The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144102Chapter: 1
This is a delightful little story. You captured Ernie's personality perfectly, and did a wonderful job of portraying Cathy as a "good" Slytherin--we all know they have to be out there, even if we never see them in canon!

I always enjoy these glimpses into the lives of people outside of the Trio's main circle--there is life outside of Harry's view. This was very fun to read.

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143604Chapter: 1
No no no... you did NOT just end this fic like that!

This is a fantastic story, and your portrayal of Ernie is better than spot-on - it actually gives us deeper insight into his character and the way he relates to the world. In Cathy, you've given us an intriguing OC who is fully realised and three-dimensional...

This is no mean achievement. Consider expanding this into a novel-length alternate POV story. PLEASE. I can tell from this short that you have the knack for it, and the events of this story are clearly cramped in this short piece. I, for one, am dying to know more about why Ernie didn't trust his sister with the whole DA thing. I know, I know, you did make it clear in the end, but these two have such a great relationship, and I'm sure that knowing a little more about their history and relationship will add resonance to his reasons.

So. Please consider making this a much longer chaptered fic... but this is a great piece nevertheless.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-04-08
Reviewid: 141757Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this. A lovely alternate point of view from a not-often featured character. I like Ernie's struggles with his consience as he debates whether to rebel or hold the line. I really liked Cathy -- a Slytherin, but a cool Slytherin.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139106Chapter: 1
A wickedly funny tale. Thank You.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138872Chapter: 1
Hey, I didn't know you were a quiller! You wrote this for the Ficathon, didn't you? And I reviewed it, I think. well, I'll say it again, this is an adorable and tres kewl ficlet, so wonderfully sweet and lighthearted. Cheers!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138867Chapter: 1
LOL! I loved this. Ernie is one of my favourite minor characters and you fully did him justice. I loved the subtle refernces to The Importance of Being Ernest, and Cathy was a fully fleshed, interesting character. I love how you captured the Hufflepuff loyalty (taking Ernie to the hospital wing) and Ernie's "not believeing in taking short cuts. And the end was just wonderful. Take *that*, Malfoy! Wonderfully well written, keep writing!

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124045Chapter: 1
>>Suddenly, he wondered what sort of sweet Gwen had given him. He had never actively fancied her but thought that should he someday change his mind, vomiting on her shoes would not be a good way to impress her.<<

Oh, my, how that line had me in stitches. What an interesting concept for a story. I think that you did a very good job on Ernie's characterization. Well done, all around!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123910Chapter: 1
a black plastic sphere emblazoned with the number 8 could predict the future
-Works fine as a computer help-desk tool.

yourselves about proper non-confrontational attitu
-what a useless book. Nice quote.

Ernie = Percy. Thanks for the quick, cute fic.

"Stinky" indeed. I liked his sister, and hope you write a more detailed account of Ernie's year.

Reviewer: jimnnjoyeDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123808Chapter: 1
Fine story. I always enjoy stories about the secondary characters. Your story is very well written. I look forward to more stories from you.

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123770Chapter: 1
Wonderful use of Oscar Wilde! And a good job on taking a rather flat and stuffy character from canon and making him interesting. I'll admit, I was wondering for a bit if there was a point to Cathy, but there is one, so that's good. Lovely.

Reviewer: Nigella the One-Eyed WitchDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123607Chapter: 1
Oh, this is excellent! I'm in the mood for Hufflepuff stories, and this is a great summary of fifth year through Ernie's eyes. I love the title and inclusion of quotes from the play, not to mention the characters' names - they do sound very suitable for wizards! And there's some lovely humour, not least via the inclusion of a Slytherin sister - a more incongruous nickname for Ernie than 'Stinky' would be hard to find - and although I'm familiar with theories about his ambition to become Minister for Magic, it's only just occurred to me (although I'm British!) that he shares a surname with a former PM.

Thanks so much for a very enjoyable read.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --