The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Remembrance Day
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149063Chapter: 1
Oh, Lord, this story has a very different resonance after Deathly Hallows, Starsea...
You amaze me with your poetry. I mean, not the lines you've quoted from someone else, but your own expositions of all the characters that Remus has lost, and his reflections on them. Poor, poor Sirius, finally at rest, and Frank and the McKinnons and Lily and James. That is twice in one day you've brought tears to my eyes - and they were not just for dear Remus!
Beautiful work. x

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-06-02
Reviewid: 143177Chapter: 1
Wow - great job!

I like how in this, you also focused on the Order as a whole. So many people, as I said on AIM, forget that it wasn't just James and Lily Remus probably mourned.

And I like your Tonks.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132357Chapter: 1
Not bad.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123225Chapter: 1
Very poignant, beautiful imagery, both of the past picnic and the present trek. What a wonderful idea to have Tonks ask Remus to tell her about the Order members he mourns.

Reviewer: Pacific RoseDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123130Chapter: 1
That was a truly touching story.Your descriptions are absolutely amazing - you feel like you're right there, standing in the cold with Remus. The imagery of his memories was very good; sombre but at the same time enlightening. The poems(s?) you chose fit perfectly. Great job!

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122915Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was so perfectly, eerily evocative & descriptive not only of Remus' past but of the distant past. The very beginning just drew me into the story & it was all too short!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122898Chapter: 1
I loved Remus's tribute to the fallen and how you described what he remembered about each one. The poem was beautiful. Some lovely imagery too. <<wind blew the leaves through the air with a mournful sigh.>> Sets the tone right from the start.

Nice job!
Eudora

Reviewer: LydiaDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122884Chapter: 1
As soon as i was finished reading rembrance (which was wonderful) I looked up “Requiem: Poems 1935-1940” on the internet and the poems just blew me away. They also remind me of Remus, I'm so glad you wrote this.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122848Chapter: 1
Very touching.

Reviewer: jemDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122783Chapter: 1
Don't underestimate yourself; your Remus is great. You write with a gentle poignancy -- just the right touch. Your words have left a bittersweet message that I will contemplate for quite a while. Thanks.

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122754Chapter: 1
I’m so pleased to hear that you’ve finished your finals (will there be time for writing what you like to write now?), and very surprised and touched to be mentioned in the dedication between giantesses like FernWithy and ivy & Gracie.

I thought this was a very realistic Remus, grave and grieving, but saving his memorandum for one day of the year so as to avoid self-pity for the other 364. You sustain the atmosphere of war well, from

He wondered how long it would take for the wards of St. Mungo’s to fill up again.

to

Remus turned, his hand diving into his pocket for his wand ... He would have been an easy target. He’d been so absorbed in his memories he wouldn’t have had time to react to a hex or a curse.

Somehow, I’d forgotten about the wards of St Mungo’s ... I’d thought about death, and the grief of the survivors, but not about serious injury ... stupid me!

And of course I loved the local colour! I climbed Glastonbury Tor at 4am when I was jetlagged (and six months pregnant), and found it all smelling of some heavy incense. We climbed down again and went to Glastonbury Abbey, which smelled of beeswax. My son, asking about the traditions of the place, confused King Arthur with King Henry VIII and never quite sorted it out!

But of course the real strength of this story is characterisation. You made every Order member different.

Sirius’s arms coffee brown from the sun, Peter’s eyes slightly bloodshot because of his hay fever...

It’s interesting that this is the only mention of Peter ... no vengeance issues here, just telling it the way it was (somehow, it really fits that he would have hay fever). And I love the idea of the Black man becoming coffee-brown!

Two ideas that I don’t want to think about too hard:

Her golden skin had been unmarked apart from some lingering purple blotches around her neck ...

Benjy’s body being used like a rag doll, pulled and stretched and then tossed away when there was no more use for it…

You can certainly evoke the horror. As for Frank,

Frank’s intelligence had been more down-to-earth and focused than Sirius’s or James’s brand, and he’d lived up to his name. You could always get the truth from him.

I’d always thought of him this way too. And it makes sense that G&F should look like their nephews F&G (who look more like Molly than Arthur). What is it with Dartmoor, though? It’s where I slaughtered Benjy and you dumped the remains of Caradoc.

The sombre mood was just enough, sad without drowning us. It was a great relief that you provided Remus (and us) with a person who actually wanted to hear about the Order members, because you certainly left me feeling that I’d like to know more about each one.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --