The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142328Chapter: 4
A little disjointed in the beginning but up to your/expected standards by the end. Thanks

Reviewer: EowynDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131840Chapter: 1
Why does Moody like Viviane? She tried to murder him and killed one of his aurors who got in the way.

Reviewer: andreaDate: 2005-05-20
Reviewid: 122481Chapter: 4
Hey Juliane! I just devoured all three of your Viviane Deveraux stories... They were completely brilliant and wonderful! I have been waiting for a while to find a new favourite story on the Sugarquill... something rich and textured and complex. I love when you're browsing through the library and find a gem like this one. I just want to congratulate and thank you. I guess I was led to feel guilty when I happened to read a certain thread in the SQforum about fandom classics. I almost never review things, which of course is a very bad & lazy habit, so right now I'm making an exception.
It's not often that a fic contains a really spot-on portrayal of Remus with a layered and dizzying Severus and one of the most spectacular original characters. wow. This was the greatest!
And the epilogue BLEW MY MIND>
andrea

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25086Chapter: 4
nice story.. i like severus snape and i enjoy all
romanticinsingz of him. although i may not agree totally with you characterisation of dumbledoremalfoy and the gang.. snape i think u handled well..
nice one.. but i dont get it .. wats wrong with vivian that she carries the dragon.. and has to sly them
in the middle of the night. is it a curse of some sort ? plz.. cld you write one to maybe sort that out ? thanks !
nice job !!

luvz.
*kayjal*

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19633Chapter: 4
Ahhh...now THIS is my kind of romantic Snapefic! Viviane is a perfect match for Severus in every way. She's tough, she takes no nonsense off of him, and there's a hidden side to her just as there is a hidden side to him. Viviane is Severus' equal, like Yolanda's Alex and RJ Anderson's Maud Moody. We get a formidable woman matched to canon-Snape, not ColonelBrandon!Snape.

Viviane shows her vulnerability when she reproaches herself for failing to stop Cedric's death. And she shows her softer side throughout the fic. Viviane may be a "murderous hussy" but she's a, well, cool murderous hussy. ;>

I LOVED that she had a fling with Bill Weasley! Go Viv! She's just doing what any other red-blooded woman would do in that situation. <g>

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18089Chapter: 2
I like the conversation between Harry and Viviane in the beginning of the chapter-very nice parallels between the two.

Love Viviane at the Yule Ball! Helping the girls was sweet and I love her dancing with Snape!! I like how she notices his good features as well as his bad-very realistic.

Love Bill and Viviane together. Mmmm, Bill in tight jeans. Viviane and Bill- go Viviane!!! Wrath of Molly Weasley- LOL!
"You spoke about regrowth try starting with these. An unforgettable few days. Love, Bill." Aww, that was so sweet, especially the line about regrowth. Very touching.

The love/hate relationship between Viviane and SEverus is great. You've worked in the little flashes of Severus's jealousy perfectly.

"If I paid attention to every plot a Weasley ever hatched, Id have very little free time and no sanity." LOL! That sums up F&G perfectly!

Random note: I looooove Viviane's wardrobe throughout the chapters! I'm such a sucker for descriptions of pretty clothes!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17736Chapter: 1
Love the beginning: "there goes our nice, quiet summer." And the chocolate creams seems so true to Viviane's thoughtful, tender side.

OMG-LOL at Viviane's description of Snape's room! "Early English Uncomfortable" Ha!

Love all the new spells, very cool! (poor Neville and the raven!)

Lucius Malfoy referring to Viviane as quite an "aquisition." Oh, how do you *do* it? You always find the most perfect word!

Hmmm, the exchange between Viviane and Rita was interesting. I expected her to hate Rita the way everyone else does but given Viviane's line of work it does make sense for them to have a "working" relationship. Just when I've settled on how my Potterverse works, you come along and shake it up. Especially with your Draco. OK. I'm officially hooked on Viviane.

Reviewer: hawaii5063Date: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17165Chapter: 4
This is an excellent story as are all the other Viviane Chance stories. They are so well written that they are easy to picture. Snape has just the right anount of snark to keep him believable and Viviane never becomes the dreaded "Mary Sue". The physical and mental relationship is completely believable. Great job! PLEASE keep writing!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2002-11-06
Reviewid: 8326Chapter: 4
Wheee! I FINALLY read this (and the prequel, natch) and I can see why everyone's raving about Viviane. She looks great, has a wonderful sense of style, is delightfully irreverent, and she kicks major tail, too! :)

I really loved the bit in "Foreign Defenses" about Ron standing effortlessly on one foot and how Hermione warms up to Viviane after she realizes she can't be good at everything at once!

Viviane's (I'm really enjoying typing her name for some reason) fling with Bill was nice, too. At least they both realized it was for fun :)

Great job! I think I missed the pre-prequel yesterday so I have to toddle off and take a look at that now. Bye!

Reviewer: ErasmasDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3433Chapter: 1
Wow, OK thanks for clearing that up for me.

>LOL, one of the reasons I created Viviane was to see if I could make up a character that could find Snape attractive, greasy hair, nasty attitude, and all.

That makes it easier for me to ask the next question. In canon, I certainly see the repellant side of Snape. Unless I'm still very confused you haven't shown that side of his character in your story. You've shown other endearing qualities that understandably wouldn't be seen in the books because the books are from Harry's POV. Where, in your stories, do you show Viviane accepting or ignoring the cruel side of Snape?

>And I've found that only someone with equally repellant traits could probably do so!

I don't find anything repelling about Viv. I see that she's ruthless and sometimes tactless, but at no time do I see her going out of her way to make people miserable. Like Snape, she's bitter and vengeful but unlike canon Snape I don't see her turning that bitterness on the students. I think maybe I'm still missing a piece of the puzzle.

Erasmas

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3414Chapter: 4
Erasmas,

Wow. thanks for the detailed review!

>I realise that those acts may have just been intended as a reminder that the death eaters were still around and waiting, similar to their escapades at the world cup. It seemed strange to me that Dumbledore would get Viv to mitigate their actions, rather than capturing the perpetrators and dealing with them before Voldemort regained power.

I do think I need to make Dumbledore's actions a little bit clearer. He's playing for time. He doesn&#8217;t know exactly who's doing this (although he has some shrewd guesses) and he&#8217;s not sure he has Ministry support if he does move against the DEs in any public capacity. So he hires Viv to quietly contain the problem and prevent any deaths or injuries without making much noise about it.

>In your characterisation it seems that Viv doesn't even notice the cruel side of Snape's character.

Nope. Or if she does, she doesn&#8217;t really care. She is not much of a teacher herself, and can be quite cruel in her own way; as a matter of fact, she finds Severus' nasty wit rather like her own, and enjoys it. LOL, one of the reasons I created Viviane was to see if I could make up a character that could find Snape attractive, greasy hair, nasty attitude, and all. And I've found that only someone with equally repellant traits could probably do so! She has, after all, murdered people almost casually in pursuit of revenge.

Reviewer: ErasmasDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3403Chapter: 4
You have written a fascinating story.

I can only imagine the formidible challenge of weaving Viviane into the Hogwarts faculty without disrupting canon in any really significant way. There were a couple minor points in the plot where I had to stop and question the plausibility of Viv's presense and actions in the larger story.

I wondered who was behind the beasts in the forest that Dumbledore hired her to deal with. I was under the impression that the Death Eaters weren't organised enough to pull that sort of thing off yet. I realise that those acts may have just been intended as a reminder that the death eaters were still around and waiting, similar to their escapades at the world cup. It seemed strange to me that Dumbledore would get Viv to mitigate their actions, rather than capturing the perpetrators and dealing with them before Voldemort regained power.

The other point is I think unavoidable. The courses that Harry took were especially suited to the practise sessions leading up to the third task.

What really interests me though is how you developed Viv's infatuation with Snape. I've been struggling to understand how different authors get past a block that I would have to surpass to have a character become attracted to Snape. I can understand acceptance and appreciation of his bitterness, his severity, and even his thirst for control. The part I struggle with is how a woman like Viv would not be repulsed by his cruelty.

In your characterisation it seems that Viv doesn't even notice the cruel side of Snape's character. When her feelings for Snape are emerging, she questions her feelings based on his rudeness, his bitterness, and extreme reserve. Do you think that Snape reserves his cruelty to the classroom and his private dealings with children, where Viv wouldn't see it? Or maybe you think that's an act for the benefit of the sons and daughters of death eaters? It seems strange to me that first Viv wouldn't see that side of Snape, given how you have shown she's an astute judge of character in other settings. As you can see I'm still a little bit confused.

One part that I enjoyed was how you contrasted Viv's and Snape's impressions of Harry's character. In the books, its clear that Snape doesn't understand Harry at all, no doubt blinded by his past dealings with James and the hatred for all things Potter that he's carried around for years.

In my opinion, Snape continuously tries to be cruel to Harry, based on a false assumption that Harry enjoys his fame, but doesn't really touch Harry with his constant digs because he's digging in the wrong spots. The only time in the books that Snape really gets a reaction from Harry is when rants about James' arrogance. With all the other children Snape has no trouble homing in on their weaknesses and creatively exposing those weaknesses in front of their peers. If Viv is aware of Snapes teaching methods, do you think she accepts them as another teacher carrying on well established british bording school tradition?

Anyhow, I really enjoyed the story. Viviane is fascinating. You've made her a part of my conception of the wizarding world, and if the next three books ever get published I'll be wondering what dark secret tasks she's performing in the war.

Thank you,

Erasmas

ps. I know this isn't your responsibility but in Strange Choices, the punctuation is wonky on my browser. The apostrophe's show as little squares and other punctuation comes out as ampersands. I've seen this in the forums too and assumed that it's a result of a problem in conversion between different formats or else a non standard font. Maybe a Mac/PC thing? *shrugs* I don't know who to contact about that sort of thing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --