The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Acts of Necessity
Review(s): 71

Reviewer: RiadhriDate: 2008-03-31
Reviewid: 150709Chapter: 1
This is funny. I wonder what happened to Lockhart. Oh well, he got what he deserved.
~Riadhri

Reviewer: VerdeniaDate: 2006-06-15
Reviewid: 143446Chapter: 1
okay, I just read the other reviews and had to add: yes, the "magical me" song is Priceless! & Mrs. Skower's, the bubbles, the clever dialogue, Snape's contempt for Filch and Lockhart, mischevous pixie planting, and solemn Mark contemplation.
So great! ;D

Reviewer: VerdeniaDate: 2006-06-15
Reviewid: 143445Chapter: 1
Oh, yay. What glorious fun! Great piece, I love it! ;D
I've seen other "Snape in a towel" challenge pieces, and, while I guess he wasn't actually IN the towel here, at least it was nearby.
Awesome! Very well-done!

Reviewer: shDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133181Chapter: 1
That was great! Absolutely perfect!

Reviewer: katie BilusDate: 2005-08-04
Reviewid: 128837Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112402Chapter: 1
excellent and very funny
thank you

Reviewer: Adred LightfootDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97514Chapter: 1
Excellent. The tone of this was spot on - many make the mistake of writing *funny* Snape in humorous situations, but he does need to be written straight, as you have.
Lockhart's characterisation was also immaculate. My favourite quote was:
“I…I…” Lockhart floundered for a bit, then quickly pasted a broad smile on his face, showing all his teeth. “I say! Not much for modesty there, are you Sev – Se- Professor Snape.”
Snape kept his scowl perfectly intact as he replied. “I’m sure you recognize the symptoms.”
Over all, a subtly and cleverly-written fic. Thanks.
Adred

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97075Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved it, lol. Lockhart is so well written - and Snape (of course). I love your way with details and the entire flow of your stories, this one being no exception.

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96798Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness that's hilarious!
"Mrs Skower’s Might As Well Scalp Yourself Heavy Duty Hair Wash" lovely!!!
"Rumors had a way of spreading. " hee hee
This was quite an amuseing story to read, well done. I love all your stuff, and this just set me to giggling ;);)

Reviewer: spiffymuffyDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93671Chapter: 1
Very funny! Snape becomes almost likeable. I love Lockhart's obnoxiousness, and Snape's blatant disgust. The descriptions of the scalding shower were wonderful. very funny, cute, silly! I loved it.

Reviewer: jaderookDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89611Chapter: 1
I love Snape fics. This is well done and you should be proud. Very cute...

Reviewer: Lacey R. OdellDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88985Chapter: 1
You know, I've read this story before, but you really can't have too much of a good thing, especially after a trying week.^^

Reviewer: Edythe GannetDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81671Chapter: 1
I love it! You certainly write Snape's POV well, and your description of Lockhart was great and so in character. I liked Mrs Skower’s Might As Well Scalp Yourself Heavy Duty Hair Wash and Lockhart's song! I want to read some more of your stories.

Reviewer: authenticpoppyDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75377Chapter: 1
Excellent story! Snape boiled to perfection.

Glad I caught a link to this story - Better late than never.

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74373Chapter: 1
I liked it! Snape in the shower- *blush*

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73540Chapter: 1
Damn you, Jedi – it’s a OVER A WEEK since I read and reviewed your story, and I still think of it EVERY TIME I take a shower. Is that ever going to stop again?

(It does put a grin on my face every morning, though, so maybe I shouldn’t complain.)

;-)

Jolie

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72399Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh. Snape in the shower. Now why does that idea make me blush? :o

*Jolie collapses in fits of uncontrollable giggling*

Ah, honestly, I laughed so much, thanks for this utterly hilarious little gem, Jedi! :)

Lockhart is wonderfully hateful in this, very in character, and Snape is wonderfully annoyed, which is of course very in character, too. I love the way the story goes from light to serious to light again. And you do a great job of writing from Snape’s POV. Snape is such a challenge to write, but you’re nailing him, really. In that way, there’s much more to this story than half an hour of harmless entertainment. Your Snape is totally the Snape I love. And did I really say that? :D

Excuse me while I go away and continue giggling for a while longer.

Jolie

Reviewer: NicolaDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72182Chapter: 1
Very ammusing!
But my friend Steph thought it was also a bit desturbing imagining Snape in the shower!!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71428Chapter: 1
Excellent!!!!! That was so much fun! What made you think of him running into Lockhart? It was classic.

Reviewer: kcinlondonDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71066Chapter: 1
Oh, lovely! I'm sitting here, delaying doing my own writing, head-bopping to a Robbie Williams cd I haven't played in a while, and via Nomad's site I get directed here.

This is... what would Ron say? "Bloody Brilliant!"

Please, Ma'am, can we have a little more? ;-)

Reviewer: StoneyDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70269Chapter: 1
I really liked this story, especially the bit about "Mrs Skower’s Might As Well Scalp Yourself Heavy Duty Hair Wash". I love it when new wizarding products show up in fanfics :-)

Reviewer: megDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70105Chapter: 1
Shocking. Absolutely shocking.
I love it.
He washes his hair...that's unbelieveable. I didn't know it was possible. Or probable. Or whatever.
I should have known. About Lockhart, that is/
I love it!

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66321Chapter: 1
Funny! Very, very funny!

Reviewer: MinkychanzDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65397Chapter: 1
oooooooohh, snape-washing-his=hair-goodness, yummy :)

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-11-19
Reviewid: 60533Chapter: 1
lol! snape washed his hair!!! yay! and played a prank too :) its nice to see him as the pranker and not the prankee for once lol. nice job

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60489Chapter: 1
LOL. What a great story. I just love Lockhart's song! It's frightening and wonderful!

Reviewer: SassafrassDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54744Chapter: 1
That was fantastic, it made me giggle. And the line Snape makes about any dazzled ladies being benefitted by their proximity to the hospital wing - that was a <i>very</i> Snape thing to say. Great characterisation! And lovely descriptions, very imaginative - the bubbles were a nice touch =D

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52563Chapter: 1
Cute! I liked that one.

Reviewer: AhrimanneDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52126Chapter: 1
Excellent. Wondered how you would get to the main story from the starter. And you introduced a rascal like side to the Master that I would never have imagined. Thanx. pretty brilliant.

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50949Chapter: 1
LOL that story was hilarious! Snape is truly evil! Well done.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48963Chapter: 1
wait.....
"Snape walked in, waving the bubbles aside to clear a path.
Unbelievable. The man – no, not a man. A….
Snape’s smirk widened."

that mean what i THINK it does??????????

and, as funny as this was, and as happy i am as to see snape with washed hair, the mental imagery of snape... in teh shower... *shudders*..... its liek the horrid simpsons episodes with Mr Burns in the shower...
uuuugghhhhhhh

Reviewer: ShaeDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47368Chapter: 1
I just want to say that was bloody brilliant. I loved it.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46479Chapter: 1
Oh my God! I'm still laughing! That was hillarious! You're just too good, you know that? It was funny, but well-written. And the parts with the Dark Mark was awesome too. But fun-ny! Whoo-hoo! Great job!

Reviewer: AddisonRaeDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44745Chapter: 1
That was hillarious! I'm quite pleased at teh punishment that git Lockhart got...and the singing...ugh! it was brilliant! good work!

Reviewer: SnoozepossumDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44143Chapter: 1
Giggle . . .snort . . .snicker . . .whoohoohahahahahaheehee . . .ahem . . .

Beauty! I love the bit with the bubbles being music (or lack thereof) sensitive!

May today tread lightly,
Snoozepossum

Reviewer: samDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42897Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! that was hilarious! Funny! Funny! MORE!!! Magical Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Reviewer: AmishVomitCakeDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42817Chapter: 1
The fact that the title was "Acts of Necessity" followed by the description of "Snape washes his hair" made me laugh hysterically. The story was hilarious, I loved it...NAKED SNAPE....shocking Lockhart, heh heh, brilliant. Though, now I'm picturing Naked Snape...it's not too pretty...my eyes burn.

Reviewer: shellavaDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42636Chapter: 1
Hilarious!!!!!!!Haven't laughed so hard in ages. Thank you.

Reviewer: evil girlDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42477Chapter: 1
he he he he he he he!!!! shaaaaaaameeeeeeeee lockheart. Go Snape its your birthday we gonna party likes its your birthday. i really liked this story i really want to know what it would be like to be their when he puts on the towl!! if there ever was a time to recieve a stich from laughing then thhis is that time. you captured the characters soooooooo well. i bet youve already heard this loads of times before but..........yoe are sooooooooooo talented and you should write profesionaly(so sorry about spelling, cant frankly be bothered)
thank you for giving me and many other people a laugh.
***BONJOVIE HOVIE***

Reviewer: evil girlDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42476Chapter: 1
he he he he he he he!!!! shaaaaaaameeeeeeeee lockheart. Go Snape. i really liked this story i really want to know what it would be like to be their when he puts on the towl!!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42395Chapter: 1
Ok, I'll admit morbid curiosity dragged me in here. Imagine my delight at stumbling across such a delicious wee tale!

[i]“At least in the hospital wing they may be cured of the trauma,” [/i]

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

thanks for the pleasure!

Reviewer: KamikazeCreamPuffDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41802Chapter: 1
Ummmm....^_^;; ha ha ha ha....ha....ha.............^_^;;

Reviewer: ishihanaDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41601Chapter: 1
Hah! Lockheart with colourful bubbles and sparkly towels. (giggles) And you captured Snape perfectly! :D

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40149Chapter: 1
Very funny, I laughed out loud and I rarly do that at stories. I liked the Lockhart and Snape interaction.

Reviewer: DragonflyDate: 2003-06-27
Reviewid: 38755Chapter: 1
That was hilarious. XD

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36417Chapter: 1
Can you please post more? BUMP!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35671Chapter: 1
I loved it. Heehee! Thank you.
Down with Lockheart!

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35664Chapter: 1
hahaha! go snape, its ur birthday, were gonna party like its ur birthday....

finally! a fic where snape does something right w/out being undeniably out of charachter.

and im glad 2 know that he washed his hair. not that he'll ever look anything but oooogly.

go pixies!

-official president of the unofficial pixie adoration club

~*lexi*~

Reviewer: avitalDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33687Chapter: 1
lol! I don't unserstand is lockhart a girel?

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-05-22
Reviewid: 33171Chapter: 1
SNAPE PLAYING TRICKS ??
hehehehhe i LOVED it it was hilarious man. and you played snape just too well.. the signs from the past thats will never go away..luvely i dunoe wat else to say. BLOODY BRILLIANT ! and lockhart.. you got him to a T.. * all puns intended* i mean it was funny and serious.. and u maxed out a small shower into...well it was too good

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28798Chapter: 1
I love this! It's hilarious, comedic genious really, and I think you've nailed the characters. (as a huge Snape fan I have the right to judge ;^) Keep this kind of thing up - I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Milamber45Date: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28717Chapter: 1
That was incredibly funny, and very well written. Good job, Jedi Bodicea. *Thumbs up*

Reviewer: KylandraDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25658Chapter: 1
Marvelous fic. Lockhart and Snape are perfectly characterized. These two play off one another very well, and you've just captured that spot-on.

And oh, just imagining the havoc that pixie will wreak...

Reviewer: bookofdaysDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24436Chapter: 1
Couldn't stop laughing Brilliant

Reviewer: KonieDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24370Chapter: 1
*snerk* That seems like a very Snape thing to do.

Reviewer: netratDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21790Chapter: 1
This is brilliant! You had me laughing on the floor as soon as Lockhart appeared on the scene! I love it how you say so much about Snape (about Lockhart too, but hey, I'm a Snape fan) in such a restricted setting and such a short time.

Any chances of a sequel - another Snape and Lockhart vignette?

Reviewer: EswenDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21697Chapter: 1
Excellent - I loved every bit of that and it was really funny. Very well written too.

Reviewer: ahDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18561Chapter: 1
sgfh

Reviewer: C-MageDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18364Chapter: 1
Mmm...I actually like Snape a little! ^.^ Very well done, and I like how Snape's thinking. Gives me a bit of an insight. I really liked the ending, too, with the Cornish pixie. And the silky hair, too. ^.~ ~ C-Mage

Reviewer: KatishaDate: 2002-12-30
Reviewid: 14438Chapter: 1
Oh, I love it.

Reviewer: LusanDate: 2002-12-16
Reviewid: 12803Chapter: 1
I always wondered whe Snape's hair is always so greasy. Now I know. Tremendously funny! Thanks for the giggle.

Reviewer: JennleeDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9944Chapter: 1
Hi - I loved this - your Snape was excellent and your Lockhart hilarious! Loved the singing, especially. This was really cute. Oh, the name of the shampoo had me laughing out loud, also.

Reviewer: AshfaeDate: 2002-11-21
Reviewid: 9721Chapter: 1
This is absolutely brilliant. Oh so amused am I.

Reviewer: Pickle PrincessDate: 2002-10-29
Reviewid: 7586Chapter: 1
lol! man, that was hilarious! "No doubt the idiot was veritably prancing..." hahaha. keep writing, this is good, especially, for a lot of fluff. ;)

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2002-10-27
Reviewid: 7159Chapter: 1
HOOO HA HA HA HA! That was absolutely HILARIOUS! (Sorry for my spelling.) This is wonderful, laughable stuff here. GREAT JOB! I was giggling throughout the entire thing.

"Let's just hope none of the ladies decide to come on down, eh?" Lockhart grinned. "Wouldn't want to dazzle them too badly."

That was so funny!!!!

WONDERFUL work!

Smiles,
Hermione

Reviewer: Jess ScefingDate: 2002-10-14
Reviewid: 6235Chapter: 1
... Dare I ask "Not a man. A..." was about? Frankly, it has me quite scared, but not in the least suprised. *Evil grin*

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-09-22
Reviewid: 4510Chapter: 1
Love this story! The part where Snape thinks about the dark mark were a sober point in between the humor and very nicely done. Loved his revenge on Lockhart! I'm in agreement with Severus, nothing is quite as irritating as a pompous git. Also loved Lockhart's uh... surprise at Severus's appearance au naturel! LOL.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-17
Reviewid: 4142Chapter: 1
Snape has finally washed his hair.. about time too. :) I do hope his hair looks washed in the 5th book at some point. Great writing

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 650Chapter: 1
What a great idea for a story- most definatly an act of necessity.
This was very funny and you kept both Snape and Lockhart nicely in character the whole way through. Well done :)

Reviewer: Silver ArrowDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 564Chapter: 1
"I say! Not much for modesty there, are you Sev - Se- Professor Snape."

Snape kept his scowl perfectly intact as he replied. "I'm sure you recognize the symptoms."
~
LOL! This is great! Such an original idea! And so many nice touches, too... "...silky..."

Reviewer: BaronessDate: 2002-08-01
Reviewid: 539Chapter: 1
Mmm....Snape in the shower. <wibble>.

Nice!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --