The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Pheromones
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: Moon GoddessDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146032Chapter: 1
What a nice, sweet, tight short story. I really enjoyed it.

I do have a few points I'd like to offer:

I think your title gives too much away. I already knew Remus's answer because you gave it to me right at the beginning.

The "omnipresent book" threw me at first because I am most familiar with the meaning of "omnipresent" as being everywhere at once, not as always being present - but that could just be me.

I read this after HBP, so since they were alone in a house together I naturally placed them already in their relationship until I realized near the end that I was wrong. Perhaps you could have dropped a detail that would have definitely placed it pre-HBP and the start of their relationship.

My last comment is that the word pheromone (at least in my mind) is not just a simple synonym for scent or smell but has a sexual connotation. Obviously in your story, Tonks is oblivious to this, and it is not played up at all, except by Remus in your last lines. I think it would have been fun to see Tonk's reaction if she had been aware of the accepted implications of the word. Or perhaps you can write a follow up story where she looks it up in the dictionary, makes the discovery and we get to enjoy her reaction then.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141225Chapter: 1
An Excellent ficlet. Thanks for posting.

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2006-01-25
Reviewid: 138885Chapter: 1
This story was fantastic. Everyone was in character and believable, and this was just very interesting and fun. Well done.

Oh yes, one more thing. "Werewolf Code. Although the code is really more a set of guidelines." That line alone is enough to make me want to worship you, and then go watch Pirates of the Caribbean.

Reviewer: fenfirslegacyDate: 2005-11-13
Reviewid: 135828Chapter: 1
i love it! you rock my sox, sorry for the chat talk but you do.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2005-10-15
Reviewid: 134520Chapter: 1
MMMMMM. Something to think about. Very intriguing.

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132928Chapter: 1
<i>"You've already snuck up on me." </i>

lovely! That was a very nicely done one-shot. I followed this fic from Checkmated forums where it was recommended.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131791Chapter: 1
What a lovely little moment.

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131771Chapter: 1
""Yep. Werewolf Code. Although the code is really more a set of guidelines.""

Yay, PotC forever! :D

I loved this fic. I don't read much Remus/Tonks, but this was very cute. I think you really caught the interaction between them beautifully. Well done!

Reviewer: Drunk ElvesDate: 2005-09-04
Reviewid: 131678Chapter: 1
This is terrific. Remus is v. cool here! Keep the writing up!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131326Chapter: 1
Mmmm...I do love a good bit of R/T fluff. You caught their personalities very well and I liked the rip from Pirates of the Caribbean, but I thought that last line wasn't quite...I dunno, what I was looking for. I loved him 'coloring' when she asked what he smelled like, but I find it hard to imagine Remus using the word 'Heaven' even when not in her presence. Ah, well. Different strokes and all that.

Reviewer: XedraDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131299Chapter: 1
Oh. That. Was. Good. I sooo liked this little story. Makes me smile all over the place. :)

Reviewer: SerenityDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131043Chapter: 1
Oh my. That last line, was the awesome. I loved it!

Reviewer: aliDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130747Chapter: 1
very well writte, short, cute, i loved it. :) you did a good job here, they're such a cute couple.

Reviewer: mwkDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130561Chapter: 1
oh , so sweet

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130384Chapter: 1
Aww! So sweet! This was very cute, sweet, and well-done. I love the playful banter and suggestions of chemistry between them.

Nice work!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130175Chapter: 1
>>"Remus," she said, her voice now oozing honey. "How can I improve if you don't enlighten me as to my mistakes?" She had hit him at his weak spot-- his love of teaching. She could tell by the look on his face he was now torn between enjoyment at teasing her and his desire to help.<<

Hee! Great tactic. He'd be a sucker for that.

>>"Bastard," she said in exasperation.

"Thank you. I've not been called that in a long time."<<

asdlfjas;dlkfja;sdlkfj;asldkfja;slkdf Great exchange!

A sweet story. I, too, was happy to see this ship set sail. :)

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129921Chapter: 1
Saving this! Saving this! Saving this now!! :D Ahhhhggh, this is sweet and beautiful and lovely and in character and still it's BEYOND words!!! This is the master at work! Short and sweet and scented and lovelyyyyyy! That last LINE! AUGHH!

Teehe, I know I sound like some kooky fangirl, and I can be... when I want to. This is beautiful beyond words, in its own cute, kind of fluffy way. Fluffiness is really, really good for the soul sometimes, isn't it? :) ;)

Brilliant.

Reviewer: HossDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129745Chapter: 1
That was Great.

Reviewer: CoquillageDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129708Chapter: 1
Oh, how lovely. Simple, well drawn, well executed, funny.
"You've already snuck up on me" wouldn't work with any other character in any other situation, but is absolutely brilliant here and conveys so much. Thanks

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129663Chapter: 1
Awwww. What a touching afterthought Remus had. How like him, to bottle up his feelings in that way ... great characterization, thank you so much for sharing this! :)

Reviewer: LuDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129373Chapter: 1
Although the code is really more a set of guidelines." Pirtes of the Carribbean!!!!!! I hope that's where you did get that from, sorry if it was supposed to be original....

This was so good~I love everyone playing on Remus's senses as his way of noticing Tonks....and the best line....

"You smell like Heaven" Incredibly sweet.

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129330Chapter: 1
Squee! This is awesome. I have no idea what pheromones actually are, but this is still really sweet. :)

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129295Chapter: 1
Cute! I liked the Pirates reference there! This was an interesting idea. Very nice, you should do more of this pairing.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129254Chapter: 1
Hey! I know there will be a lot of angsty R/T stories out there post-HBP, but I really liked how you captured the (slightly) more lighthearted R/T dynamic that we saw in OotP, such as how he insists on calling her "Nymphadora". I also think you captured Remus's understated sense of humor perfectly....werewolf trick, indeed. I get a feeling I know what the Amortentia potion would smell like to Remus! :)

Reviewer: MayDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129201Chapter: 1
Very very cute. I've had a little bit of a problem dealing with the Remus/Tonks thing because of the age difference (I know its really immature but I'm trying) But you did this very tastefully and very convincingly. Thankyou for that for helping me make that first step towards being able to accept it!

Reviewer: ...Date: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129190Chapter: 1
awwwwww!

Reviewer: J62442Date: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129188Chapter: 1
Oh my god! That was wonderful! "you smell like hevan". Poor Moony:(

If you haven't considered it already, you should think about a follow up to this. It would be really interesting to read and you have a nice flare for flare for writing these two characters. I've been waiting for someone to write a Remus/Tonks piece.

Thanks for that little moment!

Reviewer: srutiDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129135Chapter: 1
nice--sweet

Reviewer: prplhezDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129116Chapter: 1
Oh I absolutely adored this piece of work!!!

The thought, original; the characters, spot on; the last two lines...priceless.

>>"You're having me onů" she began, not quite sure since he was usually so serious. Then she caught the twinkle in his eyes, and suddenly realized why he had earned his place in the Marauders. "Bastard," she said in exasperation.<<

I just about died over that line! Perfection!!

Well, well done!

~Hez

Reviewer: DonDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129106Chapter: 1
Great job! That was wonderfully planned out. You moved the physical story into an emotional one. Normally, I think I would say that his comment about her sneaking up on him might be over the top. But Remus is such the intellectual, that I think it *is* fair to have him actually notice your plot device and comment upon it. And I loved that Tonks is still clumsy. Knowing Remus and the job he will do, his last comment is so bittersweet. You know he doesn't feel he can act on his feelings. And you get all of that emotion into just a few lines!

Great work!

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129102Chapter: 1
So cute. I loved it.

Reviewer: Tash...Date: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129096Chapter: 1
Heaven...oh that's perfect.

IS thsi a one shot cause if it is could you pleeeeeasssssseeee make it longer?

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129065Chapter: 1
Ah..that was so sweet. Great job.

Reviewer: dalfDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129052Chapter: 1
awwwwwwwwwww !!!!

less-than-three!

Reviewer: LanieDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129042Chapter: 1
Holy cow...guidelines and not Code...Pirates and Potters....I wrote a long crossover fiction on that once...loved your story, and so true! They are adorable together....

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129036Chapter: 1
That was too cute. The PotC reference had me giggling madly, causing my little brother to look up from the TV and stare at me as though I was a lunatic.

I like how you captured a very playful Remus.

The end had me sighing.

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-08-06
Reviewid: 129033Chapter: 1
GAH!!! That last line...literally hook, line (I know...), and sinker. It was the perfect ending.

Highly enjoyed 'instigating' Remus. :)

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128983Chapter: 1
Very cute and funny. I love the Pirates of Caribbean reference. ;-)

Favourite Lines:

""Because I am Moony, and am also not easily pranked."" - hahahahaha!X
XD

""Bastard," she said in exasperation.

"Thank you. I've not been called that in a long time."" - bwhahaha! I love Remus's sense of humour.

I also love the admission at the end. Poor Remus, taunted and tormented by his senses.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128943Chapter: 1
Very nice. Interesting suggestion for how things all started. Most R/T shippers have Tonks being the one who fell first. I think I like seeing Remus be the one who initiates the relationship.

Reviewer: AdipodesPoeDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128933Chapter: 1
Awe. I want more! That was so good. I liked it a lot. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: SteveDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128930Chapter: 1
A very cool story. Good job.

Reviewer: GwenDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128927Chapter: 1
Very nice! I'm so thrilled for Remus; I never thought JKR would give him any happiness. Great story.

Reviewer: FErnnLNDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128912Chapter: 1
plaese write more!!!!! loved it, it was sweet. PLEASE!!!!!!! update :oD

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128909Chapter: 1
Just lovely and sweet! Nice characterizations of both and good use of physical details. Left me feeling all warm and happy inside. :)

Reviewer: tweedledeeDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128903Chapter: 1
I love this fic. You made them into intelligent, funny people. You made it obvious why Tonks would be drawn to the former Marauder and vice versa. I think this is a sweet, funny fic and I loved every quirk of the eyebrow.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128897Chapter: 1
Oh, that's so sweet! And very realistic. I'm not sure why it's a secret, though.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128893Chapter: 1
:) short, bittersweet n fluffy. i always like it when remus's 'werewolf powers' com into play in his love life (gotta love that stamina *wink*) but that last line;

"You smell like Heaven," he whispered to the empty room.

that was beautifully executed. thanks for a grear remus/tonx story, the first ive read here at the quill (YAAAAAY CANNON!!)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --