The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Flames
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-25
Reviewid: 151374Chapter: 1
Oh, this is one of your post-HBP stories. I liked the security questions. That was special. You do a good job showing how torn Remus is between loving Tonks and staying away from her for her protection. I love the affection in the story: the nuzzling, the kisses... they're really comfortable with one another.

So I've reviewed your SQ one shots, and now I'm off to ff.net where you'll find out a bit more about me since I have an account a stories of my own. Then I'll come back to Shifts and Shades. I hope you enjoy my SQ reviews and I'll see you at ff.net!

Reviewer: rosemaryeveDate: 2007-05-07
Reviewid: 147949Chapter: 1
Oh, this is such a lovely vignette. I do enjoy your Remus/Tonks.

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140817Chapter: 1
OMG....i just finished reading SHIFTS, so I'm totally enamored with the Tonks and Remus you created in that story....oh, how my heart is breaking! Thank God he finally comes around, but it hurts in the meantime!

Great fic!
krumfan

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-10-04
Reviewid: 133759Chapter: 1
I can't decide if this is sad or not. I do know, however, that it's wonderful. :)
Thank god they do end up together at the end of HBP!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131475Chapter: 1
This is so very Remus. Thank you.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131081Chapter: 1
*sigh* What a bittersweet moment between them. I like how you quickly worked to link what you'd written for OotP with what we found out in HBP. Good job. :-)

Jules

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131023Chapter: 1
Gosh, this is good. It's horrible to see Remus so beaten down after all that happened in Shifts, horrible to think of all that self- loathing he'll have to go through, because he is and he will. It's inevitable. There were some really moving moments- like when Tonks got a flash of pink in her eyebrow after he kissed her, and the questions they asked each other. You write these two so well, so touchingly, I am in awe.

Reviewer: MarjDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130755Chapter: 1
Very nice job; I like the Tonks/Lupin story but have never seen anything terribly interesting or cohesive done with it before. Good work.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129198Chapter: 1
I only just got back from holiday, and it says something about how good you are that yours was the first name I clicked on! Another great read, thank you!

Reviewer: redwinDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128535Chapter: 1
That was such a sad ending. I really liked how you've written the characters - they were very true to canon. And, yeah, Dumbledore would say he missed the pink hair. All in all, beautifully written with a very nice bittersweet atmosphere.

Reviewer: LisaRosaDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128519Chapter: 1
FernWithy,

As always, this is an excellent story. Also, after I read book six my review of your last story was wrong. It fits perfectly with book six. Who would have guessed that Tonks and Lupin would be together, and they are perfect together. :-)

Lisa :o)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128506Chapter: 1
Nice Piece.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128475Chapter: 1
Wow. Excellent writing, FernWithy ó I could feel Remusí (and Doraís) anguish in this. Iím glad that you found a way to work Shifts into the new canon. Youíve (once again) done a great job with characterisation here, and the end result is just heartbreaking.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128429Chapter: 1
I do hope you continue with the storyline for book six. My first thought when Remus/Tonks was revealed in Book 6 was "Yes, Shifts was right!"

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128355Chapter: 1
Lovely. I really enjoyed this, way to take a chance. I like how you were right about Tonks and Remus!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128339Chapter: 1
Oh, It's all so heart breaking. Your Remus is very brave and noble and adorable. I think you handled making them 'cannon' very well.

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128324Chapter: 1
Yeah! I'm so glad you wrote a follow-up! I hope you expand this to a full-lenght version like Shifts. Excellent job!

Reviewer: AdipodesPoeDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128253Chapter: 1
That is heartbreaking. *pouts*

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128212Chapter: 1
Hooray, a sequal. And it's starting so well. Yay!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128149Chapter: 1
I was waiting for you to write something about this. Thank Merlin, because it was amazing.

I love how this scene does not have a particular amount of action, yet you have me at the edge of my seat, with my heart pumping. I can sense every tension and every emotion. I love it!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128132Chapter: 1
What a wonderful, bittersweet moment between these two lovers: you really capture how well they know each other, the tensions, the love, their physical ease, but I shouldn't expect anything less from you.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128050Chapter: 1
This is really very good. Not quite JK Rowling's style, but few people can do that. At any rate, very well written. Nice job.

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 128040Chapter: 1
Love to see this!

Reviewer: ArianeDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 128020Chapter: 1
Good Lord, you rock. It's unbeliavable that "Shifts" is practically canon, and now this... It's just overwhelming awesomeness.

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 127996Chapter: 1
Oh! Sad! And yet, I love that your Tonks is being quite mature about it; she knows she's not gonna change his mind by carrying on. She just wants to be around him tonight, and he wants it so bad too that he lets her in just for a little bit. Sniffle. Thanks for another great Tonks/Remus story.

Reviewer: SparkleygemDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127965Chapter: 1
Loved it, loved it, loved it! Poor, poor Remus. I was so happy that HBP supported what you wrote about in Shifts, and this story has done a great job of carrying on that fantastically touching story.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127963Chapter: 1
Very quietly touching, FernWithy. Very good. The line that made me shiver - simple though it is - " I hear you all laughing sometimes. I miss hearing you laugh. I miss hearing Sirius laugh."
:-)

Reviewer: DADAGinnyDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127960Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Very sad -- I feel so bad for Remus. The horrors he must have faced being with Greyback. *shudders*

I love your Remus/Tonks.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127928Chapter: 1
Ok, I admit it. I didn't like the idea of Tonks and Remus together. But unlike other desperate shippers in this fandom, I am willing to give in to new canon...and this was really beautiful! Might I ask you to post it at the WWR? We need some good R/T fiction to get us going in the right direction!

Reviewer: HAmazzy*Date: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127921Chapter: 1
that was beautiful!!! will you write more? (that more of a request) ;o)

Reviewer: CatDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127918Chapter: 1
Lovely. Beautifully explains Remus' reticence in getting involved with Tonks.

Reviewer: Pacific RoseDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127917Chapter: 1
Lovely! That was an excellent portrayal of Tonks and Remus,and, as usual,you have the nature of their relationship down perfectly. I was so happy to read HBP and discover that their were now a couple in cannon, because I loved "Shifts", a story you have now managed to tie to the 6th book with skill using this ficlet. Great job!

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127907Chapter: 1
what a great little outtake. I totally enjoyed book 6 and the fact that some of you predictions came true made it even better i dont want to say to much incase someone who reads your reviews hasnt read or finished the book yet but any ways fabulouse job and i do hope you write more about these 2 if you get the chance =)

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127887Chapter: 1
Oh my, that was beautiful in a melancholy way. Very in-character, also, and a realistic portrayal of what would've happened behind-the-scenes. Great mention of Dumbledore, "He just tugged my hair and said he missed the pink." Good stuff, please write more.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127885Chapter: 1
I almost cheered when I saw you'd posted a new story but that would have been inappropriate to the tone of the writing. I have to say I've been hoping you would fill in the blanks of Remus and Dora's relationship in HBP. JKR gave us so little details that I need someone to flesh their story out a bit.

Reviewer: Surplus ImaginationDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127882Chapter: 1
This was very nice, bittersweet. Remus' story definately needs to be told. I'd like to see more. Will you continue?

Reviewer: SeenaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127878Chapter: 1
Sad yet sweet and very nice.

:)
Senna

Reviewer: SharonLDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127876Chapter: 1
One word: Exactly!

Reviewer: PigwidgeonDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127875Chapter: 1
Wow, that was ingenious: sewing up the continuity between "Shifts" and the canon "Half Blood Prince" Very clever. Enjoyable as always!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127873Chapter: 1
You've captured this moment in time extremely well. The fact that Dora comes to the Shack by herself sometimes really got to me. I'm glad she found Remus there this time and that they had the chance to talk. I love the name Tonks gave her new Patronus; it's very fitting. Thanks for letting us see this intimate moment in their lives.

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127870Chapter: 1
I thought of your Remus/Tonks while reading the book--I loved it! You gave their ship a beautiful name. This is another beautiful moment in their lovely ship. Thank you.

Reviewer: WhitneyDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127868Chapter: 1
Aah. I've been waiting to see something like this from you! Thank you. I loved it.

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127857Chapter: 1
It's nice to see you back after cannon. This is a very sweet and poignant story, with two of my favorite characters. As always keep up the terrific work!

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127852Chapter: 1
That was very sweet and poignant. I loved the detail and the insights into what Remus was doing with the werewolves.
Excellent job.

Reviewer: AraDate: 2005-07-26
Reviewid: 127851Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Tugging on Tonks' hair seems a very Dumbeldore thing to do :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --