The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Attacking Pawns
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141107Chapter: 1
Excellent writing; odd idea.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141018Chapter: 1
I really liked your use of chess to characterize DD and LV. Placing Grindelvald as Hitler's puppeteer was very clever, and I saw DD's black pawn (on a light square) as being Snape - with DD allowing sacrifices of his other piece to be made in order to advance Snape. I liked your comment about LV liking all of the destruction on the board. Very well written.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137710Chapter: 1
<I>but I don't like that you made a puppeteer a Jew. I'm sure you didn't mean it this way</I>

Ummm...no, I most certainly did not mean it that way, and I'm rather stumped as to how you came to this conclusion. I've even had a couple Jewish friends who have read this, and neither of them said anything about having a "Jewish puppeteer."

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137699Chapter: 1
BS"D

I don't play chess, so I didn't catch all the symbolism, but the juxtaposition of the Harry discussion and the pawn discussion was brilliant.

Also, like you, I imagined that Grindelwald came to power during Hitler's time, and imagining Hitler as a magic puppet is an interesting concept, but I don't like that you made a puppeteer a Jew. I'm sure you didn't mean it this way, but to this Jew, it is reminiscent of the concept that "the Jews brought it on themselves."

Reviewer: Dark PrincessDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137402Chapter: 1
Great story! I really liked how you used the chess game to sort of parallel the world, and I'm quite impressed how well you kept both Tom and Dumbledore in character. Dumbledore talking about the importance of a pawn at times, and Tom's view that pawns were basically meaningless was perfect; it's just like the two characters, and reflects their similarities and differences in views and personalities perfectly.

Also, Dumbledore's comment about redemption and trust, was wonderful, not to mention Tom's great responses to both.

I also really liked the ending, and, though this is just a one-shot, I look forward to reading more of your works.

Again, great job.

Signed,

Dark Princess

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131092Chapter: 1
Wow.

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129928Chapter: 1
Oh...O.K. that helped a lot (I got awnsered YIPEEEE!!)

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129665Chapter: 1
Creepy concept. I love their intellectual wit, and how each man is characterized. This was really interesting and well-written.

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129585Chapter: 1
Thank you for your reviews!

*Darkra -- was a bit confused about the time and place that this game took place...Voldemort talks about events that took place during PoA, but he is still "A tall, well-built young man with smooth black hair and piercing eyes", something he stopped been around the 50s or 60s...Is it possible that they don't meet in a real place but in a kind of dream field?*

This story was meant to be purely allegorical, with no set time in mind. I guess a "dream field" is probably the best analogy.


Lord James- I really love this one. Although I don't get the meaning of the last paragraph at all

Glad you enjoyed! I'll try to explain: Tom only sees things in black and white. Either he wins, or he loses. The room he has chosen is black and white. The chess pieces are black and white. His clothing is black. The only things that are gray are the sand in the hourglass and Dumbledore's dove-gray robes. Oh yes, and the gray dust that is made after Dumbledore "combines" the pawns that Tom forgot.

For you see, Dumbledore understands that no matter who wins the war, there will be heavy losses on both sides. Sure, perhaps one side or the other may eventually declare victory...but at what cost? The irony is that Tom even says that no one has won that game, but his mind is already on trying to get a victory later. Dumbledore wonders what and who will have to be sacrificed, something Tom never thinks about.

Hope that answered your question!

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129382Chapter: 1
I really love this one. Although I don't get the meaning of the last paragraph at all

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129028Chapter: 1
Nice use of symbolism with the chessboard and using the game of chess to display the philosophies of Voldemort and Dumbledore. I liked how you ended the game in a tie; it was a good twist since you sort of expect Dumblesore to win. I also liked your use of the pawns to show Voldemort and Dumbledore's thought processes.

Reviewer: etcDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128303Chapter: 1
Wow! What a great story. I like how it is ambiguous as to when and where it takes place. Your characterization through both the chess and the dialog is amazing. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: DarkRaDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128290Chapter: 1
Been a chess fanatic I am I can only say I'm impressed by this story.
Really well written, the way each player acts in the game is excactly matched to his character. A really great story that leaves a great sense of foreboding.

Only a question. I was a bit confused about the time and place that this game took place...Voldemort talks about events that took place during PoA, but he is still "A tall, well-built young man with smooth black hair and piercing eyes", something he stopped been around the 50s or 60s...Is it possible that they don't meet in a real place but in a kind of dream field?

Other than that, a very good, strong story.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128281Chapter: 1
Wow! What an impressive bit of allegory this is!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --