The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Poisoned Passion
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-07-15
Reviewid: 144168Chapter: 1
Can anyone make fun of Snape better than that? : D

~The vicar leans over the counter and fixes me with a glare that could petrify a Basilisk.~

~His long nose almost touches the parchment.~ HA!

~Then he swoops across my bookstore like an overgrown vulture decending on a carcass.~

And his snarky lines are perfect for him:
"I wouldn't want to keep you from so engrossing and worthy a pursuit...as your novel."

And once again, I love your details - from a magical version of Grimm's Fairy tales to book names like "Abyssian Shrivelfigs to Zygote Hairs". These bits of imagination really make the little shop come to life.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143585Chapter: 1
Who would have ever thought someone would steal Snape's line as part of a romance novel? lol That was great. I hope she gets to finish the book one day!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137220Chapter: 1
Another wonderful tale. Thanks

Reviewer: lynnDate: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136858Chapter: 1
He opens the book to page 394

Hee. I wonder where you got that? I've just read the whole series and I love it. I LOVE one shots, but I love it even more when the author realizes she has something good and expands them a bit, like you did. Very fun read. I think one shots and short stories are hard to do because there's not enough time to set up a little mystery to keep things moving. This series has everything- great characterization, plot, humor, and heart. Can't wait to read the rest of your stuff. Thank you for this, it was just the thing for a cold winters night right before bedtime!

Reviewer: jncarlinDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133749Chapter: 1
Really delightful series you've got going here. Miss Smythe is such a great "everywoman" kind of character that all us bookworm girls can relate to. Sure, we appreciate good literature--but what we really want is a little fluffy romance!

I loved the implication that she may be Lockhart's ex. And her idea that Snape is an ill-tempered vicar is great.

You have lots of fantastic little magical details here:

"It practically flew from the shelves. Not literally, of course. Not like those avian books." very cute

and

"I bustle over to the reference section, careening into a display of comic books in my haste. The periodicals titter in mocking laughter at my mishap, as if it were some planned comic pratfall. "

It's little details like this that make your magical world feel so real.

Good job!

Reviewer: Arwen999Date: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128600Chapter: 1
Hi! My first impression on your story: well, I have just started to read it, and I burst into laughter when I noticed the quote of the evil dominatrix! LOL So, Snape is not very original... he quoted a few lines from a book to scare students (and what a book! ^^ [Professor Snape, I didn't know that you liked such literature! lol]). I liked that part! Very funny! And Snape, a vicar (a modest clergyman? LOL)? Not really... Miss Smyth has a good sense of observation, but she's completely wrong as for the conclusions... ^^

[Quote]"He could use that desk reference, I think. Perhaps to brew up a good shampoo and maybe a conditioner too. Ah, but then, who am I to criticize. My fingers sweep an errant curl of frizzy brown hair from the path of my eyes and tuck it back into my chignon. A useless effort.
A repulsive thought surfaces in my brain, before I can suppress it. My EX! I can’t even bring myself to utter his name. But he’d always had perfectly-coiffed golden locks of hair. Wanted to start his own line of hair-care products, he did. And where did that get me, I ask you? Left for that skinny floozy, that’s what. Discarded like yesterday’s rubbish. Humph! Meticulous grooming is over-rated in a man."[/Quote]

Oh my God! She dated Lockhart???

[Quote]"A momentary beam of afternoon sunlight breaks through the clouds outside, bathing my counter in a rosy glow. I regard my customer in a kinder light now. Perhaps he had been jilted in the past too. Perhaps all he needs is the care of a good woman.
He glances up from the parchment. I flash him my most engaging smile. My grin, along with my hope, withers under his frosty glare.
“Well?” He shoots me a commanding stare. “What are you dithering for? Do you have the book or not?”"[/Quote]

He surely needs the care of a good woman, but not Miss Smyth (obviously). I prefectly can imagine his frozen response...

[Quote]"“The Potions Master’s Desk Reference,” I say, handing the monstrous volume to the vicar."[/Quote]

I almost thought that he would say something like: "It was just to check if you had that volume. I'll go to another bookshop now, where it's cheaper..." Very Slytherin...
"Trixie Snipe": Again, very funny! ^^
Love Snape's reaction when the woman quotes the book! lol

[Quote]"The young woman’s eyes narrow with the challenge. She turns to address me. “I’ll give you twice the price for it.”
“Thrice,” the vicar counters, casting the woman a glower that would cow a Nundu."[/Quote]

Snape who wants to have this book more than anything... I wonder why... ^^

[/Quote]The elder child, a tow-headed boy, dawdles behind. He turns and sticks a pink tongue out at the vicar. The clergyman whips his head around to cast one last withering glare at the child. The tot squeals with fright and darts off after his mother. Shocking! This man should never be allowed around children.[/Quote]

Very funny too!

[Quote]"The vicar’s dark eyes gleam. His jaw has gone rigid with fury. The dog barks. What an odd bark. I could swear it sounds remarkably like laughter.[/Quote]

Dear Sirius... Always finding the good moment to provoke people!

Verdict: LOL. A very well-written story, which made me laugh a lot. You pictured Snape very well! I really enjoyed that story! Good job again!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-06-19
Reviewid: 124482Chapter: 1
Haha, this is great. So is Snape going to sue for copyright infringement, or did he get his speach from the novel? I can't wait for another encounter, hopefully with the sexy Remus Lupin...?

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124358Chapter: 1
Thanks to all for your kind reviews!

Kit Black, Sirius is set to play a major role in the next installment.

Gwen, there'll be more about Wanda Witherspoon too. She's a running thread in these stories.

Grace has Victory, look again at the text of Ms. Witherspoon's novel and you'll recognize the words of Snape's famous first year address.
Hope that clears up the mystery.

seastone88, wish I'd thought of that. HA!

Many thanks,
Eudora

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124341Chapter: 1
This is really wonderful! Miss Smyth is a interesting character that I can't wait to see more of. Will Sirius be in further pieces of writing? Even if he's not, this is a funny and delightful story! I'm truly looking forward to your next installment!

Kit Black

Reviewer: UnspeakableDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124333Chapter: 1
Really amusing!

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-06-17
Reviewid: 124291Chapter: 1
Very enjoyable! I laughed out loud on the bidding war for the novel and *almost* felt sorry for Snape at the end. Good job!

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124152Chapter: 1
Oh, capital!!! Ms. Smyth is quite the trip... & the ending is absolutely a PRIZE!!! Thank you!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124132Chapter: 1
What a delight! I do wonder if Wanda Witherspoon is a real name, and if not, who the author really is. Hope Miss Smyth enjoys her new watchdog.:o)

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124126Chapter: 1
Does your talent know no bounds?

I loved it! Miss Smyth is the cheeky one if you ask me! Well, well done. The whole thing had me grinning from ear to ear!

I loved the uses of Snape's words against him especially in the "sort" of novel...LOL. That was precious and priceless!

Great Job, Eudora!

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124115Chapter: 1
This was really quite funny, as was the last one. I'm smiling here like an idiot but I can't describe how funny that was. Both characterizations of Snape and Remus were great. I'm glad you're continuing this, I will be looking for it.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124105Chapter: 1
Ooh, I'm so glad you already got this posted! I have to tell you again that I was smiling the whole way through, punctuated by laughs out loud. This was really a fun read. You have a gift for characterization. Ms.Smythe's desperation tempered by a good sense of fun and a flair for the dramatic is priceless. Good on you for creating such a fun OC. And your canon characterizations are always spot on. Snape a vicar? Hilarious. And you describe things so vividly - I feel like I can smell the ink and the dust in the shop, and the proximity to Snape was creepy.
Can't wait for the rest. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that our dear Potions Master and Wanda Witherspoon meet up. Fireworks will fly!

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2005-06-16
Reviewid: 124101Chapter: 1
I liked this! I'm always glad to see Snape get his come-uppance. And I'm left wondering why he wanted the trashy novel ... lurid aspects of his personality that I hadn't considered are barging into my brain.

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-06-15
Reviewid: 124090Chapter: 1
That's hilarious! But I really wish 'Miss Smyth' had said:
"Now off you go and take your romance book before I summon the constable." I would have loved to see Sirius' reaction to that!
Lover of Literature,
SS

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --