The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Never Give Up
Review(s): 50

Reviewer: BrittaDate: 2007-06-23
Reviewid: 148327Chapter: 7
I just discovered this story today....and I absolutely love it. Hopefully, you'll keep writing it! The characterisation is great and even though it's AU by now I'm anxiously awaiting some progress in H/G.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139778Chapter: 7
still reading

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139736Chapter: 7
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this story earlier, it's one of my all-time favorites! I've never really liked Remus/OFC before, but Beatrice is great, I actually prefer Remus/Beatrice to R/T! Loved the H/G and R/H, loved the dialogue, loved the characterization, everything is spot on. This is the kind of fic that sets the Quill apart from any other site, the kind of fic that's so good it doesn't read like a fanfic at all. Loved it!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139718Chapter: 7
I'm so glad you are keeping up with this story!!! It's beautiful. I'm glad to see it's ending happily!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139687Chapter: 7
Lots of fun characterizations in this chapter with the whole Weasley clan. I especially loved the reactions when the trio plus Ginny caught Professor Lupin snogging and Beatrice's "all the business acumen of a Hufflepuff" line. Glad you decided to complete this tale, Gabriella. Remus and Beatrice deserved a happily-ever-after.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139652Chapter: 7
I'd almost forgotten about this story, but am pleased that you decided to continue, despite canon. Beatrice is very suited for Remus. I also liked the hints of R/Hr, like when he springs out of his chair to greet her.

Reviewer: gryfseeker7Date: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138048Chapter: 6
Please don't forget about this story - I look for an update all the time!!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135964Chapter: 6
The story that Molly usually tells about Bill’s birth is just too amusing (and very Molly-ish — I can definitely hear her saying this). I also loved the banter between Remus and Beatrice in this chapter, particularly the bit about it “being just like Hogwarts”.

All in all, this was a very sweet and enjoyable chapter.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-04
Reviewid: 135689Chapter: 6
You may have to call your story AU now, but it's GOOD AU, and well worth continuing. Besides, most of the so-called-canon Remus/Tonks stories currently being written will probably become AU when book 7 comes out. That's just the nature of fan fic. So keep it up! Beatrice is great, and I'd love to read about their wedding.

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135680Chapter: 5
This was a very sweet reunion chapter. Remus' explanation of why he didn't write was heartbreaking. But Beatrice was so sweet and ready to understand--you have managed to give him the perfect woman!

I especially like his inner Sirius--its a very nice touch.

Molly's reaction was very realistic for her character--and as a parent I can't help but partiall agree with her. But as a Remus fan--he does deserve his happiness.

Lovely.

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135677Chapter: 4
Quote:

“I don’t think you should go,” he rasped out, amazed that he had enough mental control left to speak – even if he was saying the wrong thing.

“You don’t?” she barely whispered. She looked girlish – wide-eyed and breathless, but not with fear – with anticipation.

Very Sexy! How could Remus doubt her feelings, after that slap she gave Snape? (And boy did he deserve it!)

Quote:

She turned on her brother. “Oh, Ron! Weren’t you listening just now? She’s loved him ever since he rescued her in her first year. A girl doesn’t get over something like that so easily!”

<snip>

“She doesn’t?” He asked in a strangled whisper.

This was the perfect counterpoint to the adult part of the story--and her reaction was priceless. Very Lily and James-esque.

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135675Chapter: 3
I liked your tale of the great Bambi hunt. And of course, the fun asides from the twins were delightful. On to the next chapter!

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-11-03
Reviewid: 135674Chapter: 2
I must admit that after the first chapter, although I enjoyed it, I was left wondering, "So when will we get some Remus point-of-view!" I'm glad to see we finally do.

I enjoy your writing style--it's easy to read and flows well. I have especially liked your Beatrice pov segments--its always nice to meet new, well-rounded characters that add to the richness of this universe. Her reaction to the news of Sirius' death almost brought tears to my eyes.

I also like the parallells that you are developing between Remus/Beatrice and Harry/Ginny. It's fun to contrast this adult relationship with a teen-age one, to see the differences in the way the world looks from those two vantage points.

I write Remus-fics too, and I have to say that I just can't accept the "werewolves mate for life" idea as canonical. But you've set up such an interesting little romantic quandry here with it that for the duration of your story, I will gladly set aside my disbelief, and enjoy the fun fluff that you are creating. So far, I'm quite fond of it.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135551Chapter: 6
I love this story and I am glad to see you continue it!

Reviewer: *Date: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135516Chapter: 6
Thank you for continuing the tale

Reviewer: june luttrellDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135269Chapter: 6
I enjoy your charachters so very much i truly hope taht you will continue your fic. Ill keep checking back.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135230Chapter: 6
I absolutely adore this story. There are so many tiny things that make this story so personal and so perfect and as we both know that Remus is one of my favorite subjects, too, it's...just grand.

I love the little ministrations Beatrice does to take care of Remus post-transformation and the way she watches over him...and the proposal...I loved it all!!

~Hez

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135228Chapter: 6
Nicely done, Gabriella! Loved the interactions between Remus and Beatrice. Sensual, sexy, sweet. And you are aces with dialogue. Nice characterizations of Molly and Remus. That little twist where Beatrice realizes that Molly is talking about another resident of Grimmauld Place was wonderful. Also that Remus would want to provide for Beatrice in the traditional way seemed so in character.

Looking forward to your next chapter,
Eudora

Reviewer: june luttrellDate: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133905Chapter: 5
I desperatley need you to finish this as soon as possible. I believe that I will loose my mind if there is not a new chapter soon. Hurry,Hurry,Hurry!

Reviewer: j2923Date: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133665Chapter: 5
Awesome stuff. I'm increasingly appreciative of well-written Ginny anywhere I can find her, and you've maintained her character impeccably. How far do you think you'll carry the storyline?

Reviewer: GeoffDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133118Chapter: 5
Delightful. I am very much enjoying your story of Remus and Beatrice, and I am finding your portrayal of Ginny and Harry to be hysterical. I just love their discussions. Keep it up, and hurry back with more.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132912Chapter: 5
So we finally know about what happened with Beatrice’s fiancé — how horribly embarrassing that must have been for her, poor girl! Hmm, and Molly WOULD react that way, wouldn’t she. Still, I’m glad that Remus and Beatrice are together now. Keep the updates coming!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: DanaDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132857Chapter: 5
I love this story and think you are doing a wonderful job of it!

Reviewer: jay2923Date: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132830Chapter: 5
Excellent stuff. Lovely continuity, and well-woven plot twists. Great characterizations, as well.

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132803Chapter: 5
Best chapter yet. Thanks for not throwing up a bunch of cheesy, stereotypical angished morning-after regrets like so many other stories would have done. :)

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132763Chapter: 5
This is so lovely and I relish each new chapter. I think you do a great job of Remus and for some reason I'm really fond of your Bill, even though he doesn't feature much.

Reviewer: AriDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132746Chapter: 5
Hey! Hi, great job!
It's right the perfect pacing, neither too fast nor too slow. Just wish you'd update more often...
But please, don't be so soft on Molly. Am I alone in wanting her to be put back in her place ince in a while? She can be all-mother all she wants, but she shouldn't still be bossing everyone around in Sirius's house, that now is Harry's and Remus's house, still without the least bit of respect for others' parental authority! If anyone can have the right presence of mind and calm maturity to remind her that she's NOT wisdom incarnate - even though she sure is convinced she owns all the answers of life - that's Remus!
Don't let Molly take over Remus! Please!

Reviewer: betDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132743Chapter: 5
Lovely, lovely! So nice to see another wonderful chapter. Didn't really see that coming from Molly, although I suppose she would really act just like that. Can werewolves marry in this AU? Have children? Nice line with Harry offering to tell Snape where to stick the cauldron!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130918Chapter: 4
This was absolutely amazing, and I can't wait for the next chapter. I love the way you have Harry and Ginny's courtship paralleling that of James and Lily. Harry and Ron's horrified reaction when they overheard Remus and Beatrice was absolutely hysterical and completely in character. Altogether a wonderful job.

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130585Chapter: 4
You are definitely one of my favourite fanfic authors. You just write everything exactly as I want it to be written. I am not only in love with your Sirius but after reading this I am totally smitten with your sexually frustrated Remus. And I love Beatrice too. I have read all your fics today and have enjoyed them all immensely.

Favourite line from this one has to be: "She ran her thumb along his jaw. Reason took a holiday."

Well done on being generally fabulous.

Reviewer: betDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129143Chapter: 4
oh! also forgot to mention that the conversation over harry's "abuse" was so good! I feel like i've been waiting for that to be openly acknowledged. and it was wonderful that it was done under the context of being a good teacher, because, of course, a good teacher would recognize that. thanks for doing so.

Reviewer: betDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129141Chapter: 1
I'm really impressed by your story. I rarely like new fan fic characters, but bea is such a great character. i know the canon has remus paired with tonks now, but i do hope you'll continue with this. i love how she's so woven into the past as well as the parralel with Harry and ginny. how far into their future will you see this through?

Reviewer: Penny LaneDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128522Chapter: 4
I just discovered these stories and read through them at once. I LOVE this world. It makes me very upset that JK Rowling made it AU and paired Remus with Tonks. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128470Chapter: 4
I’m glad to see that you’re sticking with this story, even though it’s now technically AU.

Snape’s insults were delightfully nasty (and thus very IC for him), and Remus and Beatrice’s reactions were very realistic. The Remus/Beatrice — Harry/Ginny parallels were nicely drawn, and I look forward to seeing how the relationships progress. Not to mention how Remus will react when reason returns from its little holiday…

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128464Chapter: 4
WOW! What a chapter! That was sparks and fireworks all the way through. Nice tension! Nice arc! You had me from the first line. I actually gasped at Snape's insult. I loved Beatrice's transition from indignation to mortification to arousal.
<<Reason took a holiday.>> This punchline just cracked me up! Nice!

I also loved the reactions of Harry and company. The parallels that you draw between Harry/Ginny and Remus/Beatrice worked very well and topped off the chapter like icing on the cake. Well done!

Can't wait to see what you serve up in the next chapter,
Eudora

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128156Chapter: 4
Is this one of your favorite chapters, Gabby? Because it is a REALLY good one! I love the progression of Remus' thoughts and feelings here. Love how strongly you word them - starting out with "Remus Lupin was in agony". This is not a chapter for subtlety and it hits the mark over and over.
And this chapter is HOT. It is because of how you build up to the moment between him and Beatrice where their lust/love is finally out there in the open. Remus' frustration in the beginning is so cute - his inability to sit still, peeking at B through his fingers while resting his head. It's so schoolboy adorable. And then we see, in rapid succession, several of the reasons he loves her. They are played out realistically and give more depth to the scene which will come later. And Beatrice's telling of her experience with Remus at Hogwarts - with the memory so different for Remus, was heartbreaking for me to read. She really put herself out there and it didn't seem to her like he returned any of it. Poor thing. And then comes the Smuff. I really do like how you used Remus' animalistic traits - the wolf traits - to give him the reason he can put his hesitation aside and take her. Nicely done. Finally - you wrap it all up with the conversation between Ginny and the trio. I loved how Harry immediately paralleled himself and Ginny with R/B. The way you built up to the Smuffy part and then rounded it out with the trio/Ginny comments made the lusty scene such a wonderful, integral part of your story, with no gratuitousness involved! You have great strengths in internal dialogue and portraying the characters emotions backed up by his/her perspective and thoughts. The characters progress very realistically. I loved it. Please continue with this story.

Reviewer: harryp123Date: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128131Chapter: 4
Good chapter. Can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127064Chapter: 3
Very good chapter, Gabriella Du Sult — your writing flowed nicely in it. Keep the updates coming!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 126994Chapter: 3
<<Good – then about the best and worst thing I could ever say about James Potter is that he was about as utterly Gryffindor as a bloke could possibly be. You know – brave to the point of rash stupidity, stubbornly dense when it came to… well, when it came to the really important things.>> I loved this part.

A very enjoyable chapter. Loved the Bambi story! And I also liked that Harry wasn't the only one who benefitted from the story. Beatrice came to help Harry and ended up learning a few things herself. Nicely done!

Reviewer: LesaDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126953Chapter: 3
Wow. I am really enjoying this story. You characters sound just perfect. Looking forward to reading more very soon.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126819Chapter: 2
I really enjoyed this chapter, Gabriella Du Sult. I liked the whole “Courage, Gryffindor!” motto, and hope that poor Remus will learn that Beatrice isn’t married, soon. Hmm, Remus and Beatrice have bonded already? This IS quite a development… I enjoyed the H/G that you put in, and am looking forward to your next update!

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126761Chapter: 2
After reading your submissions on the Fluff thread, I had to check this out. You write a wonderful Remus/Beatrice. I particularly enjoyed the scene when they meet again for the first time.

Though I must say that I was a bit surprised by Kingsley, since I had imagined him much younger, only a few years older than Tonks. I figured that the shaved head was more of a fashion statement than an indication of age. But this works too.

I also like the parallels that you drew between Ginny/Harry and Beatrice/Remus. Very nice!

Looking forward to more,
Eudora

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126217Chapter: 2
I am very bad when it comes to reviewing. I can offer you no constructive critisism. But when I saw you only had 7 reviews for this I wanted to add a little comment. I love this story. I hope it can stick around in some form, if not on the Quill then somewhere! Remus' reaction to Bea and his talk with Bill were perfect! Thank you so much for sharing. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126146Chapter: 2
Poor Lupin. Always getting dealt the worst cards in the deck. Lovely work! Keep going, fo' sho.

Reviewer: CraigDate: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124073Chapter: 1
You write genuinely satisfying stories. I can't say I have any constructive criticism, other than for you to keep writing.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-13
Reviewid: 123901Chapter: 1
Oh, good chapter! This fic has true potential and I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next in it. And how Beatrice and Remus will react when they see each other again after all these years…

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123664Chapter: 1
Really excellent! It seems real, everyone is in character. It's fantastic. I have loved all of you stories and can't way to see how this one turns out. The Weasley Family Dynamic is awesome!

Kit Black

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123637Chapter: 1
This story sounds like it has wonderful potential. Unfortunately, your timing is bad. HBP will be out in a little over a month, and it's tough to get involved in a post-5th year story at this point. I have very mixed feelings, b/c I loved your Beatrice and Remus interactions, but inevitably it will all become A/U very soon.

So, if you by any chance have more chapters archived somewhere else, I'd love a pointer to them. I'd rather read as many as them as you have, before July 16, than ignore your wonderful story. However, at the rate the Sugar Quill updates nowadays, it's practically impossible to read them on this site. :-)

Reviewer: SunshineDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123635Chapter: 1
Great reconciliation scene! I love it, and the emphasis on family is so perfect for Harry right now. I can't wait to see Remus and Beatrice again, too, and find out what happened to them in school.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123590Chapter: 1
Thank you thank you thank you for more Beatrice and Lupin!!! I can't wait for your next update!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --