The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ordinary
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-09-22
Reviewid: 145454Chapter: 1
I love this! You capture the Trio's personalities perfectly - their insecurities, how each one in their own way is a little unhappy in their own skin, hoe they need and rely on each other. I especially liked the vanilla ice cream/ brown shoes metaphors. The romantic tension between Ron and Hermione was nicely worked in as well, and the scene where they were sleeping next to each other by the fire *sighs*. Beautifully written, the best Trio piece I've read in ages.

Reviewer: KylaDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144364Chapter: 1
That was so perfect! Thats the best word I can think of to explain what I thought of it. It was wonderful and I loved it. You capture the characters perfectly, better than any other author I've read besides JK Rowling herself. This has to be my all time favorite fic, just because you depicted the characters so perfectly and made me love them so much. In the books it's all action and adventure, we never get a chance to sit back and really think about what makes each of the characters so special and realize why we love the Trio so much. This story did that for me. I really feel like I understand their relationship and personalities better now. Thank you so much for writing!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141129Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Yes.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137800Chapter: 1
Lovely. You have this amazing talent to boil down what could be a four-page-essay about Ron's character into one completly perfect sentence: "Ron sort of hated being the vanilla." That's really, really great, and something I really, really wish I had :). I loved how you played this out- first Ron and Hermione, who seem themselves as ordinary and hate it, and finally Harry, for whom battles and fighting are normal. And yet, they're all so normal because like any teenager in the world, the feel most at home, most comforted and most loved with their friends. You really did a great job in portraying the friendship that bind them all together, and SOX, yay. Overall, it really was a great piece.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137283Chapter: 1
Not to be incredibly cheesetastic or anything, but your story is anything but ordinary. It's amazing. Perfect. It put me in the heads of the characters perfectly. And it's an unusual basis for a story. I would like a little more backstory on the search for the meaning of ordinary. Your metaphors were great. A lot of the time, I feel like authors are just trying to beat me over the head with symbolism, wanting me to notice how clever and deep they are. Your symbolic explanations of ordinary were realistic and made me think about what ordinary meant and made me understand what it meant to the characters. You are a gifted writer and I can't wait to read more by you.

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137264Chapter: 1
This is a lovely piece...one after my own heart, as a matter of fact. It was great because it was reflective, but not overly so. It had a touch of bitterness, but it was still coated with hope.

Great job!

Reviewer: somegirlDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131755Chapter: 1
I really like it. It is sweet and you captured their personalities really well.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123115Chapter: 1
Sorry it took me a while to get to this. It was perfect for a little relaxation after a busy weekend. You do have a knack for somewhat brief but highly satisfying stories that feel perfectly complete. This one was quite enjoyable - no stress for the reader, for even though the characters had their concerns and worries, in the end their special closeness was entirely comforting and made everything seem all right. The analogies fit each one's character perfectly. I liked how Ron and Hermione were concerned that they were not special and felt a lack, yet it was quite the opposite for Harry who felt he was too special and felt overburdened. We should all have friends that, just by their steady presence and loyalty, make us feel whole and normal. Great job, MFF!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122728Chapter: 1
Very nice. No dramatics, no histrionics; a pleasant sweetness to R/H and an appropriately ascerbic - but fair - Harry.

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122627Chapter: 1
This is a really lovely bit of fluff: sweet and tender, with a serious underside. I hope that Harry gets a chance to tell his friends that they are certainly *not* just plain vanilla, just sensible brown loafers, to him.

Reviewer: stefanieDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122619Chapter: 1
very cool idea. well done.

Reviewer: pandehuevoDate: 2005-05-22
Reviewid: 122575Chapter: 1
Very nice, well written

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122556Chapter: 1
Awesome job! I loved it! So interesting! And of course, adorable!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122508Chapter: 1
I decided to read this after you risked hide and limb to defend me on the Pet Peeves thread. *grins* I'm glad I did. I suppose it's stating the obvious to say that this is insightful but heck, I never said I was insightful. It's also very refreshing to see some nice Ron/Hermione contact that isn't a big pay-off scene (not that I'm saying I have anything against those) but which is very mature and very warm. You really do your characters justice.

That, of course, includes Harry. I like the way you show both his frustrations and, in the end, his appreciation of his friends. Very well done. Good job!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122465Chapter: 1
Excellent piece of work. Strange to see all three of the dream team done so well by the same person. Congrats!

Reviewer: MissDaizyDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122461Chapter: 1
It's up! I think this piece is going to be a real favorite of mine. There are just times you want to read a little bit of Trio goodness and this fits the bill perfectly. The writing is just right, your metaphors perfect and you capture each member of the Trio absolutely. I love it when I can read a story and feel that the author really sees and loves the characters the same way I do and this story does that.

Excellent job!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122375Chapter: 1
aww this was absolutly perfect, i loved hermione's and ron's definition of ordinary. it expressed so perfectly the way that i believe they see themselves. and then, with harry comming in, and of course, being the one to put it in perspective, it was absolutly adorable! very well done

Reviewer: TobyDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122342Chapter: 1
What a feel good story! You've captured the Trio nicely. Well done!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122339Chapter: 1
You really did a good job comparing each of the trio's personalities. It even fit that Ron would use the ice cream metaphor and Hermione would use sensible shoes as a metaphor. It also fit that Ron, who has grown up with a bunch of siblings, would see himself in the context of the group, where as Hermione, who is probably by herself, sees herself on her own.

Of course, it seems like it is a R/Hr piece, but I think that the friendship tone of the piece almost overrides it, which is nice.

Reviewer: DsmurfDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122300Chapter: 1
Oh, I really liked this! I'm not usually a big fluff fan but this one was really good, and seems to get more into the characters without straying from cannon. Kudos!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122298Chapter: 1
Oh, excellent! Our little drabble, all grown up. :)

You know what this is? It's the comfort food of fics. It's a piece I can turn to when I need to reaffirm the bonds of friendship between the three. It's honest and warm and lovely. And I'm horribly jealous that you could write so well, so quickly. I'm glad you continued, because this fic is now my pair of warm socks.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122269Chapter: 1
Very well done. What wonderful glimpses you've given of the trio's lives: how each of them see themselves. I don't think any of them are ordinary, but it's very easy to see how Ron and Hermione think themselves ordinary and how Harry would want to be ordinary. I really enjoyed this.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122262Chapter: 1
I suppose I should scold you first and ask about Binding. But if you must go off on some artistic diversion - well this one was worth taking. I really like Ron as vanilla - that's so funny because he has red hair and a firey temper and snarky sense of humor. Poor Ron - melting in the sun. And Hermione and brown loafers - please don't have her think that way about herself! But sadly, it's probably true.

I liked the little bits of back story that you wove in about what sort of day they had had that they would be feeling this way - the hex gone wrong - Malfoy - just another day at Hogwarts really.

And it makes sense that Harry would be feeling bad after time spent with Snape. And it also makes sense that Harry would see both of them as his ordinary friends who did extra-ordinary things everyday - until it was ordinary.

Now I'm hungry for a bowl of ice cream!

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122261Chapter: 1
Very well written. Cute as the ice cream metaphor is, the "dark" chocolate and "smart" strawberry may be pushing it a little. But as a whole, I like the way Ron and Hermione feel ordinary and hate it, and the way Harry wants so badly to be ordinary. That leads me to think, though... does anybody ever realise when their lives aren't ordinary? Clearly Ron and Hermione lead special lives, but they each think of themselves as insignificant. Perhaps Harry would say the same.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122246Chapter: 1
Oh, I love their reflections on ordinary and how it relates to the three of them. Ron and Hermione each consider themselves ordinary and Harry wishes his life wasn't ordinary to him. All three think of the other two as special, bt I like to think that sometime after this, they realize that they are all special.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122243Chapter: 1
Very cool story. I really like how each character views his/her situation. Great work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --