The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Meeting Lily
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134253Chapter: 1
Well Done

Reviewer: MelanieDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 124997Chapter: 1
I just wanted to tell you that this series of stories about Petunia and Vernon is really quite wonderful. I particularly enjoyed your characterizations of them -- they fit in nicely with what we've read in the books so far, and they also round the characters out a bit. I also liked the ominous yet casual way you've been tossing in bits about Voldemorts attacks (properly editted for the Muggles, of course). It lends a bit of tension to the background (since the readers know the implications), and contrasts quite nicely with Vernon and Petunia's own insecurities. This most recent story also plays well with that theme, allowing us to see Lily and James's nervousness, their dancing around the idea of magic so as not to frighten Vernon, and the ultimate break-up of the Petunia/Lily relationship. Thank you very much for posting these!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124833Chapter: 1
Ah, and Vernon and Petunia finally get their (sort of) happy ending.

The only nitpick I have is in this sentence (shown in capitals): “Vernon, please, you can call MY Vernon.”
I think you meant (shown in capitals): “Vernon, please, you can call ME Vernon.”

The writing in this flowed well and, as always, your Vernon and Petunia were very IC.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-06-22
Reviewid: 124812Chapter: 1
Fun little fic! Certainly sounds quite a lot like it must have been!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124772Chapter: 1
I just read all three in this series and wanted to say how much I enjoyed them. It's rare that any story can make me feel sorry for the Dursleys, but this series gives a wonderful backstory to how they reacted to Harry. (Speaking of which, his arrival on their doorstep would be a nice addition to your stories, hint hint...)

Well done. :o)

Reviewer: July31Date: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124765Chapter: 1
This was wonderful, as are all of your works. I love this totally different and unique perspective on Petunia and Vernon. It makes the characters seem more real. What's next? Pregnant Petunia? Baby Dudley? Awesome job!

Reviewer: LorieDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124752Chapter: 1
Great characterizations! I loved James and Vernon standing up to eachother. Good job!

Reviewer: person with eyesDate: 2005-06-21
Reviewid: 124742Chapter: 1
I really love this Vernon/Petunia series! It's a really interesting perspective and a story that is not often heard.
...Don't they just make the cutest couple? :)
Lovely story

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --