The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Glass of Water
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136516Chapter: 1
THAT WAS BRILLIANT!YOU ARE SUCH A GOOD WRITER!Sorry, usually, I give more productive reviews, but yours, I have to be blunt: It was wonderful. You had symbolism,good grammer, a great idea, and so relastic. Keep up the fabulous work!*pulls out several butterbeers*
Cheers!
-MagicDust

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136407Chapter: 1
Absolutely charming and lovely and sweet. I love seeing Ginny and Sirius as friends. A bit short, but so sweet that it makes up for shortness.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134523Chapter: 1
Perhaps this will sound weird but...Hooray for theatre of the absurd!

This was a brilliant piece, and so unexpected. It comes across as letting the reader in on this understated wonderful little secret that's been going on under all the other charachters noses. Really elegant work!

Reviewer: CarolynDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122192Chapter: 1
A jewel of a character piece. This story does a wonderful job of "show, don't tell." Sirius' reaction to the squeaking glass in the first scene, for example, shows in a few, well-chosen words, his hyper-alertness to danger caused by the traumas he's suffered. he's like a gun-fighter who's heard a car backfire across the street.

Excellent work.

Reviewer: sabrina mooreDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122191Chapter: 1
This was one of the best story I've read.And I've read pleanty! Thank you for the story.

Reviewer: EDate: 2005-05-15
Reviewid: 122122Chapter: 1
Brilliant.

Reviewer: NibzDate: 2005-05-15
Reviewid: 122113Chapter: 1
Hey, nice to see that you're writing again. Its unfortunate that u have writers block. Anyhoo, nice neat little story. Hit me back if u need any help or anything.

Reviewer: jemDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122083Chapter: 1
I like the simple, understated tone of the story. It allows the reader to come to their own conclusions about how the characters (Sirius in particular) resolve the problems.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122059Chapter: 1
Love this! Very nice. I love these "Ginny and Sirius sitting in the kitchen" pieces, they're so good. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: Barbara the Wallpaper-erDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122058Chapter: 1
Yowzas!

Often, when a story is told in a series of vignettes, there isn't a coherent tone or theme. This is not one of those stories. The theme is clear, the tone is consistent, the characterization is excellent.

There aren't many fanon-could-be-canon stories for me. This one fits all my criteria.

Excellently done, Jo.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121943Chapter: 1
This was incredibly sweet and has me getting all misty-eyed. I love it.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121914Chapter: 1
*hands over heart* You captured Sirius perfectly...and Ginny?! I'm starting to like her more and more. That was a wonderful story, and one that seems to fit with everything. Great job!

Reviewer: jynx67Date: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121899Chapter: 1
Have you ever noticed how writer's block breakers always seem to turn out so brilliant? I love this. You really get into Ginny's mind. And Sirius... he learns a lesson from a young girl. So beautiful. I love your writing. Here's to hoping this has broken your block and you will be able to get on with the Marauders' third year.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121888Chapter: 1
I like this. I like its understatedness, the concept, and having something for Sirius and Ginny to bond over.

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121860Chapter: 1
I loved it! The metaphors they kept tossing around were priceless, and we never get to see fluffy fics about Sirius and Ginny ! Great job!

Reviewer: MarchpaneDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121850Chapter: 1
Great story. It's very different from the Marauders stories, but it's great all the same - Ginny and Sirius seemed very in-character, and their evening ritual seemed fitting. Hope to hear more on the Marauders front!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121836Chapter: 1
I'm sorry you had writers block - but hey - look what was behind the barrier. This is very different from you other stuff - in style and in subject matter. I really like the clean lines of it and the extended metaphors of the water and the hinge.

It is really interesting to consider how everyone got along in that house over the summer. There were plenty of wounded psyches and plenty of places where their experiences overlapped. It was interesting to see what parallels you found in Ginny and Sirius's lives.

Thanks for overcoming your writers block to share this one shot! It was very thought provoking.

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121827Chapter: 1
Oh, very deep, multi-leveled, and subtle - a difficult to accomplish trio and well executed by you.

Saying the hinge can't really be fixed, but then fixing it anyway to demonstrate the point, after the point has been made - that's very much in Sirius' character.

A very smooth story.

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121791Chapter: 1
*smiles* I love it. In every way possible, I love it. Seemingly simple, infinitely deep,and perfect. You capture the scenes perfectly--the way they REALLY play out in life and the way they really affect us. Great job.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121770Chapter: 1
Jo ~

I absolutely loved this! What an absolutely touching moment between Sirius and Ginny! I can picture them sitting together in the dark - in silence and engaging one another. They have both been thru some sheer horrors...they would be kindred spirits (like recognizes like type of thing). And it's so nice to know that some broken things can be fixed...or at least try to fix them.

Wonderful..wonderful..

>>Later, as the kitchen was clearing, Ginny walked over to Sirius and >>said quietly, “I thought you said it couldn’t be fixed.”
>>He shrugged. “I thought it was worth a try.”

I loved that last bit..perfection, sheer perfection.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121761Chapter: 1
Beautiful. These two characters hardly ever interact in a story, so it's good to see their relationship being explored like this. You carefully built up the rapport between them in a sort of documentary style, which made it more realistic, and which also made for a very interesting story. The symbolism of the cupboard hinge was subtle but strong, as was the symbolism of the glass of water.

Very nice! ^_^

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: DenaDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121743Chapter: 1
wow, I love the way you sustained the broken hinge metaphor. It did seem one sided tho, with Ginny telling Sirius more than he told her. I hope it helps your block and we see you back in marauder land soon.

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121738Chapter: 1
Well, that was very interesting, and I liked it. It reminded me a lot of Rhinoceros! Very interesting style.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121736Chapter: 1
Touching story, and a wonderful idea. I think you could have fleshed out the characters a bit more, maybe had Sirius open up some. Good read all the same!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121724Chapter: 1
So bloody brilliant! It's wonderfully sparse--as it should be. There didn't need to be tons of description or conversation. Just... wow!

Reviewer: SimpkinDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121720Chapter: 1
This is great! I love the broken door hinge metaphor...it makes for a very accurate description of Ginny and Sirius. I also love the idea that both Ginny and Sirius are insomniacs. :)

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121702Chapter: 1
This was cute. Really, really cute. Bravo!

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121699Chapter: 1
Yay, you're back!

I loved your tone in this fic, much different from the others that you have written, but still wonderful in its own way. You captured both Ginny and Sirius' characters so well, I could see this exchange happening between them. It is a sad to know that this won’t ever happen in canon, but it’s nice to know with fan fiction anything can happen. I can't wait to see some more fics by you.

Good luck with your writers block!
*pokes her to start year three :D* (you're fans are waiting patently)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --