The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Cat, Bagged
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-13
Reviewid: 141871Chapter: 1
An interesting idea, well written, and quite entertaining.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130045Chapter: 1
Funny and very weird, nice idea though.

Reviewer: penny godwinDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128451Chapter: 1
i sid i not love harry bot on

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127009Chapter: 1
This was cute and interesting. Who'd have guessed Salazar would end up as a cat? One would think of that as more of a Godric thing.

The image of Harry rubbing Salazar Slytherin behind the ears is priceless! And the idea that Harry put the Basilisk out of her torment is interesting. (Although a thousand years locked up in that bloody little chamber would be unpleasent for anyone! And I guess she was under Tom Riddle's control and being forced to do terrible things, now that I think of it.)

Good fic! I'm printing up a copy to show my Beta!

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126971Chapter: 1
Possibly the one of the best Founders fics in existence. Funny, bizarre, and... thought-inducing.

I particularly enjoy the irony - Crookshanks IS a member of the cat family (more or less)and his colour is very Gryffindorish - any connection to a certain Lion symbol?

And the story about Ellithen... also ironic. Hagrid was kicked out because they thougt the monster was some deadly monster a stupid third-year Gryffindor decided to adopt - when, in truth, it was a deadly monster an all-powerful Hogwarts Founder decided to adopt... And he cared about her. Which makes it strangely sad - the snake was yet another life ruined by Voldemort.

Crookshanks' opinion on Hermione, Ron, SPEW and Voldemort are all very accurate and make perfect sense. As does the reincarnation idea. Not a punishment exactly, but a way to make him see the truth, realize his mistakes... very nice.

I don't suppose you'd write other Founders reincarnation stories? Like Godric as Trevor (with thoughts on Neville's Gryffindorness and the relations between frods and snakes)or Rowena as Hedwig (on Harry's rationality and wisdom - or lack thereof). Although a sequel to this story would be nice, too - Hermione's and Ron's and possibly Harry's altered view on Slytherins.

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126584Chapter: 1
Brilliant! So many really good lines in there, it's hard to chose - although I love "how's my evil" and "by the way, your cat told me he wants a crack at Voldemort"..! I'd never thought about the possibility of cats being able to talk Parseltongue, even though I'd read a theory about them being related if you go far back enough. I also loved the way Crookshanks was totally right about Sirius. Are we ever going to see Hermione and Ron find out about Crookshanks? Pretty Please?
Paula.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126547Chapter: 1
"Yes. I've pissed in his trunk any number of times, but it doesn't help
-Did that ever make me laugh.

Cute fic. Thanks.

Reviewer: ElshaDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126516Chapter: 1
That was incredibly surreal, and, somehow...entirely right. You two have a genius for taking concepts that at first glance seem ludicrous, if not concieved with the aid of alcohol, and making them work.

With less damnation, and more praise: great story, great idea, nice characterisation, and a quiet yet satisfying plot. The point about having a thousand years to think things over was well done, as was the point that back in the days of the Founders Muggles likely seemed more of a threat than they do in the present day. It reminds me of all the things that we complain about now in society, but were perhaps needed when they emerged.

And definitely the most original Crookshanks theory ever.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126359Chapter: 1
Where do you two come up with these great lines?

"I've pissed in his trunk any number of times, but it doesn't help"
(of course not, with house elves around!!)

"Even if you have to deliver the final blow, as it were, that doesn't mean everyone else in the world can't take a nice hard whack at the bastard first."

Especially that second one. *MAN* I'd like to see someone tell that to Harry in Canon.

This is such a brilliantly weird idea. Crookshanks not only can speak parseltongue, but he's the reincarnation of Salazar Slytherin. I bow to your weird greatness.

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126312Chapter: 1
Is this a one-shot? It's really great, and I'd LOVE it if you could write about Ron and Hermione's reactions. It'd be all too funny!

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126188Chapter: 1
"That was probably being a little too rude to the house's Founder, he thought a bit distantly. He might scratch."

Hehehehheheheheheh! ROFLOL! Wonderful little piece. hilarious and fantastic!

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126180Chapter: 1
That's hilarious! Crookshanks as Salazar Slytherin. I think I giggled the most at Slytherin saying "I adore Hermione!" As always, keep writing!

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126152Chapter: 1
OK; that was quite bizarre. (Yes, there are cats in the household here. As the plaque my parents gave us says, "Dogs have masters. Cats have staff.") Yes, bizarre. Funny, though. And if one accepts the premises, almost plausible....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --