The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Breaking It Off
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: AmamamaDate: 2007-02-04
Reviewid: 147096Chapter: 1
Wow. I came over to perhaps sneak a peek at the last chapters of Air, but decided against it. So I went to the bottom of the list and found this. And this, this is the coolest, the most intense description of the post-HBP feeling. Yes, I too had that, and I'm still not sure. There's always more than meets the eye.

I just hope and pray I won't be so knocked over by DH, but I probably will... It's a good thing there's a few months to go - I have some time to loose myself in fanfiction.

Thanks!

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144530Chapter: 1
Wow. That was a really good story. Fantastic! Two thumbs up. Bravo! Keep writing!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141164Chapter: 1
Funny that

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131754Chapter: 1
I enjoyed your story. It describes how I felt after reading HBP. You did a good job in your descriptions of the ocean being theraputic, of the hurt and loss felt by Severus's betrayal. For an alternate viewpoint of what happened in the end of HBP, read "With These Hands" by Daphne Dunham. You'll have hope again - with some anxiety knowing you have to wait for book #7!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2005-08-27
Reviewid: 131040Chapter: 1
Interesting take on the whole situation. Brilliantly written. I think a lot of us are feeling this way right now; or at least something along these lines :) Clever---very clever---for you to chose to write about it in such a way as this. Good job!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130570Chapter: 1
oh...I thought about thinking Snape was evil for about two seconds after he killed Dumbledore, and then I spent a week searching the text for clues that he wasn't evil. He's not! Insane now, certainly, a dead man, yes, but not evil! Just twisted, and hurt, and he needs help...
*stops petting picture of Alan Rickman*
you're braver than I was...I just can't give him up! ;-)
lol, this was cute, and very good. loved the twist. I wish I was that strong. :-b

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130465Chapter: 1
*grins* It's at once sad and funny! Here I was, imagining an original character or I-don't-even-know-who in canon who could possibly love Snape so much, and it's just... you? *huggles* Poor you. And... poor book!

Reviewer: gimuDate: 2005-08-20
Reviewid: 130451Chapter: 1
Well written! This sums up the feelings of many!

Reviewer: VioletDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130400Chapter: 1
Wow--[i]Even now, after what he'd done, she was seeking to justify him. Well...she could allow that no longer. It was over. She was done with him. She had to be or he would suck her into his world, now seemingly devoid of any possible redemption.[/i] This sounds immensely sad reaction to the book, although I felt about that way on the first reading, but thank you for putting it into words. But I love how you embody in poetic what Jo basically says in her interview about women going to their graves thinking they can save or change the bad boy. This is excellent, and wholly unexpected.

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2005-08-19
Reviewid: 130362Chapter: 1
How perfect! You've compelety captured the thoughts of many readers right after they finished HBP. I think I went through the seven (?) stages of greif right after I finished the book. Actually, I think I'm still stuck in denial. I know he really is dead, but there just has to be a reason! (see? denial!)

A nice twist at the end too. I had to read it a second time to truly appreaciate the way that you spun the thoughts together. Wonderful job.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130330Chapter: 1
wow, very well done!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130309Chapter: 1
This is great. I thought it was Bellatrix thinking about Voldemort at first!

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130280Chapter: 1
I loved this. Almost the entire way through I thought she was a character from the series or something. Excellent job!

Reviewer: TabithaDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130237Chapter: 1
NICE. you had me going there for a second. I was thinking, "ginnydraco" "hermionedraco" "ginnyharry" something like that. I loved it. Kudos to you. very nice!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130235Chapter: 1
umm well written...were you upset by the new book?

Reviewer: LanieDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130234Chapter: 1
Poor Professor Snape....good story...give him the benefit of the doubt....I was dead set on hating him, but after HBP, I actually LIKE him....but I'm rambling. Good story.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130232Chapter: 1
Brilliant...this was a great piece, and cleverly written. We do often personify the characters we like best, and thus their actions in the books do tend to leave us shocked and hurt. I thought this was a great angle on that.

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130227Chapter: 1
Ohh, lovely! Lovely, lovely, lovely! I loved this... Oh, this is getting very redundant, isn't it? lol

I had got the feeling that the woman was you about two thirds through reading this. Fantastic. I'm sure that many will/would be able to relate. :) :D ;)

Reviewer: Helen HDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130225Chapter: 1
Hee hee! I am so glad you posted this, moonette! This is one of the best examples I've ever come across of how to completely hoodwink your readers and flip them upside down with a totally unexpected ending. Fabulous!

From your Il Fluf Familia co-member, Helen x

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130205Chapter: 1
WOW! Wonderful! You drew me right in. I was thinking it was going to be Catherine...right up to the end! HA!

"ready to pin her hopes on the next ravaged character...ready to believe again." Yes, me too!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130201Chapter: 1
moonette -

Aw my dear...Lawdy, did I feel the exact same way. A bit more than betrayed. For I, like Albus, trusted him...it was more than a little heart breaking. :wub: and job well done once again.

~Hez

Reviewer: BethDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130200Chapter: 1
haha that was so cleverrr! good job

Reviewer: brackenDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130193Chapter: 1
A very clever piece of writing. I identify very much with it!
Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130180Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! Really, really well done - sucked me right in.

However, I have to say that I am still a believer! Don't give up hope!

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130173Chapter: 1
Whoa! What I like here is that you set down this very complex, difficult set of emotions (regarding Snape) and made it concrete. I related so much to what you wrote! Nice work - nice capture of feelings.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2005-08-17
Reviewid: 130168Chapter: 1
Can I just say that this was great? Moonette, this is a very amusing one shot and I enjoyed it throughly. You rock, sister!

"HOLY COW, SHE'S DUMPING SNAPE."

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --