The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140370Chapter: 1
An Excellent piece. The best I have read of your work.

Reviewer: ShehrazadeDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126766Chapter: 1
that was a really cool fic. kinda haunting and weird.......... but i liked it. poor sirius. he didnt deserve to go thru this. i liked the last line. nice fic.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126116Chapter: 1
Very, very good.
"'What happened to your hand?' asked Sirius.
Peter looked up and shrugged. After a moment he answered very softly,'I gave it away'"
Nice.
Thank you,
AW.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126019Chapter: 1
WOW. This is very well-written. I want Sirius to have this epiphany...I can see him having this very problem in the books. It all fits so well, and the message is strong and powerful. I really enjoyed this. Very, very good job.

Reviewer: Cannonsgurl90Date: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125987Chapter: 1
Wow. This is great! I love the dreams and the irony of "giving it away". Loved it all!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125986Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I fully expected Sirius to strangle Pettigrew when his chains had gone; nice twist.
Cleverly done and well-written.
I loved this story. Keep on writing. ^_^

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125916Chapter: 1
wow! I love this story. Keep writing!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125909Chapter: 1
Brilliant. I really don't know what else to say. It very, very clever and artfully done. I like these things, because everybody takes their own meaning from it. For me, I would have expected to see Sirius strangle Peter as soon as he broke through his chains. Sure it's only a dream, but it's a dream that has tortured Sirius.

Of course, you may be saying that Sirius 'gave up' his ability to resist partly through his anger and hatred. In which case it would be quite reasonable not to kill Peter. However that isn't how I read it. Sirius did give up in Azkaban. He could have escaped at any time, but he allowed depression to consume him and render him powerless.

And then, of course, you may have just not put cold-blooded murder in because it didn't fit with the rest of the tone. That makes sense too. Hmmm... Anyway, once again you've got me thinking. I reckon that's what I like best about your writing.

Oh, yeah, tiny negative comment - I'm not sure about your use of ellipses in story titles. For some reason they don't appeal to me. It's probably just a bizarre personal thing of mine. :p

Reviewer: FizzkoDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125881Chapter: 1
It was close to making me cry. Not sure why, though. It's 4 am, and I'm still awake reading HP fanfiction...sigh...But anyway, this story is just...I don't know, it draws you in and flows perfectly. The surrealness of it reminds me of my own writing. For some reason this part brought tears to my eyes:

"When do I wake up?" he wondered softly.

Dumbledore smiled sadly. "Anytime you want."


I kept rereading that part over and over, and it kept making me want to cry.

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125824Chapter: 1
That was wonderful....well-written...AWESOME!

Reviewer: nightcrawler1089Date: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125814Chapter: 1
Um, very interesting...a little confusing though. Not all stories have to make sense--this one was very surreal. I liked it!

Reviewer: LePetitCanardDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125769Chapter: 1
Very interesting...it seems similar to a play I watched who played cards with the devil who was trying to come and take him out of life. I liked it.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125748Chapter: 1
*dies* Wow. Wow. Very good. Angst blacker than coffee and then hope at the end. I love it. Usually people just have Sirius wallow in angst. And the card game is a very good plot device, and there's so many things I could say about the symbolism the silver hand has. (But... as usual, what is the point when he'll die in a month or so?)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --