The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Angels
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: SweetSiriusDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141035Chapter: 1
Nigella,

It's lovely. There is so much I like about this. I love the idea - which I had never even considered - that Cedric was a good friend of Zach's, and that perhaps this can go some way towards explaining his behaviour at times. The backstory on his family is really poignant, and I like how significant little tells slip through his narrative - like about Aaron catching him crying. His view of Harry is also very real, from the point of view of someone who hasn't known him since the beginning as we all have. It's such an original and VERY well written idea. I like how you've made him really honest, and this illuminates that feeling everyone gets where they fly off at the mouth, and the frustration that they just haven't been able to make themselves understood. Everyone sees things so clearly from their own point of view.

This really is a lovely piece.

All the Best,

~SweetSirius~

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-03-14
Reviewid: 140932Chapter: 1
Ah, yes I see what you mean about the religion. It's an interesting question, whether the HP world has a God. Luna's speech at the end of HBP seems to suggest some form of life after death, which is interesting. I hope Zach does get to meet his twin, and Cedric.

I really liked how you showed the kindness and general good heartedness of the Hufflepuffs - being more helpful toward younger players and being kind to Zach even though he doesn't quite fit in. I liked how you suggested Zacharias' loneliness - his feeling of deprivation because of his dead twin, and of being the odd one out fits well with his attitude - he seems to have a chip on his shoulder about something but he also seems just a tad lonely. I liked the characterisations of the people on the Hufflepuff team - the gentle - on - the - ground beater, the apologetic Summberby, in need of his ancestors charms. It was gently humourous but also suggested the camaraderie of the 'Puffs. And I like how you had the shadow of Cedric's death hang over everything. For you lonely Zacharias I can see the charaismatic Cedric taking him under his wing would be a very important experience. The part about him not wanting anyone else to have Cedric's broom brought a lump to my throat- it captures this Zacharias so well - his resentment, his frustration, his fundamental decency, and his intense affection for his friend.

It will be interesting to see if you can translate it to a post HBP Zacharias. I'd like to know what's goin on in that obstinate head of his during HBP.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-01-31
Reviewid: 139113Chapter: 1
Very Well Done. Thanks.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126854Chapter: 1
I apologize for the curtness of my first review. I wrote it at a time my
computer wasn't working perfectly. I've decided that I owe you a full review.

I've never noticed the similarity between the the names of the 'Puff
Seeker Summerby and the inventor Felix Summerbee before! Now that you
mention it, it does make since for the two to be related!

You've mentioned Ted Tonks before and how you believe that Ted and
Andromeda were probably 'Puffs. I assume you believe that Nymphadora was
in this House as well. In this fic, it's nice how Ted and his wife act as
surrogate parents to Zach.

Overall, interesting fic. Since Zach is a religious character, he thinks
about the afterlife, and since he's lost both his twin Zoe and his friend
Cedric, of course he'd be wondering about whether heaven exists.

Thanks to both you and Grace for information about Hufflepuff. As for my
own character he is actually one year behind the trio. (Had I joined a
year earlier I would've been in the trio's year.) Thus I don't know who
my contemporaries are in canon, although Grace gives both Summerby and
Eloise Midgen as Hufflepuffs in my year. (The latter's house is actually
unknown, but fanon usually gives her house as Hufflepuff.)

I enjoy your fic, and hope that you'll write more (maybe even about
Hufflepuff again) in the near future.

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2005-07-11
Reviewid: 126824Chapter: 1
What a great way to make a side character come into his own! I loved it.

Reviewer: zaraDate: 2005-07-10
Reviewid: 126714Chapter: 1
sniff.. beutiful.

Reviewer: ZoeDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126578Chapter: 1
I always considered my self a “Gryffindor” but lately I‘ve been thinking that I’d be truly honored if I was sorted in Hufflepuff. Being fair and hard working are great virtues.

Cedric was a great character and I miss him. I loved the way you started the story. Seeing the Hufflepuff Quidditch team trying to honor Cedric’s memory was very touching.

Very touching indeed.

*** I’d love to be able to whack a few Bludgers in their direction for a change****

I can understand why he’d like that. They were really hard on him in OotP,. :-)

You built a lovely background story for Zacharias.
I can really relate to his love for flying.

*** whenever I stared up at the sky, I was striving for the better life to come, looking beyond this dark world to the place Zoe had found! Zoe. It’s equivalent to Eve, and means ‘life’. What sort of life would that be, I wonder? She only had a few months here on Earth, so I hope she’s having a good one, where she’s gone… ***

That’s simply beautiful. You have a way with words.
Now, I’m even happier you used my name. ;-)

I loved it!

*kisses*

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126449Chapter: 1
Very interesting take on Zacharias' character. He's a bit of a joke in canon, but I know what you mean about saying stupid things and regretting them later. Or saying valid things, but in a stupid manner, that alienates people. I've done it more times than I care to remember... :-)But it doesn't mean he's a smarmy idiot, like Malfoy, since he does do the right thing, despite what he says. And I enjoyed the made-up background, which adds some depth and unexpected angles to his character. Yes, Zach has suddenly become more interesting to me. Congrats!

Reviewer: Godric's HollowDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126376Chapter: 1
Wow, this is quite removed from your previous story *coughGETWRITING!cough*. I really enjoyed reading about life from someone elses point of view, someone quite different. I enjoyed the liberties you took with his character too. Maybe after HBP you could do a second story, from someone elses POV? I think you are really great with writing characters in the first person .
BRAVA!

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126353Chapter: 1
Wonderful glimpse into the hidden side of Zach Smith! I very much like the way you explored the difficulties some Muggle-born students would face in dealing with separation from their families. I was also touched by the way Zach reacted to Cedric's death; most people forget that Cho can't have been the only one who suffered.
Good job!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126330Chapter: 1
Yay, you posted your Zach story! I like how you describe Zack's religious debates with the Jewish Anthony Goldstein, and of course his thoughts on how to best honor the memory of his teammate Cedric.

Thanks for the information on Hufflepuff. (Sorry I haven't responded to your PM's lately -- my computer hasn't been working lately.)

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126241Chapter: 1
Wow. Thanks Nigella for the wonderful Zacharias Smith story! I've always thought there was more to him, and this back-story is really plausible and fits really well with canon (I love the mention of Cho - it fitss what I've been going on about at the moment, with my awe of writers and the 'little details'). You've given his character so many layers, and given people a way to empaphise with him. I've so wanted to, ou see, he reminds me a little of me (coughargumentativecough).

Very well done!

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126215Chapter: 1
You know, you might have warned me that you were posting this, instead of leaving me to discover it by accident and then sitting there reading with my mouth hanging open! Why, oh why have you never finished "Dreamless Sleep?"

This is wonderful--you took a minor character who is meant to be disliked, and made him not only interesting, but sympathetic. The writing was well done, the story unique, and the emotions very strong. I really enjoyed looking at Harry, Ron and Hermione from a distance, and thought you really hit the nail on the head with the appearance they must have to "outsiders."

I really hope that this is the first of more writing from you. I send you "Virtual" Mince Pies from across the pond. ;o)

p.s.-favorite line: "honestly, you lose two Weasleys, you gain two Weasleys…how many of them are there?)"

Reviewer: Ashtur an'VanganDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126167Chapter: 1
Very nicely done :) We have very different views of Zacharias, but yours works very well :)

I'm glad to see we both have the same thoughts about Cedric's broom on the wall as well.

Reviewer: MilayaDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126158Chapter: 1
Wow. It's always nice to read pieces from the perspective of minor canon characters, and this one is just amazingly well-done. I love the way you've taken Zacharias's surly, abrasive personality in OotP and managed to make him sympathetic and even endearing while still making his characterization fit with canon, especially with his bitter comments about the Weasley twins! I also love the background you've given him. His ultra-religious upbringing makes sense given his unusual name, and the idea of him having religious discussions with Anthony Goldstein is just perfect. The whole piece is just wonderful.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126141Chapter: 1
Oh, Nigella, this is just wonderful. You have developed Zacharias with such layers and emotions, giving us his whole story and a poignant understanding of who he is, and why he is. It fits wonderfully with canon, and I love his realistic asides >>(honestly, you lose two Weasleys, you gain two Weasleys…how many of them are there?)<< and
>>I wish she’d look at me instead. She’s beautiful, and I could talk about Cedric - and Quidditch - for as long as she wants. But perhaps she only likes Seekers…)<<

I've said it before, dear, but your compassion makes Zach your own. He's yours. This story deserves to be widely read, and I'm happy to see it up here.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --