The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Coffee
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: ReenaDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140097Chapter: 3
didn't know you posted chapter 3, and I don't know what made me check for it today (February 20th) of all days. It was kind of surprising to see today's date in this chapter.

I love the whole Black Magic soap opera thing, very creative.

The thought of Snape have Playwizard magazines totally creeped me out *shudder*

Please write more.

Reviewer: jinxDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138072Chapter: 1
Whoops, sorry, I've made an error. Retraction: Still waiting for the FOURTH installment, not third.

Reviewer: jinxDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138071Chapter: 1
Still waiting for the third installment...

Reviewer: ThaliaLupinDate: 2005-12-19
Reviewid: 137410Chapter: 3
Oh, please continue!!!! You can't just leave it off there!!!!

Reviewer: jinxDate: 2005-12-17
Reviewid: 137318Chapter: 1
Love both Coffee and Cheese. My style precisely. I like how you didn't do the traditional cliche couples, Ron and Hermione, Ginny and Harry. Those get boring after a while. It's more fun with new characters with the Hogwarts setting. I await anxiously for the next installment. Hurry!

Jinx (I wont jinx you if you finish the series, more than just Coffe too, but if you dont write anymore...lets just say my wand is at the ready)

Reviewer: juniperDate: 2005-12-08
Reviewid: 136915Chapter: 1
I Love this fic!
Please hurry up with the next installment. I cant wait.

Reviewer: TigerLillyDate: 2005-11-27
Reviewid: 136383Chapter: 3
YES! Pretty boy inevitably funked up...I LOVE IT!
Quite origional...eagerly awaiting the next update!

Reviewer: Love2danceDate: 2005-11-26
Reviewid: 136316Chapter: 3
Oh, my goodness you have to update as soon as possible because I want to now what happens so badly!!! I actually love both of your fics and have read them both in one day so hurry, hurry, HURRY!!! Thanks, Love2dance

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136174Chapter: 3
Wonderful! I can't wait for the rest. I like the different charms you have Cedric assume while trying to reach the Bubble-head charm.

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2005-11-22
Reviewid: 136165Chapter: 3
Loved the incoherent acronym-mnemonic. Perhaps a bit too extremely. Although, as a sticking point, I would contend that a bellow and a titter are rather more intense than a chuckle. ;)

And the Double-Bubble-Toil/Trouble Head Charms made me grin like an idiot. Thanks to you, people are asking me questions that I find difficult to explain. Well written, as with everything of yours I've read. Your characters are excellent, and I find myself cheering for them, which is perhaps the highest praise I can give for someone with so many "semi-OC's". [insert cynical/touching/potentially humorous remark here that will encourage you to continue writing this story].

Thanks,
MW

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136103Chapter: 3
*snert* Loved Prof. Vector's laughter scale. Very detailed.

[“Snape gave you detention cleaning out his chambers and you found his secret stash of Playwizard magazines.”]

Dies laughing.

[Across the table, Megan Jones’s eyebrows shot into her hairline. “Did Verius and Maribelle break up?” she exclaimed. “That’s awful!”

Susan Bones gasped. “Now they won’t be able to use the Powerful Power of Love to defeat Kraddnalive, the Evil Dark Lord of Darkness and Evil!”]

Oh. that's too funny! It makes me blush a little bit because I sometimes get a little too excited about fictional characters getting together, but at least they're on good TV shows. :) The dialogue between the characters feels very natural, I feel like I'm part of the group reading this.

[Dublon Tondra’s work]

I think that's my most favorite original name *ever*!!

Whoa! Awesome reveal at the end! Loved how you worked a bit of canon in ther with Cedric practicing the Bubble-Head charm again. Really fantastic, can't wait for the next installment!

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136085Chapter: 3
An update! Wonderful. This fic really is addictive, you know. Like coffee, only moreso.

This was a wonderful chapter, as always - The Dreaded Return of Juno and Nydia compensated for the horror of Edmundlessness perfectly. I loved the Arithmancy class - AASGTSBCGLCGSCCTHHFDAD made me chuckle and askffjkdsafhgd. So very Hogwarts-y! Most fanfic authors seem to overdo the seriousness of the school - canon shows there are some deeply bizarre and comfortingly useless things going around there, too. Like sorting hats singing, students turning owls into opera goggles - and a scale for types of laughter.

Sylvia was as sharp as ever - giraffe scales and monologues on the word 'Right'. Black Magic's also very real - I'm glad you made it an unisex obsession (as, in reality, soapies are - although most people don't seem to realize that). Cedric's Trouble Head Charm... well, it was unexpected. I thought The Big Dramatic Giraffe Tango was to happen on the day of the Second Task - you fastforwarded a bit. That's good. Although Cedric's first embarrasing secret didn't make MUCH sense - there's no shame in tricky mothers and fathers-with-a-sweet-tooth - it's not really HIS problem. Although it showed what a femily-centric person Cedric is - my. You write him to be almost as fanciable as Edmund is.

One thing bothered me... this part:
"One day, perhaps, when I am old and grey and hopefully a lot wiser than I am now, I will understand how Sabina could possibly swap sweet Archie Stebbins for Kenneth Towler of the stupid hair. Right now, however, it looks like the stupidest decision in the world."

In Cheese, she said she found Kenneth 'too sweet' - and that she didn't want to go with him becuase of said sweetness and vulnerability. Now, Archie is sweet and Kenneth is lacking personality. Although I suppose this MIGHT be a sign of hypocricy from her... it's hard to remember Sylvia has her flaws and is not fully realistic at all times.

Still, thank you very much for this chapter - yet again, it made Monday seem a bit brighter!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136074Chapter: 3
Ah! I can always count on the Sylvia stories to cheer me up! Once again, brilliant job on the narrative and all the charming details (Professor Vector's 'simple' acronym reminds me of every algebra class I've ever been in!) I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136067Chapter: 3
Excellent chapter! It was short, but definately good. I like the idea of the Hufflepuffs being obsessed with a radio soap opera and silly Mary Sues.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136066Chapter: 3
The trouble-headed charm had me laughing! Reminds me a bit of Foul Ol Ron from Terry Prachets Discworld. The parallel between Black Magic and JKR had me grinning as well.

Reviewer: bribitribbitDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136064Chapter: 3
Dun, dun, dun! A cliffie!

I love this fic so much. I really really love Sylvia way too much. There is something about cynical people that make them more lovable than they want to be. :P And Black Magic--fjsajfdd;kafdjs. :D

Love from,
Brittney

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-10-20
Reviewid: 134857Chapter: 2
Heh...not a Cho fan are you? Me either.

This spin on Cedric was entertaining, but (and it's highly unusual for your stories) it made me sad to think that he'd never get a chance to borrow that dictionary. Obviously, you planned this. I'm here to inform you of your success. ;)

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-10-18
Reviewid: 134706Chapter: 2
You write well, very much for an older audience, it is great!

Reviewer: Serena AquiousDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134644Chapter: 2
A cynical tale to be enjoyed by those with similar aspects on life. Entertaining, Delightful, and Unique. The way the author leaves out many of the oftenly used characters including Harry Potter, Draco Malfoy, Hermione Granger, and of course Ron Weasley. Good hints of Cho Chang and Cedric Diggery.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134377Chapter: 2
[your sister just happens to be moping round Ravenclaw Turret looking as if she dived into an ocean full of angst.]

Hahahaha! Too funny! I love Edmund. He and Sylvia are perfectly matched!

[“I’m trying to teach myself the Bubble-Head Charm,” he answered from the head on the left side. “For the Triwizard Tournament. Unfortunately,
it’s not going that well - I screwed up somewhere and managed to put the Double-Head Charm on myself instead.”
I chuckled. “Well, you should be able to figure out the Bubble-Head Charm, now, surely - you’ve got two brains to do the thinking with.”]

He, that's such a cute exchange between the two of them. This is the perfectvfic to read before the GoF movie comes out. I hate it when people abandon the "old" books in the series to write missing moments, alternative POVs, etc. from "new" books. GoF is one of my favorites and your Sylvia certainly does the book justice. I would love to see a Slyvia rant on Umbridge, but perhaps that's too easy a target for Sylvia.

[He leaned back. “I am suddenly very glad I’m an only child.”]

Oh, *sniff* Poor Mr. & Mrs. Diggory.

[“My lips are sealed - both sets of them. I shall be as silent as the grave. Cross my heart and hope to die.”]

Oh, now you're just being mean! :)

Ouch! Sylvia is a bit harsh about Cho, but I suppose she has a point. Love her conversation with Cedric. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: AdiDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134370Chapter: 2
Yes! Sisyphus, /The Devil's Dictionary/, /The Cynic's Dictionary/, and Cho-bashing /all in one fic/! *goes into paradoxyms of delight*

I've wanted to read those dictionaries since I first heard them quoted (I've heard them quoted a lot since), but I've never gotten around to it. You have renewed my desire to find them. Thank you.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134221Chapter: 2
I'm glad this was updated--I've been waiting! :) I love Cedric's appearance, and Sylvia's analysis of Cho. (I especially love that Cho couldn't have gone anywhere but Ravenclaw--not even Hufflepuff, which is where misfits usually go, according to most people. How wrong they are.) And Edmund is so, so sweet!

Love,
Brittney

Reviewer: KrissoniaDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134212Chapter: 1
ooh! I didn't know that this was back! *fangirls*

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134211Chapter: 2
Wonderful chapter.. you have me reading in world history class!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134196Chapter: 2
Oh that was wonderfully mean about Cho having no where else to go. Good job with Cedric. Nice to see him as a bit more than good-looking empty headed cannon fodder.

Reviewer: JUne luttrellDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134181Chapter: 2
i really enjoy your writing style and your main charachter is an amalgum of my two closest friends. PLease continue writing this story.

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134179Chapter: 2
This lovely story's curiouser and curiouser...

I'm very glad we've seen a yet-unnoticed side of Miss S. Fawcett of Hufflepuff - the unsure, frightened, 'typical' teenager. She's trying to do the right thing, poor dear, but has no idea what it is. Her deep-rooted cynism is more human now - and the rose-coloured sunglasses gained much more meaning. The 'Gryffindors and Slytherins frolicking in the meadows' part, apart from making The Reader smirk friendlily, also shows how close some stereotypes are to The Undoubtable and Well-Proved Laws of the Universe.

Sylvia's more lovable than ever, as is Edmund... lesser couples would have easily got in a row about this - tears, 'you-don't-trust-me?!'s and angstmush. Their handling of the situation was just perfect, really - Mariana Susannah herself would have handled it worse than Sylvia did.

The Girlfriend's Laws were perfect beyond words... as is the twin thing. Sylvia's care for Archie is very lovely - she is a filthy hypocrate, isn't she? In Cheese she said poor Archie's not-too-intelligent (in her eyes, at least). She made it clear she dislikes not-too-intelligent people. Yet... well. I suppose no female on Earth could dislike Archie after finding out about Mr. Potamus.

Uncle Cedric the Double Headed was just perfect... I'm still having a strong mental image about him. Actually, despite the fact that he's just a plotpointish side-character in your story, yours is by far the most sympathetic Cedric-portrayal I've ever come across in fandom. Really, he's quite crush-inducing... although he's not just another version of Edmund. Which is great.

As for Sylvia's view on Cho... perfectly human, Sylviesque and teenageristic. Wonderful. Sylvia herself isn't free of prejudices - in matters of House, romance and giggling... I wonder if she'll get to know Cho better before the end (not that I'm sure she'd change her opinion - probably won't. But still - a face-to-face comfrontation is always lovely to read).

Syliva's (your) style was, as always, perfect. The Cedric's death foreshadowings made one want to giggle and shiver at the same time. I did kinda miss Juno and Nydia, though.

Completely lovely, really... Updates can make one's day.

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134178Chapter: 2
I was told I would enjoy this story and, I must say, I am in love with it! It's amazing what good authors can do with briefly mentioned characters, and I love how you don't overdo the twin thing. I also adore your two-headed Cedric with reading glasses. ;)

And the Cynic's Dictionary quote about shallowness at the end was very well placed. I can't wait until the next chapter!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134103Chapter: 2
Latte was great, if so tragic. I was beginning to wonder how many times you were going to snidely hint at Cedric untimely demise. In such a fabulously satirical manner. You've got great talent. Must admit I'm not so anti-Cho, don't see her as being such a twit, nor as a boyfriend-of-the-month sort of person either. But yes, I'll agree, a bit shallow. And there are, alas, quite a few smart yet shallow people breathing oxygen. Keep up the cynically super work!

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133133Chapter: 1
The equations for each situation are hilarious. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: Veljko PetrovicDate: 2005-09-20
Reviewid: 132932Chapter: 1
Absolutely marvelous! Admittedly, it's a short work, but these are some of the best OCs (well technically they aren't, but thy certanly are original) I've ever read. It manages to be both fluffy and humorous without lapsing into frivolity or idiocy. I do hope you'll write more. In fact I demand you do! :D

Reviewer: pen[end]Date: 2005-09-19
Reviewid: 132852Chapter: 1
haaaahaha, i love sylvia and edmund, im so happy you made a sequel to cheese. its pretty much my favorite fan fic ever.

Reviewer: SydneyDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132686Chapter: 1
Okay, I beg of you, update, for my curiosity of what happens next is great. My daily intake of sarcasm is low, and I'm sure that's either terribly unhealthy or far too healthy for my own good. And I would like to say that I enjoy Sylvia's excellent grasp of math in everyday life.

Reviewer: MONDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131931Chapter: 1
Lurveeeeeeeeeeeely!!!!!!!!!!!! Coolamundo. Luv it. Keeps me intrested. Read Cheese and now Coffe is exiticing. Litterally. Continue please. One of my books was gonna be written in this style, ICECREAM! Keep updating!

Reviewer: evelynDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131929Chapter: 1
((: lol funny! well done you

Reviewer: KiwiDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130795Chapter: 1
Coffee is my fave beverage of all time, so of course I had to read this, besides the fact that this is the sequel to the utterly awesome Cheese. Lavender is quite the boy-crazy one, isn't she? One thing that was missing in this was Sylvia pointing out her own hypocrisy at busting kissing couples--she snogs too, right? C'mon, we all snog in public. If her pointing that out would be contrary to the character you're building, then right on. Just something that I think would add to the story. Can't wait for an update!

Reviewer: TraceyDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130115Chapter: 1
Oh, bless you and all your math referencing. The cake was taken here: (QED).

What a pleasant and fulfilling surprise the premier of "Coffee" turned out to be.

Greatly looking forward to more. :D

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130075Chapter: 1
FINALLY! Coffee is here! Awesome chapter. The whole Arithmancy thing had me laughing for sometime.

[I am a student of Arithmancy, and as such, am familiar with many difficult concepts. For example, magic = teaching x talent (luck + force)², or Snape » [git³ - redemption (Dumbledore x squeamishness)] ¸ Slytherin, where Slytherin is equal to pure-blood (½ambition + ¼cunning). However, the equation that could be applied to the evening of February 14, 1995, was very simple.]

Oh, brilliant! That was simply hilarious.

[ - as he pulled me into the hedge for some kind of rite or ceremony appertaining to a good understanding. Or snogging. I can rarely differentiate.]

LMAO. Oh, how I love Sylvia's character.

Do update soon! I'll be waiting!

~ DS, who's still laughing over the Arithmancy thing.

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130035Chapter: 1
da;lk jda;ljsdl;aj lksd;jal k

I loved all the equations in the latter half of this chapter. They're such a succinct, in character way to express Sylvia's thoughts.

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2005-08-15
Reviewid: 130019Chapter: 1
Coffee = brilliance² x (Cheese - Xmas + Valentine) x (romance + cynicism)³

In short, very good. It was worth waiting (oh so patiently, of course). Both Sylvia and Edmund are lovably in character - and I really enjoyed how they remained friends and soulmates on top of being boyfriend and girlfriend. And the Actual Edmund Grin -- you showed how easily people jump to conclusions:

Edmund = Ravenclaw + quiet + intelligent + polite
and thus
Edmund = saint.

And how wrong they are. I wonder what People in General think about Sylvia.

The conversation about the Triwizard Tournament was also very good - as much as they want to deny it, Sylvia and Edmund are teenagers and humans - and thus tend to gossip, speculate and stick their noses in other people's business.

The Sylvia-Sabina comfortation truly is like something from a soap opera - Buldabox Boy added to the tension nicely. And I can just see it - Milena Sylvia, the Evil Twin interfering with the lovelife of Mariah Suebina, the Abused Hermione, while secretly lusting after both Karlo Tullio (her ex-lover) and Archibaldo Eduardo (the twin of her bethrothed, Edmundo Alexandro). So yeah. Very good.

And you finally solved us the mystery of why Sylvia ended up in Hufflepuff.

"How could I have ever even contemplated the notion that power = good when it is obvious that power ® bloody awkward situations?"

This sentence eliminated all possibility of her being happier in Slytherin.

You might have wanted to explain how two hardcore cynics ended up in Madam Puddifoot's. Hidden masochistic tendenties or simply "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em"?

I look forward to your update, and especially February 24th - "moral fiber", anyone?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129946Chapter: 1
[Laboratory/Lavatory/Lav-whatever-her-name-is Brown making moogly eyes at Edmund, which is saying something.]

Ha! I love Sylvia's inner voice. I also loved the Arithmancy equation. I also had a lot of fun picturing Sylvia and Edmund in Madam Puddifoot's, although I expected to hear Sylvia's take on Cedric and Cho snogging amidst the confetti.

[“Sabina, he’s my boyfriend! I tell him everything!” (Well, just about everything - I have not been able to bring myself to admit that I took ballet lessons for seven years.)]

Hahaha! I love Sylvia's inner monologue. She's got such rapid wit.

So glad you're writing a sequel, although I'm sure the cynic's definition of a sequel is something terrible, but yous is a *good* sequel. Looking forward to the next chapters.

Reviewer: IvycreeperDate: 2005-08-14
Reviewid: 129925Chapter: 1
Hey! Just crashed into your newest ficcie while trawling cyberspace...and nearly died laughing. Yes! How could it be, that with all this creative impetus focused around a school, that no one has thought to recreate that caustic conscience of education everywhere, the 'intellectual rebel'? I remember 'The Satanic Bible' was my friends' tome of choice, although I'm sure that they would have felt just at home with 'The Devil's Dictionary';P. Thankyou for a wonderfully refreshing little trip down memory lane - please keep it up! I eagerly await Sylvia's next pithy installment ;)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129864Chapter: 1
Woohoo! I am ever glad to get a break from fanfic Horcrux hunting. Glad you're keeping these characters going. You must tell though how two cynics ended up in Puddifoot's.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129861Chapter: 1
Hooray, the sequel! The best thing about fanfic is that you can celebrate Valentine's Day in August. ;)

Merlin tap dancing naked on top of Ben Nevis.

That must have been my favorite line, but my my favorite part was all the Arithmancy. Sylvia is very, very awesome, and I love her. Can't wait for chapter two...

Will Sabina tell Archie? Will Kenneth Towler get over himself? Will Lavender stop being a blonde idiot? Who knows?

Love,
Brittney

Reviewer: SGDate: 2005-08-13
Reviewid: 129858Chapter: 1
Finally it's here!!!!!!!!wonderful. Love ur math definations!^0^

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --