The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Red Alert
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-05-15
Reviewid: 148011Chapter: 1
Megan, my new friend!

I love this story. But then, I would, since all of my fan fics are from Molly's POV.

And I truly believe that the apple falleth not far from the tree. My own kids and grandkids are living proof of that. So each of the children getting one or more interests and talents of their parents seems quite likely to me. Fabian and Giddeon must be proud of their little sister.

Reviewer: fizzjamsDate: 2007-04-17
Reviewid: 147793Chapter: 1
i got it when msgonagall cught them.. not very bright of me

Reviewer: NannyOgg1970Date: 2007-04-17
Reviewid: 147792Chapter: 1
First off I thought it was Fred & George, then Bill & Charlie, it was only when McGonagall was saying about Red One being a naughty girl, that I realised it was Molly & Arthur. I enjoyed this story very much and look forward to reading more by this author.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141109Chapter: 1
In the language of the tale – Bloody BRILLIANT. A truly exceptional piece. Thank you for posting it.
I knew who it wasn’t with the 3 m statement, but now who it was until the Miss statement.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131247Chapter: 1
LOL, loved it! When Red Two mentioned his hair, I thought it was Arthur, but when their conversation turned to their interested and possible future jobs, I was sure they were Bill and Charlie! When you revealed Red One to be a girl, though, I had them unmasked - quite late, I know! ;)
WONDERFUL!

Reviewer: LiDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130296Chapter: 1
yes, i love Molly as a kid and Arthur. Love the way you've made her the stronger character instead of being sexist like some d**heads around. Storyline gr8, just the right amount of suspense, in a nutshell- beau-ti-ful!
P.S. It's "'still' waters run deep" not quiet waters.;)

Reviewer: megan levvyDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129169Chapter: 1
i didn't guess who it was for AGES, but i was a bit suspicious when you put in the "she" and when dumbledore let slip with the "Miss..." i didn't think it was any of the weasley kids we know. I thought it just might be harry and ginny at one point, but then when they were talking about red headed children, i guessed it'd be Molly and Arthur.

Thanks for a great read, i love your stories!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128083Chapter: 1
Quite a charming story. However, the characters didn't fit Ron and Ginny and I got too imapatient - I admit. I skimmed down to find their names!

Reviewer: aylaDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127405Chapter: 1
I loved this story. I think it was spot on about telling the story of Arthur and Molly :)

What gave it away for me was when Red Two ran his hand through his hair and a clump of it came out and they are bald by the time they are 40 and that Molly in the Harry Potter books is quite bossy and Arthur does whine. LOL :p

Thanks again Megan for this wonderful story that made me laugh {grins}

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-07-18
Reviewid: 127362Chapter: 1
Very cute and clever, Megan! I like the way you incorporated in smaller, often overlooked and forgotten canon facts (such as Professor Kettleburn retiring so as to spend time with his remaining limbs) into your story.

I’d say that the puzzle really started clicking into place for me when you mentioned that Red Two enjoyed Ancient Runes. That’s when I remembered that you’d already said that Red Two had hair that was thinning at the temples — none of the Weasley boys, to my knowledge, have thinning hair yet, and all of them have graduated from Hogwarts except for Ron (and he doesn’t take Ancient Runes).

I particularly loved the Howlers: the way that they were phrased seemed very realistic (you can definitely see where Molly got her excellent yelling voice from!) and I enjoyed Molly saying that when SHE had children she’d never send them Howlers! Children tend to make promises like that, but then when they become parents…

And yes, I can definitely see Molly as a bit of a rebel when she was younger — their children (the twins in particular) had to inherit that mischievousness from SOMEWHERE, and I’ve always rather thought that they (mainly) got it from Molly.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: Sylvia AlvarezDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127293Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Truly just the morsel we need before Harry arrives. Going to bed now and wait for the UPS man... sort of like being a kid again and waiting for Santa....sorry, back to your story. I really love it. All you said about children and their parents can be so true. If I was a teenager today, I would be a borderline Goth who loved Scifi,hard rock and made my mother miserable, just like my son! Please write more!

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127292Chapter: 1
Oh that was GREAT! I loved that!

"How much trouble could one freckled little girl possibly get into?” Indeed!

I admit I didn't figure it out until a little over half of the way through.

Anyway, good job, I thought it was wonderful.

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: RoDate: 2005-07-16
Reviewid: 127280Chapter: 1
Well done! It was quite well paced and well written. I found the whole of it to be rather enjoyable, despite my pessimism. I usually avoid fics where it appears that the author will try to conceal their characters' identities because such a difficult task is so often clumsily done. Yours wasn't.

My favorite part was the passage near the end in McGonagall's point-of-view. Although I have one tiny issue with it. You write that "young Ron looked promising," regarding chess... but he had already beaten her chess set enroute to the SS/PS--under extreme pressure, no less--surely that would make her realize his skills were legit.

And, for the record, I couldn't figure out who it was (I kept bouncing around between different characters) until the Mr. Pringle reference. ;)

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127264Chapter: 1
This was great fun to read! It was just what I needed to still my must-get-book-6 twitching.

At first, of course, I thought Fred and George, then Bill and Charlie, then Fabian and Gideon. I figured it out after the "Miss" from Dumbledore. :)

Reviewer: HPFreakDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127260Chapter: 1
Sweet! For most of the first part I thought it was Bill and Charlie! I got it when Red 1? 2? was addressed as "Miss," though

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127256Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. It was like a mystery, a very descriptive mystery. At first I thought Ron and Ginny. Then, I started thinking about it being Lily and another redhead. But after you mentioned the caretaker being, Pringle. It made sense. Molly and Arthur! Delightful story.

Reviewer: LindaDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127252Chapter: 1
Great story! I had the right generation when one of them said "I'm older than you by more than three m...", and I assumed m for minutes, which implied Arthur and a twin brother to me. But I figured our Arthur and Molly when Red One was referred to as "she". Very clever, thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: DrezellaDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127243Chapter: 1
Ok, so I figured out who they were (or at least started) when Dumbledore said "Miss...". At first I thought it was Fred and George, but those thoughts quickly subsided when they started speaking of their interests, at which point I thought it was Bill and Charlie, but then one said something about being 3 minutes older...I was going to scold you about mistaking the two of them for twins, but then it got even more confusing and I couldn't figure out WHO they were until the "Miss" comment. Overall, job well done- it's really hard to keep the audience in suspense for that long. Great characterization, and I understand about the hypocritcal parents thing. My dad...well, that's another story. Props!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127236Chapter: 1
Really interesting... ok, honest answer, I figured it out a few lines after you starting using "she" (after I ran through all the possible girls in my mind and finally hit on it)

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127231Chapter: 1
That was so wonderful and funny. You had me guesssing all over the place reagarding the identities of Red One and Red Two (Bill and Charlie, Fred and George, I even considered Fabian and Gideon Prewett) but having it being Molly and Arthur was the best option all around.
Thanks for the laugh!

Reviewer: LadybugDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127226Chapter: 1
Fabulous! Now I don't mind so much that you're going to abandon 'Summer of Truths' if you're going to give us more great stories like this - keep them coming! (but if you feel so inclined, please write more SoT?)
This was great stuff - yes I worked my way through all the Weasley kids (except Percy!) until about the time that they were in McGonagal's office - I started to wonder then, especially when she said 'Miss...'
I love the irony of the howlers and the 'sweet and guiless' Ginny. Very clever and enjoyable fic. Well done!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127215Chapter: 1
That was fun! I first realized it here: "Young lady," McGonagall glared at Red One, "your wild behavior is entirely inappropriate for a girl..."
You had me thinking it was Bill and Charlie, only I thought something wasn't quite right, and it felt like everything fell into place when it turned out to be Molly and Arthur. Nice work!

Reviewer: martDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127212Chapter: 1
Loved this story just as much as your previous one. The one thing i did have an issue with was McG's view of Percy. As a teacher, I've always remembered the troublemakers with great fondness, true. But the really smart and eager ones are the ones I loved best, even if they did seem sycophantic at times.

Other than that, it was brilliant.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-07-15
Reviewid: 127208Chapter: 1
Let's see, I figured it out when *embarassed grin* the Howlers called out their names. *blushes* You had me going! Were they the twins, were they Bill and Charlie, were they Ginny and Ron, or were they the next generation of Weasleys that are left to our imagination? (i.e. Ron and Hermione's kids, Ginny and Harry's) Then I saw that they might end up married, and I was really confused. Excellent work! I love fics where you don't know the main characters. And I love to think that Molly and Arthur were brilliant little daredevils and mischief makers.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --