The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 49

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144331Chapter: 1
Excellent!

Reviewer: Lumos_NoxDate: 2006-07-05
Reviewid: 143962Chapter: 1
I loved it! I like the part that said that Fred and George gave McLaggen the doxy eggs. I would love it if that was true! It seems so... Fred and George.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142828Chapter: 1
Hilarious and very in character all the way!

Reviewer: Pheonix FeathersDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142159Chapter: 1
"“That I’m a sex god and all the witches want me,” said Ron in a mock serious tone.

Ginny snorted with laughter. “Ha! Ha! Good one Ron.”

“Sprouts, now!” Ron slipped back into the kitchen.

"Coming, sweetheart," said Ginny under breath before following him into the kitchen."

lol!! the ending was very funny... anyway... if i were you i would have put a bit more of hermone in it... but after that, its great!!!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141424Chapter: 1
A very pleasing fic. Thanks.

Reviewer: HorseloverPennyDate: 2006-02-05
Reviewid: 139365Chapter: 1
“It’s disgusting really,” began Ginny. “I keep seeing him all over the castle, with his tongue down her throat.”

Fred whooped, “Go Ronnie!”

that was funny. awsome story! with the chain part too.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131240Chapter: 1
GREAT ONE! I liked how you took little bits that seemed disconnected and connected them - like the bet with doxy eggs and the twins grabbing some at Grimmauld. Very well written, and characterization spot on!

Reviewer: eva thompsonDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130826Chapter: 1
Love this! I loved pulling in the Cormac angle with the doxy eggs. Brilliant1

Reviewer: emma moonDate: 2005-08-21
Reviewid: 130477Chapter: 1
So that's where Lavender got the idea for the chain! LOL.

Wonderful! Loved the story. Especially the part where Fred and George had Cormac eating doxy eggs. Priceless!

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129906Chapter: 1
That was really good. Ginny was very funny and totally in character here.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129801Chapter: 1
Excellent! I love Ginny; what perfect revenge for the hypocrite. (I love Ron too, but he had it coming).

Reviewer: Jedi BoadiceaDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129726Chapter: 1
Oh, and how could I have forgotten the best part? The twins' discussion and opinion about Hermione. Practically a Weasley indeed. They totally have broken her in, and I totally think they approve of her, despite all the grief she's given them in the past. They're used to getting grief from the women in their family, I think. :) Their assumptions about Ron and Hermione were priceless.

Reviewer: Jedi BoadiceaDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129725Chapter: 1
fa.skdjfa;sdlfkjasfd. Oh, I loved this. Now I suddenly want to read 87 fics with Fred, George, and Ginny in them together. I think you did a fantastic job capturing the tone of their interaction, and I loved all the little canon details tying together, like the doxy eggs and yes, of course, "sweetheart." Heheh. Go, Ginny. That is totally something she would do. And the twins giving Cormac the runs! I love it. Loved the piece all around. Thanks for the smiles before work. :)

Reviewer: SherifaDate: 2005-08-10
Reviewid: 129505Chapter: 1
that was nice! please write more...update soon!

Reviewer: CarolineDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129263Chapter: 1
cute story! really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129252Chapter: 1
Great job, oh master of missing scenes! So awesome. I love love love Fred and George "chaos is our business" hilarious. And I love that the twins "got" Ron and Hermione before Ron and Hermione really did. I also liked how they joked about how they'd "broken her in." I really rang true for me. My brothers always liked my husband better than me. :( I didn't have much choice about marrying him - everyone had already decided he was a member of the family. Excellent job on the story!

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129107Chapter: 1
Very nicely done! I love how the twins were so sure it was Hermione. Ha, Ron, you just can't hide it. And I like that Ginny was responsible for the necklace. Because, really, there's just no excuse for Lavender otherwise.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128822Chapter: 1
Oo, great job!! It seemed quite canon, and really felt as if it was part of the book itself. I like the idea of Ginny being behind the necklace, and F&G behind the whole Doxy egg thing. Great job, I enjoyed reading it!

[Fred turned sharply. “I hope this doesn’t mean that you’re still going all over Hogwarts, kissing every Tom, Dick and H-“]

Hehe.

~ DS.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128809Chapter: 1
Great missing moment--it felt very "canon" and everyone was so in character. I *love* the idea that Ginny was responsible for the necklace. I also love the Twins in the entire fic. Bravo!!

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128805Chapter: 1
Oh, this was a hoot!! I LOVE the idea that it was Fred and George behind the Doxie eggs. Simply briliant. I also liked the idea that it was Ginny's trickery behind the necklace. I really love that girl. The Weasley family antics were loads of fun.

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128803Chapter: 1
haha "coming, sweetheart" very good ending :)...and very good beginning too, I really like fic, keep it going :)

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128797Chapter: 1
LOL! It's such a cute story, and your characterization is spot-on. A very enjoyable read.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128786Chapter: 1
Oh the cuteness! Very light and easy and incredibly sweet! I like it!!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128774Chapter: 1
The great Poppy P is bax! Yay! I love how you tied all those things together. I can just see the twins and Ginny doing those things. :D

Reviewer: dalfDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128766Chapter: 1
I love these missing scenes type fics. Espically when they fit into the story so well. SQ should do a missing scene writting contest and see how much they can get filled in :) Myave pick 5 or 6 scenes and see who writes the best ones. Though ones like this that might not have happened per-se but fit in just perfectly are the most fun.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128758Chapter: 1
This is absolutely wonderful! I'm amazed at how creative and real your dialog is, how well it flows and how effortlessly the characters interact with one another. You've captured the essence of Ginny, George, Fred and Ron beautifully. I especially like your ideas on who challenged McLaggen to eat the doxy eggs. I look forward to your next story.

Reviewer: eight aveDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128716Chapter: 1
Haha! Brilliant. I love Fred and George. It seems like everyone's doing something to assure Ron's position on the team, huh? I love the whole dialogue between the twins and Ginny. Their interaction was wonderful.

Great work! Keep writing.

Reviewer: Sarah M.Date: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128712Chapter: 1
OHH! I loved this! I love missing moments, and this one is just right. Good job!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128695Chapter: 1
Loved the doxy eggs. I bet they did do it. Loved the automatic assumption that Ron would hook up with Hermione.

Hated the fact that Ginny shows no remorse for messing up Ron/Hermione. If she hadn't told him that Hermy had snogged Victor, Lav-Lav would not have happened. As you can see, I haven't forgiven her at all.

Reviewer: AkeleDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128681Chapter: 1
“How’d you get McLaggen out of the way?” asked Ginny, completely nonplussed by her brothers’ revelation.

Fred broke out into a wide grin. “We bet the stupid prat that he couldn’t eat a pound of doxy eggs.”

AWESOME.

HAHA! And Fleur and Phlegm were spot on.

I really hope you write more in the future!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128676Chapter: 1
hehe...hehe...*maniacal giggle*
I loved it, especially the part about the twins daring McLaggen to eat those doxy eggs.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128673Chapter: 1
Great story! I love the F/G doxy eggs! Do some more missing momnents!

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128671Chapter: 1
*looks around* How come Ginny laughed when Ron said he was a sex god?

*crickets*

What?

...anway, I still loved it. I really like dteh idea of Ginny giving Lav the idea for the Christmas gift.

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128669Chapter: 1
This is great! I love how Fred and George helped Ron out.

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128652Chapter: 1
Cute! I liked the Doxy egg connection - I'll bet you that's what really happened.

Good ole' Gred and Forge.

Nice little fic - I enjoyed it.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128651Chapter: 1
Oh Poppy! It's so great to read your work again! And this out take is the perfect little bit of a gem that fills in some blanks. I love it! Very nicely done.

Reviewer: SteveDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128649Chapter: 1
Excellent story. I hope you're not finished with it.

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128646Chapter: 1
hahaha not bad i like the way your story fit into the book so well with the gold necklace and the doxy eggs bit

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128645Chapter: 1
Very very nice. It's SO good to see this side of the twins. I'm very happy you recognized the obvious parallel between them and one Hermione Jane Granger... both cheated to get Ron on the team, both feel telling him about it would be a unmoral, despite the fact that they both have a rather unique sense of morals (murderous canaries aren't much better than Acid Pops, really). Ginny was also very likable, giving Lav-Lav gift ideas and being not-too-secretive about her views on Phlegm. The twins' thoughts on their dear older brother are very in character, as is their Hermione-liking (I LUVE fics that explore the relationship between them). Ron was very Ronnish, too, and he was a bit annoying but cute. "Hey, you're a girl, Ginny." Heh.

I expected Ginny to have some remorse on driving Ron to notice his lack of snog in life - but I guess your version isn't bad, either... One thing I think you might want to change is 'Fred and George exchanged a guilty look.' I'd say it should rather be a 'proud/shifty/amused/secretive look'- they didn't seem to feel guilty about it at all. And Ginny's comment of 'I do just fine with the wizards' is strange - I think she'd want to keep her brothers out of her lovelife as much as possible, not giving them reminders. But really, I might be wrong.

Doxy Droppings made me giggle. Do you think it was originally their idea, putting Doxy Droppings on the Hogwarts wit-sharpening market? I wonder what Hermione would say.

You really should write a sequal, you know. About what they said when Ginny told them Ron finally ended up with Hermione. I suspect Romilda Vane should somehow be involved. And Firewhiskey. And Toms, Dicks and Harrys.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128640Chapter: 1
[“Well, like I said, she’s been depriving him of oxygen all afternoon,” said Ginny waspishly.]

Hahahaha! I love Ginny, she's such a smart mouth!

[Fred and George pointed their wands at Ginny’s pile of paper chains. They muttered an incantation under their breath. There was a burst of purple light followed by a muted explosion. Suddenly the chains had multiplied and were everywhere; from ceiling to floor, the room was covered with red and green links.]

Oh that's cute. I like how you explained the paper chain "explosion."

That was hilarious! i loved that little interlude between the siblings and it was perfectly frothy and lite. Even though it's like a 100 degrees outside, it felt like a snowy Chistmas day when I was reading your ficlet. Most enjoyable!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128635Chapter: 1
oh i love it!!! hahahaha!!! i love how you explained why mclaggan ate doxy eggs and how ron recieved his lovely christmas present. so so funny. great work!

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128632Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT!!!! It's SO effing AWESOME! Sorry about the Capslock, couldn't help it:D. You've gotten Ginny, Fred, George, oh all of them, completely right. I get excited when authors get characters right, as it's such a rare thing.

Reviewer: The Morning StarrDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128623Chapter: 1
What a cute missing moment! I liked the conversation and how you linked several things together.

I thought there was a little too much of Fred and George finishing each other's sentences when they were talking about Ron trying out for Quidditch, but the other areas of the story handled that well.

Reviewer: memeDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128620Chapter: 1
Well, I'll say the Fred and George parts are cute. And I love that you had them involved in last years Quidditch tryouts. It's heartwarming the way you show they DO care about Ron.

But as for Ginny, well I didn't like her much in canon and not here much either. Apparently she doesn't care for Ron. And how convieniently she forgets about her own involvment in Ron's getting together with Hermione. Because she couldn't keep her BIG mouth shut. Ron may have embarrassed her, but it's so obvious he does it because he loves her and cares about her. She said what she did to hurt and humiliate and can't even bother to remember it. Now she's making sure he suffers more throught F&G and even Lavender. With sisters like that who needs enemies?

Reviewer: Jadis LeStrangeDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128617Chapter: 1
Very nice, I could actually see this.

Reviewer: harpinredDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128610Chapter: 1
POPPY!!!!! I am so glad to see you writing again! And this was so wonderful. LOL, poor misguided Ron. And the twins with McLaggen! That was very sweet of them, even if they did do the deed 'twins style'.

I loved the way that you wrote Ginny. She was very in line with that part of the book.

Yay! Please write more. :)

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128608Chapter: 1
A deliciously funny glimpse of the Weasley siblings. You've got them all down perfectly, and I *loved* the idea that the twins had 'arranged' the tryouts last year. And Ginny passing on ideas for Ron's Christmas present - she is a true Weasley.

Doxy Droppings ... ROTFL. But thank you for the hint - perhaps they are Madam Pomfrey's secret ingredient in her special cure for constipation?!!

Reviewer: MilayaDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128598Chapter: 1
Hee! Absolutely adorable! I love the Weasley sibling interaction: Fred and George ribbing Ginny, Ginny giving as good as she gets. And you can tell that even though they make fun of Ron, they do it out of love. The twins putting McLaggen out of the picture is especially touching, and I love the idea that Ginny told Lavender to go for the necklace!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2005-08-03
Reviewid: 128595Chapter: 1
That was such a funny story. Laughed quite hard when the twins thought naturally that Ron was going out with Hermione. I also like Ginny there.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --