The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Vega BlackDate: 2008-02-14
Reviewid: 150516Chapter: 1
This entire series left me terribly moved. The connection you finally made between your world and the last Harry Potter books felt not a bit contrived by organic and meaningfull. I have children and I was very impressed with this statement by Catherine of her daughter:"I see her going down a path, and I think it must be like the path that Benjamin took....Some days I am so afraid that she’ll end up just like him. Other days I’m so afraid that she won’t." That sums the whole thing up as a parent we desperately want to protect our children and we want them to be like Benjamin was. This was very well done

Reviewer: gjegjeDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135283Chapter: 1
Hi
I love all your stories! I´ve always been fascinated with the connection between muggles and wizarding folk. I think you deal with it in a great way. It´s a shame how many people aren´t interested in characters or plots but merely ships. I´ll read anything as long as it´s very well written and I think your stories are up there among the best. I´d love it if you wrote some more. Could you email me if you do? I´ll keep your site in my bookmarks anyway. Can´t wait for more and merry christmas! (aren´t you in a holliday mood? I´ve been since early september!)

Reviewer: FiDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135158Chapter: 1
Just finished all four parts and wanted to say thanks :) They're really well-written - the ideas and plot flow smoothly, but more importantly I found the story refreshing. Part I, especially, was very moving, and maybe because it's about children that everything - the characters, your style - felt sincere. It was like a breath of fresh air, how you used HP's world and yet put it all in a completely new perspective. It's also great how the characters are all connected (ie the Avery's, Cath and Hermione...). In a way I wish there was more, because it feels like each character still has their own story to tell (that's why I liked Part I, the "long days" focused on each of them and in a sense none of them are minor character), but the way you wrote it is also satisfying - it feels like... a memory of them. Anyway, good work, I really enjoyed your fic!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132009Chapter: 1
Not to sure on this bit.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127067Chapter: 1
And so one of the last pieces of the puzzle falls into place. I’d always been afraid that Benjamin Fenwick was the Benjy Fenwick that got so brutally murdered, but I never saw this coming… very clever; the clues were all laid out so to speak. I only figured it out when you mentioned that Mr Granger’s name was George. Anyway, I loved this series and would like to congratulate you on weaving together bits and pieces of information that we know from canon into your stories so skilfully.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127037Chapter: 1
*coughhackwheeze*

Wow. I was really NOT expecting that. Wonderful. I'm so sad this series is coming to an end! I've always really looked forward to reading it. =)

-PQ

Reviewer: kateydidntDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126489Chapter: 1
*blinks* Wow. Well call me dense, but I never saw that one coming. So little Cath grew up to be Hermione's mother. Has Hermione ever realized her mother came from the same village Ron came from?

Reviewer: Diana, Robert, Julia & BenjaminDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126351Chapter: 1
Short and sweet! Fancy Arthur not recognising Cath - but if she's going grey at age 35, I suppose she doesn't look the way he expects.

We love the idea that George Granger has large white teeth!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126325Chapter: 1
More fantastically interwoven lives! I loved it. I'm so glad that Cath is Hermione's mum! You did a really great job with this. I am feeling sad to say goodbye to Benjy and hope that cannon doesn't ruin these stories. Regardless, I loved all four. Thanks.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126294Chapter: 1
Excellent twist!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126275Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that's very sweet. It explains a thing or two about Hermione's parents being so easy with letting her stay at the Weasleys' for almost the entire summer and things like that. And it's a very nice way to include Cath in canon.

Good job on the whole series! I've enjoyed it immensely.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126263Chapter: 1
!!!!

Brilliant. A glorious tie-in to finish a lovely story.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126231Chapter: 1
Oh that's so ... awesome and sad... bittersweet probably. I'm grieving for Benjy and his brave sacrifice in the end. And I like the connection you made between the Cath thirty years ago and now being Hermione's mother - I know of course it might be unlikely and probably to minor a detail to be mentioned in canon - but it's possible finally, isn't it? Thanks a lot, Stubefied, for this enthralling story!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126230Chapter: 1
Go Cath!
Thanks Stu, that's been a superb story cycle. Arthur Weasley has been consistently excellent, so his reappearance in these last two posts has been truly gratifying. The Benjy you've created, his friends - especially Cath, and his sad ghost of a father have been convincing characters with lots to empathise with. Your writing has been a something special on the Quill. Thank you.

Reviewer: MegsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126181Chapter: 1
What a great connection between stories!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126179Chapter: 1
I'm crying so hard, it's not even funny.
Such a perfect, perfect ending.
Really, I hadn't expected this at all, and it fits so wonderfully.
Please write more after HBP: I want to cry like this again.

-Arimalka

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126174Chapter: 1
Wow! That was unexpected, but a very fitting end to a touching story. Great job! I hope you keep writing more stories as good as this saga has been!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126172Chapter: 1
::cries, again::

Dammit, Stubefied! I was right, then, she DID become Catherine Granger. What an excellent, touching, poignant letter. I love this entire series SO MUCH. Your writing style is so reserved yet informational and wonderful.

PLEASE write more of anything after HBP -- I will look for your name eagerly on the 'New Fan Fic' list.

~TPR

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --