The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-05-18
Reviewid: 148051Chapter: 1
You have captured the semi-stream of consciousness flow of thought in a 5 year old so well. I like how Hex call Petie 'little man'. And so relieved the Petie is named for his 'uncle' (as opposed to his LATE 'uncle' who tragically died in the war (my first thought)...I liked Peter in the original Hex story, and you've managed to redeem the name in Harry Potter fandom).

The final nine words: perfect.

Reviewer: wishmaster1972Date: 2006-12-23
Reviewid: 146591Chapter: 1
Very cute story. I enjoyed it a lot.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-24
Reviewid: 135060Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: dulciscaelumDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124454Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWW. That was a-d-o-r-a-b-l-e! I'ts so nice to have a peek into wzarding families we aren't familiar with. I'd love to read more like this.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2005-06-14
Reviewid: 123957Chapter: 1
Oh! Oh! I've been wanting to read this since I heard that you were offering it in the auction. And it doesn't disappoint! Daddy!Hex and mummy!Maeve are wonderful. And Petie--what a character! Incredible tender and sweet, I'm glad that I got the chance to read this bit of Holmstrom faily history.

Now, when are you going to finish Smells Like a Frozen Dinner?

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123914Chapter: 1
This was so cute! I love Petie! I think you can see bits of both his parents in his character, which is wonderful. I love that you've written this story from his viewpoint so we can know what he's thinking and feeling. You've made the emotions very real and understandable, too. We really sympathize with him.

Thanks for this glimpse of Hex & Maeve's family life. It just makes me want to go read their stories again! :)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123821Chapter: 1
What a great story!! It's always a joy to see Hex and Maeve, and a special treat to see them as parents. Petie is adorable, a sweet, normal kid with an understandable reaction to his noisy new baby sister. You handled the disappearing/reappearing Crystal with a beautiful light touch, but the idea of a disappeared newborn terrified me, much as it terrified poor Maeve and Hex. Petie *is* very big inside to have understood, and grown from the experience.

Thanks for sharing this story!

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123623Chapter: 1
How excellent to see your name on the updates. I really liked this story right up until you mentioned Yankee Stadium - yuck!!
OK, really, what a sweet story. Imagine if we'd all had the power to banish our baby siblings...
But I like what this bodes for Petie's future, powerful indeed. My favorite parts are your details, especially >>Maybe she’d cry less when she got used to living with them, he thought as he pulled his stuffed badger over his head. << I could see this clearly and love the reference. I also love the wish for "a general 'Undo' spell." Yes, oh yes.
Thanks to you and Catherine for sharing. Always happy to see more of Hex.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123612Chapter: 1
Interesting! But I think you need a little more explanation to the fic. How did Crystal disappear? And who are the people - how do they fit into HPverse? Are they from Harry's era? Later? Earlier?

Also, they don't use phones in the wizarding world. Yes, there was a phone box in OoTP, but that was for specific cases, I believe.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123553Chapter: 1
Oh, this was so nice! A great job. I do *so* love Petie! *hugs*

Reviewer: andiDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123539Chapter: 1
Very cute story. I would have probably done something similar had I been able to do magic. You are excellent writers, even when the story does not become an epic :) Hopefully your collaborating days are far from over.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123538Chapter: 1
That's so cute. Even though I'm the oldest, I'm also a twin, so I never experienced the whole jealousy thing, but you two did a good job portraying it here, especially from a little kid's POV.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --