as possible without crawling inside of her head. It would be a very scary place to be, I'm sure!

Here's to many, many more stories from J Forias!

Well, well done!

~Hez

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121755Chapter: 1
Hmm, this helps explains the enmity a bit, and the hate Petunia has for Harry (the eyes). Nice job--interesting story!

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121717Chapter: 1
This is amazing! I always wondered where Harry's Grandparents were when he was little (certainly they wouldn't have let the Dursley's get away with treating him like trash), but you've given a stark interpretation of what happened to them! I feel badly for Petunia though. In a single day she lost her entire family, even though it was her choice to push Lily out of her life. Too bad they never got the chance to reconcile, but even if Lily hadn't died, Petunia blamed her for what happened that day, so it most likely wouldn't have happened.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --