The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136461Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: AssuntaDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123971Chapter: 1
Thanks for a great little story! It was original -- very original, I should say, as far as topics go. You explored the various aspects of that nasty man's personality, from his tenderness towards his wife to his blind pride in Dudley, and on to his general outlook, with the right touch of humour while you underlined what a rotten guy he is. Congratulaitons on a job well done!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-06
Reviewid: 123393Chapter: 1
I commend you for your excellent characterisation of Vernon Dursley. I particularly liked his rant about “ruddy foreigners” whilst he’s getting his car filled up with petrol, and the way that he defers a bit to Petunia, even in his thoughts. Great job on this character sketch — I can’t wait to see more of your writing!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: GarySDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123265Chapter: 1
Well thought out, and enjoyable. Anything more in the future?

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123092Chapter: 1
ah, WOW!! This is very funny! I was just sitting by my computer and laughing to myself, until I told myself not to of course! You capture his thoughts beautifully! Thank you for entertaining me.

Reviewer: MaryGraceDate: 2005-05-30
Reviewid: 123061Chapter: 1
This is quite funny, and at the same time it is insightful into Uncle Vernon's thoughts. I just wished it were "going somewhere" instead of being a character study, but that's just me. P.S., that was a great reason for Marcg not to come to visit!

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 123006Chapter: 1
Very nice! I love your humble reason to read this, "to be ten minutes closer to July 16th". Also the phrase "heartened by his little beverage-based reflection" and the bit about Petunia wanting him to "slim down and be elegant". Actually I almost sympathize with the Dursleys from this perspective.

Reviewer: jenny81Date: 2005-05-29
Reviewid: 122982Chapter: 1
Fun to read, and altogether a nice job!

Reviewer: VirgiliaDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122917Chapter: 1
I know this is a detail, but one thing that I particularly liked was Petunia's behaviour. Not her pauses and bitterness, but the fact that she actually phones her husband when he is only ten minutes out the door! What a pain in the neck she must be! In Book 5 we see a different side of her, I think, a bit of her fears, etc., but she still is a nosy busybody underneath!

Besides this, the whole piece was very readable, it "flowed", and I'd say nice job!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122890Chapter: 1
Very nice...you capture his psyche personally. I like how he keeps coming back to magic. Good job!

Reviewer: GermanaDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122854Chapter: 1
Honestly, when Vernon tried to cheer Petunia up by telling her about Grunnings production sheets, I thought I was going to fall on the floor for laughing!! Gosh, they are so pathetic!

Thanks for making my day!

Reviewer: 4-JetDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122853Chapter: 1
Ooh, I had forgotten about Vernon pulling tufts out of his mustache in Book One. Remember how he sang "Tiptoe through the Tulips"?! You captured nicely how he tried to stay sane while ignoring that he is losing it.

The opening lines are a hoot, too: man, would it be rough working with Vernon as your boss! And I thought MY boss was bad!

Great job!

Reviewer: Katie-kinsDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122841Chapter: 1
I have to congratulate you on your originality here: a Vernon fic! A Vernon commuting fic!
There was a nice mix of dialogue and longer descriptive paragraphs, which I liked: too many stories are 99% dialogue, and that tends to detract from the reader's interest in what the characters are saying. I especially liked the conversation with Petunia, and the Marge electrolysis comment!
Have you thought of writing this into a longer story, instead of just a character sketch, as you called it? Just wondering, because I think it'd be fun. Anyway, you made me laugh, it was fun to read this!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122834Chapter: 1
Nicely original. Almost makes you want to take Vernon's side.

Reviewer: EndekaDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122813Chapter: 1
Of all the hundreds of Uncle Vernon commuting to work fics out there, this is the one that I enjoyed the most! But seriously, as a character sketch, it is spot on: he is so nasty, but you also captured his semi-deference to Petunia, which is such a strange thing to notice in someone like him. Nice job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --