The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Raising Sirius
Review(s): 60

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141890Chapter: 5
Shucks! I'm sad to hear that Raising Sirius is going to be postponed! And after another interesting chapter, too. Harry and the red hair was a very touching detail-- it earned a sympathetic pout AND a "maaaaaw!" Poor baby!Harry.

Reviewer: GypsyRosmertaDate: 2006-03-27
Reviewid: 141392Chapter: 5
It's awesome! Please add more! I do so love this story that brings me great joy with the writing and the characterization and the respect for canon!

Reviewer: snowbear96Date: 2006-03-27
Reviewid: 141379Chapter: 5
Ooh, now I really want chapter 6. Hmm, Cate is interesting.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141014Chapter: 5
A little disco tune is going off in my head: "More,More, More...How do I like it? I really like it..."

Can't wait until the next chapter.

Oh and the the image of Harry hanging on to poor Cate's head...good stuff Vala!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140970Chapter: 5
Well done, another great chapter. This really is a quite magnificent story you have going. You have some flaws I personally believe in characterization but when writing an AU you can do what you want. Well keep writing, I'm starting to get addicted to all of these Sirius Alternate Universes,

God Bless,
Professor Davies

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140947Chapter: 5
I am enjoying this story very much. You've managed to strike a balance between the heavier subject matter (adjusting to James and Lily's death, raising Harry) and the lighter stuff (Christmas shopping, raising Harry). Please update soon!

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140938Chapter: 1
This was a very powerful start! The descriptions of the wreckage really helped me to visualize the grisly scene. I'm anxious to find out what happens next!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-03-14
Reviewid: 140929Chapter: 5
Yay! I liked this chapter. Cate (with a C) seems like a very interesting person. I can't wait to see more of her! And I like how Harry saw her red hair and thought it was his mum...so sad! Can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2006-03-14
Reviewid: 140927Chapter: 5
Toooooo short! We want more Sirius!!! :D

Reviewer: mesenieDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140728Chapter: 1
god I hope there's more coming for this. its so cute and so well done. and I love Sirius he's perfect. just perfect. I can so see him going insane over a over energetic godson, while forcing himself not to use any magic. lol its awesome.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140457Chapter: 4
Yay! I like it so far. It's a GOOD AU. Sirius caring for little Harry is very amusing. I can't WAIT until they go to visit the Dursleys... Nice!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140317Chapter: 1
I like your Sirius very much. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140259Chapter: 4
This is a fun jaunt! At times you work details in deftly, other times a bit to obviously, but the story is enjoyable anyhow. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: snowbear96Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140249Chapter: 4
I've waited so long for this (however many months it has been) and you've pleased me no end! :-) Congrats on a fantastic chapter, I hope we see more of the Sirius and Remus dynamic.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-02-23
Reviewid: 140197Chapter: 4
What a creative twist! I've only read a few AUs, but this one is already making its way up my list of favorites. You don't come across too many Sirius-As-Guardian AUs to begin with, and I've never even seen one with Sirius-As-MUGGLE-Guardian-- which, now that I think about it, makes much more sense :D

Great work! I will keep an eye out for updates from now on!

Reviewer: hedwig_edwigesDate: 2006-02-22
Reviewid: 140164Chapter: 4
In truth, I've give up this story. The begging was really interesting but when no new chapters appeared, I thought the story was abandoned. I'm glad I was wrong. And I hope more will come.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-02-22
Reviewid: 140159Chapter: 4
Missed you! Glad to see you back and with a wonderful chapter! Don't stay away so long next time!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140143Chapter: 4
I'm usually not a fan of AU's; I like to stick as close to canon as possible, thank you very much, but I have to say that I am really enjoying this story. I love Sirius as a father; it is really quite endearing :P I'm looking forward to what's going to happen next, what with Muggle Christmas shopping and the new neighbor :D

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135395Chapter: 3
Very nice job, looking forward to the next update. One small problem; in the first chapter, you forgot to delete a comment by your beta reader. Otherwise, it's looking good!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-10-21
Reviewid: 134887Chapter: 3
"If James Potter weren't dead, Sirius was almost certain he would have killed him." That is a killer opening line for this chapter, Vala. Poor Sirius. He HAS bitten off more than he can chew, and he knows it, but he's still patient and loving towards Harry. You do a good job of relating his frantic fatigue - which may sound like an oxymoron to anyone who isn't a parent.
"It really bothered him that his godson couldn't just TELL him what the problem was. Sirius had to guess, which wasn't a favorite pastime. It reminded him of some of his ex-girlfriends, who had liked to say things like, “Well if you don't know what you did, then I'm not going to tell you.”"
Another line that's LOL funny. I am thoroughly enjoying this story too, Vala. Nice job. And don't worry - we know you're trying your best without your computer. Your story is worth the wait.

Reviewer: ChloeDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134744Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this, and I'm generally not one for AU fics. You write Sirius so well, and the first chapter made me (almost) cry. Excellent fiction so far...I can wait to read more!

Reviewer: CelinaDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134674Chapter: 3
I truly love your story. Funny, cute and immensely interesting. Your Sirius is very likeable, and I'm just concerned I might like this version a bit too much for my own good, as I already have to struggle to accept the Sirius' tough luck in Rowling's story...

Reviewer: melissaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134554Chapter: 3
Thats it???? I cant beeleeeeve it. it sooooooooooooooo goooood write more pleaaaaaaaaaase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: melissaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134552Chapter: 2
I luuuved it. write lots more.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134498Chapter: 3
Hey, look! It's a Vala sighting...

Good chapter, I can get the feeling of Sirius's agitation of being a parent, as well as the good stuff. Personally, it would have been fun to see you go off for a few chapters on Harry the Toddler, but that's not the main point, is it.

Yes, well, we will see just who moves in next door, eh? *wink wink*

Reviewer: grim girlDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134445Chapter: 3
sooo glad you finally updated
loved this last chapter
hilarious
update again soon please
can't wait for the scene when harry askes about his parents
and the hogwarts letter scene!!!!
ooohhhhh i can't wait
patients is a virtue though so i try my best!!!
Love The Grim

Reviewer: anonymousDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133975Chapter: 3
Awwww cute!

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133974Chapter: 3
BRILLIANT. REALLY BRILLIANT. I liked it alot.

Reviewer: VioletDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133926Chapter: 3
Wonderful so far--please send me an update. Sirius playing Daddy is my favorite fantasy.

Reviewer: JayDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133911Chapter: 3
very good, i must say it will be very strange to see serius without magic, but its shaping up to be a good AU, il keep on reading,
Thanks for writting,
Jay

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133878Chapter: 3
oo i like it!!! keep going, im gonna enjoy this story a lot...i would love to see how one of my all time favourite characters ever [sirius] handles THIS one..hahah...luv how its going so far!

Reviewer: ellimereDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133855Chapter: 3
Nice one! I loved it!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133849Chapter: 3
this is a cute litte story. I really like this AU its still depressing but alittle happier then JK's version. Cant wait for the next chapter. =)

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133819Chapter: 3
Sirius being a dad? How hot is that?!

Reviewer: creevy girlDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133815Chapter: 1
i m tired of waiting
im sure u could ask one of the proffessors for some ideas if you have none
as grim girl (aka me)said u are really missing out on what could be a really good story
i send my regrets that u do not love your own work especially since this one was good but oh well.

Reviewer: grim girlDate: 2005-09-22
Reviewid: 133018Chapter: 1
its not too late to continue
i predict this to be an amazing story
please send in some new chapters
we all adore your story and want to see more of it
if you don't continue then u are just missing out on what could have been a great fan fic

Reviewer: reDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130172Chapter: 1
hi. i give up reading this. you havnt updated in soo long. im done waiting
too bad. if you hant so rudely neglected it it might have been good

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-07-17
Reviewid: 127330Chapter: 1
Having some writers block??

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125660Chapter: 2
Please, please, please! Continue! This will be awesome! Pleaseeee! Continue! Please!!!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124325Chapter: 2
I really like this story, I think it's a clever idea and it's very well written. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123828Chapter: 2
*Waves* Good chapter! :) I feel a bit sorry for Sirius, though.

Reviewer: RINADate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123475Chapter: 1
Hey im sorry, but my patience is running rather thin. Are you even going to continue with this story?

Reviewer: willyDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123301Chapter: 2
good job! written very well. clever idea. i like it! please continue with the story.

Reviewer: Amanda PDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123300Chapter: 2
WOW! REALLY WELL DONE! KEEP IT GOIN!

Reviewer: RiriDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123299Chapter: 2
UPDATE SOON PLEASE!!!! I WANNA READ THE REST!

Reviewer: mollyDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123298Chapter: 2
Very good. Please update soon!

Reviewer: Didi lovebugDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123297Chapter: 1
Really good story! Im glad to see someone being optimistic! Very nice!

Reviewer: ShellyDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123295Chapter: 1
I agree with bob there, perhaps later in the story Sirius is going to break down or something because it doesn't seem he has had time to properly grieve his friends death. Its bound to catch up with him eventually.

Reviewer: bob (from the uukon)Date: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123294Chapter: 1
Ver nicely done. I like it! This is very well written, but i should think Sirius-who is rather impulsive- would grieve over James' death a lot more. Perhaps because he is so caught up in dealing with harry, it is delaying the full impact of his friends death? Either way, i still think it would hit him really hard. Any ways, nice story. I cant wai to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: RiriDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123293Chapter: 2
Lol! Very funny *and sad* *tear*

I especially like this part *They could think what they wanted for all he cared- it wasn’t like he had warm fuzzy feelings for them, either.* LOL VERY NICE.

Reviewer: ADAM-LOVES-CAKEDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123292Chapter: 1
HEY, GREAT STORY! I LIKE EVERYTHING TO DO WITH SIRIUS! I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE WHAT YOU DO WITH THIS. THERE'S A LOT OF MATERIAL TO WORK WITH! IM LAUGHING ALREADY!
-ADAM-LOVES-CAKE

Reviewer: JJDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123291Chapter: 1
Really good job! Please update soon!

Reviewer: ShellyDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123290Chapter: 1
Great Fic! A lot of possibilities here! I can't wait to see what you do! Continue soon!

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123289Chapter: 1
Very intriguing idea! Clever! Please continue with this story! I like it a lot! Can't wait to see what you do with it!

p.s. Im sorry, i hate to rain on your wonderful fic. parade, but about the whole- harry has to stay with the dursley's thing.- The spell dumbledore casted on harry and the dursleys is only in effect if (and i quote) "As long as you can still call home the place where your mother's blood dwells, voldemort cannot touch you there." -Dumbledore . This means that Harry's main home must be the dursley's house. He cannot just go and visit once a year and call it good, because then it wouldn't be HIS -(harry's)- home, he would just be VISITING. Therefore, the spell wouldn't work. At least that's my take on it.

P.P.S. Regardless of my previous post-script, please continue with this story. I am really enjoying it! V. nice.
-Rina

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2005-06-04
Reviewid: 123288Chapter: 2
Wow. Really good so far. Im really enjoying this one. Please update it soon, i'd really like to see what you come up with.
p.s. What is Sirius going to tell harry when he asks about his parents? Also, where are they going to live?

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-06-03
Reviewid: 123271Chapter: 2
this is really cute i really like this AU cant wait for the update =)

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2005-06-02
Reviewid: 123211Chapter: 2
ARGH! PLEASE CONTINUE! U CANT JUST LEAVE ME HANGING!

BY THE WAY, VERY GOOD STORY! I CANT WAIT TO SEE THE REST!

Reviewer: KaliDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123105Chapter: 2
I love the story! Keep it goin'!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-05-28
Reviewid: 122912Chapter: 2
Hey, Alex - glad to see this up! The prologue felt a bit tentative, and there were a few typos, but the first chapter was much more smooth. I liked the descriptions, and the characterizations were nicely done. I also like how Harry is just a baby, yet you give him a very Harry personality already. The conversation with the Dursleys was natural (at least as natural as the Dursleys could be! :)) and well done, - even if I hadn't read the HP books, I'd have a good idea of what type of people they were, simply from your brief scene. Sirius' thoughts/emotions were realistically portrayed as well. Knowing your sense of humor, I can't wait to see what kind of havoc fatherhood wreaks on Sirius. Poor guy - he doesn't know what he's in for, does he? Get crackin' on that next chapter!! Good job!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122883Chapter: 2
Hey Howdy Vala! Another WIP...<creepy_voice>IT LIVES!</creepy_voice>*creeeaaaakkkk*

You have a potentially huge AU here with a lot of stuff to work with! I rather like your picture of the Dursleys--a little to tidy to be normal. I also get a sense that although Petunia has the same mind as Vernon, there's something else a past, maybe a conscience, that she can't shake.

Good job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --