The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Letter
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137056Chapter: 1
quite well done

Reviewer: JennDate: 2005-09-21
Reviewid: 132976Chapter: 1
This, I love. This, is magical.

Reviewer: Shina LarisDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124761Chapter: 1
The story is so sweet, and at the same time heart-wrenching. I love it alot. :)

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124470Chapter: 1
Well, I've finally gotten around to reading this! It's just beautiful of course. You've really sustained the tone of this piece throughout -yet this story never feels static since you used the progression of time to good effect. I like how you use Ron's letter to tie all the scenes together and to highlight the emotions of each one.

You have some lovely images - the locket - the shoebox in the wardrobe with the crystal bottle - the Cannons match and afterparty - and to end in a dance. Just lovely.

Reviewer: KODate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124389Chapter: 1
I know that I'd read a great deal of this before.. but oh, MM. This was lovely. The bits that I know you struggled with a bit have been worked to a very nice resolution.

I really like this format, as well. Just fleeting moments.. I don't know. I tend to find the story of life in the details, and I got that same sensibility here -- the emotion you find in a heavy book, an open window, a downward glace. You really executed on this well.

The highest compliment I can pay you is that for the first time in months, I want to write something. And that's thanks to you.

As usual, thanks for sharing with us. Nice work, MM. Nice work.

Reviewer: Kit the BraveDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 124014Chapter: 1
R/H goodness! I really like the way you've captured Ron's voice in the letter, and the way each of the short sections is just the right highlight of a moment in their relationship. This is great stuff!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 124011Chapter: 1
I thought I'd even it out to ten reviews.

That was just great. Awesome, as a matter of fact. This romance was great to read, as well as being well written and realistic. I can go over and pick over the parts that I liked best, but honestly, I did like the whole thing. The snippets you posted before sort of confused me, but now that it's all pulled together it worked out wonderfully. Anyway, the part that I liked the best was Hermione finding that shoebox. The way she was surprised, even though she knew it was there just sort of stuck with me.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123997Chapter: 1
Yay! But, I thought you said my name would go up in lights. What's up with that?

All in all, I liked the progression. You've shown that Ron and Hermione had to work at their relationship, which is true in real life, and I appreciate the effort that you've put into showing truth instead of the quick and snappy happily-ever-after.

Ron was great--pleasantly tender. The letter was great, and a great play on essay-writing.

So, uh, two thumbs up, even though my name is not up in lights.

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123752Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was adorable and sad and happy at the same time. Very sweet. Usually I hate stories where Ron and Hermione have broken up, but I really liked this one. Awesome writing!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2005-06-11
Reviewid: 123695Chapter: 1
Oh, total love. Awesome how you interweave bits and pieces of the letter with all the flashbacks, uniting them and giving the fic a lot of movement. Hermione wearing a canon's shirt, and reading it yet again is just yummy, it fits. I love how you had the fic come full circle, and how the structure parallels "The Gift", really lending to the matched set feel of it. I think it's cute that for Hermione's piece, the emotion/unifying thing is a letter, but for Ron's it's a song. It really highlights their personalities, and gives each fic geater weight. I liked the cute kiss scene, the what if's running through her head, and teh Weasley party for the canons, and Hermione thinking about giving up her clothes. Those were just cute small things that jumped at me for just being sweet without being mushy.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123651Chapter: 1
You know how much I love this, but I wanted to tell you again now that I've seen the whole thing put together. The letter flows perfectly through and I like how each part seems to go with what is surrounding it.

You did a beautiful job, and I look forward to reading whatever it is you have in store for us next! ;-)

I love that Ron and Hermione had a star named after them (at least until it was named again), I love that Hermione sleeps in a Cannons night shirt, I love that Ron couldn't even eat when he wasn't with Hermione (racing his peas around the plate...hee!), I love that Hermione kept a box of Ron stuff, I adore the locket, I like that you showed the story-to-the-side with Harry and Ginny (and you know I love Harry's humor), I love that Hermione figured out that for once, logic didn't apply...I love that George taught Ron how to dance (I'd like to see that missing moment! hee), I love that Hermione heated milk to help her get some sleep and that she reached for Hogwarts, a History, I like how you show that they are both to blame for what happened with them, and how Ginny helped Ron realize that he needed to do something about it.

I think you get the picture. :-)

I'm glad you left the line alone. You know which one I mean.

Thanks for writing this, for finishing what you started with The Gift, and thanks for letting me read it along the way. It was a pleasure.

Jules

Reviewer: MissDaisyDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123643Chapter: 1
rls,

You just keep getting better! The writing in this piece is just beautiful...everything flows so smoothly, moving us back and forth in time with Ron and Hermione, letting us feel each step their relationship goes through. The locket is a lovely touch. Keep it up!

Jennifer

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123622Chapter: 1
Gods!

I don't think I can literally take each part of this and tell you which one's I liked. As a whole, it had this wonderful ethereal quality to it...the memories were sharp and sweet and the present-tense was so endearing and heartfelt.

Once again, rls, well done!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123621Chapter: 1
I really enjoy your style of writing; your Hermione & Ron come very much alive for me, and you seem to skip effortlessly across the years, showing us the salient points, assuring us of where they have been and where they are going. The little details, such as Harry & Ginny looking over her shoulder while she opens her gift; Hermione munching toast nd drumming on the table; they anchor each segment firmly in its own time and place. *sigh* This and The Gift make a lovely read. (Erm, but very manly.) Good stuff.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123585Chapter: 1
Nicely done. Capturing the right sentimental hightlights. Nothing like an angst-fest with a fluff chaser. Men of SQ, rock on.

HHHBDD?

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123559Chapter: 1
What a beautiful story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --