The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Wand
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140090Chapter: 1
Brilliant idea. Excellent presentation.

Reviewer: justareaderDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134754Chapter: 1
hey cool idea. I liked the werewolf fur thing. It was something that seems to fit. Well written. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126713Chapter: 1
Your story was fun and the plot very fitting.

[I had a little problem with the out-of-canon-ness of random wand lengths. JKR always uses the length and flexibility as a reflection of each character, hence Fleur's was short and inflexible, and Umbridge's was exceptionally short, Ron's is much longer than Harry's, etc.. Sirius' should be longer than Lupin's since he's taller, and Ollivander wouldn't have offered anything under 10" to either of them.
The sorrow connected with the dogwood is a great double meaning and makes up for the length probs though!!!]

Your storyline and colour are wonderful. Good job!

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125982Chapter: 1
that was a very nice story. making olivander one of dumbledore's allies and so enable sirius to obtain his wand- good idea. i think, besides the wrinting i really liked about the story, how much attention you put on the little things- like the shop names(didn't recongnize them, but very funny, making the big amount of werewolf fur important for olivander. And ah, there were the little sentences:
"there is a wand here that might work? Right?"
"The expression on Siriusí face gave all the indication in the world that his arm was made of lead and Remus wasnít so sure that he would be able to wave it around aimlessly for much longer."
*huge grin*
oh, and i loved sirius'"thank you for my wand"-line. not too sappy, but very with deep emotion:-)

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125914Chapter: 1
Very interesting story--and very unique. It was well-written and although I realized what you were up to as soon as you mentioned the werewolf fur, I really enjoyed following the story to it's conclusion.

I've often wondered how Sirius obtained a new wand. Sad to think he wouldn't have had much time to wield that wand.

Nice job.

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125810Chapter: 1
EXCELLENT plot idea. Very nice story...you captured Ollivander quite well.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125802Chapter: 1
I really liked that. And I recognized the store names at once. Thanks.
It is a shame about how much time Sirius will have with the wand and the werewolf. But all things must pass, right?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125753Chapter: 1
That was different and an interesting read.

I liked how you had the guard being a fellow Gryffindor. Bet Hagrid made a pile from Ollivander's offer.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --