The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 59

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2007-03-08
Reviewid: 147412Chapter: 7
Please tell me you will be continuing this wonderfull story!!! We, the people, have been waiting far too long for an update!!! This is one of my favorites, and is also the best portayal of Miss Tonks that Ive seen.. It is a delightfull tale and hope to see more chapters soon!

Reviewer: elvenprincess688Date: 2007-03-04
Reviewid: 147353Chapter: 7
I miss this story! It's so funny, and I hope you haven't abandoned it entirely!

Reviewer: ArielDate: 2007-02-22
Reviewid: 147271Chapter: 7
I signed up for the Sugar Quill forum specifically in order to review this story! I think you do a great job balancing Tonks' character- she's professional (the bit with her observing the other wizards and witches in The Three Broomsticks was great!) but still young and fun (Arsyface, hee). Reading this really makes me feel like somehow "Bridget Jones" has been combined with "Harry Potter" to make an excellent, entertaining story! Of course, we are all dying to read about Lupin, and Tonks' introduction to the Order, so please update soon! *puts a Sugar Quill on your desk*

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-10-31
Reviewid: 146025Chapter: 7
*knock knock* Hello, are you in there? When are you going to give us the rest of this delightfull story already? We are getting very impatient out here, and are getting desperate for a fix! Come on now, it's been more than enough time!

Reviewer: Rincewind the WizzardDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144297Chapter: 7
After re-reading this story for the 87th time I checked out your reviews and noticed that I've never bothered to review it! Well, here I am, so get ready to be praised! :)

I love Bridget Jones's Diary(despite my gender-handicap), and I think your version is just as good as the original! You've captured everything that made BJD so funny, and managed to incorporate it into the HP-verse in an absolutely brilliant way! Your Tonks is the funniest Tonks I've ever read, and all the other canon characters are spot on as well. My favorite was definitely Snape, his Floo-call interaction with Tonks is my favorite scene in the whole story.

I really don't want to nag or anything, but I think you ought to know that if you don't update soon I'll be forced to take drastic measures to feed my R/T addiction.... I might have to go to The-Site-That-Must-Not-Be-Named!! Desperate times and all that... :P

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142786Chapter: 7
this is great - good work -- more please

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-05-12
Reviewid: 142756Chapter: 1
"On’y hadda lil bit of Far… Fahrwiss… Ogden’s. Sebashion’s a twat. Sophie bessever. She hexed Arsy Face! Bessfren ever!"

Ohjeez I love that.

xD

I love the whole story as well...another one of my favorite excerpts being "21:15 andIboughtthatgown

21:16 ...

21:17 Oh, like you didn't know I would."

Just every little part of the way you portray dear Tonksie is perfect, pinpointedly (yeah so what if it's not a word) accurate. I love it.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-05-10
Reviewid: 142710Chapter: 6
I really love this story about Tonks. It is my gold standard, if you like. I sincerely hope you will update soon. In the rough seas of Harry Potter fan fiction, this light hearted tale is one of the better ones out there, and one I keep comming back to, over and over aagain.

Wonderfull story!

Reviewer: fableheartDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142449Chapter: 7
Yes! Update! Yay! You do have a good point about JKR's updating schedule (or however you spell that).

Okay, this is the best tonks story i have ever read. Just sayin'.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142069Chapter: 7
Oh, I'm so glad this is updated! It's a lovely treat to come home after work and read this little cheerful chapter. Tonks's journal is absolutely hilarious! Thanks for the new chapter!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142068Chapter: 7
Yay ishie! This is fantastic and now I think I might have the chance of getting my wife onto the quill (and off my back about the hours I spend not doing other things ...like sleep). You've caught the Bridget Jones style wonderfully well and MADE IT WORK FOR TONKS! It really does work in this context. And somehow (its too late for me to go back and see precisely how) somehow you've managed to maintain space in her character for some simple warmth (family) and serious issues (dreams of acromantula/masks/wizard) and Sirius. OH! So much to engage us! More!

Reviewer: h2oDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142055Chapter: 7
Haha, this is just positivly hilarious! I <3 your Tonks! I can't wait until you update this :D Thanks for the great read, keep up the good work!

//Kev

Reviewer: cyberwitchDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 142005Chapter: 7
Oh, great, you're back!

Man, this is just awesome, I can't stop laughing :)

Reviewer: Loopy_NymphDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 142000Chapter: 7
Whee! So pleased to see that you are continuing this piece of fic!
Although I do recognize the "Bridget-Jones" idea around this piece, it is a wonderful, fresh way to approach the story of Nymphadora Tonks.
Please continue the good work! (And don't keep us waiting so long for the next installment!)

Reviewer: OpaleyzDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 141993Chapter: 7
I'm so glad you've finally updated! I've enjoyed your fic from the beginning, and am excited to find out what you have in store.

My favorite line from this chapter:

"13:21 Note to self: remember to transfigure jumper back into biscuits before eating. Wool fibres are nowhere near as tasty. Also, absentmindedly shoving a biscuit into mouth in front of boss is not nearly as embarrassing as doing the same with a sleeve."

Reviewer: RosezellDate: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 141981Chapter: 7
Terribly excited about this story, and can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141979Chapter: 7
Yeah, an update! I love how flustered Tonks is around Remus, and it's even cuter considering she doesn't know him. The part with the cookies was hilarious, and I could well imagine security at the QWC would have been very difficult and stressful to manage. Will she run into Remus again soon?

Reviewer: GringottsbankerDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141976Chapter: 1
Ishie--very, very funny Tonks voice, dead-on characterisation of the main canon cast like Snape, Moody, Lupin, and Molly, and great background character development for Andromeda and Kingsley. You, Alkari, and FernWithy are creating rich, wonderfully believable histories for Tonks and Lupin, and have made your readers as emotionally committed to them as they always were to Harry, Ron, and Hermione.

Congratulations on showing us that undearneath the youthful and irreverant Tonks who crushes after Rupert and Bill there is an emotionally mature woman who will become heartbroken and sacrificing for a man like Lupin. I can't wait for the next chapters, your characterisations are just so darn good!

Reviewer: JoyDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141975Chapter: 7
Yes! Thrilled to see a new chapter and you didn't disappoint.

"13:09 Aaaand I just went to the bad place. Let’s just say, I’m fairly sure the Brothers Weasley would never engage in such scandalous behaviour."

Loved that! Really loved the unexpected meeting with Slim.

As always, will be waiting patiently for the next chapter.

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141019Chapter: 6
This is one of my favs. I sincerely hope you will continue with this wonderfully silly tale. You have struck just the right note with Tonks.I seem to come back over and over to this story and enjoy it just as much every time. Im impatiently waiting for more ,um, interaction with Tonks and Slim. Should be a hoot and a half! So,come on now- get busy and get us more of this story!!!

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138081Chapter: 6
This is a great read. I love the rapid-delivery-diary style. It works perfectly with Tonks. Nice job, keep it up (soon please)!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137816Chapter: 6
I absolutely love this! Your Tonks' voice is believable and hilariously funny, and your plotline and the problems she is facing are very realistic. I can't wait to see how Rupert plays out, and when she'll get to know Slim/Lupin properly. Do write more!

Reviewer: KitzamaeveDate: 2005-12-29
Reviewid: 137763Chapter: 6
Finally! Sorry I haven't reviewed earlier, I forgot my username. anyhow it's a really good story, I'm glad you finally updated I was beginning to loose hope :P

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2005-12-28
Reviewid: 137751Chapter: 6
Im so glad you are continuing with this story. Its very entertaining and is so much like the Tonks I see and hear in my head. Please, continue!!!

Reviewer: JoyDate: 2005-12-28
Reviewid: 137732Chapter: 6
I’d almost given up hope that you’d continue this! The humor is spot-on…subtle yet hilarious. So looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: JoyDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136193Chapter: 5
Okay,now I have three Remus/Tonks stories to drool over. More please!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-10-16
Reviewid: 134595Chapter: 5
This is so funny and cute, please continue !

Reviewer: Poetryluver793/GreenTeaDate: 2005-10-09
Reviewid: 134053Chapter: 5
Hey wanted to leave a message here as well, hope nothing bad happened, as it's been a month since you updated. Good luck, hope nothing bad happened

Reviewer: GretaDate: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133685Chapter: 5
Great story. Very funny and well-written. I can't wait to see how Remus/Tonks plays out!

Reviewer: Rann..* HICK *.Date: 2005-09-23
Reviewid: 133111Chapter: 5
Thha chhap'er sssh shhoo khoool. i love ur shhorry a lo.. 'ot. bess fre'ns eva

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132871Chapter: 5
Am loving every chapter. I'm a huge Bridget Jones fan and I think you're doing a great job of using the style but making it your own. And just like with Bridget, the way you write Tonks makes me feel better about my own faults and the cringe-worthy things I do and say each day.

Can't wait to read more. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Marissa DarlingDate: 2005-09-18
Reviewid: 132774Chapter: 5
I've been glued to the computer screen for the past hour reading this. It's wonderful! I can't wait to hear Tonk's backstory to the whole remus/tonks situation; and her version of meeting Harry etc. WRITE FAST this is very exciting.

Reviewer: BramberDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132371Chapter: 5
I like this a lot! very well written and a fabulous plotline! thankyou for sharing your talents! ~Bramber

Reviewer: mallaryDate: 2005-09-11
Reviewid: 132269Chapter: 5
I love how you introduced Remus. Very cute. And I like the Remus Kingsley friendship going on there.

Poor Tonks! Humiliated in front of the man she'll fall in love with! I know how it feels to trip over oneself.

"His eyebrows look like they’re attacking his forehead" That's such a great description! Funny, and vivid. I love it.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132222Chapter: 5
Loved the crystal phials line. Hilarious, very Tonx.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132214Chapter: 5
Wow, didn't expect that introduction of Remus there--I liked it, though! And managed to keep it in character, too. That's so Remus, to be nice to Tonks after she trips and practically falls on him. I started laughing at the observations of the various people sitting in the Three Broomsticks, that was really great little character sketches there. What exactly were he and Shacklebolt talking about, I wonder? Ooh, the suspense...

Reviewer: VeronicaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132134Chapter: 5
can't...stop....laughing....

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132062Chapter: 5
And you deliver again!!! Excellent job w/ Remus. Ohh my heart goes out to him and thanks for most certainly making Tonks's heart go too. Love the subjects at the Three Broomsticks; stroke of genius. Also: thanks even more for actually updating at sane times (aka more than once an Age, unlike some authors....)

Reviewer: MCDate: 2005-09-09
Reviewid: 132004Chapter: 5
Wow, this is amazing. The funniest thing I've read in ages, and I love how you've managed to capture Tonks and flesh her out a bit. Would she and Remus have met ever? Even if she didn't recognize or remember him, do you think he'd have recognized her name, at least? Write more soon, pleeeease.

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131830Chapter: 4
Oy, I was wrong. Twenty reviews total, counting this one. (Come on, people.) Have just reread story and am still in tears. Really ought to stop raving now but it's quite hard to do.

Reviewer: FableheartDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131751Chapter: 4
Ishie, darling, you've only got seventeen reviews currently, and everyone who hasn't read this story/hasn't bothered to review is completely effing insane. This is most possibly the funniest thing I have ever read. Ever. In my life. Okay, I might exaggerate (sp?) slightly, but I have not laughed so hard in AGES. Update ASAP or face... erm... peril. No. Seriously. This story is really, really great. I am just LOVING how you write Tonks, who has become one of my favorite character since HBP (I love anyone who loves Lupin). You are just doing so well and I would go on for aeons about exactly how well you're doing but you'd probably like to kill me, so I'll just leave it at this, reread your story about eight more times, and then check for updates twice more.

Yeah. Good stuff. Sexcellent writing, man.

Reviewer: Morag CamshronDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131443Chapter: 4
Oh, this is great, ishie!

This bit had me grinning like a maniac: “And the winner: 28 Sirius Black sightings, including one witch who said he broke into her house and seduced her!
Bet Kingsley’s loving that one...”

I enjoyed the way that you wove in canonical information (Snape capturing Sirius, etc.) seamlessly into your fic, and look forward to seeing Tonks meet Remus.

- Morag Camshron

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131421Chapter: 4
:: dies :: Snape's Floo-call was BRILLIANT! You've got his voice spot-on :)

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131342Chapter: 4
Sorry, I misunderstood the ending of the chapter- I thought it was the end of the story. *facepalm*

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131341Chapter: 4
I just read this story today and enjoyed it a lot, thanks for writing! Will there be a sequel?

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131339Chapter: 4
HahHa!!
"'Magical Law Enforcment, Auror Division. What is the nature of your emergency?'
'Magical Law Enforcment, Auror Division. What is the nature of your emergency?'
'Aurors. What's the problem?'"
Apparently Tonks got tired. I know I would have.
Great chapter, continue!
Angie

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131311Chapter: 4
<i>Why are women’s bosoms always heaving? Are they having respiratory problems? Is this all just badly-disguised kinky illness smut?</i> ROTFL - a girl after my own heart! But you forgot the low cut gowns, out of which they should fall when they heave too much ...
<i> And the winner: 28 Sirius Black sightings, including one witch who said he broke into her house and seduced her!

Bet Kingsley’s loving that one...</i>
Your story is great fun, and Tonks is just wonderfully irreverent Tonks. Fun loving, but still a professional. Her list of calls for the evening was a gem, and reads suspiciously like RL police logs :p The dream was very vivid - the mishmash of everyday normal life transformed into nightmares, with symbolism of the future.

Snape contacting the Aurors after the events of the Shrieking Shack was a wonderful touch, and he was perfectly Snarky Snape.

I'm sorry I haven't reviewed before now, but you are definitely on my "Read" list of fics.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131289Chapter: 4
Definitely the best installment yet--hiliarious, clever, fast-moving, meshes well with canon. The creepy dream has me really thinking, and the transcription of the Floo calls was priceless. You completely nailed Snape's voice. The bit about Tonks reading the trashy romance novel reminded me of FernWithy's "Shifts," and it's very in-character I think for your Tonks. Tonks seems to be really coming into her own here--I can't wait to find out how she reacts to the news of Sirius's capture & escape.

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131274Chapter: 4
This story is great!

I love light-hearted fics, and this one is beautifully well written. The balance you're beginning to create with more serious aspects (like Tonks's extraordinarily creepy dream) is working very well. I really love the way you write Tonks - it makes me laugh, and anything that makes me laugh is good in my books! I particularly liked the exchange between Tonks and Snape at the end of this chapter - particularly well written, and even though you never said his name, you could tell it was Snape right away, even before he got to the PoA-plot-point bit.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130818Chapter: 3
Basements are scary, aren't they, Tonks?
I read this story the first time it was up the Latest Fiction bar, but... I never reviewed. Huh.
But, I do LOVE this story, it really is just how I imagined Tonks. Very random and funny. I can see the influences of Bridget Jones in here.
Write more, Angie.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130454Chapter: 3
Very well done, quite in character for Tonks. Good job!

Reviewer: ClothoDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130202Chapter: 1
How much do I love this story!?!?! The voice is fabulous, you make Tonks sound just the way I picture her (not to mention it is HILARIOUS. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: PirateQueenDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130102Chapter: 2
This is great - you've really brought Tonks to life and made her very endearing. Looking forward to reading more ...

Reviewer: MeredithDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130085Chapter: 2
Classic Tonks, so in character! You've renewed my deep and abiding affection for that clutzy, punky girl!

Reviewer: FeylinDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130031Chapter: 2
Oh how nice! I really like how the format of this lets Tonx's persionality shine through.

Keep writing!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130028Chapter: 2
This does remind me strongly of "Lamentations of a Starry Eyed Twit" I love it!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130023Chapter: 2
I love how Tonks is so relatable. The part about chocolate for breakfast...well, I couldn't have agreed more. Some of this is so hilarious (like the line about the mountain troll, and the part about the undead prefering vegetation, LOL), and some of it is so touching. It makes such a nice, fun read.

Reviewer: cyberwitchDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129857Chapter: 1
Pretty funny and very good.
Keep the chapters coming!

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2005-08-12
Reviewid: 129748Chapter: 1
I thought that this was hilarious when I read it for the first time elsewhere, and it's equally good here.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --