The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-02-14
Reviewid: 150517Chapter: 1
You handled Benjy's career with the Order and his death in a creative and respectfull way. I get frustrated with depictions of the Order where all anyone does is shoot hexes at people. Benjy has a sophisticated job as do the other members.

More importantly he is a fully fleshed character who's priorities are exactly as the Benjy you developed would be. He wants to protect the families of Order members because family and loyalty are so important to him.

I can't say enough about the scene where Benjy saves Cath. We know the meaning of the green light even if she doesn't. It is hard to write about the story it is so affecting.

Most powerfull to me was Cath's request not to be Obliviated. You show what a violation it is of peoples autonomy and dignity to have their right to know things taken from them. How presumptuous it is to say you are saving someone (an adult) from fear.

Arthur being the man he is does not Obliviate her, but yet I still felt concern that he would. The scene is written so well.

This story will follow me for a long time.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132008Chapter: 1
Too Good. I do like your work.

Reviewer: TangieDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126777Chapter: 1
*sob* Poor Benjy! I guess that's a new way to deal with only having "found bits of him". I think I realized that Rhys wasn't so innocent a few paragraphs or so before Benjy did. And meeting Cath again, after so many years, and having to decide to save her...

>>"I care about Benjamin. I want to remember him, what hes done. If you make me forget, who knows what Ill think of him? That he never amounted to anything and just drifted away? Somebody from our world ought to know what hes done. How brave he was. How special."

This quote just made me want to cry. Poor, poor Cath. But if my guesses are correct, she'll have a witch in her family soon.

The misplaced Obliviates were a clever solution to Arthur's problem.

*sniffle*

I love this series very, very much, and Benjy has a high position on my list of favorite characters now.

Reviewer: izoomzoomDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126562Chapter: 1
Well done! Too bad about Benjy but you hinted in your previous fic that he would be called Benjy for three years after Hogwarts. Cath ... Granger? I wonder if her connection to Benjy helped to awaken Hermione's majic? Hmmm... Keep writing!

Reviewer: Diana, Robert, Julia & BenjaminDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126349Chapter: 1
Very, very scarey! The fight was very vivid. It was so horrible that Rhys turned out to be a Death Eater (Benjamin mis-heard, and keeps calling him "Grease").

And it's so sad that Benjy is dead ... That was a very creative way you dealt with "finding him in pieces".

I'm glad that Arthur and Molly did right by Benjy's memory despite having five children to consider. I'm also glad that Arthur let Cath keep her memories. Julia very quickly worked out who Cath was - it seems my FIRST guess was the correct one! And naturally, I loved the local colour of Cardiff!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126327Chapter: 1
I see where this is going... I love the dentists.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126292Chapter: 1
Very sad but well written. Mr. Weasley seemed very in character and I like how he didn't the memory charms at Cath's request.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126272Chapter: 1
Wow. Very powerful story. Your best yet, I'd say, and considering the quality of the previous pieces, that's saying something.

I'm rather speechless about this story, so I'm afraid it's going to be a short review.

I'm especially impressed by the way you put Benjamin's character, which we know so well by now, together with the state of the wizarding world at that time. Everything you say in this story makes so much sense, either in light of Benjamin's character or of the war that's raging or both.

And he died to save Cath. I'm sad he died, of course, but I knew that was coming anyway, and the way he died is wonderful. If there was anything he had wanted to die for, it was his old friends.

Maybe I'll get back to say more once I've got out of this sort of trance your story put me in. I rarely experience that, you know, that a story makes me forget my surroundings and let me be there, in the story, but your story just did. It's *brilliant*.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126228Chapter: 1
Ouch!
That was a really good interpretation of "only found pieces of him".
Wonderful conclusion - I know there's a final chapter, but at this point, I just want to lay down and cry a while.
Bringing back Cath (Granger!) is a wonderful way of bringing this story back around the circle. Especially good was her insistence on retaining Benjy's memory. Now for the last chapter...

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126170Chapter: 1
::cries, unabashedly and loudly::

Oh, Stubefied! Benji Fenwick is my new favorite character, hands down. ::cries some more:: I suppose that Cath from Cardiff becomes Catherine Granger, eh? No wonder she acquiesed so quickly to sending Hermione away. This was a WONDERFUL, BRILLIANT, AMAZING story, with an excellent connection to how Arthur joined the Order. Oh, Benji!

::cries::
I'm going onto read your next one-shot. This was phenomenal.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126144Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. I'm not sure what I liked best- Benjamin's concern for Cath, Arthur's misdirected Obliviate, or Molly's comment at the end.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --