The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Recipient
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-18
Reviewid: 145387Chapter: 3
The story was quite good. Thanks.
An example of more the primary distractions follows.

The mirror had once belonged to her aunt Meredith, her father’s younger sister and her namesake, who had died when she was almost three years old after suffering from madness for ten years.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-03
Reviewid: 139239Chapter: 3
The next segment will be in 21??

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136912Chapter: 3
I was sort of surprised to see that this story picked up again well into OotP, but considering that Meredith spends most of this chapter worrying about fading into the woodwork at Hogwarts, I thought that not hearing from Meredith for so long was OK - man, things must have been really bad for her if her own author didn't bother to write about most of her last year at Hogwarts, LOL!

(That was a joke and not a comment about your writing, OK?)

Anyway, I loved the scene with Dumbledore. He dishes out a lot of sage advice to Harry in the books, and it was wonderful to see him do the same thing to another Hogwarts student with concerns less related to Voldemort. I could understand Meredith's desire to be remembered for doing something at school like the Weasley twins did, but life doesn't end when one leaves school, and I think - well, I *hope* that Meredith's going to be remembered by more people for doing something nobler than tweaking Umbridge's tail (even though, in fairness to the twins, that was a good thing). She's a wonderful character and she deserves it!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136910Chapter: 2
I looked at my review for Chapter 1 again and I think that a lot of what I said still holds true - I fell into this chapter like Alice down her rabbit hole, thanks to your lovely writing, and what a ride it was!

Your Hagrid is great. You got the speech down pat, of course, but his astute observation about Meredith towards the end of his part in this chapter was a lovely surprise. I think there are a lot of things he keeps to himself. How wonderful also of Meredith to realize that she has quite a few things in common with him.

I loved reading Meredith's thoughts and experiences in the last parts of GoF. Her mourning Cedric especially tore at my heart - I don't think I've had the same thing happen to me, but I think I'd feel sad, too, if I heard that a crush of mine were dead.

I always get this on-the-brink feeling when I read the end of GoF (but not when I saw the end of the movie <_<), and I got it again reading your take on it. Can't wait to find out what happens next.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136308Chapter: 3
I've enjoyed this whole little series so far, and look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136269Chapter: 3
I've just finished all three chapters and really like your story. Seeing the various events through another character's eyes is fascinating to me and I've come to really like Meredith. She reminds me of myself a little and the fact that students from every house came to reminisce with her brought back twenty-year-old memories that I thought I'd forgotten. I hope you update again soon because I'm quite intrigued by this character and want to follow her story. Thanks for sharing her with us.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136267Chapter: 3
I've pretty much given you plenty of feedback already on this chapter, so...

*hugs*

:-D

Jules

Reviewer: grover53Date: 2005-11-25
Reviewid: 136265Chapter: 3
My Genesse, you've done it again. The wisdom of Dumbledore, the thoughts and feelings of Meredith, the details that lead her to those thoughts. There is only one person who could capture all those things so perfectly, and it's you.

My favorite lines I'm sure you'll be able to guess...so I won't post them. Just know that your writing will stand the test of time because it's not really just fan fiction...it's life. You're an amazing writer with great gifts. I adore my Anne/Genesse/bosom friend.

It is great.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-11-24
Reviewid: 136249Chapter: 3
Lovely. Brilliant writing.
And you, Genesse, like the Diamond family, are an artist.
Thank you.
-Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: meDate: 2005-09-29
Reviewid: 133444Chapter: 2
You've done it again. Reminded me of things that are so "me" even if this is the "you" chapter.

Favorite parts? The compliment that Hagrid gave Meredith; the commenting on Cho and the grieving; the wondering about how her family feels about her. Dagnabbit...you're a genius. I'll give a better review after my 7th or 8th reading.

You've done so well! My personal favorite story you've written so far.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-09-28
Reviewid: 133374Chapter: 2
You're making me very curious, G. I still don't know what to make of your girl. People may not want to read about fics with numerous OCs, especially when the fic is about one of the said OCs, but if they took the time to read it, you've got a hell of a hook going for you.

Meredith is a very real character, and the way she's moving through the story, or the story is moving around her, either way, is written great, and I'm feeling a certain unease on her behalf. And I think how you had a "Dear Reader" passage, though not over done, definitely emphasized the unease, especially about measuring one's worth at age 17.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133335Chapter: 2
I'm really interested in knowing why she feels she and Hagrid are "kindred spirits". I assume she's not completely human either?

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-06-07
Reviewid: 123419Chapter: 1
I really like your story, Meredith is a really original character, but I feel really sorry for her. Being the odd one out can be very hard. But I love your writing style, its very inclusive and I'd like to see where you're going with it.
laura

Reviewer: GryfnyDate: 2005-05-26
Reviewid: 122721Chapter: 1
Nice beggining to the story.
Is Meridith named after her aunt? And is she the one in this generation to get those "powers" that I'm still waiting to learn more about?

Excellent start,

Gryfny

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122705Chapter: 1
AAAAAHHHHH!!!!!

I love this story!

I know, you've only got one chapter posted but it's gorgeous. I started reading and then tumbled right into Meredith's life like Alice down the rabbit hole. I think you did a wonderful job getting into Meredith's head and expressing her thoughts and feelings. I also loved how you kept your use of language consistent even when reporting events (like Cho announcing that she was going to the ball with Cedric, Nephele's declaration that dress robes would be worn at Christmas, etc.) so that the characters' experiences blended seamlessly with their thoughts.

I'm on the other end of the height spectrum, but I really feel for Meredith. Girls, of course, can feel un-pretty regardless of how tall they are (or are not). I look forward to reading how she learns to become comfortable in her own skin, and I hope you have a nice boy in store for her in a later chapter!

Before I go, I just want to share with you something that a friend of mine overheard while attending Mass with a couple of 6' (although they refuse to admit it) women basketball players:

PRIEST: Body of Christ - what is your height?
PLAYER: Almost six feet, amen.

Reviewer: cileagDate: 2005-05-25
Reviewid: 122697Chapter: 1
Really lovely beginning. Likable characters...a little bit of intrigue. I'll look forward to more.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-05-23
Reviewid: 122608Chapter: 1
Oh, Genesse! I am six feet tall and have been since I was fifteen! Oh, you have so marvellously captured the sentiment I so unfortunately had at various junior high dances (fortunately, by high school prom, I'd discovered that better joy is found in dancing with friends). I shall promptly go and read anything else you have written about dear, tall Meredith!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-05-22
Reviewid: 122595Chapter: 1
This looks intriguing, I'm wondering about this mad aunt. Sisters can be a mixed blessing, can't they? I hope Meredith steps out of thier shadow a bit in later chapters. I look forward to the next installment.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-05-22
Reviewid: 122579Chapter: 1
Yay. Glad to see this here and all OK. ;) I love the style you use with this story; I feel like I'm listening to you tell it out loud. It imparts a fairy tale quality that makes me sympathize with Meredith and want to hear more. I can visualize the robe-fitting with her sisters as easily as I first visualized Meredith slouching around, trying not to be noticed. Good stuff.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122554Chapter: 1
You wrote Meredith's emotions and feelings very well. It was very real and I think you captured the tone excellently. One of the great things about, or so it seems, is that you are only using the characters, and not the actual magic from the Potterverse. That goes for friendly Twin Advice as well. You did well at having your characters be themselves, instead of just more extensions of canon. If this makes sense at all. I'm trying to make it be a compliment, but I'm having a hard time. ;)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-05-21
Reviewid: 122542Chapter: 1
I already told you this once, but I think it's worth mentioning it again...

This:

>>But ‘soon’, like ‘romantic’ and ‘beautiful’ and ‘large dog’, is a relative term. Your ‘soon’ may be much shorter than my ‘soon’. And it is safe to say that Meredith Diamond’s ‘soon’ is infinitely shorter than either of our ‘soons’.<<

is the best. line. ever. :-)

And it's great that you echoed it in your author's notes. (Even if you did use the phrase 'huge spider' *shudders*) Hee!

I love what you are doing with this story. :-)

:wub:,
Jules

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122447Chapter: 1
Genesse--this was beautiful--I saw so much of one of my friends who's in Denver in this--who is also tall and beautiful. This is a very promising story. I'm looking forward to reading more. And I'm glad I could contribute in even a tiny way.

Reviewer: FennyDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122351Chapter: 1
I did enjoy the fic - I like the family background and the character herself - not to mention your portrayal of the terrible teens. But - and this is just my own personal response, not a serious criticism of the fic - I did feel it was a bit of a cop out for Meridith to turn out to be beautiful. Though I'm glad that you didn't end the fic on her realisation of that.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --