The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 282

Reviewer: AbaebaeDate: 2008-12-27
Reviewid: 151292Chapter: 1
Hermione's diary series are awesome, but can you finish book five? I wish to know Hermione's thoughts for future events.

Reviewer: paolitaDate: 2008-03-22
Reviewid: 150643Chapter: 2
Hi arabella. I can't say how much I admire you. I'm chilean, but I'm studying translation in encglish and japanese, so I've get reading in english as much as I can. I'm sure my english writting is not quite allright, but I hope I can make you understand me. I've read all Harry Potter's books last year (in spanish), and my boyfriend gave me the seventh book in english for my birthday, last november. since then I've been kind of obssesed about it, and looking for good fanfictions. I must say that I've enjoyed your fanfics even more than the first three books. and I realize what you feel about the fifth one, i founded it really sad too, and if I were you I wouldn't want to write about it eather, but if i may say, if there's someone that can make that book a bit more tolerable is you, and i'd be very, very sad if you quit writting this wonderfull fanfics of yours. I must also tell you that I've never been so keen to fanfics, but whenever that one book or Tv series or something have made an impression of me, I try to seek what other fans with a bit more imagination than myself write to calm their own urge to keep on being connected to that particular world. I must say than from now own I'm your biggest fan, and that if you don't keep writting, this storie I'll be just uncomplete for awhile. I don't ask you to keep writting about this particularly sad book, but the other two are lighter, and I'm really dying to know how, Hermione lives the last two books, specially that one first kiss. I've been breaking my head to make a good way for her to talk to Gwen about it and I just can't, with all the other things and stuff. (OMG I hope I haven't spoiled the book for someone!!!, so sorry if I did! T_T).
well, that's about it, I just wanted to tell you this things, 'cause you deserve to know how far your art has traveled, and how important have you become to a chilean girls xD. Might be strange isn't it?.
Ok so that's it,
Love from Chile, and a lot of courage
Paola
PS: Do you have anye original writting that I can read about? I'd really love to.
PS.2: By the way, I usally can't stand original characters, but I just LOVED Guinivere, I've always been crazy about king Arthur's legend. ^ ^

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2007-11-03
Reviewid: 149808Chapter: 3
Dearest Arabella,

I'd like very much to second Neana's suggestion, which she made in her post of 2007-08-18. If you ever do feel the inclination to write fan fiction again, I'd love to read the last chapter of HQoW, Book 7. Not only do I miss Hermione's narration of her life apart from Harry, but I've also become extremely fond of Gwen, and would like to hear from her one more time, at least.

Speaking for myself, I think we've all become extremely spoiled by your wonderful writing, and it's very hard for your fans to allow you to have a life of your own, but of course you deserve one. Many thanks for all you've given us so far.

Purrs,
Serval Cat

Reviewer: nobodyDate: 2007-10-14
Reviewid: 149630Chapter: 3
arabella,
First of all, I'd like to say congratulations on your engagement. You must be estatic! I wish you nothing but the best!
Secondly, I really enjoy HQoW and I hope you can post some more of the diary soon. I was so looking forward to reading it before DH, because that's when you said you'd be back at flourish and blotts. But I know you have a life outside of HP, and now I can see how you've been busy.
I'll keep checking though!
Please post more!

Reviewer: rotemDate: 2007-10-14
Reviewid: 149626Chapter: 3
well... it definitely took a while, but I've read all of your HQoW fics, and I have to say that I just loved them all. Gwen is just amazing, your Hermione and Ron are exactly how they should be... but the greatest thing is that you've helped me fill in the blanks- aspecially the whole Viktor and Hermione stuff (I always wondered how he asked her to the yule ball...)
it is a pitty though that you're not going to finish it, but at least now I can move on to reading your other stuff : )

Reviewer: MimDate: 2007-08-30
Reviewid: 149103Chapter: 1
Hello, Arabella!
Since I can't see to find any other way to contact you (besides the Sugar Quill forums, but I think if you don't drop by here, you won't view them either), I'm writing you here...
Some days ago, I came across some of your fanfictions (I found them over artdungeon.net) and I started to read "Dare", because it was that kind of story which captivated me, even though I didn't plan to read on first. Then I read "Hermione, Queen of Witches, Book One", "Book Two" and "The Very Secret Diary", and I already started "Book Three". I found all of them really great: it is very interesting to read the books from the point of view of another character, and especially if it's so well done. You kept absolutely in character all the time, I loved how you showed some typical characteristics, like Hermione's way of over-emphasizing things or her favourite word "honestly". :) And in "The Very Secret Diary" you perfectly portrayed both Ginny and Tom Riddle, how he avoids her personal questions about his own life and how he constantly manipulates her, and how she is unsure about herself and what she did, and even the way she sees Harry - that he is polite and modest and that he doesn't smile often - aspects which we get to kow in the books, but which we don't think about since they're written from his point of view.
To cut a long story short - while reading your fanfictions, I really felt like translating them into German. (I even started to think about how I could translate the anagram Viane Folo - that was fun.) And now I would like to ask for your permission to do that. I think I don't need your permission to do that privately, but I would also like to submit the translation at fanfiction.net or something, if I ever finish (I hardly ever get through something, but I will try). Needless to say that I would give full credit and link to the original fanfiction at Sugar Quill.
Would you allow me to do that? Please, please. I'd consider it an honour. :) If you want to contact me, you could send me an email at mimchan@gmx.at ^^
Sarah

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-08-18
Reviewid: 148916Chapter: 3
It must feel intimidating to think of a road you'd have to cross in order to get to book 7 HQoW. If you decide you don't feel like doing it could we have have the last chapter form HQoW 7? Hermione writing to Gwen after the battle of Hogwarts has ended. Pretty please! With sugar on top! (naturally I'd prefer the whole thing but I'mjust dieing to hear her thoughts about the kiss, about the time everyone thought Harry was dead, about the voldemort's end, elves...)

Reviewer: rachigurl5Date: 2007-07-24
Reviewid: 148631Chapter: 2
Oh, I'm rereading this now, and do I ever miss Gwen now that the whole, lovely Potterverse has seen it's close. You write beautiful stories that are helping to ease the end of Book VII for me, and I'm grateful.

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-06-21
Reviewid: 148306Chapter: 3
This fanfic is one of rare internet places which I keep revisiting every few months years after I moved on. I enjoy this fanfic as much as I love Canon - it filled so many gaps and brought so much to the original story. Characters and Hermione particularly are incredibly spot on.
I understand how book five might of put you off writing - that is the only one of the 6 I never reread, never felt like going back there. But I'd really love to see book 6 from Hermione's perspective, I'm sure it would be a treat.
Anyways, I hope real life is being kind to you Arabella and we hope to see from you soon!

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2007-06-11
Reviewid: 148240Chapter: 3
well , im finished --- thank you very much for hours of wonderful reading -- if this is it -- just know we really appreicate you very much --- and if youre ever feeling down -- take some time and read these reviews -- not many people have strangers writing to them , telling them they love their work , and how great they are ---but you do ----

Reviewer: adelaidyDate: 2007-05-09
Reviewid: 147964Chapter: 1
Hey Arabella,
I know you check the review thread since you've posted here a couple times... was just wondering where you've been and if you'll keep to your word that you'll be back to post more of diary 5 (or 6 for that matter, anything written by you is always appreciated! And I'm dying to see Hermione's reaction to book 6...)and explain where you've been. Obviously everyone knows that life throws curve balls and sometimes you can't always keep your promises, and I hope that life is treating you right. Hopefully you'll be back around here before Deathly Hallows to give us a bit more Gwen and Hermione. If not, just pop in and say 'Hi!'; we all miss you!

Gracias,
Addy

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2007-02-17
Reviewid: 147221Chapter: 3
Dearest Arabella,

So good to know that you're still with us, and that you plan to
write some more. I just want you to know that I'd love to read
ANYTHING that you have to say about the HP books (or any other
topic, for that matter - you're such a superb writer)!

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "on the boards", as I am still
a bit of a novice when it comes to navigating through the Harry
Potter cyberverse. Could you post something here to let us know
a little more specifically where to find you?

Looking forward to more of your wonderful fanfics, especially the
HQoW series.

Purrs,

Serval Cat

Reviewer: DorisCrockfordDate: 2007-02-15
Reviewid: 147214Chapter: 1
Ooops. Just read your below message. Sorry! Just know your talent is appreciated, LOL.

Reviewer: DorisCrockfordDate: 2007-02-15
Reviewid: 147213Chapter: 1
Arabella, please write more. Please. If you aren't writing HP anymore, please let me know where I can read ANYTHING you've written. You are fab. :)

Reviewer: ArabellaDate: 2007-02-03
Reviewid: 147079Chapter: 1
Hello to those who may still be reading this - if you happen to look in the review thread, that is. I feel terrible that I haven't been back to update this story and that I disappointed people. But I do have good reasons for being out of touch, and I hope to be back at Flourish & Blotts very soon (before Deathly Hallows, at least), both to post a bit more of the diary and to explain where I've been. As soon as the news I hope to have is real news that I can share, I'll share it here on the SQ first. Until then, I hope to be on the boards a bit more, at least. I miss this place like crazy. -Arabella

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2007-01-13
Reviewid: 146854Chapter: 3
Hooray for Gwen! I'm very anxious to see when you reach the loophole, and tie the whole thing up. I've loved this series, and I'm sad to see it end, but I understand that -- like all good things -- end it must. Brava, madame, and hopefully it won't be long before we see the conclusion!

Reviewer: EriskayDate: 2006-12-27
Reviewid: 146633Chapter: 3
Ok, I've now read all of your HQoW-diaries and I really think you did right to continue it. This is a to good idea to be wasted. It has been a great pleasure to read your storys and I hope you will continue writing it. Gwen really makes me wish I had a diary that wrote back to me. :)

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-11-26
Reviewid: 146285Chapter: 1
Sort of amazes me how irritatingly impatient people get.

IM ME - I wouldn't call Arabella a "quitter". You have no idea under which circumstances she's not continuing this. And if you like the fic so much, why are you insulting the author?

Very good so far... I understand, however, if you don't want to continue. I hope you do someday, but for now, I can enjoy what you have. :)

Reviewer: IM MEDate: 2006-11-16
Reviewid: 146207Chapter: 3
are you ever going to finish this story or do that loophole thing!!! I hope you do! I don't like it when authors give up on their stories.Quitters never win and winners never quit! I also want to know what Hermione thinks in HBP. Please hurry! don't make us wait whole other year!

Reviewer: RevellynDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144989Chapter: 3
I can't believe you stopped there!!11!!! of all the worst places to do so... *dies of cataclysmic anticipation*.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2006-07-23
Reviewid: 144372Chapter: 3
It's been going on a year...planning to continue this? I wish you would, it's very good.

Reviewer: swishhhDate: 2006-07-22
Reviewid: 144361Chapter: 3
I couldn't believe my eyes. HQoW is back! Amazing! The insight of Hermione's feelings for Ron are perfect. I cannot wait until the next chapter.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144003Chapter: 3
Planning to continue this? It's quite good.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143352Chapter: 3
So... What exactly is this so-called "scam/cheat/loophole"?

Reviewer: adelaidyDate: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143220Chapter: 3
Hey Arabella!!?? When are you going to update? Or post HQoW 6? Or tell us if you're still working on it? Just let us know will you? We’re hanging in suspense!!

Reviewer: WickedWitchDate: 2006-05-30
Reviewid: 143126Chapter: 3
Oh are you ever gonna finish it? Or are you done with this story for good? I like what you write and how you write so much, I just can't wait to read the rest...

Reviewer: Behind_the_OmnioccularsDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142638Chapter: 3
Hello. I've been lurking on and off at this site since the year 2001. It's funny how the time flies. That was when you were writing Hermione's fourth year diary, and it was the first fan fiction I ever read. What a wonderful introduction it was!

I can understand completely why you don't want to re-visit OotP - I can't bring myself to read it again either. The sixth book is much happier despite the ending, and if there is one thing I want to read from Hermione's point of view, it's that book. However, I can still understand why you don't want to. It must be exhausting to go back and go through the books searching for so many details... I can only imagine... I would never dare to attempt anything like that.

I just have to say, you're my favourite fan fiction writer, and it's always so much fun to re-read these diaries. I wish you would continue. Gwen is a part of the HP universe in my mind now. :)

Reviewer: blizzardDate: 2006-05-06
Reviewid: 142587Chapter: 1
I have only registered a month ago but I have read Hermione's diaries for a long and very pleasant time and I simply can't wait calmly for your update. I know that since so many other people have already begged you for the next part my voice doesn't matter very much but I wouldn't forgive myself if I didn't write to you. I would love to read about both fifth and sixth books' events from Hermione's point of view, especially now when there's a year ahead of us before the seventh book edition. So please, please, continue with your story and everything will be fine!

Reviewer: renaeannetteDate: 2006-05-04
Reviewid: 142514Chapter: 1
I wanted to tell you that I love your work and I dont blame you in the least for not wanting to account for every little detail. A nice condenced version would be just fine as far as I'm concerned :) please do keep up the good work and I hope to be reading more soon :)

Reviewer: WickedWitchDate: 2006-04-27
Reviewid: 142307Chapter: 1
HQoW fifth year was shaping up to be so good... it's really a shame you're not going to finish it. Oh well, I suppose it must be a lot of work so I understand...

Reviewer: btvsnaDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141703Chapter: 2
I've noticed that you're using more British words in place of common American ones. Good job!

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141439Chapter: 3
This must be updated. It's, like, mandatory, because I have to know! Late night chats between Ron and Hermione...oh my word. Wonderful! Keep writing, PLEASE!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2006-02-14
Reviewid: 139822Chapter: 3
Has this been abandoned? How is your writing career progressing?
-MrRobertsIII@hotmail.com

Reviewer: doublelilyDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139803Chapter: 3
Oh...I do hope you continue!

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-01-11
Reviewid: 138359Chapter: 3
I know you must have heard this before but if you were infront of me I would have kneeled down and literraly BEG you to finish this fanfic, because I really like your writing and I know you said that you would most probably wont finish it but PLEAS; PLEAS; PLEAS AND PLEAS X100, can you finish it... You cant leave in te midair, and we all miss gwen and hermione writing like mad, we, and most of all I, would really apreaciate it if you would, It doesnt matter if you dont do the half blood prince one, even though that would be great, but pleas finish this, PLEAS!

Im sure you might be thinking: oh drop it, you little buger, but PLEAS!!! and I wont ask you for one more thing in the rest of my commenting life!!!!!

I even registered to make this everlasting beg!! pleas... pleas...

...

Reviewer: AdelaidyDate: 2005-12-13
Reviewid: 137083Chapter: 3
For the last few months I've been checking in here at the Sugarquill to see if you've updated book 5 of HQoW or if you had started your loophole and started book 6. If it wouldn't be much trouble, I was wondering if you could just leave an author's message or post on the reviews to tell your loyal readers how you’re writing. Even if you don't have any new chapters it would be nice to hear that you really are working on it. :)

And you have no idea how appreciative I am that you seem to have decided to continue writing in the Harry Potter fandom! I waited so long for you to update and actually gave up hope that I just what to reaffirm that you are really writing HQoW again!! And also, will there be a Ron Rants for the little bit of book 5? Or for book 6?

You know you're fabulous or I wouldn't be begging you to write more! I even registered so i could leave a comment! That seems new...I usually commented on your stories using "greeneyes"... anyway, Happy writing!!

And Happy Holidays too!

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2005-12-05
Reviewid: 136778Chapter: 3
Hey! Not to be a bother, but are you planning on writing more of this? I am always impressed by your ability to augment canon for me. It really does feel like reading the books from another side. And I also enjoy Gwen's advice so much.

Reviewer: pickledishkillerDate: 2005-11-28
Reviewid: 136394Chapter: 3
Wow. Okay, I have been reading through your stories for several days, and uh, you rock my toe socks. I totally loved Viktor, and Gwen is my hero. Please update soon, rock on.

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2005-11-27
Reviewid: 136351Chapter: 3
Thought I'd point out another spot where the "snogging retrofit" needs a little work. In HQoW 4, ch. 13, March 15, Hermione reports that Lavender says that Lisa Turpin saw Hermione kiss Victor after the Yule Ball, but Hermione denies that it ever happened. But in your revised version, Hermione has already told Gwen (in Ch. 9) that she kissed Victor goodnight after the ball.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135493Chapter: 3
This chapter was great! I love it! I can't wait until you update!

Reviewer: aurora luminisDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135491Chapter: 1
Oh, this was sheer delight to read, both because of the talent you possess and just to see you 'back again'. I can well understand that the tremendous flood of writing that you did in 2002-2003 could have opened the door out...I hope you will continue to peek back in again every now and then. Truly, Arabella, you are in the top five of the most talented writers we have in HP fandom. What I appreciate especially in this is how Hermione is so truly Hermione. There is no passage from the one we know in JKR to the one we find in your own mind and heart.
Hopefully on of those return peeks will be at that truly miniature masterpiece born from the pen of Arabella & Jedi, Rising from Ashes: a work of art begging completion. How long must those two two young people, who entirely won your fans hearts, be left clinging to a cliff by their fingernails. The candle of hope for Rising from Ashes burns always,always, always.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135453Chapter: 1
I'm so glad you started writing these again! I've been waiting so long for an OoTP HQoW! You always do SO well on these.

Reviewer: AmberDate: 2005-10-29
Reviewid: 135345Chapter: 3
AWESOME! I was absolutely ecstatic when I saw that you have started this one. It is an awesome job as usual! I love how you bring Gwen to life and keep Hermione true to herself. It is wonderful to see another side of Hermione that we rarely get to see in the books. Great job! I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134663Chapter: 3
"Nothing's lacking, Hermione."

*sigh*!!! I came back just to read that part over again. Ah, I love Ronald.

Reviewer: SandraDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134615Chapter: 3
Hello! I'm an italian girl. I hope you understand my english because it isn't very good. I only want to tell you that I love your stories and I hope you go on with writing. I read the Hermione's diary of every yearand I like it so much as I like "Not a last Resort" and "Getting the point". I always want to read a story about Ron and Hermione. They're so nice!You're so good at writing albeit I'm italian and I don't understand everything, but because I'm obsessed with Harry Potter,I live with your stories while I wait the new Harry Potter's book get out.So I wis you all the good in the world. Thanks for all! But please continue writing!

Reviewer: VictoriaDate: 2005-10-14
Reviewid: 134461Chapter: 1
Really good fanfic! Just wondering--why did OotP make you so sad? Was it Sirius's death?

Reviewer: TinaDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134369Chapter: 3
I must say I really like this story, even more than the other ones. I don't know if I've mentioned this before, but I really love Gwen. She says everything I want to say to the characters when they are acting like teenagers! Great job.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134361Chapter: 3
I absolutely love your writing. I know you have said Harry Potter isn't in your life right now, but... could you please, please do book 6??? Thanks so much!

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134292Chapter: 3
I have long admired this story a great deal and am delighted that you are going on with it. Thank you.

Reviewer: WizzyDate: 2005-10-08
Reviewid: 133972Chapter: 1
You're wonderful writing, insight into Hermione's mind and incredible knack for describing events where Harry wasn't present is still as amazing as it was. Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133754Chapter: 3
Yay! Another one! Gwen is such an amazing character, she's as fully developed as any of the canon characters! I always know exactly how she'll react to things, and yet she makes me laugh by saying things that are completely unexpected - just like a real person does.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133519Chapter: 3
I have to admit, I started reading your HQoW about three years ago, and it's never really quite left my mind. I've read it, downloaded it, re-read it, deleted it [under the idea I'm "obsessed" - whatever that means!] and then re-copied it into Word to read at my leisure. I, as with many, believe #4 to be the end - so imagine my excitement to do a search for "HQoW" and get OoTP!! I know what you mean, about it being sad and hard to read - I felt exactly the same thing myself, and also with tHBP - I think because JKR is delving into much deeper emotional waters, focusing less on the cosy-school-friend atmosphere to one focusing more on pain and the realities of death and loss, they do become harder to read, although personally I think this is a grand achievement, as it can be seen to gradually evolve realistically through the books. Admittedly, I haven't even read HQoW - OoTP yet, but I had to comment, and I know it will be as amazingly written as the last. I'd love to read more from you, should you ever feel up to it -your fanfics are almost as highly ranked as the books themselves!

Don't stop writing - even if it's not HP.

Reviewer: Jiminy CricketDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133328Chapter: 3
I reckon the loophole wil be... Umbridge will confiscate Gwen... and try to force the secrets out of her... but she's so incompetent that she can't and Gwen just insults her like the Marauders map did to Snape...

I only ever play these sort of guessing cames with canon. But your stories are as good as. And I reckon JKR would like them too. I don't think I can give your writing a better compliment than that!

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133117Chapter: 3
I just wanted to say that I've read through all of these now (I stayed away from HP fic, but HBP just put me over the edge into obsession) and I've really, thoroughly enjoyed them. Just the idea that you might consider continuing is an absolute delight! :-)

I read After the End, too. Brilliant work!

Reviewer: starbbhpDate: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133074Chapter: 3
These are absolutely wonderful. I have been enjoying them so much! I read the first three years long ago, and was thrilled to discover recently that there are more! I hope this isn't the end. I am sorry if you don't enjoy the writing as you used to, but be certain that many people out there enjoy reading what you write!

Reviewer: VectoriaDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132848Chapter: 3
Hi! Love the new stuff. If OotP really depresses you so, I've got a "loophole" for you to speed up to HBP: what if, for some reason, Gwen couldn't leave Number 12 Grimmauld Place at the end of the summer before 5th year, something about the secret keeping, and the Order gets kind of peeved with her for putting so many important things in a mere diary? But she'd need to get it back in time for the hospital scene at the end of fifth year-- maybe the Order "purges" the diary and finally returns it to her? Just an idea. But, please, PLEASE CONTINUE!! HQoW makes you QoFF (Queen of Fan Fiction.) :)

Reviewer: QueenravenDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132630Chapter: 3
I'm so glad you picked up your quill and put out more of HQoW. I would love to give you some constructive critism, but I honestly can't find anything to critique. These diary entries are just so fascinating and I thoroughly enjoy reading them. I think you have really captured the essence of Hermione....it's just all so believeable.
I will be checking in frequently to see updates.

Reviewer: ChristynDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132475Chapter: 3
Oh horray! Even a few more pages of your work is good enough for me. I can't wait to see what the loophole is (they are fun to find, aren't they?) Might I just voice my hope that it's a way for Hermione to lose poor, worried Gwen until near the end or the very end of OotP and find her in time for you to write all the fun journal entrise Hermione might have had for HBP! Admit it, that book's not too horrible to go back through (though no one can blame you for not wanting to reread OotP by no means.) Anyway, I've rambled enough. Great job and, erm, welcome back I suppose.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132212Chapter: 3
This is wonderful, as always. I know you won't be writing all the way through the year, but it's so lovely to be able to read one of these again! For the first time, I mean. Thank you.

Reviewer: WizzyDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132025Chapter: 1
OMG, it's back, it's back!!!

Thank you so much Arabella for returning!!!! I lost hope you would. There was a long period of time when I'd check wheter there was more HQoW every single day... gradually I lost hope and stopped. And today I went to check it for who knows what reason and there it was... :O I swear I screamed when I saw it (and then started jumping and punching air while screaming yes repetedly). It's brilliant and I don't mind you skipping big portions of OoP if you do move on to HBP (poor Hermione, she0ll need Gwen so badly there).

This is my favourite HP fanfic. After HQoW (and everything alse you wrote - all bloody brillint) and ATE I stopped reading them for nothing ever came close.

I trully love you for returning :*
Wizzy

Reviewer: AsukaDate: 2005-09-08
Reviewid: 131954Chapter: 3
I read all the other diaries and I liked them very much. I hope this one will be as good as the others! I'm just a bit sad that Hermione really went of with viktor krum and stupid ron made her even... But really Ginny said it onde, have we confirmed that what she said is true, or just to spite him?

Reviewer: Mingo CortezDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131748Chapter: 1
I just checked back here for the first time in a long time- went to your author's page because I was craving some of your fantastic R/H stuff and did a complete double take. There was something new. And not just anything-- Year 5!

I won't even attempt to tell you how happy I am to see this. Or how wonderful it is. I've just... never read anyone else who gets it -so- right. Thank you!

Reviewer: FrancesDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131557Chapter: 3
I've reread your stories more times than I've reread the actual HP books.

Reviewer: francesDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131552Chapter: 3
Your work is great. Having said that, pppppplllllleeeeeeeeaaaassseeeee
write an HQoW for book 6. Please!

Reviewer: brucenadeau@yahoo.comDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131432Chapter: 3
i am glad you conituned the story.thank you

Reviewer: MDDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131293Chapter: 3
I'm so happy you've decided to start this installment. I'm hoping that whatever detour you take will only skip over the end of OOTP -- and that you'll still want to write years 6 and 7. There's just too much romantic goodness in HBP not to hear it all from Hermione's and Ginny's points of view.

Quite honestly, I felt the exact same way after OOTP. I didn't really want to reread it, and I had almost decided I was through with Harry Potter. It was too depressing for me. However, about a year later I reread the book, and was amazed to discover that I really enjoyed it. It's great to be back into Harry Potter fandom -- and I'm so glad you've decided to come back, too.

Reviewer: shaziaDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131101Chapter: 1
where are you?

Reviewer: Mione Granger WeasleyDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131025Chapter: 3
OMG!!! I'M LOVING IT!!!
PLEAAAAAASEEEE CONTINUE THIS STORY!! AS SOON AS YOU CAN!! PLEASEEE!!! I'm your fan, Arabella, I'm serious, if you keep writing like this you're going to take JKR's place! *serious joke*

Reviewer: chewingpixiestixDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131015Chapter: 1
Come on Arabella!!! Don't you dare stop writing HWoW now!!! I luved it when Ginny writes...her password is interesting. Keep it up!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130973Chapter: 3
YAY ILLICIT SPYING!!! But seriously please continue. At least with this book(OotP)because it's really good. I just finished reading all of the Hermione Queen of Witches stories and I LOVED them! Please continue!

Reviewer: Chrissy SparkleDate: 2005-08-25
Reviewid: 130838Chapter: 3
I am simply over the moon that you've decided to continue with HQoW!!! It's so exciting, I'm even willing to forgive whatever little 'detour' you've got in mind...as long as it's still a fairly lengthyish story, I'm delighted! Post the next chapter soon, please, I can hardly wait!

Reviewer: gbcDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130797Chapter: 3
Great Hermione and Ron interaction in this chapter! Nice way to tie in the DA conversation here. I also enjoyed Ginny's portion of the diary. You really seem to have her voice down.
I am curious to see what you do for the "loophole."

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130713Chapter: 3
Welcome back Arabella. I was starting to wonder if you were alive and well. I'll be waiting with baited breath for the next chapeter you have my curiosity aroused with all this talk of loopholes.

Reviewer: HilaryDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130654Chapter: 3
This fic series is absolutely amazing. I identify so much with Hermione, and I've wanted to read/write something along these lines for a long time, but I've never been able to figure out how. You did it FAR better then I ever could have hoped to. I hope you continue with this series, and with Ron's Rants as well. I've hardly bee nable to get any work done for wanting to jump online and finish this fic! :D

The way you captured Hermione's feelings about being a girl among boys is just perfect, and the personality you've given Gwen couldn't be better. It was such a clever idea to make her be Guinivere - you must have been channeling JKR or something.

Again, I do hope you continue to write this fic series, because I -desperatly- want to see how you would write her journal for book 6. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: gbcDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130564Chapter: 2
I can see why you decided not to finish this at the time. It's so upsetting to have to relive this through Hermione. It is interesting, however, to see the other side, with Ron and Hermione not being able to tell Harry anything.

Reviewer: RachDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130559Chapter: 3
Lovely, lovely, lovely. Ron and Hermione's chat up in Ron's room was perfect, and I love how Hermione is opening up more to Gwen about her feelings for Ron. Ginny is a sweetie, you have her spot on talking to Gwen. My admiration knows no bounds!

Be merry!
Rach

Reviewer: gbcDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130493Chapter: 1
What a treat to see HQoW updated. To be honest, I gave up reading fanfiction after OTP. I couldn't decide if I actually wanted to start again or not. I'm glad I did.
It is a wonder to me how you capture the essence of JKR. Your Hermione is just so...Hermione.
I found the added dynamic of Hermione and her parents very interesting, and plausible.
The way you had her arrive at 12 Grimmauld Place was very creative.
I look forward to more.

Reviewer: shazia manjiDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130440Chapter: 3
i'm am absolutely thrilled that you started a fifth diary. i was checking through ur work (because i absolutely love it and i was bored and sometimes i like to re-read ur fics) and i saw this and i had to rub my eyes and see if i was actually seeing it or not. i've been waiting FOREVER for u to do this.

why did u stop writing! ur brilliant, and i've seen the ammount of praise u get from ur writing. in the first chapter u said a couple years ago you stopped writing fan fiction FOR GOOD! and that shocked me. well i guess its ur business. sorry, i pryed. i won't ask anymore. i'll just encourage enthusiastically about how wonderful this one is.

i know you say that u don't expect this to be finished but i don't think i'll be able to help keeping my hopes up. i hope you include more conversations between ginny and gwen. i thought that was brilliant. how far do u think u'll go, even if u don't finish? because ur already on chapter three, and harry hasn't even arrived yet! which... wow that means ur writing before the actual book even started. that means this one will be SUPER long... not that i mind. just more of ur brilliant, amazing, awesome, wicked, intense, skilled writing!

even if u don't write anymore after this, i'm sure glad u wrote as many fics as u did be4 u stopped. i read them time and again when i'm bored. i never get tired of reading them. they're brilliant. ur brilliant. anways i'll go, and i just hope that u keep up the masterpiece you have started. :D maybe if u do finish, and u get many more brilliant reviews of praise and of people who are willing to bow down and kiss your shoes, because that's how good u are, then maybe u'll be inspired to do a diary for the sixth one. but i won't get my hopes up, i won't , i won't, i won't, i won't. o darn, they're already soaring. sorry. so i'll go now. keep writing and i'll keep reading, and reviewing. :D

Reviewer: ericaDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130342Chapter: 3
wow you really have to finish HQoW year 5
i love it SO much and i know a lot of others do to! OOtF was not my favorite book of the series but you make it so much better. i LOVE
the Hermione & Ron thing you have going. PLEASE CONTINUE!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ReaderDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130261Chapter: 3
I love your stories. I've never been big on Harry Potter fan fictions because I don't think anyone, besides you, has ever got the character of Ron right. A year ago a friend made a deal with me saying that if I read your HQoW and didn't believe you had gotten Ron's characterization down he'd go to a country music concert with me but if I did like it I had to listen to one rap song, I hate rap.
So thanks a lot for both making it where I had to listen to rap and for actually getting Ron's persona correct.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130195Chapter: 3
*huge silly grin*
*huge silly grin*
*laughter*
*dancing*
It's back! It's back! It's back! I'm soooooo happy! Hermione is BACK!
After having to watch the movies...Emma Watson just has no idea. THIS is Hermione. Totally and completely. I'm thrilled. I love this. Thank you so much for coming back. I feel redeemed. Yay! Oh, happy day!
I understand why you didn't want to write it...I haven't been able to reread it all the way through either...thanks fo putting yourself through it anyway. thank you.
it's wonderful. they're all back (except Harry, but he doesn't really come back in OotP at all anyway)! happy happy happy happy...
oh, and I loved the bit with Ginny.
I don't care how long it takes for another chapter, except that we better meet Tonks before the cheating-shortcut-thing.
ACK! Now I'll be in a good mood for the rest of the day...brilliant. wicked awesome. okay, I'll stop.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130119Chapter: 3
[Equality and all that. If it’s what the elves need so badly, then perhaps –
Oh, would you look at the time. I'd better go. Ginny wants me to read her letter to Michael and check her spelling.]

Hahaha! I don't know why I liked that exchange so much, but I really did. Hermione really is evasive when she doesn't like the direction of the conversation, isn't she? I love how you pick up on those clues from canon and incorporate them into your fic. And I love Gwen's voice, wise and gently nudging. I also really liked how you portrayed Ginny's relationship with Michael Corner. It feels like a real first relationship for a 14 year old girl.

[Ron looked at his feet and said, "Well, there's no one else in my room."
I wonder why I felt so flustered.]

Wow, it's little things like this that make your stories such a joy to read. Not only is there attention to canon and detail (of course Ron was rooming alone--the only one-- until Harry came!) but you also capture the sort of awkward innoscence of being in your early teens and having a crush on someone, where the idea of a boy and a girl being alone together is full of meaning, even if nothing happens. This brings back a lot of memories.

I loved Hermione's words about her friendships with Harry and Ron. JKR couldn't have said it better herself.

[Ron gave me a serious look – a really serious one, it was kind of odd – and said “Nothing’s lacking, Hermione.”]

Sigh. I think I just found a new quote to love. It really should be added to the 87 lexicology (even though I have no idea what 87 means.]

[Fred made his eggs float in the air in front of his face, and he just stuck his chin out and took bites of them when he wanted some more, rather than just picking them up with his fork.]

*snert* That's hilarious! I can really see Fred doing something like this. I love how you put in something silly and funny after a tense moment with Snape. I can imagine how weird it must have been for Ginny and Hermione to see Snape over the summer out of the context of school.

Great chapter! Can't wait to see Hermione's reactions to the Dementors set on Harry. Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: BetsyDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130103Chapter: 3
I have loved all of your stories, and especially your diaries and rants. I can imagine that they are tedious and Book 5 was rather depressing. However.... maybe you could just skip Book 5 and start a diary and rant for Book 6 instead!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130056Chapter: 3
You're back.
YOU'RE BACK!
I'm sorry, I promise to write a comprehendible review at some point, but I am just way too excited to finally see this. Your exodus from fanfic marked mine as well... After OotP, I was hesitant about getting back into fanfic. I checked regularly to see if you had written anything, as you were and remain my favorite fanfic author, but I gradually stopped doing that as well. But you're back now!
Thank you so much. Your fics mean the world to me. Again, sorry for not writing anything intelligent here, but I just HAD to say thank you - and YAY!
(I'm more excited to see HBP than OotP anyway, so I'm anxious for this loophole, however cheap it may be. :D)

Reviewer: PaulaDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130012Chapter: 2
Yippee! Gwen is back! I loved Hermione's take on her first meeting with Kreacher - it's interesting watching her discover the difficulty of some moral issues. And the Lockhart and Shacklebolt comparison was hilarious (but also spot on!) Lovely!

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130003Chapter: 3
Beautiful chapter, Arabella (as always)! I really enjoyed the entry that Ginny writes in Gwen, as well as Gwen’s response to it.

Ron and Hermione’s night-time conversation was so SWEET, especially this line: “Like we were two adults sorting out our lives together.” And really, I hope that’s how things will be for them one day. You also portrayed Hermione’s insecurities seem very realistically.

And Hermione’s FINALLY admitted to Gwen that she likes Ron — all I can say is that it’s about time!

I’m eagerly awaiting your next instalment.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: JessiDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129811Chapter: 3
Muah. I want to know what she was gonna say. You meanie. Leaving us a CLIFFIE like that. Bah. And this might not even be finished.

::grumbles::

I think you should finish it. But thats all I'll say about it. You have a life outside of HP fanfiction.

But awesome so far. Yeah. Awesome.

Love and brownies

--Jessi

Reviewer: Rebecca Erin ConnollyDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129719Chapter: 3
ARGH! You've started again! I'm so so so so so excited/happy/thrilled! I've missed Gwen so much, and Hermione's rantings about Ron.

The Hermione you write sounds exactly like the Hermione that I think of. She's just so wonderful.

xxx

Reviewer: anneDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129704Chapter: 1
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!! Your back!!!!!!! I'm so glad. I can't wait to read book 5 diary. I don't mind if you cheat one bit. I think it'll be interesting to see your spin on it.

Reviewer: AdrianDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129680Chapter: 1
Arabella, what am I going to do now? I've read HQoW 1-4 and these three chapters of 5 in a few short weeks after finishing HBP. They are simply.... brilliant. I love the idea of finally seeing the stories from the other characters' perspectives and you have done a truely fantastic job of keeping Hermione and Ron's personalities exactly right. The relationship has evolved at just the right rate. How do you do it? I really really hope that you do, someday soon, pick up the quill to finish this piece. I'd love to finish them. I only have one piece of critisism, and that is simply a language preference and not to really be worried about. It's just that these are english children in an English/British school. Therefore if you could see your way clear to renaming "candies" as "sweets", "boogers" as "bogies" and "let alone" to "leave alone" i'd be even more happy. Brilliant work. Rapidly running out of your stuff to read!

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129676Chapter: 2
This is cool. I love the idea of a summer term at Hogwarts to trick Hermione. I loved Hermione's reaction too, and of course everything about Ron. Great work. I would read the third chapter now, but I have things that need to be done and unfortunately can't wait. Plus I have a raging headache that is making reading a horrible business, but I suffer through because I enjoy it.

~GW

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129606Chapter: 1
Hej Arabella! I am so happy you are writing again. I loved all of your storys very much!! When you stopped writing altogether after book 5 came out I became worried that you hated the book and abandoned the HP world altogether. I am sure that sounds a bit funny to you that I would think about you and your opinion when we never met and all - but I really admire you as an author and reading your little comments at the beginning is nearly as exciting as reading an interview with JKR! ;-) (Don't worry I am not a stalker!)
Anyway. I the your chapters that you have put up. It now makes so much more sense to me that Harry thought in book five that the cleaning of the house was more a battle against it. You captured that very well.
You have no idea how often I checked to see if you have maybe started Book 5 yet and it totally made my day when I discovered you did so. Thanks a lot for a so many good hours I spent thanks to you!!!

Reviewer: Your BoggartDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129513Chapter: 3
I really liked these chapters! I've been on a holiday, and finally got to my computer again I was so happy you'd updated, I had to stay up till 2 o'clock in the morning to read. I loved Hermione's reaction to Kreacher, and especially to Ginny getting a boyfriend, and her and Ron talking for hours in the night. It's very believable. I can really see Hermione doing this, and reacting like this to things. I also liked the way they smuggled her to Grimmauld place, and some of the cursed objects in the house, like the clock and the pillows. It makes it seem like a a very frightening place to be, were something might unexpectedly jump up and murder you at any moment. They have a lot of cleaning to do before Harry gets there!

I understand you not wanting to pick up OotP again. I feel the same way. It's a great book and all that, but very depressing. I hope you do book six though, and not just stop writing all together after you've gone through your loophole, because I thought book six was the funniest book so far, in spite of the ending, and Hermione's comments on H/G and R/L would be interesting... Don't do it if you don't want to, but I and tons of others will review you if you do! :)

I'll probably regard everything that happens during these missing moments as canon, until J. K. Rowling says otherwise, because Hermione and Ron and Ginny are very in character.

Best of luck!

Reviewer: chloeDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129490Chapter: 1
Oh my, that clock thing is rather disturbing, isn't it? Brilliant chapter, I did enjoy it very much. Except now my grandfather clock is going to freak me out...

Reviewer: JoDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129470Chapter: 3
Arabella,

I was so excited when I saw this title! I love all your previous HQoWs and am very glad to see you're writing fanfiction again. I know how you feel about Ootp because I reacted in the same way - I put it down and didn't complete reading it for awhile, in fact. It was a difficult book to digest. Luckily, HBP was a bit easier.

Like everyone else, I've missed Gwen. (Oh dear, every time I read "Gwen", Gwen Stefani music plays in my head. Not that I mind that, but I don't think they're entirely suited to one another.) I also liked how Ginny got a cameo diary entry and the way she speaks and everything. As usual, Hermione is lovely in this story. I loved the sub-stories you used to explain any holes we didn't know from canon, and all the extra bits you added it, it was all very imaginative.

You are truly an amazing writer and I look forward to reading more (although I am anxious about this 'loophole'!). :)

Jo

Reviewer: SherifaDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129433Chapter: 3
i like it. can you put more about Hermione and Ron in your story? i like to read about them being together. good luck.

Reviewer: ZoeDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129422Chapter: 3
Both chapters were brilliant! I really missed reading the books from Hermione's point of view.

Ginny writing to Gwen was a great surprise too. I loved her password.

kisses :-)

Reviewer: Serval CatDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129364Chapter: 3
If I may be allowed a bit of heresy, Arabella, I think that at
this point YOU are taking better care of the "Harry Potter"
characters than Jo Rowling is. I was a bit disappointed in OotP,
and even more so in HBP, but I think your telling of the story
from Hermione's POV continues to be marvelous, as it was
in HQoW 1 thru 4. I especially enjoy her detailed discussion
of the horrors of the Black house with Gwen, and her soul-
searching about her ambivalent attitude toward the repulsive
Kreacher.

Also, I think it is very considerate of you to plan on using
a plot "loophole" to wrap up the HQoW version of the story when
you will be unable continue writing it, rather than just leaving
us in limbo. I certainly don't consider it to be "cheating" - "professional" authors do this all the time, and you aren't even
getting paid!

For a long time now, I have been totally in love with Hermione,
both as she appears in Jo's writing and as she appears in yours.
I'll look forward to reading as much more of her story as you
can give to us. Thanks so much!

Purrs,
Serval Cat

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129353Chapter: 3
Here I am, once again. I'm just one of those people who doesn't think before they type something and now that I do think, it's really generous for you just to do this for the readers if the book makes you sad. As much as I think if you read it again, you'll feel better, cuz like that other person said, it's emotionally taxing at first, but on rereads it's a good book, and I think you should give it a try, it's good of you to do this much. I look forward to the next installment, and while I DO wish you'd finish it (I was looking forward to Hermione's thoughts on Harry's poor hand and the DA and all that) I respect that you're doing this much. I do hope you do HBP though.

Is Hermione your favorite character? She's mine. I adore Ron too, with all his pratness and love what you've done with Ron's rants.

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129347Chapter: 3
It's me again. Aparrently your not done. Sorry, I didn't take in mind how late you started.

I just want to beg you to do book five.

plllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssseeeeeeeeee?

Pretty Please?

I probably wont be able to convince you.

I'm just so sad! ;-(

You're the best fanfic writer I've ever SEEN. Including me. I'm not much, though, so that doesn't count. Heh.

I can't wait for what you do have. I do hope you do Book Six.

I want to know why Book Five was so upsetting to you? Was it Sirius? Was it Umbridge?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --