The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 17

Reviewer: iluvsiriusblackDate: 2007-07-12
Reviewid: 148524Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love Ms. Smyth is a great character.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-07-15
Reviewid: 144170Chapter: 1
Genius use of "Waddiwasi"! But what I really like is how you show that Remus, though graying and forlorn, still has that bit of Marauder in him. He's irresistible.
~Unabashed amusement lights up his features. "You've forgotten your romance novel."~

And again, Snape is so canonical:
He slips into the bookshop without notice, insults Remus on his mental deficiencies, and snarks everyone.

This is exactly what goes through my mind as well:
~"You teach children," I say, eyeing him with astonishment.~

And you've done a nice job with Tonks (where most people struggle), the pranking comic books, and the sleeping monster books.

"Whizz Hard Books." *shakes head in amusement*

A clever story!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143587Chapter: 1
"As much as I adore Catherine, I think Heath needs a new love interest this time."

Never in the world of fanfic have truer words been written! I can't wait to read more about Cory and Remus! Thanks for sharing!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: LittleTom45Date: 2006-05-04
Reviewid: 142535Chapter: 1
It has been a delight to read all of your stories. They are both creative and imaginitive. I found Mrs. Smith to be a very interesting charactor that reminds me of a old freind. You should seriouly condisder taking your hand at a published novel. I would buy one, so that would be one sale. Best wishes and hope to be see more of your work.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-15
Reviewid: 137222Chapter: 1
You ARE Soooo GOOD. Thank you gain.

Reviewer: Arwen999Date: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129249Chapter: 1
Hi! Me again!
So Lupin agreed to have tea with Miss Smyth... ^^

[Quote]"My brightest smile lights my face. I don’t even know his name. But I’ve been anticipating this moment ever since he first wandered into my shop on Valentine’s Day. I can’t believe he’s really here in my little bookshop this morning, having tea with me."[/Quote]

I bet she's happy! I would be if I were her!

[Quote]"The woman stares down at me over her turned-up nose, then surveys the tea tray on my counter. A condescending frown works over her features. Oh, Doxie droppings! The woman ignores my pleas and turns to her child.

“My little Bertha is a perfect angel, aren’t you lambkins?” She gives the spoiled brat an indulgent pat on the head.

The imp flashes her mum a toothy grin, but sticks her tongue out at me the minute her mother’s back is turned. The recalcitrant child proceeds to blow the largest bubble I have ever seen. The resulting pop threatens to cover in sticky blue goo three of the rarest and most expensive volumes in my shop. My fingers itch for my wand."[/Quote]

Oh, I hate when children are badly behaved! Grrr! Spoiled by their parents, and ready to bother anyone without being punished. I wish this little girl has her tongue glued to the gum, to give her a lesson about manners. And I wish her mum to have gum in her hair (just to show her how "angelic" her little Bertha can be).

[Quote]"Whatever will my customers think of me? I can’t let them catch me being rude. But I can’t abide this cretin in my shop either. I glance around. The handsome gent has vanished from sight. Drat it all! Where has my Heath gone?"[/Quote]

Oh! How disappointing for Miss Smyth! The best thing to be terribly angry! I hope Malfoy's minion will be hexed soon!

[Quote]"While I’m distracted, the big oaf barges right past me, plods to my private nook behind the counter, and settles his carcass into my overstuffed chair. He leans back, folds his massive arms across his barrel chest, and props his great muddy clodhoppers up onto my counter next to my tea tray. The faint scent of dragon dung wafts through the shop, remnants of last night’s escapades. I wrinkle my nose and grimace."[/Quote]

Well... he's not well behaved either... I wonder how Miss Smyth will manage to get rid of him!

[Quote]"Wads of chewing gum streak from the girl’s surprised gob and fly straight up the great bully’s nostrils. The girl lets out a shriek that would rival a Banshee’s. The lumbering lout howls and jumps up from the chair, his great meat hook of a hand clamped over his nose. He utters a stream of curse words not fit for polite company. I stuff my fist into my mouth to stifle my giggles. I couldn’t have planned this better if I tried.

“What’s the matter, lambkins?” The mother rushes to her spoiled brat’s side, full of solicitude and concern.

“My gum. My gum.” The wailing child points a sticky finger at my nemesis. “He stole it.”

Before I can blink, the irate mother storms across my bookshop toward the big bully. She wags a manicured finger in his face and begins her diatribe, her berating screams drowning out his curses.

“Why, you horrid man. Stealing candy from a child. You should be ashamed of yourself...”"[/Quote]

Love this (and the whole passages before and after). Very funny!!!

[Quote]"The shop door clicks open amid the tinkling of more bells. The spell breaks. Mr. Lupin and I spring apart as if hit by a defensive jolt. My better reason takes hold. After so many disappointments, you’d think I’d know better. Instead I blindly follow the lantern of love until squelch…some callous bloke tramples my heart to bloody pulp like a Hinkypunk."[/Quote]

Damn! Why is there ALWAYS something bothering them? I feel as if I was in my own life! Poor Miss Smyth!

[Quote]"I spot a rotted banana peel under the display. Those damned comics and their practical jokes."[/Quote]

LOL Wouldn't have thought of that!

Hmmm... the woman is Tonks, right? I mean, she's clumsy, she has a young voice, and... okay, I avow it: my eyes fell on the disclaimer and I saw her name in the list of the characters... ^^

[Quote]"I stuff the pages back into the carpet bag and stare from the older woman to Mr. Lupin. It all makes sense now. How Mr. Lupin knew the ending to my novel. The identity of his elderly lady friend. I stand in the presence of the Wanda Witherspoon."[/Quote]

I wonder what Tonks will reply (and how Snape will react).

[Quote]"But I’m certain there’s no mistake. A brilliant idea takes shape in my head. I can see it now. A book signing with Wanda Witherspoon. Women will be lined up for blocks outside my shop. My little bookstore will be saved."[/Quote]

"Selling the skin of the bear before having killed it," we say in French. I think Miss Smyth is a little too enthusistic. I suspect that she'll be disappointed soon...

[Quote]"I bristle at his sarcastic tone, well aware that I have just been insulted. But my surprise at his appearance has rendered me mute. How did he sneak in here without my noticing? How long has he been behind me? Did he witness my flirtation with Mr. Lupin? Color heightens on my cheeks. I feel like an errant school girl, caught snogging in the restricted section of the library."[/Quote]

Very embarrassing! ^^

[Quote]"“I will not be made the object of ridicule by having my words reduced to the torrid dialogue of a romance novel.”"[/Quote]

And yet, how torrid those words are! LOL (sorry, I had to say it! ^^)

[Quote]"“You and this vicar are acquainted?”

“Vicar?” Mr. Lupin’s eyes sparkle with laughter. The corners of his mouth twitch.

Ms. Witherspoon sputters a guffaw and turns away. I fail to see the joke.

“Madam, I am Severus Snape.” The vicar’s proud nose sniffs. He fixes me with a withering glare. “Potions master at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.”

“You teach children?” I say, eyeing him with astonishment."[/Quote]

Made me laugh hard, imagining Miss Smyth's bewilderment! (and Snape's and Lupin's reactions).

I'm not surprised that Snape adds "“Presently unemployed,”" to Lupin's presentation. He'd deserve a little slap for that (but a very little one ^^).

[Quote]"The white knight returns a congenial grin, deflecting every pointed barb aimed in his direction with a good-natured smile. Perhaps my initial estimation of this man was not so far off. He may not be a writer, but I cannot deny that he has a certain panache."[/Quote]

I definitely agree!

[Quote]"Wanda Witherspoon?” I say, bewildered. “A typewriter?”

“Not just any typewriter,” the elderly Miss Tonks says as a youthful smile overcomes her face. “An enchanted typewriter. Give it a plot and a few lines of dialogue and it produces a best-selling romance novel.”"[/Quote]

I hadn't thought of this! Brilliant!

[Quote]"“Most recently,” Mr. Lupin says. “It’s remained in the custody of a friend of ours who’s been…erm…housebound.” He averts his gaze from my face for a fleeting moment. “We thought it would give him something to entertain himself. Miss Tonks here had the idea to publish the volumes. We had no idea they’d become best-sellers.”

“This is all very fascinating,” I say, staring from Mr. Lupin to Miss Tonks. “But what does this have to do with me?”

“My friend wanted you to have it.” Mr. Lupin rests his hand on my arm, his expression earnest. “He thought that you could get more use out of it.” The serious look melts into an amused grin. “And with your imagination, there’s no end to the stories that you could produce. I can recommend a publisher at Whizz Hard Books who’d be very interested in your manuscript.”"[/Quote]

So Sirius was beyond all of this! (Sort of) Well, it seems that it will bring good luck to Miss Smyth! And I liked the name of your publisher (well found!).

[Quote]"“Allow me,” says the white knight, offering his hanky."[/Quote]

Cute! Sniff!

[Quote]"“Cory?”

“Yes?” I spin around, not daring to hope that things might be different this time.

The gentleman stands, his hand stayed on the doorknob of my shop. He glances back at me. A slight blush colors his face.

“Would you have dinner with me tonight?” he says.

Dear Sweet Merlin! My ears must be deceiving me. Did he just ask me out? My heart has never flittered so fast.

“I’d be delighted.” A giddy smile spreads over my lips. “I close up shop at seven.”

“I’ll meet you here at eight then.”"[/Quote]

FINALLY!!!
I feared he would leave her shop definitely!

[Quote]"My fingers glide over Wanda’s keys. The typewriter springs to life, keys clacking away in rhythm. Wisps of steam rise from the page. If Whizz Hard Books wants another best-selling bodice-ripper, Wanda Witherspoon will oblige. Her next romance will be so hot that it will melt the rivets off an Iron Maidenform brassier."[/Quote]

Very funny!!!
I loved that last piece of work too! Really! It gave me lots of fun!!!
Very good work! ^______^

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127247Chapter: 1
Thanks to all who have read and especially to Pink, Morag Camshron, Patricia Shea, Tash, corvidae, Snuffle's Girl, Astrid, Milaya, vingin, and David Wolfskill for your kind reviews. To those of you who left contact information, I have responded with with more personal thanks. I appreciate your words of encouragement and constructive criticism. I'm having such fun writing this series. You have no idea how great it feels to know that others are enjoying it as well.

With Thanks,
Eudora

Reviewer: PinkDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127077Chapter: 1
I loved this! When so many people are focused on the more depressing areas of HP since it's so close to HBP, reading something light and fun is SOOOO refreshing. Keep up the great writting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127066Chapter: 1
Oh, brilliant, Eudora Hawkins! I love the idea of the famous Wanda Witherspoon being an enchanted typewriter — and one confiscated by Arthur Weasley, at that. And I’m glad that Cory’s shop is saved for now. Would you let me mention your shop in a fic that I’m writing? I’d give you full credit, of course. (I’m not sure if the fic will ever see the light of day, but that’s beside the point.) Anyway, this is a wonderful story and I hope to see more from you on Miss Terpsichore (poor woman!) Smyth.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-07-13
Reviewid: 127038Chapter: 1
Enchanting..... Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126946Chapter: 1
That was absolutely marvelous...loved every bit of it!

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126928Chapter: 1
well this is deffinitely one of my new favorite fics at the moment, the whole series so far is just delightful. it infuses my own love of books-trashy romances in particular- with a cozy blend of good warm writing and good warm characters. my one regret is that Ms. Smyth has come across as rather dumpy and frumpy. she keeps "prattling" and "bustling" and then there are cracks at her looks and her name is Terpsichore of all things! it made me sad because i didn't think so at first but now she seems much too old and pathetic for the placid, sexy remus you have painted. will you be remdying this in the future? and i do hope that there will be future chapters to this series. i think i'd just like to see that she can be less fussy and that most of it is her own ill-appearance to herself. very fabulour writing over all though, i truly enjoy reading and hope you will continue! *-*

Reviewer: Snuffle's GirlDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126913Chapter: 1
Oh excellent! I've read all of this series and I really like them. You seem to have really made the characters act in character. I'm very impressed! I can't wait to read the next one!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126900Chapter: 1
I should've known Sirius had something to do with those crazy romances that stole Snape's speech! Good work. Yea- Cory got a date and gets to keep her shop and gets to one-up Malfoy! I hope for another part, perhaps their date?

Reviewer: MilayaDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126894Chapter: 1
Lovely! I quite enjoyed the other fics in the series, but I absolutely adored this one. Miss Smyth is so endearing, and I love that you've made her slightly overweight and frizzy-haired. Her normal looks and her flustered actions make her such a real character. I also like the way you've made her interact with canon characters. Sirius, Remus, Snape, and Tonks all felt quite in-character, and I especially enjoyed Vicar!Snape. There are so many lovely, hilarious moments in here. Since we're so close to canon and everyone's angst mechanisms seem to be working on overdrive, thank you for writing something so light and fun!

Reviewer: vinginDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126882Chapter: 1
great. i loved it. the whole sereis in fact.

Reviewer: David WolfskillDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126879Chapter: 1
Very nice! Funny, too. :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --