The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 69

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145608Chapter: 5
Quite Nice.

Reviewer: K. WatkinsDate: 2005-10-18
Reviewid: 134711Chapter: 5
I really wish you would write more Remus/ Tonks romance. I love your writing style both Fluff and not fluff!!

Reviewer: ericaDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131939Chapter: 5
LOVED IT AWEEEEESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131434Chapter: 5
::herein lies lots of squeeing and sobbing happily::

Oh, Moslyu. You were the second writer I know to write R/T (with "The Dare"), but this story wins first place in my heart right now.

Needless to say, I love it. I love how you worked the five senses into it, how they both fell in love without noticing it, how takeaway helped them heal (you made me quite hungry for samosas, by the way), how the pacing was perfect -- not too fast and not too slow.

I get chills down my spine just *reading* Remus say "Sweetheart"; I can't imagine how it sounds to hear it. ;) Love your Tonks as well, with the battered bruises that she hides, and the way she banters with Moody. This piece needs some serious rereading. :D

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130698Chapter: 5
Gosh- the story of that kid was so horrible, it made me cry. I'm glad Remus and Tonks have each other after that. This was all- all of it wounderful. You are an amzing writer- you build up the detail so well I feel I'm right there in the scene with them. I've really enjoyed this story I hope you keep writing!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130696Chapter: 4
Aww- that was so moving. You had me all choked up all over again. Poor Sirius.
I loved how Tonks got Remus to eat, and how she made him cry for his friend, and tell her everything- it was just perfectly stated and not at all overdone. And the kiss at the end- so *them*.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130693Chapter: 3
<And every time she turned up, hair a brand new shade of impossible, eyes sparkling with her lifelong joke, he knew he was lying to himself.>

Wonderful description. So totally Tonks if you see what I mean. You paint your characters so vividly.
I loved the incident with the other werewolf- the idea that he could smell him, and his reaction and the way he avoided comparing himself to a wolf. Also the sleeping part at the end is interesting- I like how you're setting up that Remus is beginning to really trust Tonks, and that this is a reltionship of equals- that Remus will allow himself to wake her up and let her take her turn watching says a lot. Great chapter!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130689Chapter: 2
I love your characterization of Tonks. She reminds me of some people I know- and I love the relationship between Moody and Tonks. They're great.
<He truly believed in the self-deceiving pap that Fudge put out. For that matter, so did Fudge. So did ninety percent of the people in the Ministry and on the street.

Thank God and the little baby Jesus for the other ten.>
Amen.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130112Chapter: 1
This is a really good opening. It had me hooked from the opening, and the sort of dark mysterious tone set at the beginning was well balanced with humour "radioactive cucumber", lol. I'm going to go read the rest.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130020Chapter: 5
very nice

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130017Chapter: 1
I've just read almost your entire output here, Mosylu, and it is GOOD! Your writing is tight, witty, and generous. Your first few could have done with a little more brit-picking, but that is an exceedingly minor complaint. The "Home" trilogy is stunning, and your fluff is magnificent. I'm delighted to have made your aquaintance.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 129979Chapter: 4
You do the best job of anyone I've read of making everyday scenes jump off the page. There were lots of phrases that just cemented me into the scene.
>>A tear slid off her chin and dropped into a puddle of sweet-and-sour sauce, making a tiny clear dent in the reddish-orange liquid.<<

That is just a great visual! And it is just one of many. Then you transition with this line:
>> She'd really gotten far too much food.<<

That seems very much like Nymphadora! And could be anyone of us, making an everyday comment to try and stabilize our emotions. Here, it leads to more thoughts of Sirius and stability is not possible.

Just great writing. Technically, emotionally and in character.

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129936Chapter: 5
Wonderfully romantic story. The imagery of the the five senses is beautiful, too. Excellent job.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129863Chapter: 5
Mmm...

What a lovely chapter: sensual and romantic at the same time. My favourite kind of writing. It's a wonderful ending to this story, and it makes so much sense: even though they're taking comfort from each other, it turns out to be so much more than that. I will be looking out for more stories from you. ^_^

Favourite Lines:

"She was under his skin now, ever-present."

"Her smell wrapped around him, sliding into his blood where it had been for over a year. Moonlight silvered her hair--an exceedingly tame blond for the purposes of undercover--and turned the sweet curve of her shoulder to a statue in marble. The sound of her breath whispering past her lips rose to a roar in his ears."

"She put her arms around his neck, pulling him close so she could feel every inch of warm, strong, male body, so different from her own. Bony where she was soft, angular where she curved . . . yet already so wonderfully familiar. Her Remus. Finally hers."

Marvellous.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

"The kiss deepened beyond the sweetness of the one that had haunted him since June, down into dark-chocolate hunger."

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129854Chapter: 5
No, this can't be the end! I demand a sequel! This story is amazing... You write Tonks so well. And that bbit with her going back to her normal self.. So sweet. Seriously, write more!

Reviewer: TashDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129846Chapter: 5
Absolutely wonderful. The whole fic is positively marvellous.

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129803Chapter: 5
Awww. Nice ending. Thanks for sharing a good story. :)

Reviewer: ArloDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129783Chapter: 5
Finis?? Oh I was just getting into this! Especially since we now know that us R/T shippers were actually right! Well, apparently he had doubts later, so you can continue it post HBP!!!!(just kidding, unless you want to.....)

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129753Chapter: 5
This is such a great fic that I have no words. Your punchlines are really breath taking. Or maybe punchlines isn't the right word, but that's what they feel like. They leave your head spinning, and your gut makes strange contracting motions. It's really quite something.

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129749Chapter: 5
Wow...that was beautiful. The way you captured the senses in each chapter was a fabulous motif; it made the Remus/Tonks relationship so much more real for me. Which is slightly ironic since this wasn't written when it was cannon. But thank you for this fic...I feel as if I read a painting.

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129658Chapter: 1
I don't remember if I already reviewed this fic, so if I haven't, good. If I have, oh well, it deserves a second review.

So cute. I went and read it at FF.net because I couldn't wait to read the whole thing (this was about a week ago). I really, really enjoyed your writing style and portrayal of the characters, especially in such an intimate manner. It may be a bit AU, but that's OK, they're adorable together. Thank you for sharing this!

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129650Chapter: 4
That was beautiful. Another well delivered chapter.
You had me tearing up a bit here:


[She wanted to crawl over the table, across all the food, and wrap her arms around him, but she couldn't seem to move. "Remus," she implored. "Please don't." Her voice cracked. "I couldn't bear it if you did. For once, please, please, don't be strong."

She reached across the table then. His hands lay on either side of his half-empty plate, the fingers curled slightly under. She slipped her fingers into the curl, needing the contact. For a moment, his fingers were cold and limp over hers, then they closed.

"I don’t know how not to be," he said, so low she could hardly hear him.

She tightened her grasp, just fractionally, trying to communicate in that gesture what she couldn’t find the words for.

He closed his eyes, and for a moment, she thought he would pull away. Then she saw the tears. They slid silently from his lashes down over the bump of his cheekbones, down the hollows, into the lines of sorrow around his mouth, down to his chin to drop onto the shabby jumper and disappear.

Her grief rose up then, like a black tsunami, and swamped her. It was almost a relief though, to give in. She hadn’t been able to before. She’d been afraid she’d never find her way back.

But here and now, Remus’s hands remained in hers like an anchor. As long as she was with him, neither of them would get so lost that they wouldn’t be able to come home again.]

I loved the tone of that exchange. Everything was just so raw and intimate, and like you said, it FAR outstripped sex.

Also, everything building up to their kiss in the rain was so beautiful as well. It gave me the tingles. You described everything from the rusty cement at the bottom of the stairs to that feeling of sweet desire so wonderfully.

[They looked at each other a moment, then he walked out into the rain.

When he'd disappeared, she closed her eyes and let her tongue slip out to touch her lips. She tasted orange chicken, spices, fresh rainwater, salt tears.

And him.]

Gosh, this part was so beautiful, too.

Excellent job. I can't wait for your next update!

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129578Chapter: 4
Ooo, the best chapter yet! Love the intimacy of grief -- feelings and wonderful descriptions of the food, rain, etc. Great job, Mosylu!

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129543Chapter: 4
Oh dear. I love this story more and more. I think it's great how you manage to get the feelings of the characters across so sharply. Really excellent work.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129506Chapter: 2
I like the different style you're using - senses - to write your story. It's a nice twist. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129503Chapter: 4
Wow. It sounded really nice ... the 'And him.'

Reviewer: J62442Date: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129498Chapter: 4
Wow! This is incredible. You write these characters which such likeness to canon and still seem to give them more depth than we actually get to see in the books. Quite the quintessential fan fiction! I especially enjoy that this is told from both points of view!
I can't wait to for Remus' reaction to that kiss!
Please update soon!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129483Chapter: 4
I've read this somewhere before, and I'm delighted to see it again here at the Quill. You do an amazing job of working in sensory perception for not only the characters, but the readers as well.

Reviewer: FVannlyDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129441Chapter: 4
this is becoming more wonderful with each chapter. i can't wait another day just to read the next chapter. i like your idea of how they come together. thanx for the story. :)

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129428Chapter: 4
*snif-snif* never read this chapter while listeneing to the last tracks of the Phantom of the opera.. it only makes you cry more...
(I LOVE how fast your updating!!!)

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129408Chapter: 4
ohh i love first kisses! This was perfect... well sad... but perfect!

I feel all fluttery inside...

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129401Chapter: 4
This just gets better and better and better. I can't wait for the next installment.

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129399Chapter: 4
Oh, my first thoughts were that you gave me a birthday present (20 on the ninth, and feeling nicely old, thank you)--and now, I just want to melt into tears and have "a" Remus kiss me on the lips, too...(this was one of the most beautiful, touching, real chapters of Remus and Tonks...) oh, and let me just say I have to keep reminding myself this was pre-HBP, and that you aren't writing it with the charactarization JKR gave them in mind. I feel this fills in the blanks. This IS the back story, or at least extremely close to it. My greatest compliments, my greatest love--Mosylu, I do beleive it is you to whom I can say thank you for helping me see great things in fanfics. If it weren't for your work, chances are I wouldn't be here now, reading the work of more and other authors. You gave me the perfect Birthday present--an update.

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129388Chapter: 4
Ohhhhh, that was a perfect kiss! Loved it, truly.

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129377Chapter: 4
I love how you update so quickly! This one was very nice...aahh, first kiss! And nicely simple too, not overdone, which is refreshing, and much more real than many overdramatised attempts. The simplicity of your dialogue is also great, and allows you to really capture the characters. Nice!

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129300Chapter: 3
Fantastic! I really love this fic! You have captured the voice of Remus very well indeed, and the integrating theme of the five senses is a very neat device. What a wonderful idea, having him content to sleep wh\atched over by her - *sigh*.

I eagerly anticipate the next installment!

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129298Chapter: 3
I really like this! Can't wait for the next chapter! Make it quick! Er...please?

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129297Chapter: 3
wow! you updayed really quickly! more for us!! good work. it's nice that some is finally writing a lupin fic where he's not gay. really love it.

Reviewer: CharisIadDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129160Chapter: 3
So I know a sigh is not really a valid review, but that's how I feel. Sigh. Makes me miss someone warm sleeping next to me. Makes me remember how the pit of your stomach feels when he walks in the room, makes you remember his face and his sweet, tentative, shy touch.
Sigh.
Makes me remember being in love.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129150Chapter: 2
"There was a fine line between mildly irked and seriously annoyed. Tonks didn’t consider that she walked that line so much as danced a rhumba on it."

alskjfaklsjghalkhgalkjdsgh

Very funny. =) Love it so far!

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129138Chapter: 3
This is just SO good! I'll be honest with you that I've never favored R/T. WIth the new canon, I'm forcing myself to read as much as I can and this is my favorite right now. I look forward to your next installment.

PS - I'd love to see this submitted to the Werewolf Registry.

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129122Chapter: 3
Lovely and heartfelt moments between them. Lots of little revelations that kept it moving right along. Looking forward to more. :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129109Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying the way you portray both Remus and Tonks. Your description of Tonks being 'uninteresting' in her normal appearance was very intriguing, as was the discussion of the other werewolf.

Where is your mate indeed!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129094Chapter: 3
I'm liking this more and more....just maybe things could progress a little faster....

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129090Chapter: 3
It seems that I can't get enough of Remus and Tonks these days, which I am sure is making all my friends laugh hysterically. But now that it's truly canon, I am insatiably hungry for it. This is starting out to be a wonderful story. I like the characteristics you've written in to flesh out their characters, like Tonks's natural appearance, and Remus's heightened sense of smell. I also like that you are selectively including scenes that get to the point of the story, rather than rewriting OotP or anything like that. I am looking forward to more!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128801Chapter: 2
Since tonks and remus became canon I`ve been waiting for a fic like this...I love how you used "remus smelling ability" to beginning the story, catched me right away. Can`t wait to read more :)

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128743Chapter: 2
Mosylu, I always like your stories a lot, no matter what world you're writing in. I think this one might be the first Tonks/Lupin one I've read. The set up so far is great, and the characterization of Tonks outstanding! I'm looking forward to more. :)

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128732Chapter: 2
A first-year Divination student could have taken a look at her vision and understood it. Staring blindly at the new file folder on her tornado-aftermath desk, Tonks wondered about Remus Lupin and the mate he was waiting for.


Oh....such a good ending.....please continue. I love your tonks, she is just right.

Reviewer: KDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128694Chapter: 2
Ooooh, wonderful! I do love Remus/Tonks stories. PLEASE CONTINUE!!

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128680Chapter: 2
I'm very much looking forward to reading more of this. I'm facinated by your characterizations of Remus and Tonks.

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128670Chapter: 2
Good chapter...update soon please!!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128634Chapter: 2
I really like your characterization of Tonks...young, fun, vibrant. Loved her interaction with Mad-Eye too. HA! Very well done!

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128597Chapter: 2
Very nice! I'm so glad Remus has an 'official' love life now. Looking forward to reading lots more.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128455Chapter: 1
*rewr* niiiice, really nice. glad someone has grasped a good tonks/lupin idea. love it, write more soon!

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128370Chapter: 1
Amazing...

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128328Chapter: 1
Oh, that was marvelous! I especially liked the it about Remus' cholesterol. :)

I'm not much of a Remus/Tonks shipper, but your fic was great. I liked reading it. Are there any more chapters to come? I certainly hope so.

Reviewer: spriteDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128298Chapter: 1
The ending of this chapter made me laugh out loud. In fact, I can't wait around for the rest - I'm headed to the Site That Must Not Be Named. :)

Reviewer: AdipodesPoeDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128257Chapter: 1
I remember reading this when you first put it up. I thought it was a brilliant concept back then. No one else ever talked about the fact that Remus would be able to sense chemical changes in people by smell. Especially one so intriguing to him as the smell of blood. I can't wait to see where you take this. I'm so excited to see it up here.

Reviewer: Eliza M.Date: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128245Chapter: 1
"I thought I knew you," he said to it" For some reason this caused me to tear up. I adored this story, the discomfort Remus endures during the full moon, the different smells, Tonks, all very good.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128215Chapter: 1
Even though this only captures a moment between Remus and Tonks, it's full of insights into both characters. I've always thought Remus's senses are probably heightened around the full moon, so it made sense he could smell everyone. You write with a real eye for detail, and your descriptions are vivid.

Favourite Lines:

"Remus’s nose picked out the particular scents of each person who had walked through the front door in the past few days. They were slightly muted, because almost everyone was either still asleep or out of the house, but Remus had no problem picking them out. Molly Weasley’s scent was comfortable and warm, like baking bread, but with the biting green edge of worry. Moody's paranoia hung in the air like a murky black haze, but that was nothing new. Darker now, possibly, than it had been fifteen years before, but still familiar. Sirius's frustration vibrated like a twanged harp string, sharp as spilled acid. That was new." - wonderful description, vivid and appropriate.

"He knew this scent of old, heavy and dark and rich with mysteries no man could dream of touching. He'd been nearly seventeen before he realized just what it came from. Even now, understanding that the source was menstrual blood, he thought of it as simply the woman smell." - This is so accurate, and I speak with a human's nose. It makes sense that this sense would be fascinating to him.

"He thought of a reply for that. If he'd been Sirius, he would have said it, but since he was Remus, he said instead, "I have to say, I never really think of my cholesterol when I have fur and fangs."" - I love Remus's sense of humour.

""Right, because being a perfectly decent man who happens to turn into a wolf every full moon is so much worse than being the lightest-fingered sneak thief this side of the Channel, a paranoid looper who'd break your arm if you tried to shake hands, or worse, a chameleon you can never really trust because you don't know what they're going to look like tomorrow... He's a total flipping loony, and Merlin knows we all appreciate it, as it's the reason most of us are still alive." - ha, I love Tonks.

""I thought I knew you," he said to it." - very appropriate.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128187Chapter: 1
I absolutely adore your work! I love your stories, I have your page bookmarked, and now that I know you're on ff.net, I've added you to my favorite authors. Your stories are amazing, succinct and accurate to the character. You are AWESOME, and this story is another wonderful one. Thanks so much!
Sarah M. (Sciens Mulier)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128143Chapter: 1
I was delighted to see you on the new story list! And I'm even more delighted now that I've read it! I've said it before, but you manage to pull off the everyday details so well! Tonks' casual attitude and speech seem so real! Slapping her hip as she comments on cholesterol, slurping. These make her come off the page. And they are such a good contrast for Remus. He's always strung so tight and even more so this day. Such a nice piece. And you succeeded in your exercise of the senses as well. Great work!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128136Chapter: 1
Woah....I loved the way you wrote this. It was sensuous and intense withough being skeevy, and I honestly cannot think of a single thing I'd change. The 'radioactive cucumber' was a great description. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: ZsenyaDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128134Chapter: 1
I really like the way the characters are fleshed out in this chapter. I really felt like I got a sense of who Tonks was and some of her quirks. :)

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128110Chapter: 1
Cool, are you going to continue it? Is there more to continue?

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: CeilidhDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128107Chapter: 1
Very sexy and funny. I loved Tonks in this one. Update soon!

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128098Chapter: 1
That was SO awesome!!!! I am all for R/T and was so thrilled when they finally became canon! I hate to say it, well, I don't hate to say it, but this chapter was sexy! I loved the descriptions of Remus in wolf mode as well as his interaction with Tonks. Looking forward to your next!

Oh and the Moody paranoia attitude was spot on. =)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128091Chapter: 1
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I'm glad you started another series, since I so enjoyed "A Home of Shifting Sand." And you made me smile at Tonks' antics.

Reviewer: ZannaDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128089Chapter: 1
It was good to see your name in the recent updates list, Moslyu! I've peeked in on your site a few times, hoping for new stories, and am always glad to re-read the ones from you. I enjoy the insights you give us into Remus here, and the reasonings that might be behind the somewhat improbable (on the surface) pairing. I'll look forward to the updates!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --